yes, therapy helps!
8 negative consequences of excess physical exercise

8 negative consequences of excess physical exercise

March 1, 2021

Physical exercise is one of the activities that best feel our body and our physical and mental wellbeing, and that's why sports practice brings many benefits. Experts recommend performing moderate physical activity at least 3 times per week; otherwise, we run the risk of suffering a sedentary lifestyle and other problems.

But nevertheless, too much physical exercise can also have negative consequences for a person and for his health.

Negative consequences of excess physical exercise

Controlled physical activity can increase our happiness, improve the health of our heart, help us to have a slender body, reduce stress and many other benefits, as you can see in the article: "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise"


But what happens when we train excessively? What consequences does it have for our body and our mind? Next we will see it.

1. Vigorexia

One of the pathological conditions that are associated with physical training and, especially, weight training, is vigorexia. This condition is a type of body dysmorphic disorder in which the person looks less muscled than he is and obsesses about having a gym body (ie, muscled).

The origin of the vigorexia is found in the culture of the image in which we live immersed. The media continuously send us advertising messages about the perfect body, often in an unrealistic way. The obsession with diet and physical exercise can lead a person to suffer vigorexia, and vigorexia can lead an individual to become obsessed with physical exercise.


  • Related article: "Vigorexia: causes, symptoms and treatment"

2. Runnorexia

Running has become very fashionable in recent years, and although running is one of the healthiest activities for our body and our mind, in excess, it can also cause serious problems for the person who exceeds. And is that anything taken to the extreme can have negative consequences for our body, and running is no exception.

The runnorexia may appear because the person suffers from low self-esteem and, as a consequence, seeks to fill the void that he feels with the excess of training. Evidently, cultural factors also influence, and the fact that running is in fashion, has also caused an increase in cases of people with runnorexia.

In extreme cases, people with runnorexia can see how their quality of life decreases and they can even stop staying with their friends or their partner. If you want to know more about this disorder, you can read this article: "Runnorexia: the modern addiction to running"


3. Rhabdomyolysis

Rhabdomyolysis is a condition that It is characterized by the alteration of muscle cells that cause alterations for the organism and can end up putting in risk the life of a person. Its cause can be hereditary, although excessive and intense physical training can also cause its development. Therefore, to prevent this alteration, it is advisable to perform controlled physical exercises and in appropriate conditions.

4. Injuries

Injuries are frequent in athletes, whether of muscular or joint type, and, occasionally, they occur without excess exercise being present. However, when we train excessively and do not rest enough we are more prone to suffer injuries. Sometimes it is because of the overload of training and sometimes because of the mental fatigue that occurs, which causes us to have an incorrect technique.

5. Aging

Practicing sports in a moderate way can help us feel young and healthy, not only on a physical level, but also psychological and mental. However, the excessive effort accelerates joint wear .

6. Overtraining syndrome

The overtraining syndrome is comparable to the burnout syndrome that occurs in companies. This phenomenon, which also receives the name of stalenessIt can lead the person to have serious health problems and affect their day to day.

When we talk about overtraining, we must distinguish the physical overtraining, which can cause problems, for example, of muscular type, of mental overtraining, which is much more complex or and that produces the following symptoms: feeling of fatigue, insomnia, depression, loss of vigor, etc. Excessive exercise and lack of recovery influence when developing this disorder.

  • If you want to know more: "Overtraining syndrome: athletes burned"

7. Heart problems

While moderate physical exercise is good for the cardiovascular system, and even intense training when done properly, too much exercise can cause an increase in circulatory and cardiac problems .

According to an investigation by Heart magazine, practicing a lot of sports can be counterproductive to the heart, especially in those over 30 years of age who train intensely more than five hours a week. The data conclude that 19% of the population are more prone to develop some heart disease such as atrial fibrillation When you reach 60 years old.

8. Descent of the immune system

The immune system is also impaired with excess physical exercise, especially because the body does not rest enough. This causes different problems for the organism, because it does not recover properly as should do in a rest period . The weak immune system manifests with more colds, fever, headaches and more serious diseases.


What Too Much Exercise Does To Your Body And Brain (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 conséquences négatives de l'excès d'exercice physique

8 conséquences négatives de l'excès d'exercice physique

Janvier 26, 2020

L’exercice physique est l’une des activités qui ressent le mieux notre corps et notre bien-être physique et mental. C’est pourquoi la pratique sportive présente de nombreux avantages. Les experts recommandent de pratiquer une activité physique modérée au moins 3 fois par semaine; sinon, nous risquons de subir un style de vie sédentaire et d’autres problèmes.

Cependant, trop d'exercice physique peut aussi avoir des conséquences négatives pour une personne et pour sa santé.

Conséquences négatives de l'exercice physique excessif

Une activité physique contrôlée peut augmenter notre bonheur, améliorer la santé de notre cœur, nous aider à avoir un corps élancé, réduire le stress et de nombreux autres avantages, comme vous pouvez le voir dans l'article: "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique"


Mais que se passe-t-il quand on s'entraîne excessivement? Quelles conséquences cela a-t-il sur notre corps et notre esprit? Ensuite nous le verrons.

1. Vigorexia

La vigorexia est l'une des conditions pathologiques associées à l'entraînement physique, et en particulier à la musculation. Cette condition est un type de trouble dysmorphique du corps dans laquelle la personne a l'air moins musclée qu'elle ne l'est et obsédée par le fait d'avoir un corps en gymnase (c'est-à-dire musclé).

L'origine de la vigorexia se trouve dans la culture de l'image dans laquelle nous vivons immergé. Les médias nous envoient continuellement des messages publicitaires sur le corps parfait, souvent de manière irréaliste. L'obsession du régime alimentaire et de l'exercice physique peut amener une personne à souffrir de vigorexia, et cette dernière peut amener une personne à devenir obsédée par l'exercice physique.


  • Article connexe: "Vigorexia: causes, symptômes et traitement"

2. Runnorexia

La course à pied est devenue très à la mode ces dernières années et bien que la course soit l'une des activités les plus saines pour notre corps et notre esprit, son excès peut aussi causer de graves problèmes à celui qui dépasse. Et est-ce tout ce qui est poussé à l'extrême peut avoir des conséquences négatives pour notre corps, et courir ne fait pas exception.

La runnorexia peut apparaître parce que la personne souffre d'une faible estime de soi et, par conséquent, cherche à combler le vide qu'elle ressent avec l'excès d'entraînement. De toute évidence, des facteurs culturels ont également une influence et le fait que la course soit à la mode a également entraîné une augmentation du nombre de personnes atteintes de runnorexie.

Dans les cas extrêmes, les personnes atteintes de runnorexia peut voir comment leur qualité de vie diminue et ils peuvent même cesser de rester avec leurs amis ou leur partenaire. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce trouble, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Runnorexia: la dépendance moderne à la course"


3. Rhabdomyolyse

La rhabdomyolyse est une condition qui Il est caractérisé par l'altération des cellules musculaires qui provoquent des altérations pour l'organisme et peuvent finir par mettre en péril la vie d'une personne. Sa cause peut être héréditaire, même si un entraînement physique excessif et intense peut également être à l'origine de son développement. Par conséquent, pour éviter cette altération, il est conseillé d'effectuer des exercices physiques contrôlés et dans des conditions appropriées.

4. Blessures

Les blessures sont fréquentes chez les athlètes, qu’elles soient de type musculaire ou articulaire, et occasionnellement, elles se produisent sans excès d’activité physique. Cependant, quand on s'entraîne excessivement et qu'on ne se repose pas assez nous sommes plus susceptibles de subir des blessures. Parfois, c'est à cause de la surcharge d'entraînement et parfois de la fatigue mentale qui survient, ce qui nous oblige à avoir une technique incorrecte.

5. vieillissement

Faire du sport de façon modérée peut nous aider à nous sentir jeunes et en bonne santé, non seulement sur le plan physique, mais aussi sur le plan psychologique et mental. Cependant, l'effort excessif accélère l'usure des articulations .

6. Syndrome de surentraînement

Le syndrome de surentraînement est comparable au syndrome de burnout qui se produit dans les entreprises. Ce phénomène, qui reçoit également le nom de stalenessCela peut amener la personne à avoir de graves problèmes de santé et à affecter son quotidien.

Quand on parle de surentraînement, il faut distinguer le surentraînement physique, ce qui peut poser des problèmes, par exemple de type musculaire, de surentraînement mental, qui est beaucoup plus complexe ou et qui produit les symptômes suivants: sensation de fatigue, insomnie, dépression, perte de vigueur, etc. L'exercice excessif et le manque de récupération influent sur le développement de ce trouble.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus: "Syndrome de surentraînement: les athlètes brûlés"

7. problèmes de coeur

Bien que l’exercice physique modéré soit bénéfique pour le système cardiovasculaire, et même un entraînement intense lorsqu’il est fait correctement, trop d’exercice peut causer une augmentation des problèmes circulatoires et cardiaques .

Selon une enquête du magazine Heart, la pratique de nombreux sports peut être contre-productive pour le cœur, en particulier chez les personnes de plus de 30 ans qui s'entraînent intensément plus de cinq heures par semaine. Les données concluent que 19% de la population est plus susceptible de développer une maladie cardiaque telle que la fibrillation auriculaire Quand tu atteins l'âge de 60 ans.

8. Descente du système immunitaire

Le système immunitaire est également affaibli par un exercice physique excessif, en particulier parce que le corps ne se repose pas suffisamment. Cela pose différents problèmes à l'organisme, car il ne récupère pas correctement car devrait faire dans une période de repos . Le système immunitaire faible se manifeste par davantage de rhumes, de fièvre, de maux de tête et de maladies plus graves.


Un Exercice Très Simple Pour Perdre Rapidement la Graisse du Dos et du Ventre (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes