yes, therapy helps!
7 tips to deal with separation

7 tips to deal with separation

June 10, 2022

Among the experiences that can cause more pain to human beings is divorce or separation , which can affect an entire family (parents and children) and that can cause injuries that, sometimes, are difficult to amend.

It is common that, after a divorce, disputes over the custody of the children or the couple's property cause even more suffering, which makes this situation a complicated grieving process. In this article you can find precisely Tips for dealing with separation .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Mourning therapy: psychological help to face the goodbye"

How to deal with a separation

And it is that to live divorce in the flesh is hard, and many times we can feel that pain is difficult to bear. The psychological consequences of divorce are many , in most cases: low self-esteem, depression and sadness, and anxiety or emotions such as guilt, anger often appear. However, at this stage other consequences also arise at a family and economic level that can seriously complicate the recovery.


If you are going through a separation, in the following lines we present you 7 tips that will help you to deal with separation in a more adaptive way.

1. Accept it

Nobody likes to go through this painful stage, but there are things in this life that we can not change. When we separate from our spouse, we leave behind many memories and habits in which we have shared even our greatest intimacy. Accepting that nothing will be as before is complicated, but it is necessary to recover well-being.

Acceptance is the starting point when we want to overcome the separation, since otherwise we can get carried away by negative emotions such as anger or guilt. Understand the emotional pain we feel at this moment, recognize that it is part of life and that, if we manage it well, it can even allow us to grow, it is the right way to overcome this delicate moment.


Related article: "Divorce of parents, how does it affect children?"

2. Avoid isolation

In these hard times it is normal to feel bad. If you have loved that person you are separated from, it is possible that you are down and even cry at times. These emotions are normal, but they must be managed correctly so as not to fall into the error of isolation. Staying away from everyone is a way to get closer to sadness and depressive symptoms.

The expression of feelings is a good way to get rid of the emotional burden: it is what is known as catharsis. In these moments it is good to be surrounded by loved ones who can give us support to overcome the separation.

  • Related article: "Catharsis: the emotional liberation process"

3. Learn about divorce

Unpleasant experiences help us grow, so instead of relying on the negative, use separation to learn and therefore grow as a person. You may not see it in the initial moments, but You can emerge reinforced from this situation if you manage the grieving process well . Now that you are separated, take this opportunity to do what you have always wanted. Fight for your personal development.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The duel: facing the loss of a loved one"

4. Do things that fill you

Happiness has a lot to do with those moments in which we spend doing pleasurable activities, those that make us feel good. Our habits and our positive mentality can make us live enriching moments and can allow us to take advantage of opportunities that may arise. Playing sports, for example, is key to reducing stress or separation anxiety , and it helps to improve the state of mind and the self-esteem that remains damaged after the divorce.

In addition, it is key to perform outdoor activities, since, as indicated by scientific studies, the sun (provided that exposure is healthy) causes an increase in vitamin D in our body. This vitamin positively influences the proper functioning of the immune system and increases the production of endorphins, endogenous substances related to pleasure.

  • Related article: "Endorphins (neurotransmitters): functions and characteristics"

5. Do not get obsessed with finding another partner

Divorce causes great discomfort, and some individuals feel that they have the urge to supply the partner with another person. Although sometimes it seems that the phrase "a nail pulls out another nail" is true, it really is not, because it is important to recover the emotional balance to make sound decisions and get back into a relationship.

When we feel a great gap in separation, it is easy to believe that we will fill the gap with another person.When we realize that this is not the case, we can feel frustrated and, consequently, we increase our discomfort. It is important to feel good about ourselves before starting a new relationship.

  • Related article: "Rebound relationships, or replace the ex after a break: a nail pulls out another nail?"

6. Take an emotional intelligence course

Emotional intelligence is one of the most important paradigms of psychology in recent times, as scientific studies have shown that it provides many benefits, including improving the well-being of people. Emotional intelligence is composed of five elements: self-knowledge, emotional regulation, self-motivation, empathy and social skills . Some institutions give courses or workshops so that people can develop emotional competencies to be happy.

Recommended article: "The 6 best courses in Emotional Intelligence and Personal Development"

7. Go to the psychologist

Sometimes, it is advisable to go to the psychologist because, especially in situations where there are certain conflicts (for example, legal battles), overcoming divorce is not easy. Expert psychologists in divorce therapy provide tools that will allow you to deal with this situation in a healthy way and thus recover emotional balance, self-esteem and manage guilt, resentment and other negative emotions that do not allow you to overcome the divorce.

Where to find expert psychologists in separation and divorce?

If you identify yourself with the previous lines and feel that the divorce exceeds you, the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona, ​​considered one of the best psychotherapy centers, can help you overcome this situation that you are living.

Manage the crisis effectively, accept this delicate situation and recover emotionally It is possible if you put yourself in good hands. Mensalus has been offering psychological therapy for more than 30 years, and has a large team of experts in couples and divorce therapy. The sessions with these professionals can provide you with positive resources and indispensable tools for this stage of transition in which you find yourself, which will allow you to recover the strength, the security in yourself and the well-being in these moments of change. This clinic offers therapy in person or in Barcelona, ​​so you can receive psychological assistance wherever you are.

If you want more information about the Mensalus Institute, you just have to click here.


How to Deal with Separation Anxiety | 7 Tips (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 astuces pour faire face à la séparation

7 astuces pour faire face à la séparation

Août 4, 2022

Parmi les expériences qui peuvent causer plus de souffrance aux êtres humains est le divorce ou la séparation , qui peuvent toucher une famille entière (parents et enfants) et peuvent causer des blessures difficiles à corriger.

Il est fréquent qu'après un divorce, des litiges concernant la garde des enfants ou les biens du couple provoquent encore plus de souffrances, ce qui complique considérablement le processus de deuil. Dans cet article, vous pouvez trouver précisément Conseils pour faire face à la séparation .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Thérapie de deuil: une aide psychologique pour faire face aux adieux"

Comment faire face à une séparation

Et c’est difficile de vivre le divorce dans la chair, et souvent nous pouvons sentir que la douleur est difficile à supporter. Les conséquences psychologiques du divorce sont nombreuses , dans la plupart des cas: faible estime de soi, dépression et tristesse, et anxiété ou émotions telles que la culpabilité, la colère apparaissent souvent. Toutefois, à ce stade, d’autres conséquences sur le plan familial et économique peuvent également compliquer sérieusement la reprise.


Si vous traversez une séparation, nous vous présentons dans les lignes suivantes 7 conseils qui vous aideront à gérer la séparation de manière plus adaptative.

1. Accepter

Personne n'aime traverser cette étape douloureuse, mais il y a des choses dans cette vie que nous ne pouvons pas changer. Lorsque nous nous séparons de notre conjoint, nous laissons derrière nous de nombreux souvenirs et des habitudes dans lesquelles nous avons partagé même notre plus grande intimité. Accepter que rien ne soit comme avant est compliqué, mais il est nécessaire de retrouver le bien-être.

L'acceptation est le point de départ lorsque nous voulons surmonter la séparation, sinon nous pouvons nous laisser emporter par des émotions négatives telles que la colère ou la culpabilité. Comprenez la douleur émotionnelle que nous ressentons en ce moment, reconnaissez qu'elle fait partie de la vie et que, si nous la gérons bien, elle peut même nous permettre de grandir, c'est la bonne façon de surmonter ce moment délicat.


Article connexe: "Le divorce des parents, comment cela affecte-t-il les enfants?"

2. éviter l'isolement

En ces temps difficiles, il est normal de se sentir mal. Si vous avez aimé cette personne dont vous êtes séparé, il est possible que vous soyez déprimé et même que vous pleuriez parfois. Ces émotions sont normales, mais elles doivent être gérées correctement afin de ne pas tomber dans l'erreur d'isolement. Rester à l'écart de tout le monde est un moyen de se rapprocher de la tristesse et des symptômes dépressifs.

L’expression des sentiments est un bon moyen de se débarrasser du fardeau émotionnel: c’est ce que l’on appelle la catharsis. Dans ces moments, il est bon d'être entouré d'êtres chers qui peuvent nous aider à surmonter la séparation.

  • Article connexe: "Catharsis: le processus de libération émotionnelle"

3. En savoir plus sur le divorce

Les expériences désagréables nous aident à grandir, alors au lieu de compter sur le négatif, utilisez la séparation pour apprendre et grandir en tant que personne. Vous ne pouvez pas le voir dans les premiers instants, mais Vous pouvez sortir renforcé de cette situation si vous gérez bien le processus de deuil . Maintenant que vous êtes séparés, saisissez cette occasion pour faire ce que vous avez toujours voulu. Combattez pour votre développement personnel.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le duel: faire face à la perte d'un être cher"

4. Faites des choses qui vous remplissent

Le bonheur a beaucoup à voir avec ces moments où nous consacrons des activités agréables, celles où nous nous sentons bien. Nos habitudes et notre mentalité positive peuvent nous faire vivre des moments enrichissants et nous permettre de tirer parti des opportunités qui peuvent se présenter. Faire du sport, par exemple, est essentiel pour réduire le stress ou l'anxiété liée à la séparation et contribue à améliorer l’état d’esprit et l’estime de soi qui restent endommagés après le divorce.

En outre, il est essentiel de pratiquer des activités de plein air car, comme le montrent des études scientifiques, le soleil (à condition que l'exposition soit saine) provoque une augmentation de la vitamine D dans notre corps. Cette vitamine influence positivement le bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire et augmente la production d'endorphines, substances endogènes liées au plaisir.

  • Article connexe: "Endorphines (neurotransmetteurs): fonctions et caractéristiques"

5. Ne soyez pas obsédé par la recherche d'un autre partenaire

Le divorce est très inconfortable et certaines personnes ont l’impression de vouloir fournir au partenaire une autre personne. Bien qu’il semble parfois que l’expression "un clou tire un autre clou" soit vraie, ce n’est vraiment pas le cas, car il est important de retrouver l'équilibre émotionnel pour prendre des décisions éclairées et retomber dans une relation.

Lorsque nous ressentons un grand vide dans la séparation, il est facile de croire que nous allons le combler avec une autre personne.Lorsque nous réalisons que ce n'est pas le cas, nous pouvons nous sentir frustrés et, par conséquent, nous augmentons notre malaise. Il est important de se sentir bien avant de commencer une nouvelle relation.

  • Article connexe: "Relations de rebond, ou remplacer l'ex après une pause: un clou tire un autre clou?"

6. Suivre un cours d'intelligence émotionnelle

L'intelligence émotionnelle est l'un des paradigmes les plus importants de la psychologie de la période récente, des études scientifiques ayant montré qu'elle offrait de nombreux avantages, notamment l'amélioration du bien-être des personnes. L'intelligence émotionnelle est composée de cinq éléments: la connaissance de soi, la régulation émotionnelle, la motivation personnelle, l'empathie et les compétences sociales . Certaines institutions offrent des cours ou des ateliers afin que les personnes puissent développer des compétences émotionnelles pour être heureuses.

Article recommandé: "Les 6 meilleurs cours en intelligence émotionnelle et développement personnel"

7. Aller chez le psychologue

Parfois, il est conseillé de consulter un psychologue car, en particulier dans des situations où il existe certains conflits (par exemple, des batailles juridiques), surmonter le divorce n’est pas chose facile. Les psychologues experts en thérapie de divorce fournissent des outils qui vous permettront de gérer cette situation de manière saine et de retrouver ainsi votre équilibre émotionnel, votre estime de soi et de gérer votre culpabilité, votre ressentiment et d’autres émotions négatives qui ne vous permettent pas de vaincre le divorce.

Où trouver des psychologues experts en séparation et en divorce?

Si vous vous identifiez aux lignes précédentes et estimez que le divorce vous dépasse, l’Institut Mensalus de Barcelone, considéré comme l’un des meilleurs centres de psychothérapie, peut vous aider à surmonter la situation que vous vivez.

Gérez efficacement la crise, acceptez cette situation délicate et récupérez avec émotion C'est possible si vous vous mettez entre de bonnes mains. Mensalus propose une thérapie psychologique depuis plus de 30 ans et dispose d'une importante équipe d'experts en thérapie de couple et en divorce. Les sessions avec ces professionnels peuvent vous fournir des ressources positives et des outils indispensables pour cette phase de transition dans laquelle vous vous trouvez, ce qui vous permettra de récupérer votre force, votre sécurité et le bien-être en ces moments de changement. Cette clinique propose une thérapie en personne ou à Barcelone, de sorte que vous puissiez recevoir une assistance psychologique où que vous soyez.

Si vous souhaitez plus d'informations sur l'Institut Mensalus, il vous suffit de cliquer ici.


7 CONSEILS POUR SE REMETTRE D'UNE RUPTURE AMOUREUSE (ma longue relation de 7 ans) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes