yes, therapy helps!
7 types of subtle verbal aggressions in a relationship

7 types of subtle verbal aggressions in a relationship

November 19, 2022

Relationships may be characterized as being based on an intimate bond between two people, but that does not mean that there is no room for ambiguity in them. This can be clearly expressed when conflicts arise: many times, anger is not expressed directly, but in a passive-aggressive way, just giving information to identify what is happening.

But anger in a relationship is not the only type of negative situations that can be expressed in disguise. Wherever there is verbal abuse, it can also be so subtle that, once it has become a habit, it is difficult to recognize it as such. That is to say, situations of psychological abuse often come to normalize. Next we will see exactly how it can be produced this type of verbal aggression difficult to recognize .


  • Related article: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

How to recognize the types of verbal aggression in the relationship?

Next we will see the main types of verbal aggressions in the context of a relationship, and how to identify them.

Knowing how to detect each of them is important, because it allows detecting situations that should not be tolerated and that in the long run can create a relational dynamic characterized by the dominance of one person over the other.

1. Teasing about the other person's family context

Sometimes, the origin of a person can be used to try to hurt her, especially if it comes from a humble environment or associated with the rural. In this way, small mentions to the fact that the other spent his childhood in a small town without an Internet connection, for example, many times it can only make sense in the context of an offense .


This kind of subtle verbal attacks are aimed at disqualifying the other in a simple way and without having to argue anything; fundamentally, it consists in creating a stigma that can be used at convenience at the most opportune moments, even before friends or family.

  • Related article: "5 keys to overcome feelings of inferiority"

2. Call attention to the attractiveness of others

Expressing directly that you feel attracted to another person is, in many cases, another example of aggression that, while not always verbal, is psychological. Where is the limit to know if it is admissible? Easy: unless it has been clearly established beforehand that such behaviors are allowed, it is.

In reality, this type of expression of feelings may have as its main objective to undermine the self-esteem of the couple, since even if it is attractive to another person, this does not oblige to express it openly. What is achieved by giving these unwanted opinions is to give a clear message: "after all, you are not so special".


3. Read the mind

This type of verbal aggression consists in constantly reincluding in the fallacy of the straw man to make fun of the other person. For example, a caricatured version of the motivations of the other can be offered , of their ways of thinking and their fundamental beliefs, not to explain something, but simply to use mockery and place themselves in a situation of power before, for example, a decision that should be taken jointly (for something is in a couple ).

4. Emotional blackmail

Emotional blackmail is a kind of subtle verbal aggression that goes beyond words. On the one hand, it serves to expose the idea that it is expected that the other person make special efforts to maintain the relationship, as if only one member of the couple had the duty to keep it together. On the other, he introduces guilt into the other to manipulate his behavior from his own remorse.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional dependence: pathological addiction to your sentimental partner"

5. Gaslighting

Gaslighting is deliberately lying so that the other person doubts about their own mental abilities. Not only is the truth hidden under lies, but it also places the other in a situation of psychological distress, sometimes almost hypochondriac, simply to be able to manipulate it. That is why, to detect this kind of situations, it is necessary to work on self-esteem and build a realistic self-concept , in addition to having a third opinion.

  • Related article: "Gaslighting: the most subtle emotional abuse"

6. Deliberately ignore

This type of verbal aggression is characterized precisely by selective verbality, that is, speaking only to say certain things, and to be silent for the majority, without giving an explanation. In certain aspects a type of gaslighting can be considered , and it is a type of abuse because it does not even offer the possibility of understanding what causes the anger (real or feigned) of the person who does it, which subtracts all constructive characteristics and only leaves the negative.

7. Use the false dichotomy

The false dichotomy makes it possible to place others far from the "correct" moral category simply because, starting from a totally biased criterion, it can be said that it occupies an attitude or an opinion of ethically inadmissible persons.

An extreme and almost caricatural version of this would be to try to make the other person feel bad for his eating habits by noting that "Hitler was also a vegetarian". Even if it is true, it is something that does not tell us anything about why being a vegetarian is wrong, it simply relates in a crude way to something that we ethically want to get away from. It is a strategy of manipulation so crude that, to practice, shows a clear lack of respect and encouragement to manipulate .


What is Emotional Abuse? SIGNS you are in an emotionally abusive relationship (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 types d'agressions verbales subtiles dans une relation

7 types d'agressions verbales subtiles dans une relation

Août 4, 2022

Les relations peuvent être caractérisées comme étant fondées sur un lien intime entre deux personnes, mais cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu’il n’y ait pas de place pour l’ambiguïté. Cela peut être clairement exprimé lorsque des conflits surviennent: à plusieurs reprises, la colère ne s'exprime pas directement, mais de manière passive-agressive, donnant simplement des informations permettant d'identifier ce qui se passe.

Mais la colère dans une relation n'est pas le seul type de situations négatives qui peuvent être exprimées de manière déguisée. Partout où il y a de la violence verbale, cela peut aussi être si subtil qu'une fois que c'est devenu une habitude, il est difficile de la reconnaître comme telle. C'est-à-dire que les situations d'abus psychologique finissent souvent par se normaliser. Ensuite, nous verrons exactement comment il peut être produit ce type d'agression verbale difficile à reconnaître .


  • Article connexe: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

Comment reconnaître les types d'agression verbale dans la relation?

Nous verrons ensuite les principaux types d’agression verbale dans le contexte d’une relation et comment les identifier.

Savoir comment détecter chacun d’entre eux est important, car cela permet de détecter des situations qui ne devraient pas être tolérées et qui, à long terme, peuvent créer une dynamique relationnelle caractérisée par la domination d’une personne sur l’autre.

1. Taquiner sur le contexte familial de l'autre personne

Parfois, l'origine d'une personne peut être utilisée pour essayer de la blesser, surtout si elle provient d'un environnement modeste ou associée au monde rural. De cette manière, on mentionne peu le fait que l’autre a passé son enfance dans une petite ville sans connexion Internet, par exemple: plusieurs fois, cela n'a de sens que dans le contexte d'une infraction .


Ce type d’attaques verbales subtiles a pour but de disqualifier l’autre de manière simple et sans rien argumenter; elle consiste fondamentalement à créer un stigmate pouvant être utilisé à tout moment, même avant des amis ou de la famille.

  • Article connexe: "5 clés pour surmonter les sentiments d'infériorité"

2. attirer l'attention sur l'attractivité des autres

Exprimer directement que vous vous sentez attiré par une autre personne est, dans de nombreux cas, un autre exemple d'agression qui, même si elle n'est pas toujours verbale, est psychologique. Où est la limite pour savoir si elle est admissible? Facile: sauf s’il a été clairement établi au préalable que de tels comportements sont autorisés, c’est le cas.

En réalité, ce type d'expression de sentiments peut avoir pour objectif principal de saper l'estime de soi du couple, car même si cela attire une autre personne, cela n'oblige pas à l'exprimer ouvertement. Ce que l’on obtient en donnant ces avis non désirés, c’est de donner un message clair: "Après tout, vous n’êtes pas si spécial".


3. Lire l'esprit

Ce type d’agression verbale consiste à réinventer constamment l’erreur de l’homme de paille de se moquer de l’autre personne. Par exemple, une version caricaturale des motivations de l'autre peut être proposée , de leurs façons de penser et de leurs croyances fondamentales, non pas pour expliquer quelque chose, mais simplement pour se moquer et se placer dans une situation de pouvoir avant, par exemple, une décision qui devrait être prise conjointement (car quelque chose est en couple) ).

4. Chantage émotionnel

Le chantage émotionnel est une sorte d'agression verbale subtile qui dépasse les mots. D'une part, cela sert à révéler l'idée qu'il est attendu que l'autre personne fasse des efforts particuliers pour maintenir la relation, comme si un seul membre du couple avait le devoir de la maintenir. De l'autre, il introduit la culpabilité chez l'autre pour manipuler son comportement à partir de ses propres remords.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Dépendance émotionnelle: dépendance pathologique à votre partenaire sentimental"

5. Éclairage au gaz

Gaslighting ment délibérément pour que l'autre personne doute de ses propres capacités mentales. Non seulement la vérité est cachée sous des mensonges, mais elle place également l'autre dans une situation de détresse psychologique, parfois presque hypocondriaque, simplement pour pouvoir la manipuler. C’est pourquoi, pour détecter ce genre de situation, il est nécessaire de travailler sur l'estime de soi et de construire un concept de soi réaliste , en plus d'avoir un troisième avis.

  • Article connexe: "Gaslighting: l'abus émotionnel le plus subtil"

6. Ignorer délibérément

Ce type d’agression verbale se caractérise précisément par une verbalité sélective, c’est-à-dire parler uniquement pour dire certaines choses et se taire pour la majorité, sans donner d’explication. Dans certains aspects, un type d'éclairage au gaz peut être envisagé et c’est un type d’abus car il n’offre même pas la possibilité de comprendre ce qui cause la colère (réelle ou feinte) de celui qui le fait, ce qui soustrait toutes les caractéristiques constructives et ne laisse que le négatif.

7. Utilisez la fausse dichotomie

La fausse dichotomie permet de placer les autres loin de la catégorie morale "correcte" simplement parce que, à partir d'un critère totalement biaisé, on peut dire qu'elle occupe une attitude ou une opinion de personnes éthiquement inadmissibles.

Une version extrême et presque caricaturale de ceci consisterait à faire en sorte que l’autre se sente mal pour ses habitudes alimentaires en notant que "Hitler était aussi un végétarien". Même si c'est vrai, c'est quelque chose qui ne nous dit rien sur la raison pour laquelle être végétarien est une erreur, cela se rapporte simplement à une chose que nous ne voulons pas, éthiquement, nous échapper. C'est une stratégie de manipulation si grossière que, à la pratique, montre un manque évident de respect et d’encouragement à manipuler .


FRED et marie. Pour un couple sur huit, ceci n'est pas une fiction. (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes