yes, therapy helps!
8 advantages and disadvantages of being a psychologist

8 advantages and disadvantages of being a psychologist

June 24, 2021

All professions have their advantages and disadvantages, and Psychology is no exception. Dedicating yourself to this exciting discipline is a way to go through moments that make everything worthwhile thanks to the personal and professional satisfaction they produce. However, there are also specific moments that are frustrating or tedious.

It is important, before considering whether to undertake this formative and professional trajectory, if our preferences, motivations and objectives fit well with what the profession offers us. Because, it is good to know the best and the worst of being a psychologist .

  • Related article: "Why study Psychology? 10 points that you should value"

The advantages and disadvantages of engaging in Psychology

Clearly, The advantages and disadvantages of engaging in psychology they are something that depends on the personal opinions and the subjectivity of each one, but in broad strokes are the following.


The advantages of being a psychologist

Among the good things about dedicating to psychology, there are several things that have to do with both what happens in real time in therapy sessions and counseling or training as with others that occur outside of sessions.

1. It allows to see in the improvement of others the fruit of one's work

Psychologists, very often, have great reasons to rejoice: the consequences of their work directly benefit someone, and translate into lasting happiness and that one can see. This is something that happens with very few professions.

2. Offers flexible hours

If you do not work in a company, psychologists can reach have a freedom of schedules that is appreciated . In addition, the possibility of doing online therapy means that the sessions do not have to be canceled if a patient or client leaves the city or is traveling.


3. Always gives excuses to continue learning

Psychology is a young field, so it develops very quickly. That is why those who work in this field are always in contact with very interesting sources of knowledge about human behavior: seminars, conferences, books, scientific articles ... All of them can be relevant to the profession addressing issues as different as biology, philosophy, neurology , learning, etc.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 18 best Facebook groups to learn Psychology"

4. It allows to learn techniques that apply to oneself

Having a therapist to advise and direct us externally is never the same as not having it, but knowing several principles, theories and techniques, Psychologists have more ways to adapt to the circumstances that appear in their own lives , on the one hand, and are less likely to fall for harmful beliefs about mental processes, personal problems and patterns of behavior that they themselves manifest from time to time.



The drawbacks of engaging in Psychology

We have already seen several of the advantages offered by the profession of psychology. Let's go now to that not-so-kind side of this job.

1. The doubts based on the criterion that is followed

The profession of psychologists usually goes hand in hand with significant and intense experiences, since in most cases it is constantly dealing with people of all kinds. In addition, the type of relationship that is established between the professional of psychology and those people with whom it interacts (whether patients, clients or subjects over which it intervenes psychologically) can end up having a strong emotional charge, for what is usually be habitual in professional environments.


And, after all, psychologists do not stop empathizing at any time. That is why sometimes you can get to doubt about whether certain actions are carried out from a professional criterion or from a personal one, based on emotion.

2. Find time to look for clients

If the fact of offering the services of the psychological intervention already consumes enough time, money and effort, to that we must add the task of looking for clients.

This is aggravated considering that it is usually a task that is not foreseen by psychologists, who have been training for several years with the idea of ​​having to invest all their capacities in therapeutic intervention and in education and awareness programs. Developing a marketing plan can be tricky , and you have to find time for it.

  • Related article: "Marketing for Psychologists: the team of 'Psychology and Mind' at the service of your clinic"

3. Work intrusion

Unfortunately, both in Spain and in many other Spanish-speaking countries the profession of Psychology is not very well regulated legally , with which there is a lot of work intrusion.There are people who, having done courses for a weekend of Coaching, believe that they can give psychotherapy.


This has disastrous results for everyone: customers are hurt by spending time and money on something that does not work and can even make them skip the really effective treatments; to the psychologists it takes away a part of their market, and the false therapists end up raining the denunciations.

4. Prejudices about psychologists

Many people believe that psychologists are always practicing as such , which means, on the one hand, that any friend, relative or friend of a friend can ask for free therapy, and on the other, that they are always trying to "read the mind" of the people. Obviously none of this is true, but sometimes it can be quite annoying that people in the immediate environment assume these erroneous beliefs.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 great myths about modern psychology"

The Pros & Cons of Being a Therapist || mental health w Kati Morton (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 avantages et inconvénients d'être un psychologue

8 avantages et inconvénients d'être un psychologue

Juin 13, 2021

Toutes les professions ont leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients, et la psychologie ne fait pas exception. Vous consacrer à cette discipline passionnante est une façon de vivre des moments qui valent la peine, grâce à la satisfaction personnelle et professionnelle qu’ils produisent. Cependant, il y a aussi des moments spécifiques frustrants ou fastidieux.

Il est important, avant de décider d’entreprendre cette trajectoire formatrice et professionnelle, si nos préférences, motivations et objectifs correspondent bien à ce que la profession nous offre. Pour cela, il est bon de connaître le meilleur et le pire des psychologues .

  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi étudier la psychologie? 10 points à valoriser"

Les avantages et les inconvénients de la psychologie

Clairement, Les avantages et les inconvénients de la psychologie Ce sont des éléments qui dépendent des opinions personnelles et de la subjectivité de chacun, mais en gros, ce sont les suivants.


Les avantages d'être psychologue

Parmi les bonnes choses à propos de la dédicace à la psychologie, il y a plusieurs choses qui ont à voir avec les deux ce qui se passe en temps réel dans les séances de thérapie et de conseil ou de formation comme avec d'autres qui se produisent en dehors des sessions.

1. Cela permet de voir dans l'amélioration des autres le fruit de son travail

Les psychologues ont très souvent de bonnes raisons de se réjouir: les conséquences de leur travail bénéficier directement à quelqu'un et se traduire par un bonheur durable et que l'on peut voir. C'est quelque chose qui arrive avec très peu de professions.

2. Offre des horaires flexibles

Si vous ne travaillez pas dans une entreprise, les psychologues peuvent contacter avoir une liberté d'horaires appréciée . De plus, la possibilité de faire de la thérapie en ligne signifie que les sessions ne doivent pas être annulées si un patient ou un client quitte la ville ou voyage.


3. donne toujours des excuses pour continuer à apprendre

La psychologie étant un domaine jeune, elle se développe très rapidement. C’est pourquoi ceux qui travaillent dans ce domaine sont toujours en contact avec des sources très intéressantes de connaissances sur le comportement humain: séminaires, conférences, livres, articles scientifiques… Toutes peuvent être pertinentes pour la profession. aborder des questions aussi différentes que la biologie, la philosophie, la neurologie , apprendre, etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 18 meilleurs groupes sur Facebook pour apprendre la psychologie"

4. Il permet d’apprendre des techniques qui s’appliquent à soi-même

Avoir un thérapeute pour nous conseiller et nous diriger de l’extérieur n’est jamais la même chose que de ne pas l’avoir, mais connaître plusieurs principes, théories et techniques, Les psychologues ont plus de moyens de s'adapter aux circonstances qui apparaissent dans leur propre vie , d’une part, et ont moins de chances de tomber dans le piège de croyances préjudiciables concernant les processus mentaux, les problèmes personnels et les modes de comportement qu’ils manifestent eux-mêmes de temps à autre.



Les inconvénients de la psychologie

Nous avons déjà vu plusieurs avantages offerts par la profession de psychologue. Passons maintenant à ce côté pas si gentil de ce travail.

1. Les doutes fondés sur le critère suivi

La profession de psychologue va généralement de pair avec des expériences significatives et intenses, car dans la plupart des cas, elle traite constamment avec des personnes de toutes sortes. De plus, le type de relation qui s'établit entre le professionnel de la psychologie et les personnes avec lesquelles il interagit (patients, clients ou sujets sur lesquels il intervient psychologiquement) peut finir par avoir une charge émotionnelle forte, pour ce qui est généralement être habituel dans les environnements professionnels.


Et, après tout, les psychologues ne cessent d'empathiser à aucun moment. C'est pour ça que Parfois, vous pouvez vous demander si certaines actions sont effectuées à partir d'un critère professionnel ou d'un point de vue personnel, basé sur l'émotion.

2. Trouver du temps pour chercher des clients

Si le fait d'offrir les services de l'intervention psychologique nécessite déjà suffisamment de temps, d'argent et d'efforts, il faut ajouter à cela la tâche de rechercher des clients.

Cela est aggravé par le fait qu’il s’agit en général d’une tâche qui n’est pas prévue par les psychologues, qui suivent une formation depuis plusieurs années dans l’idée de devoir investir toutes leurs capacités dans des interventions thérapeutiques et dans des programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation. Développer un plan marketing peut être délicat , et vous devez trouver le temps pour cela.

  • Article connexe: "Marketing pour les psychologues: l'équipe de" Psychologie et esprit "au service de votre clinique"

3. Intrusion de travail

Malheureusement, en Espagne et dans de nombreux autres pays hispanophones la profession de psychologue n'est pas très bien réglementée légalement , avec lequel il y a beaucoup d'intrusion de travail.Il y a des gens qui, après avoir suivi des cours d'un week-end de coaching, pensent pouvoir donner de la psychothérapie.


Cela a des résultats désastreux pour tout le monde: les clients souffrent en dépensant temps et argent sur quelque chose qui ne fonctionne pas et peut même leur faire oublier les traitements vraiment efficaces; pour les psychologues, cela leur enlève une partie de leur marché et les faux thérapeutes finissent par faire pleuvoir les dénonciations.

4. Préjugés à propos des psychologues

Beaucoup de gens croient que les psychologues pratiquent toujours en tant que tels , ce qui signifie, d’un côté, que tout ami, membre de la famille ou ami d’un ami peut demander une thérapie gratuite, et d’autre part, qu’il essaie toujours de "lire dans l’esprit" des gens. Évidemment, rien de tout cela n’est vrai, mais il peut parfois être assez ennuyant que des personnes de l’environnement immédiat assument ces croyances erronées.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "8 grands mythes sur la psychologie moderne"

Différence d'âge dans le couple : Avantage ou inconvénient ? (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes