yes, therapy helps!
8 great myths about students of Psychology

8 great myths about students of Psychology

May 6, 2021

Psychology is one of the most popular careers in a large number of countries. At the same time, what is done within the faculties dedicated to their study is confusing enough to have arisen a series of myths about the students of this race .

Myths about the interests of these people, absurd hypotheses about their abilities, stereotypes turned into caricatures ... ideas that, in short, have only served to involve psychology with an aura of obscurantism which offers a deeply distorted vision about the objectives and methods of this discipline.

Typical myths about psychologists and students of psychology

These are some of these myths and the reasons why they are not true.


1. They want to become your best friend

Nothing could be more unfortunate than thinking that one is intelligent or interesting enough to push all psychology students to be our friend, as if they felt the urge to enrich their lives by coming into contact with our fascinating, fascinating way to live life.

It is not like this, and possibly you will not fall very well if you insist a lot on initiating dialogues with them .

2. They are a kind of spiritual counselors

A very common idea is that psychologists and students of psychology are trained to tell people how to live their life in the best possible way. Could not be farther from the truth.


In the first place, it is impossible to create a series of very precise norms of behavior that are applicable to the whole world and that, at the same time, base their validity on the scientific method, which serves to study generalities. That's why his job is not to give a firm answer when, after being fifteen minutes talking to them about the course of our relationship, the monologue is ended with a: "So ... should I cut with it?" .

3. They end up becoming a bald man, with glasses and gray beard

A large number of graphic representations of how psychologists are characterized them as middle-aged men with round glasses, a beard (or mustache and goatee) and an old-fashioned wardrobe, as if upon graduating in psychology students metamorphosed into a clone version of the psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud.

However, there is a fact that serves to completely refute this stereotype: Currently, psychology is a career carried out mostly by women .


4. The classic: they will read your mind

This is wrong in many ways.

The first one is that, Obviously, no one can read anyone's mind . Currently the scientific landscape sees as a revolution the creation of machines and software capable of transforming a pattern of electrical activity of the brain into a collage of images that look a bit like the situation that the person being observed is imagining, this is something that has required years of work and a lot of money. None of this would make sense if psychology students had the ability, or even remotely, to read what you think.

The second reason is that neither can the mind be read by analyzing non-verbal language. You can estimate the chances that you are nervous, relaxed or slightly upset from the observation of microexpressions, but little else. This does not allow to know in detail what is thought, nor the reason behind those emotional states.

The third of them has to do with what was said previously. Even if they could read your mind, it would require a minimum of effort, and most likely they did not have enough incentives to be interested in what you think with a certain frequency .

5. They are very interested in the problems of the people around them

Psychology students do not have to be especially self-sacrificing or caring , especially if we take into account that a good part of them does not even plan to engage in psychotherapy.

Moreover, some are interested in psychology to obtain an impersonal and scientific knowledge about the functioning of mental processes in human beings in general.

6. Study psychology to understand their mental disorders

It is possible that some do, but of course there is no cause-effect law that dictates that this has to be the case. Mental disorders are just one of the many things that are studied during the race.

Moreover, it is possible that a part of them have started to pursue this career simply to understand why there are people who study psychology, or why some people are left-handed and others are right-handed.

7. They would like to put electrodes on their heads "to see something"

Of course, the use of techniques to record the electrical activity patterns of the brain is one of the most interesting aspects of psychology, but that does not have to transform the students of this career in people whose eccentric interests end up scare away their friends. .

Further, psychology is a very broad field of studies , and not all psychologists end up being interested in research in laboratories or clinics where the nervous system is studied directly. Many students of psychology prefer to base their activity on the study of behavior, and not so much on the observation of the functioning of neurons.

8. They see phallic symbols everywhere

This is not valid even in the case of people who study psychoanalysis , which differs from what is now considered psychology.

Yes, it is possible that some will happen to them, but not because of what they study, but simply because post-adolescence is causing them havoc.


10 myths about psychology: debunked | Ben Ambridge (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 grands mythes sur les étudiants en psychologie

8 grands mythes sur les étudiants en psychologie

Juin 13, 2021

La psychologie est l’une des carrières les plus populaires dans un grand nombre de pays. En même temps, ce qui est fait dans les facultés consacrées à leur étude est suffisamment déroutant pour qu’il soit né une série de mythes sur les étudiants de cette course .

Mythes sur les intérêts de ces personnes, hypothèses absurdes sur leurs capacités, stéréotypes transformés en caricatures ... des idées qui, en bref, ont seulement servi à impliquer la psychologie avec une aura d'obscurantisme qui offre une vision profondément déformée des objectifs et des méthodes de cette discipline.

Mythes typiques sur les psychologues et les étudiants en psychologie

Ce sont certains de ces mythes et les raisons pour lesquelles ils ne sont pas vrais.


1. Ils veulent devenir ton meilleur ami

Rien de plus malheureux que de penser qu’on est assez intelligent ou assez intéressant pour pousser tous les étudiants en psychologie à devenir notre ami, comme s’ils ressentaient le besoin de s’enrichir au quotidien en entrant en contact avec notre manière fascinante vivre la vie.

Ce n'est pas comme ça, et peut-être que vous ne tomberez pas très bien si vous insistez beaucoup pour entamer un dialogue avec eux .

2. Ils sont une sorte de conseillers spirituels

Une idée très courante est que les psychologues et les étudiants en psychologie sont formés pour dire aux gens comment vivre leur vie de la meilleure façon possible. Rien n'est plus éloigné de la vérité.


En premier lieu, il est impossible de créer une série de normes de comportement très précises qui soient applicables au monde entier et qui, en même temps, fondent leur validité sur la méthode scientifique, qui sert à étudier les généralités. C'est pourquoi son travail ne consiste pas à donner une réponse ferme. Après quinze minutes de discussion avec eux sur le cours de notre relation, le monologue se termine par un: "Alors ... devrais-je couper avec ça?" .

3. Ils finissent par devenir un homme chauve, avec des lunettes et une barbe grise

Un grand nombre de représentations graphiques de la manière dont ils sont caractérisés par les psychologues sont des hommes d'âge moyen avec des lunettes rondes, une barbe (ou une moustache et une barbiche) et une garde-robe à l'ancienne, comme si, à la fin de leurs études, des étudiants en psychologie étaient métamorphosés en version clone. du psychanalyste Sigmund Freud.

Cependant, il y a un fait qui sert à réfuter complètement ce stéréotype: Actuellement, la psychologie est une carrière principalement féminine. .


4. Le classique: ils vont lire dans vos pensées

C'est faux à bien des égards.

Le premier est que, De toute évidence, personne ne peut lire dans l'esprit de quelqu'un . Actuellement, le paysage scientifique voit comme une révolution la création de machines et de logiciels capables de transformer un schéma d'activité électrique du cerveau en une collage Des images qui ressemblent un peu à la situation imaginée par la personne observée, cela a nécessité des années de travail et beaucoup d’argent. Rien de tout cela n'aurait de sens si les étudiants en psychologie avaient la capacité, voire même à distance, de lire ce que vous pensez.

La deuxième raison est que l'esprit ne peut pas non plus être lu en analysant le langage non verbal. Vous pouvez estimer les chances que vous soyez nerveux, détendu ou légèrement contrarié par l'observation de micro-expressions, mais guère plus. Cela ne permet pas de connaître en détail ce qui est pensé, ni la raison derrière ces états émotionnels.

Le troisième d'entre eux a à voir avec ce qui a été dit précédemment. Même s'ils pouvaient lire dans vos pensées, cela demanderait un minimum d'effort, et très probablement, ils n'avaient pas assez de motivation pour s'intéresser à ce que vous pensez avec une certaine fréquence .

5. Ils sont très intéressés par les problèmes de leur entourage

Les étudiants en psychologie ne doivent pas nécessairement faire preuve d'abnégation ou de compassion , surtout si l’on tient compte du fait qu’une bonne partie d’entre eux ne prévoit même pas de psychothérapie.

De plus, certains s’intéressent à la psychologie pour obtenir une connaissance impersonnelle et scientifique du fonctionnement des processus mentaux chez l’être humain en général.

6. Étudier la psychologie pour comprendre leurs troubles mentaux

Il est possible que certains le fassent, mais bien sûr, aucune loi de cause à effet n'indique que cela doit être le cas. Les troubles mentaux ne sont que l’un des nombreux sujets étudiés pendant la course.

De plus, il est possible qu'une partie d'entre eux ait commencé cette carrière simplement pour comprendre pourquoi certaines personnes étudient la psychologie, ou pourquoi certaines personnes sont gauchères et d'autres droitiers.

7. Ils voudraient mettre des électrodes sur leur tête "pour voir quelque chose"

Bien sûr, l’utilisation de techniques pour enregistrer les schémas d’activité électrique du cerveau est l’un des aspects les plus intéressants de la psychologie, mais cela n’a pas à transformer les étudiants de cette carrière en personnes dont les intérêts excentriques finissent par effrayer leurs amis. .

En outre, la psychologie est un très vaste domaine d'études et tous les psychologues ne finissent pas par s’intéresser à la recherche en laboratoire ou dans des cliniques où le système nerveux est étudié directement. De nombreux étudiants en psychologie préfèrent fonder leur activité sur l'étude du comportement et moins sur l'observation du fonctionnement des neurones.

8. Ils voient des symboles phalliques partout

Ceci n'est pas valable même dans le cas de personnes qui étudient la psychanalyse , qui diffère de ce qui est maintenant considéré comme psychologie.

Oui, il est possible que cela leur arrive, mais pas à cause de ce qu'ils étudient, mais simplement parce que la post-adolescence leur cause des ravages.


10 myths about psychology: debunked | Ben Ambridge (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes