yes, therapy helps!
8 childhood wounds that emerge when we are adults

8 childhood wounds that emerge when we are adults

May 6, 2021

Childhood is the vital stage in which we are most sensitive to the influence of the environment and the way in which we relate to people.

Not only is it the time when we begin to understand what the world is like and we build our perception of reality on the foundations of those learning, but our brain develops at such a rapid pace that any small alteration in the way we communicate our neurons can leave a mark ... or emotional wounds that will be reproduced in the years to come .

And is that the impact that the environment has on us when we are children can be a change for better or for worse. The changes for good we already know them: learning to read, move, communicate, perform operations, and everything related to basic education inside and outside the school. But nevertheless, the changes for the worse, that will surface in our adult life, are already more difficult to identify .


The wounds that our childhood leaves in us

The painful experiences that occur during our first years can become a confused blur in our memory, so it is not easy to relate them to the habits and unhealthy behavior patterns of our adulthood .

This list of emotional wounds is a guide to identify those traces that could leave a mark on us years ago.

1. Defensive attitude

The basic form of painful experience is the abuse based on physical or verbal aggressions . People who have suffered beatings or insults during their childhood and / or adolescence tend to be insecure during adulthood, although not necessarily timid. In many cases, a simple gesture with your hand can startle them and cause them to get defensive with a start.


This defensive attitude is not only physically expressed, but also psychologically: these people show a propensity for mistrust, although they do not always express it with hostility but, sometimes, with an educated reserve.

2. Constant insulation

Children who suffer from lack of care can develop serious alterations when they reach adulthood, especially if their parents do not provide them with the necessary care. As it began to be seen through the studies of the psychologists John Bowlby and Harry Harlow, Isolation during childhood is related to serious affective and relational problems in adulthood , as well as sexual dysfunctions.

3. Anxiety and fear of others

If the isolation occurs in a more moderate way, its consequences in adulthood can come in the form of difficulties in social skills and intense anxiety when dealing with strangers or talking to an audience of many people.


4. Fear of commitment

The fact of having established strong affective bonds that were then truncated suddenly it can lead to the appearance of a fear of engaging in other loving ties . The psychological mechanism that explains this is the strong pain that comes from remembering what it is to feel a strong affection for someone and spend a lot of time with this person: you can not simply evoke those pleasant experiences that were spent in company without going through the influence of the memories about the loss of that bond.

Philophobia, or extreme fear of falling in love, is an example of this phenomenon.

5. Fear of rejection

Negligence, abuse or school bullying can make us predisposed to self-exclusion from informal social circles. Being accustomed to rejection from ages when we do not have the tools to understand that the fault is not ours makes us stop fighting to demand a dignified treatment, and the fear of rejection does not even expose us to receive the evaluations of the the rest. Simply, we are dedicated to spending a lot of time alone .

6. Contempt for others

The emotional wounds received during childhood can cause us to incorporate classical behaviors of sociopathy into our way of behaving. As you have the feeling that others have behaved like predators when we were vulnerable, we went on to incorporate into our thinking scheme the idea that life is an open war against others . In this way, the others become potential threats or potential ways to achieve the desired goals.

7. Dependence

Having been overprotected by parents or guardians makes us get used to having everything we want and that, when we reach adult life, we live in an eternal state of frustration. The most negative of this is that, to escape this frustration, a new protective figure is sought, instead of struggling to learn the necessary behaviors to gain autonomy over one's life.

It is a kind of behavior typical of people who have been accustomed to being capricious and demanding things from others.

8. The satisfied slave syndrome

Having been subjected to situations of exploitation during childhood, even if this consists of being forced to spend most of the day studying as a result of the parents 'or guardians' demands, it shows a predisposition to be exploited in adult life. It is understood in this way that the value of oneself as a person selling their labor power is very low, and that this must be compensated through long periods of daily work.

In a context with a lot of unemployment, this can lead to professional stagnation , since it tends to accept all the precarious jobs that are offered.

In addition, one goes on to feel gratitude for the people who benefit from this exploitation, something that can be called satisfied slave syndrome.


How A Messed Up Childhood Affects You In Adulthood (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 plaies d'enfance qui apparaissent à l'âge adulte

8 plaies d'enfance qui apparaissent à l'âge adulte

Octobre 25, 2021

L'enfance est l'étape vitale dans laquelle nous sommes le plus sensibles à l'influence de l'environnement et la façon dont nous nous rapportons aux gens.

C’est non seulement le moment où nous commençons à comprendre à quoi le monde ressemble et où nous construisons notre perception de la réalité sur les fondements de ceux qui apprennent, mais notre cerveau se développe à un rythme si rapide que toute petite modification de notre façon de communiquer nos neurones peuvent laisser une marque ... ou blessures émotionnelles qui se reproduiront dans les années à venir .

Et est-ce que l'impact que l'environnement a sur nous quand nous sommes enfants peut être un changement pour le meilleur ou pour le pire. Nous connaissons déjà ces changements pour de bon: apprendre à lire, bouger, communiquer, effectuer des opérations et tout ce qui concerne l’éducation de base à l’école et à l’extérieur. Cependant, les changements pour le pire, qui apparaîtront dans notre vie d'adulte, sont déjà plus difficiles à identifier .


Les plaies que notre enfance laisse en nous

Les expériences douloureuses qui se produisent au cours de nos premières années peuvent devenir un flou confus dans notre mémoire, alors il n'est pas facile de les relier aux habitudes et aux comportements malsains de notre âge adulte .

Cette liste de blessures émotionnelles est un guide pour identifier les traces qui pourraient nous laisser une trace il y a des années.

1. attitude défensive

La forme de base de l'expérience douloureuse est l'abus basé sur des agressions physiques ou verbales . Les personnes qui ont été battues ou insultées au cours de leur enfance et / ou de leur adolescence ont tendance à ne pas se sentir en sécurité à l'âge adulte, sans être nécessairement timides. Dans de nombreux cas, un simple geste de votre main peut les effrayer et les amener à se mettre sur la défensive au début.


Cette attitude défensive est non seulement exprimée physiquement, mais aussi psychologiquement: ces personnes manifestent une propension à la méfiance, bien qu'elles ne l'expriment pas toujours avec hostilité, mais parfois avec une réserve éduquée.

2. isolation constante

Les enfants qui manquent de soins peuvent développer de sérieuses modifications lorsqu'ils atteignent l'âge adulte, surtout si leurs parents ne leur fournissent pas les soins nécessaires. Comme cela a commencé à être vu à travers les études des psychologues John Bowlby et Harry Harlow, L’isolement pendant l’enfance est lié à de graves problèmes affectifs et relationnels à l’âge adulte , ainsi que les dysfonctionnements sexuels.

3. Anxiété et peur des autres

Si l'isolement se produit de manière plus modérée, ses conséquences à l'âge adulte peuvent prendre la forme de difficultés d'aptitudes sociales et d'une anxiété intense lorsque vous avez affaire à des étrangers ou que vous vous adressez à un public nombreux.


4. Peur de l'engagement

Le fait d’avoir établi de forts liens affectifs qui ont ensuite été tronqués soudainement il peut en résulter l'apparition d'une peur de s'engager dans d'autres liens amoureux . Le mécanisme psychologique qui explique cela est la douleur intense qui émane du souvenir de ce que ressentir une forte affection pour quelqu'un et passer beaucoup de temps avec cette personne: vous ne pouvez pas simplement évoquer ces expériences agréables vécues en compagnie sans passer par l'influence de la personne. des souvenirs de la perte de ce lien.

La philophobie, ou la peur extrême de tomber amoureux, est un exemple de ce phénomène.

5. Peur du rejet

La négligence, les abus ou l'intimidation scolaire peuvent nous rendre prédisposés à l'auto-exclusion des cercles sociaux informels. Être habitués au rejet depuis des âges où nous n'avons pas les outils pour comprendre que la faute ne nous appartient pas nous incite à cesser de nous battre pour exiger un traitement digne, et la peur du rejet ne nous expose même pas à recevoir les évaluations du d'autres Simplement nous sommes consacrés à passer beaucoup de temps seul .

6. Le mépris des autres

Les blessures émotionnelles reçues durant l’enfance peuvent nous amener à incorporer les comportements classiques de la sociopathie à notre comportement. Comme vous avez le sentiment que d’autres se sont comportés comme des prédateurs quand nous étions vulnérables, nous avons ensuite incorporé dans notre schéma de pensée l'idée que la vie est une guerre ouverte contre les autres . De cette manière, les autres deviennent des menaces potentielles ou des moyens potentiels d'atteindre les objectifs souhaités.

7. dépendance

Avoir été surprotégé par les parents ou les tuteurs nous habitue à avoir tout ce que nous voulons et que, lorsque nous atteignons la vie adulte, nous vivons dans un état de frustration éternel. Le plus négatif de ceci est que, pour échapper à cette frustration, une nouvelle figure protectrice est recherchée, au lieu de lutter pour apprendre les comportements nécessaires pour gagner en autonomie.

C'est une sorte de comportement typique des gens qui ont l'habitude d'être capricieux et de demander des choses aux autres.

8. Le syndrome de l'esclave satisfait

Après avoir été soumis à des situations d’exploitation durant son enfance, même s’il est contraint de passer la majeure partie de la journée à étudier à la demande des parents ou des tuteurs, il montre une prédisposition à être exploité à l’âge adulte. On comprend de cette manière que la valeur de soi en tant que personne vendant sa force de travail est très faible et que cela doit être compensé par de longues périodes de travail quotidien.

Dans un contexte de chômage important, cela peut conduire à une stagnation professionnelle , car il a tendance à accepter tous les emplois précaires offerts.

De plus, nous éprouvons de la gratitude envers les personnes qui bénéficient de cette exploitation, ce que l’on peut appeler le syndrome de l’esclave satisfait.


Secrets d'Histoire - Prince Charles, aux marches du trône… (Intégrale) (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes