yes, therapy helps!
8 things that only narcissists do

8 things that only narcissists do

January 17, 2022

We have all had contact with people who are narcissists . This personality trait is characterized by an excessive admiration towards oneself, and, sometimes, it can be considered pathological, because it can lead to a toxic relationship with those that surround this type of individuals.

But narcissism is also embodied in concrete patterns of behavior. In this article we will focus precisely on that: the things that narcissistic people do .

  • Related article: "The (subtle) difference between self-esteem and narcissism"

Narcissism and insecurity

Those people with this very marked trait live excessively aware of their own desires and needs and can become proud of being that way, as revealed in a study by Indiana University in 2014.


Narcissists may seem very self-confident, but in reality, they feel empty and put on a mask to hide their insecurity. They are not what they appear to be, but they are all fronts. Now, narcissists are people who tend to make friends easily, and can become sweet at first. In the long run, but they have serious difficulties in maintaining relations, because sooner or later his true personality comes out .

  • Related article: "Narcissistic people with psychopathic traits are more attractive, according to a study"

Things that narcissistic people do

Narcissists need other people to feel admired. But how do narcissistic people behave? What habits or behaviors do you frequently do?


1. Project a superiority image

If something characterizes the narcissists it is their attempt to give a perfect image of themselves and often show airs of superiority. They always care about looking healthy and popular, and they are usually materialistic people who like to be important. They seek attention continuously, and that is why they dress impeccably. Even to the point of sacrificing their own needs.

2. They want to be the best in everything

Narcissists are not humble people and tend to have very high goals, because they like to stand out and, as I said in the previous point, also show an image of superiority. They go to the best doctor, to the best hairdresser, to the best restaurant ... But not because they consider that they are of better quality, but to brag about it and immortalize that moment in order to upload it to social networks.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Perfectionist personality: the disadvantages of perfectionism"

3. They give a good first image

The first image we show to someone determines the confidence we can have with a person in the initial moments and favors the contact with the other person. Narcissists are people who usually worry about giving a good first impression, although later they show their true personality. In early moments of a relationship, they can be sweet and affectionate . Over time, this trend disappears.

4. Do not accept criticism

Nobody likes to receive criticism, but sometimes these can be constructive and useful for those who receive them. But Narcissists tend to get defensive when they receive criticism, and may even show an aggressive attitude. This happens because they feel that their fragile ego is being threatened.

5. They think they know everything and can be intransigent

Narcissists are people who can become intransigent and have the need to show that they know everything and that they are always right. They are people with a lack of empathy , although they may be sweet at first. In fact, they tend to be less tolerant of other people, since they think only of them. The first thing is them, and they never give in to others.

6. They do not take into account the needs of others

The narcissists are too observant to look at themselves in the navel. Therefore, ** do not have time to think about the needs of others **. This is a clear example of their lack of empathy, although it may seem otherwise. When they care about other people it is because they have an interest, not because it is a genuine feeling.

7. They perceive narcissism as something positive

Although much of the population considers that narcissism is not good at all, narcissists perceive this personality trait as something positive. This is what some studies show, which indicate that they have no qualms about describing themselves as arrogant or arrogant. Studies also claim that They do not care if others think that narcissism is bad .

8. They believe that the world revolves around them

Narcissists worry that others will admire them, but they also believe that the world revolves around them. That is why they are not concerned with the feelings of others, because their attention is placed on themselves. Although the first initial contacts with a person may seem warm, they are actually insensitive.

Narcissism and new technologies

New technologies have been a change when interacting with other individuals. For narcissists, The use of social networks is a great opportunity to feed your ego . For this reason they are constantly uploading selfies and uploading photos to their Facebook or Instagram accounts.

Doing selfies is not bad in itself, but narcissists spend a lot of time looking for the perfect photo and hanging the selfie on social networks. A bad habit that, despite feeding your ego, is bad for your self-esteem.

According to a study, narcissists use social networks differently from other subjects, mainly for three reasons:

  • Hang more selfies .
  • They edit the selfies to obtain the image they consider perfect.
  • They spend more time on social networks.

How to detect a narcissist

Narcissists, as you have seen, carry out a series of behaviors and perform actions that characterize them. Therefore, it is possible to detect them. In the article "How to detect a narcissist ... with a simple question" you can find some tips that will help you to know if someone is narcissistic.


6 Common Things That Only Narcissists Do (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 choses que seuls les narcissiques font

8 choses que seuls les narcissiques font

Mars 7, 2021

Nous avons tous eu des contacts avec des narcissiques . Ce trait de personnalité est caractérisé par une admiration excessive pour soi-même et peut même parfois être considéré comme pathologique, car il peut conduire à une relation toxique avec ceux qui entourent ce type d'individus.

Mais le narcissisme s’incarne aussi dans des comportements concrets. Dans cet article, nous allons nous concentrer précisément sur cela: les choses que font les narcissiques .

  • Article connexe: "La différence (subtile) entre l'estime de soi et le narcissisme"

Narcissisme et insécurité

Les personnes ayant ce trait très marqué vivent excessivement conscientes de leurs propres désirs et besoins et peuvent en devenir fières, comme l'a révélé une étude réalisée par l'Indiana University en 2014.


Les narcissiques peuvent sembler très confiants, mais en réalité, ils se sentent vides et se mettent un masque pour cacher leur insécurité. Ils ne sont pas ce qu'ils semblent être, mais ils sont tous des fronts. Maintenant, les narcissiques sont des gens qui ont tendance à se faire facilement des amis et peuvent devenir gentils au début. À long terme, mais ils ont de sérieuses difficultés à entretenir des relations, car tôt ou tard sa vraie personnalité sort .

  • Article connexe: "Selon une étude, les narcissiques présentant des traits psychopathiques sont plus attrayants"

Ce que font les narcissiques

Les narcissistes ont besoin que d’autres personnes se sentent admirées. Mais comment se comportent les narcissiques? Quelles habitudes ou comportements faites-vous fréquemment?


1. Projeter une image de supériorité

Si quelque chose caractérise les narcissiques, c'est leur tentative de donner une image parfaite d'eux-mêmes et de montrer souvent des airs de supériorité. Ils se soucient toujours d'avoir l'air en bonne santé et populaire, et ce sont généralement des personnes matérialistes qui aiment être importantes. Ils recherchent continuellement l'attention, et c'est pourquoi ils s'habillent impeccablement. Même au point de sacrifier leurs propres besoins.

2. Ils veulent être les meilleurs en tout

Les narcissistes ne sont pas des gens humbles et ont tendance à avoir des objectifs très élevés, car ils aiment se démarquer et, comme je l'ai dit dans le point précédent, montrer également une image de supériorité. Ils vont chez le meilleur médecin, chez le meilleur coiffeur, dans le meilleur restaurant ... Mais pas parce qu'ils considèrent qu'ils sont de meilleure qualité, mais pour se vanter et immortaliser ce moment afin de le transférer sur les réseaux sociaux.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Personnalité perfectionniste: les inconvénients du perfectionnisme"

3. Ils donnent une bonne première image

La première image que nous montrons à quelqu'un détermine la confiance que nous pouvons avoir avec une personne dans les premiers instants et favorise le contact avec l'autre personne. Les narcissistes sont des gens qui ont généralement peur de donner une bonne première impression, bien qu'ils montrent ensuite leur vraie personnalité. Dans les premiers moments d'une relation, ils peuvent être doux et affectueux . Au fil du temps, cette tendance disparaît.

4. Ne pas accepter les critiques

Personne n'aime recevoir les critiques, mais elles peuvent parfois être constructives et utiles pour ceux qui les reçoivent. Mais Les narcissiques ont tendance à être sur la défensive quand ils reçoivent des critiques, et peuvent même montrer une attitude agressive. Cela se produit parce qu'ils sentent que leur ego fragile est menacé.

5. Ils pensent tout savoir et peuvent être intransigeants

Les narcissistes sont des gens qui peuvent devenir intransigeants et avoir le besoin de montrer qu'ils savent tout et qu'ils ont toujours raison. Ce sont des gens avec un manque d'empathie , bien qu'ils puissent être doux au début. En fait, ils ont tendance à être moins tolérants envers les autres, car ils ne pensent qu'à eux. La première chose est eux, et ils ne cèdent jamais aux autres.

6. Ils ne prennent pas en compte les besoins des autres

Les narcissiques sont trop attentifs pour se regarder dans le nombril. Par conséquent, ** n’a pas le temps de réfléchir aux besoins des autres **. Ceci est un exemple clair de leur manque d'empathie, bien qu'il puisse sembler autre chose. Quand ils se soucient des autres, c'est parce qu'ils ont un intérêt, pas parce que c'est un sentiment authentique.

7. Ils perçoivent le narcissisme comme quelque chose de positif

Bien qu'une grande partie de la population considère que le narcissisme n'est pas bon du tout, les narcissiques perçoivent ce trait de personnalité comme quelque chose de positif. C’est ce que montrent certaines études, qui indiquent qu’ils n’ont aucun scrupule à se décrire comme arrogants ou arrogants. Des études affirment également que Ils s'en moquent si d'autres pensent que le narcissisme est mauvais .

8. Ils croient que le monde tourne autour d'eux

Les narcissistes craignent que d'autres ne les admirent, mais ils croient également que le monde tourne autour d'eux. C'est pourquoi ils ne sont pas concernés par les sentiments des autres, car leur attention est placée sur eux-mêmes. Bien que les premiers contacts avec une personne puissent sembler chaleureux, ils sont en réalité insensibles.

Narcissisme et nouvelles technologies

Les nouvelles technologies ont été un changement lors de l'interaction avec d'autres individus. Pour les narcissiques, L'utilisation des réseaux sociaux est une excellente occasion de nourrir votre ego . Pour cette raison, ils téléchargent constamment des selfies et des photos sur leur compte Facebook ou Instagram.

Faire des selfies n'est pas mauvais en soi, mais les narcissiques passent beaucoup de temps à chercher la photo parfaite et à suspendre le selfie sur les réseaux sociaux. Une mauvaise habitude qui, bien que nourrissant votre ego, nuit à votre estime de soi.

Selon une étude, les narcissistes utilisent les réseaux sociaux différemment des autres sujets, principalement pour trois raisons:

  • Accrocher plus de selfies .
  • Ils éditent les selfies pour obtenir l'image qu'ils considèrent parfaite.
  • Ils passent plus de temps sur les réseaux sociaux.

Comment détecter un narcissique

Comme vous l'avez vu, les narcissiques adoptent une série de comportements et exécutent les actions qui les caractérisent. Par conséquent, il est possible de les détecter. Dans l'article "Comment détecter un narcissique ... avec une question simple", vous trouverez quelques astuces qui vous aideront à savoir si quelqu'un est narcissique.


Qu'advient-il quand le pervers narcissique se retrouve seul? (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes