yes, therapy helps!
8 Mindfulness activities to improve emotional health

8 Mindfulness activities to improve emotional health

June 13, 2024

Mindfulness, or mindfulness , is one of the most useful tools to achieve emotional balance and improve concentration and well-being of people. Its effectiveness has been proven scientifically, and there is increasing evidence that its use helps regulate emotions, reduce stress and anxiety, helps sleep better and promotes creativity. In addition, Mindfulness is also enriching for those who are totally healthy and without psychological imbalances, who simply want to live their lives more fully.

This millenary practice allows us to be in the present moment. It's a coping style that drives personal strengths and that helps to be more aware of the immediate experience with a non-judgmental attitude, of openness and acceptance. Mindfulness helps self-regulate behavior and promotes self-awareness, in addition to creating an environment conducive to well-being.


  • Related article: "What is Mindfulness? The 7 answers to your questions "

Mindfulness activities for a better emotional balance

But more than a set of techniques to be in the present moment, Mindfulness it is a philosophy of life, an attitude that must be adopted to reconnect with oneself and be more aware of the reality that surrounds us. It requires practice and will, that is why it is necessary to carry out a series of activities to improve the ability to be in the here and now with a non judgmental and compassionate mentality.

There are many exercises for this purpose. Below you can find a series of Mindfulness activities for children and adults .


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 best Mindfulness books"

Children activities

Children can also get started in the practice of mindfulness. In this way, they develop this habit that will help them to get to know each other better and to relate better to the environment, so that they can be happier in the future.

1. Breathing of the bee

The breathing of the bee, or Bhramari Pranayama It is a simple but very effective exercise to focus attention on breathing and to free the mind of agitation, frustration, anxiety and get rid of anger. Since its practice does not have great complexity, it is possible to do it in any place and even at an early age. It consists of covering the ears, closing the eyes, and when we exhale the air it is necessary to pronounce the letter "m" until the end of breathing.


Without a doubt, it is an easy exercise to practice, although it is necessary to learn diaphragmatic breathing to be able to exhale for longer. The exercise can be done as many times as you wish, but it is advisable to start with few repetitions and gradually increase them. The sound that results from this action is similar to the buzzing of a bee, so this activity is called "Breathing the bee."

2. The art of playing

To perform this exercise it is necessary to place the children in pairs. One of them is given an object (a pen, a toy, a stone, a ball, etc.), and he is asked to close his eyes. The child who has the object describes it to his partner.

After one or two minutes the same process is performed, but this time it is the other partner who is responsible for describing the object. Despite the simplicity of this activity, it is ideal to teach the little ones that they can isolate their senses and, if they wish, can focus their attention to live different experiences .

3. Attention to the bell

This exercise has two parts. The first one is to ring a bell and ask the children to listen to the sound of the bell. Children should listen carefully and raise their hands when they no longer hear the sound vibration. Afterwards, they should remain silent for a minute and pay attention to the other sounds that are heard once the sound of the bell has stopped.

When the sound ends, the children should be encouraged to share their experiences and say what they heard during this period of time. This activity works attention and full awareness, and helps connect with here and now .

4. Become a frog

Children can learn to practice Mindfulness if they become a frog for a few minutes. Frogs are a clear example of what Mindfulness is. Just as when we meditate, frogs remain immobile for a long period of time. They rarely agitate, but remain still, observing and breathing calmly, and their belly moves in a pronounced way for each inhalation and exhalation. By adopting the role of this amphibian, children they learn to sit still, to breathe in a controlled manner and to observe what happens around him without flinching.

... and for adults

Adults can practice Mindfulness in their everyday life almost anywhere, and any time is good to focus on the present moment, adopt a non-judgmental mentality and treat oneself with compassion.

5. Exercise of the five senses

This exercise is simple and It can be applied quickly in almost any situation . All that is needed is to be aware of our senses and experience each of them separately. To perform this activity, you just have to follow this order:

  • Watch five things you can see . Look around and choose something you would not normally notice, such as a shadow or a small crack in the ground.
  • Watch four things you can feel . Become aware of four things that you are feeling in the present moment, such as the texture of the pants, the feeling of the breeze on your skin, or the smooth surface of the table where you are resting your hands.
  • Watch three things you can hear and focus on the sounds around you. For example, a bird, the noise from the refrigerator, or the sound of traffic from a nearby road.
  • Watch two things that you can smell . Pay attention to the smells that you are usually not aware of and see if they are pleasant or unpleasant. The smell of the nearby pines, of the beach if you live on the coast or of a fast food restaurant near your house.
  • Watch the taste of your mouth . Focus on the taste of the present moment. You can sip a drink you have on hand, chew gum, eat something and even notice the taste of your mouth without ingesting anything.

This is an easy exercise to practice, which can take you quickly to the here and now. The time you spend with each sense depends on you, but each object of attention must last one or two minutes. The idea it is not to perform a meditation, but to return to the present with an improved state of consciousness .

6. Active listening: observe non-verbal language

This activity is ideal to develop the capacity of active listening, which is a form of communication that it requires an effort on the part of our cognitive and empathic abilities , where the receiver is not a mere receiver of the words of the issuer. Many times we think that we listen when in reality we are listening.

Active listening is not listening to the other person, but being totally focused on the message that the other individual is trying to communicate. It is to be in the here and now with full consciousness. We not only focus on the words of the sender, but also on what he intends to transmit through non-verbal language.

To perform this exercise it is necessary to put in pairs . One of the members has two minutes to explain a pleasant experience of his life or an opinion about some recent event, while the other listens actively. What does your look, your posture or your gestures say? Do you look proud when you tell it? Does it transmit passion? The receiver has two minutes to carefully observe his partner's non-verbal communication. After completing the exercise, both tell their experience as active listeners.

7. Feeding Mindfulness

With the pace of life we ​​have today, it is usual that we do not stop for a moment to connect with ourselves, even when we have a few minutes to eat, because either we put on television or we are spinning around what we have What to do this afternoon. Well, it is possible to practice Mindfulness while eating or having breakfast. Pto perform the conscious feeding exercise , you simply have to pay full attention to what you are going to eat.

You can start by focusing on what you are holding. Observe the feeling of what you have in your hands (for example, a toast or fork). Once you are aware of the texture, the weight, the color, etc., focus your attention on the smell. By last, Take the food to your mouth, but do it slowly and with full consciousness . Note the taste or texture as it melts in your mouth. This activity can help you discover new experiences with foods that you often consume.

8. Attention to the center of the image

To carry out this activity it is necessary to visualize the audiovisual content shown below :

The objective of this exercise is simple: focus attention on the point that is displayed in the center of the image despite the changing color pattern around it, which can distract or provoke unwanted thoughts. It is an ideal exercise to begin in the practice of mindfulness and to begin to become aware of the thoughts that come to mind and of which sometimes we are not aware.

The purpose of this exercise is not to get lost in these thoughts, which can be very pronounced in people prone to suffer anxiety. This experience is similar to the phenomenon of silent fixation resulting from staring at a candle flame.

To know more about Mindfulness

Everything related to Mindfulness is very interesting because of the potential of this set of simple habits to apply to everyday life, but it is also true that it is not easy to explain what it is as an activity and what are the mechanisms by which it improves our quality of life.

Fortunately, several experts in the field have been developing training workshops to make this topic more accessible. The M-PBI Mindfulness Training Program of the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona , which begins on November 14, 2018 and is now in its 18th edition, is an example of these popular awareness initiatives that are increasingly popular.

In this training program we work with both the theoretical and practical aspects of this discipline, and we teach them to apply them in different contexts, starting from the Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction Program (MBSR) of the Massachusetts Clinic and the Program. of training based on Integrated Short Practices (M-PBI) of the experts Marcial Arredondo, Pilar Hurtado and Carla Uriarte. To know more about this program that consists of 6 sessions of 3 hours and a day of retirement you can click on this link.


Breathing Meditation | UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 activités de pleine conscience pour améliorer la santé émotionnelle

8 activités de pleine conscience pour améliorer la santé émotionnelle

Avril 15, 2021

Pleine conscience, ou pleine conscience , est l’un des outils les plus utiles pour atteindre l’équilibre émotionnel et améliorer la concentration et le bien-être des personnes. Son efficacité a été prouvée scientifiquement et il est de plus en plus évident que son utilisation permet de réguler les émotions, de réduire le stress et l’anxiété, de mieux dormir et de promouvoir la créativité. En outre, la pleine conscience enrichit également les personnes en parfaite santé et sans déséquilibres psychologiques, qui souhaitent simplement vivre plus pleinement.

Cette pratique millénaire nous permet d’être dans le moment présent. C'est un style d'adaptation qui motive les forces personnelles et cela aide à être plus conscient de l'expérience immédiate avec une attitude sans jugement, d'ouverture et d'acceptation. La pleine conscience contribue à la maîtrise du comportement et à la promotion de la conscience de soi, en plus de créer un environnement propice au bien-être.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience?" Les 7 réponses à vos questions "

Activités de pleine conscience pour un meilleur équilibre émotionnel

Mais plus qu'un ensemble de techniques pour être dans le moment présent, Mindfulness c'est une philosophie de la vie, une attitude à adopter renouer avec soi-même et être plus conscient de la réalité qui nous entoure. Cela demande de la pratique et de la volonté, c’est pourquoi il est nécessaire de mener une série d’activités pour améliorer la capacité d’être dans l’ici et maintenant avec une mentalité de non-jugement et de compassion.

Il existe de nombreux exercices à cet effet. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une série de Activités de pleine conscience pour enfants et adultes .


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 meilleurs livres de Mindfulness"

Activités pour les enfants

Les enfants peuvent également se lancer dans la pratique de la pleine conscience. De cette manière, ils développent cette habitude qui les aidera à mieux se connaître et à mieux se connecter à l'environnement, de manière à être plus heureux à l'avenir.

1. Respiration de l'abeille

La respiration de l'abeille, ou Bhramari Pranayama C'est un exercice simple mais très efficace concentrer l'attention sur la respiration et libérer l'esprit d'agitation, de frustration, d'anxiété et de se débarrasser de la colère. Comme sa pratique n’a pas une grande complexité, il est possible de le faire n’importe où et même à un âge précoce. Elle consiste à couvrir les oreilles, à fermer les yeux et lorsque nous expirons, il est nécessaire de prononcer la lettre "m" jusqu'à la fin de la respiration.


Sans aucun doute, c’est un exercice facile à pratiquer bien que il faut apprendre la respiration diaphragmatique pour pouvoir expirer plus longtemps. L'exercice peut être fait autant de fois que vous le souhaitez, mais il est conseillé de commencer avec peu de répétitions et de les augmenter progressivement. Le son résultant de cette action est similaire au bourdonnement d'une abeille. Cette activité s'appelle donc "Respirer l'abeille".

2. L'art de jouer

Pour effectuer cet exercice, il est nécessaire de placer les enfants par paires. On leur donne un objet (un stylo, un jouet, une pierre, une balle, etc.) et on lui demande de fermer les yeux. L'enfant qui a l'objet le décrit à sa partenaire.

Après une ou deux minutes, le même processus est exécuté, mais cette fois, c'est l'autre partenaire qui est responsable de la description de l'objet. Malgré la simplicité de cette activité, il est idéal d’enseigner aux plus petits qu’ils peuvent isoler leurs sens et, s’ils le souhaitent, peuvent concentrer leur attention pour vivre des expériences différentes .

3. Attention à la cloche

Cet exercice comporte deux parties. La première consiste à sonner et à demander aux enfants d’écouter le son de la cloche. Les enfants doivent écouter attentivement et lever les mains quand ils n'entendent plus la vibration du son. Ensuite, ils devraient rester silencieux pendant une minute et faire attention aux autres sons qui sont entendus une fois que le son de la cloche s'est arrêté.

Lorsque le son est terminé, les enfants doivent être encouragés à partager leurs expériences et à dire ce qu'ils ont entendu pendant cette période. Cette activité travaille l'attention et la pleine conscience, et aide à se connecter avec ici et maintenant .

4. Devenir une grenouille

Les enfants peuvent apprendre à pratiquer la pleine conscience s'ils deviennent grenouille pendant quelques minutes. Les grenouilles sont un exemple clair de ce qu'est la pleine conscience. Tout comme lorsque nous méditons, les grenouilles restent immobiles pendant une longue période. Ils agitent rarement, mais restent immobiles, observant et respirant calmement, et leur ventre bouge de manière prononcée à chaque inspiration et expiration. En adoptant le rôle de cet amphibien, les enfants ils apprennent à rester assis, à respirer de manière contrôlée et à observer ce qui se passe autour de lui sans broncher.

... et pour les adultes

Les adultes peuvent pratiquer la Mindfulness dans leur vie quotidienne presque n'importe où et il est toujours bon de se concentrer sur le moment présent, d'adopter une mentalité dépourvue de jugement et de se traiter avec compassion.

5. Exercice des cinq sens

Cet exercice est simple et Il peut être appliqué rapidement dans presque toutes les situations . Tout ce qui est nécessaire est d'être conscient de nos sens et de les expérimenter séparément. Pour effectuer cette activité, il vous suffit de suivre cet ordre:

  • Regarder cinq choses que vous pouvez voir . Regardez autour de vous et choisissez quelque chose que vous ne remarqueriez pas normalement, comme une ombre ou une petite fissure dans le sol.
  • Regarder quatre choses que vous pouvez ressentir . Prenez conscience de quatre choses que vous ressentez dans le moment présent, telles que la texture du pantalon, la sensation de la brise sur votre peau ou la surface lisse de la table sur laquelle vous posez vos mains.
  • Regarder trois choses que vous pouvez entendre et concentrez-vous sur les sons qui vous entourent. Par exemple, un oiseau, le bruit du réfrigérateur ou le bruit de la circulation provenant d'une route à proximité.
  • Regarder deux choses que vous pouvez sentir . Faites attention aux odeurs que vous ne connaissez généralement pas et voyez si elles sont agréables ou désagréables. L'odeur des pins à proximité, de la plage si vous habitez sur la côte ou d'un restaurant rapide près de chez vous.
  • Regarder le goût de ta bouche . Concentrez-vous sur le goût du moment présent. Vous pouvez siroter une boisson que vous avez sous la main, mâcher de la gomme, manger quelque chose et même remarquer le goût de votre bouche sans rien ingérer.

C'est un exercice facile à pratiquer, qui peut vous emmener rapidement vers l'ici et maintenant. Le temps que vous passez avec chaque sens dépend de vous, mais chaque objet d’attention doit durer une ou deux minutes. L'idée ce n'est pas faire une méditation, mais revenir au présent avec un état de conscience amélioré .

6. Écoute active: observez le langage non verbal

Cette activité est idéale pour développer la capacité d’écoute active, qui est une forme de communication qui cela nécessite un effort de la part de nos capacités cognitives et empathiques , lorsque le destinataire n’est pas un simple destinataire des paroles de l’émetteur. Nous pensons souvent que nous écoutons, alors qu'en réalité nous les écoutons.

L'écoute active ne consiste pas à écouter l'autre personne, mais à se concentrer totalement sur le message que l'autre personne tente de communiquer. C'est être dans l'ici et maintenant en pleine conscience. Nous nous concentrons non seulement sur les mots de l'expéditeur, mais également sur ce qu'il a l'intention de transmettre par le biais d'un langage non verbal.

Pour effectuer cet exercice il faut mettre par paires . L'un des membres dispose de deux minutes pour expliquer une expérience agréable de sa vie ou d'un avis sur un événement récent, tandis que l'autre écoute attentivement. Que dit ton regard, ta posture ou tes gestes? Avez-vous l'air fier quand vous le dites? Transmet-il la passion? Le destinataire dispose de deux minutes pour observer attentivement la communication non verbale de son partenaire. Une fois l'exercice terminé, les deux racontent leur expérience d'écoute active.

7. Nourrir la pleine conscience

Avec le rythme de vie actuel, il est courant que nous ne nous arrêtions pas un instant pour communiquer avec nous-mêmes, même lorsque nous avons quelques minutes pour manger, soit parce que nous passons à la télévision ou que nous tournons autour de ce que nous avons. Que faire cet après-midi. Eh bien, il est possible de pratiquer la pleine conscience en mangeant ou en prenant son petit déjeuner. Peffectuer l'exercice d'alimentation consciente , vous devez simplement faire attention à ce que vous allez manger.

Vous pouvez commencer par vous concentrer sur ce que vous tenez. Observez ce que vous avez entre les mains (par exemple, un pain grillé ou une fourchette). Une fois que vous avez conscience de la texture, du poids, de la couleur, etc., concentrez votre attention sur l'odeur. Finalement, Prenez la nourriture à votre bouche, mais faites-le lentement et en pleine conscience . Notez le goût ou la texture pendant la fusion dans la bouche. Cette activité peut vous aider à découvrir de nouvelles expériences avec des aliments que vous consommez souvent.

8. Attention au centre de l'image

Pour mener à bien cette activité il est nécessaire de visualiser le contenu audiovisuel présenté ci-dessous :

L’objectif de cet exercice est simple: attirer l’attention sur le point affiché au centre de l’image malgré le changement de motif de couleur autour de l’image, ce qui peut distraire ou provoquer des pensées indésirables. C’est un exercice idéal pour commencer à pratiquer la pleine conscience et à commencer à prendre conscience des pensées qui me viennent à l'esprit et dont parfois nous ne sommes pas au courant.

Le but de cet exercice n'est pas de se perdre dans ces pensées qui peuvent être très prononcées chez les personnes sujettes à l'anxiété. Cette expérience est similaire au phénomène de fixation silencieuse résultant de l'observation de la flamme d'une bougie.

En savoir plus sur la pleine conscience

Tout ce qui a trait à Mindfulness est très intéressant en raison du potentiel de cet ensemble d'habitudes simples à appliquer à la vie quotidienne, mais il est également vrai qu'il n'est pas facile d'expliquer ce qu'est une activité et quels sont les mécanismes par lequel cela améliore notre qualité de vie.

Heureusement, plusieurs experts du domaine ont mis au point des ateliers de formation pour rendre ce sujet plus accessible. Le programme de formation à la pleine conscience M-PBI de l'Institut Mensalus de Barcelone , qui commence le 14 novembre 2018 et en est à sa 18e édition, est un exemple de ces initiatives de sensibilisation grandissantes.

Dans ce programme de formation, nous travaillons à la fois sur les aspects théoriques et pratiques de cette discipline et nous leur apprenons à les appliquer dans différents contextes, à partir du programme de réduction du stress basé sur la pleine conscience (MBSR) de la Massachusetts Clinic et du programme. de formation basée sur les pratiques courtes intégrées (M-PBI) des experts Marcial Arredondo, Pilar Hurtado et Carla Uriarte. Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme composé de 6 sessions de 3 heures et d'une journée de retraite, vous pouvez cliquer sur ce lien.


nettoyage du cerveau en musique (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes