yes, therapy helps!
7 usual characteristics of people who use drugs

7 usual characteristics of people who use drugs

May 10, 2021

The consumption of drugs is the order of the day in Spain, especially if we talk about cocaine and cannabis. Drug use is more common in adults 35 years and older, and beyond age, there are other traits statistically associated with a greater consumption of substances of this type.

We'll see now what are the main characteristics of people who use drugs . Knowing them helps to better manage resources for prevention and care in cases in which drug addiction compromises the health and quality of life of the population.

  • Related article: "15 consequences of drug use (in your mind and in your body)"

What characteristics do people who use drugs usually have?

First, generally men are more prone to illicit drug use and women often resort to drugs such as hypnosedatives or tranquilizers. But beyond this there are other issues to be addressed.


What type of drug has a more prevalent consumption in Spain? According to the studies, most people who detoxify often consume alcohol or cocaine .

Of course, are there other behaviors that create addiction but do not require the physical presence of drugs? Of course, addictions to new technologies, shopping, sex, games or compulsive eating are becoming more frequent. However, the brain mechanisms involved in this type of addiction are the same as with the presence of physical drugs and the personal, social, family and neuronal characteristics that influence the appearance of addiction as well.


Although none of these characteristics or traits determines the appearance of the addiction, it is possible to identify those that can make a person more susceptible when developing a drug addiction.

1. Low levels of dopamine in the brain

The brain reward system we found in the frontal lobe it generates dopamine and a comforting sensation before pleasant situations, in this case, the initial and voluntary consumption of drugs. Generally, those with a lower level of this neurotransmitter can be hooked on drugs as a way to regulate their presence in the brain unconsciously.

  • Related article: "What is the frontal lobe and how does it work?"

2. The presence of an addict relative

When there are people with addictions in the family system, it may be common to resort to drug use either because it is normalized within this system or because the person identifies with the addict relative and copies their consumption behavior or because that is your problem-coping model .


3. Low tolerance to frustration

Normally people who tolerate worse suffering or failure (due to lack of experience, due to a high level of internal demand or due to lack of coping strategies) tend to be more prone to drug use. as a form of momentary evasion of this internal malaise .

4. Groups of peers in which consumption is frequent

Belonging to family, friendly or work groups in which consumption is frequent and normalized can have a positive effect on drug use because it is associated with a normalized form of leisure, minimizing its negative effects as a consequence of the appearance of the psychological phenomenon of the "mass" and availability of the drug is very high.

In addition, the group that consumes frequently is not aware of their addiction, does not consider why they resort to the drug or why is it increasingly necessary for your fun , and it is resorted to an automated consumption and a high economic cost to obtain it.

5. Openness to experience

People who are curious and have this personality factor marked (need to try new experiences, feel adrenaline, be a daring person) influences to try drugs initially seeking an alteration of the state of consciousness or a state of pleasant intoxication but can influence addiction because there is a tendency to minimize the risk of adverse consequences and to associate the consumption to moments in which it is initially done voluntarily to provoke more fun.

6. Feeling of emptiness, depression and loneliness

The consumption not only of illegal drugs but of drugs is closely related to feelings of irascibility, sleep disturbances, depression, low mood, loneliness and emptiness . In this case, the person tries to anesthetize their pain with the presence of drugs or drugs with sedative and mitigating effect.

The presence of work stress, the experience of a duel or being in a period of adaptation can also influence people to be attracted to drugs.

7Low self-esteem

People with low self-esteem may feel that their emotional well-being does not depend on themselves and they seek momentary external relief instead of activating their social support network, initiating psychotherapy, or developing another healthy activity that provokes well-being and covers these deficiencies. Adolescents with low self-esteem are prone to consumption due to social pressure and to feel recognized as members of a group that uses drugs that they admire or wish to belong to.


Addiction (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 caractéristiques habituelles des consommateurs de drogues

7 caractéristiques habituelles des consommateurs de drogues

Juin 5, 2020

La consommation de drogues est à l'ordre du jour en Espagne, surtout si nous parlons de cocaïne et de cannabis. La consommation de drogues est plus fréquente chez les adultes de 35 ans et plus et, au-delà de l'âge, il existe d'autres traits statistiquement associés à une consommation plus importante de substances de ce type.

Ensuite nous verrons Quelles sont les principales caractéristiques des consommateurs de drogues? . Les connaître permet de mieux gérer les ressources de prévention et de soins dans les cas où la toxicomanie compromet la santé et la qualité de vie de la population.

  • Article connexe: "15 conséquences de la consommation de drogues (dans votre esprit et dans votre corps)"

Quelles sont les caractéristiques habituelles des consommateurs de drogues?

Tout d'abord, généralement les hommes sont plus susceptibles de consommer des drogues illicites et les femmes ont souvent recours à des médicaments tels que les hypnosés ou les tranquillisants. Mais au-delà, il y a d'autres problèmes à résoudre.


Quel type de drogue a une consommation plus répandue en Espagne? Selon les études, la plupart des personnes qui détoxifient consomment souvent de l'alcool ou de la cocaïne .

Bien sûr, y a-t-il d'autres comportements qui créent une dépendance mais n'exigent pas la présence physique de drogues? Bien sûr, les addictions aux nouvelles technologies, les achats, le sexe, les jeux ou l’alimentation compulsive sont de plus en plus fréquentes. Cependant, les mécanismes cérébraux impliqués dans ce type de dépendance sont les mêmes que ceux liés à la présence de drogues physiques et aux caractéristiques personnelles, sociales, familiales et neuronales qui influent également sur l'apparition de la dépendance.


Bien qu'aucune de ces caractéristiques ou traits ne détermine l'apparence de la dépendance, il est possible d'identifier ceux qui peuvent rendre une personne plus susceptible de développer une dépendance à la drogue.

1. Faibles niveaux de dopamine dans le cerveau

Le système de récompense du cerveau que nous avons trouvé dans le lobe frontal il génère de la dopamine et une sensation de réconfort avant les situations agréables, en l’occurrence la consommation initiale et volontaire de drogues. En règle générale, les personnes dont le taux de neurotransmetteur est faible peuvent être prises au piège de drogues afin de réguler inconsciemment leur présence dans le cerveau.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que le lobe frontal et comment ça marche?"

2. La présence d'un parent toxicomane

Lorsqu'il y a des toxicomanes dans le système familial, il peut être courant de recourir à la toxicomanie, soit parce que ce système est normalisé, soit parce que la personne s'identifie avec le parent dépendant et copie son comportement de consommation ou parce que votre modèle d'adaptation aux problèmes .


3. Faible tolérance à la frustration

Normalement, les personnes qui tolèrent de plus en plus de souffrances ou d’échecs (en raison du manque d’expérience, d’une demande interne élevée ou de l’absence de stratégies d’adaptation) ont tendance à être plus sujettes à la consommation de drogue. comme une forme d'évasion momentanée de ce malaise interne .

4. Groupes de pairs dans lesquels la consommation est fréquente

L’appartenance à une famille, à des groupes de travail ou amis où la consommation est fréquente et normalisée peut avoir un effet positif sur la consommation de drogue, car elle est associée à une forme de loisir normalisée, minimisant ses effets négatifs suite à l’apparition du phénomène psychologique de la "masse" et la disponibilité du médicament sont très élevées.

De plus, le groupe qui consomme fréquemment n’est pas conscient de sa dépendance, n’explique pas pourquoi il a recours à la drogue ou pourquoi est-il de plus en plus nécessaire pour votre plaisir , et il est fait appel à une consommation automatisée et à un coût économique élevé pour l’obtenir.

5. Ouverture à l'expérience

Les personnes qui sont curieuses et ont ce facteur de personnalité marqué (nécessité d’essayer de nouvelles expériences, de ressentir de l’adrénaline, d’être une personne audacieuse), d’essayer d’essayer des drogues cherchant initialement une altération de l’état de conscience ou un état d’ivresse agréable, mais pouvant influencer la dépendance parce que il y a une tendance à minimiser le risque de conséquences néfastes et d'associer la consommation à des moments au cours desquels elle est initialement faite volontairement pour provoquer plus de plaisir.

6. Sentiment de vide, de dépression et de solitude

La consommation de drogues illicites mais également de drogues est étroitement liée à la sentiments d'irascibilité, troubles du sommeil, dépression, humeur basse, solitude et vide . Dans ce cas, la personne tente d'anesthésier sa douleur par la présence de médicaments ou de médicaments à effet sédatif et atténuant.

La présence de stress au travail, l'expérience d'un duel ou une période d'adaptation peuvent également inciter les gens à être attirés par la drogue.

7Faible estime de soi

Les personnes ayant une faible estime de soi peuvent penser que leur bien-être émotionnel ne dépend pas d'elles-mêmes et rechercher un soulagement externe momentané au lieu d'activer leur réseau de soutien social, d'initier une psychothérapie ou de développer une autre activité saine qui provoque le bien-être et couvre ces déficiences. Les adolescents ayant une faible estime de soi sont sujets à la consommation en raison de la pression sociale et se sentir reconnus en tant que membres d'un groupe qui utilise des drogues qu'ils admirent ou souhaitent appartenir.


Documental - 15M: Málaga Despierta (Subs ENG/FRA/DEU) (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes