yes, therapy helps!
9 habits to prevent cancer (according to science)

9 habits to prevent cancer (according to science)

January 27, 2023

One of the most talked about diseases today is cancer, as estimated by the Spanish Society of Medical Oncology (SEOM), More than 200,000 cases of cancer are diagnosed in this Mediterranean country . In addition, the World Health Organization (UN), says that in the year 2020 about 250,000 people will suffer cancer in Spain, of which 2 thirds will be men.

This disease is one of the leading causes of death in the world. There are different kinds of cancer, some of them more lethal than others.

  • Related article: "Types of cancer: definition, risks and how they are classified"

Habits to reduce the risk of suffering from cancer

It is common to hear that mortality associated with cancer can be reduced with a positive attitude. However, as we explained in our article "Is it true that a positive attitude prevents cancer?", This is not really the case.


Cancer can appear by a mixture of factors. Sometimes it is inevitable, but in many others it appears because of the habits we carry out. What can we do to reduce the risk of suffering from this disease?

In the following lines you can find a list of habits you should avoid to prevent the onset of cancer.

1. Avoid excessive sun exposure

We all like to wear a nice tan, and summer is the best time to take that sun. However, when we enjoy a day at the beach or relax in the pool we must take precautions and sunbathe with responsibility .

If we expose ourselves to the sun's rays for a long time it is necessary to use a quality protective cream, as you can find in the list "The 10 best sunscreen creams in the market", because in the last decades, with the weakening of the ozone layer, has increased the danger of UVA and UVB rays. Experts say that it is necessary to avoid sun exposure at daytime hours of more radiation, that is, between 12:00 and 16:00. To prevent skin cancer, we must make use of these tips.


2. Do not smoke

One of the most harmful habits for health is smoking, which causes many diseases, including cancer . The WHO estimates that 22% of deaths from cancer have their origin in this bad habit. Quitting smoking is not easy, as we saw in our article "The two faces of tobacco dependence (chemistry and psychological)", but it is a wise choice, which is often difficult to take because of the cognitive dissonance that we experience.

Smoking, in addition to causing deaths from cancer, also causes heart attacks, cardiovascular problems, chronic fatigue ... and many more harmful conditions for the body.

  • If you want to quit smoking, you can read our article: "Do you want to stop smoking? The solution could be in the money "

3. Practice physical exercise

Physical exercise is one of the healthiest habits that we can carry out . Our cardiovascular health improves, we burn excess calories and it also helps prevent many diseases, including cancer.


Performing 3 to 5 weekly sessions (30-60 minutes) a week is ideal to note the benefits and prevent cancer.

  • Related article: "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise"

4. Take less alcohol

If tobacco is harmful to health and can cause cancer, so is alcohol when consumption is not moderated. The liver and other areas of the body may notice the negative consequences of drinking this toxic substance It can cause cancer of the liver, mouth, pharynx, larynx, esophagus, colon and rectum.

Experts advise drinking a glass of wine or beer a day, but it is important to know that drinking alcohol during adolescence modifies the brain.

  • Related article: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction"

5. Eat healthy

Healthy eating is a basic pillar of a healthy life , but it is also key in the prevention of cancer. Being well nourished maintains the proper functioning of the immune system.

Studies on the positive effects of eating vegetables and fruits say they are important in the fight against cancer, because they provide nutrients that help repair damaged cells. Therefore, it is necessary to consume at least five daily servings.

In addition, according to the American Institute for Cancer Research, we must avoid excessive consumption of red meat and processed foods (for example, hot dogs) should be eaten a few times.

6. Combat obesity

Obesity is a big problem in Western societies , and the person who suffers it not only suffers the aesthetic effects, but also serious health problems, for example, cardiovascular diseases and cancer. Obesity has many causes, of which 30% are of genetic origin and 70% of environmental origin.

Feeding and a sedentary lifestyle contribute to the development of this phenomenon.

  • If you want to go deeper into this topic, you can read our article: "Types of obesity: characteristics and risks"

7. Perform continuous checks

There are people who never perform checkups to know what the state of health is especially if we have a history of cancer. r in the family. While some cancers are more difficult to detect, others can be diagnosed if tests are done. For example, women should start having mammograms starting at 40 years of age, although they do consider that they may be at risk, they should talk to their family doctor without fear.

The procedure is quick, around 20 minutes. The Spanish Society of Senology and Breast Pathology (SESPM) advises that women should perform the first revision after 25 years.

8. Protect yourself from carcinogenic substances

If your job includes being in contact with potentially carcinogenic substances, you should exercise extreme caution and not expose yourself unnecessarily to this harmful environment . In addition, environments in which tobacco smoke is common can increase the risk of cancer by 35%. Being a passive smoker is also dangerous.

9. Healthy lifestyle

Sometimes cancer can not be avoided, but living a healthy lifestyle, practicing physical exercise, eating healthy, sleeping 8 hours a day ... is undoubtedly the best way to avoid developing this disease.

  • Related article: "Mindfulness: this way it helps cancer patients"

10 Weird But Simple Habits To Live Longer (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
9 habitudes pour prévenir le cancer (selon la science)

9 habitudes pour prévenir le cancer (selon la science)

Février 2, 2023

Le cancer est l’une des maladies les plus répandues aujourd’hui, selon les estimations de la Société espagnole d’oncologie médicale (SEOM), Plus de 200 000 cas de cancer sont diagnostiqués dans ce pays méditerranéen . En outre, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (ONU) indique qu'en l'an 2020, environ 250 000 personnes seront atteintes d'un cancer en Espagne, dont les deux tiers seront des hommes.

Cette maladie est l'une des principales causes de décès dans le monde. Il existe différents types de cancer, certains plus meurtriers que d'autres.

  • Article connexe: "Types de cancer: définition, risques et classification"

Habitudes pour réduire le risque de cancer

Il est courant d'entendre que la mortalité associée au cancer peut être réduite avec une attitude positive. Cependant, comme nous l'expliquions dans notre article "Est-il vrai qu'une attitude positive prévient le cancer?", Ce n'est pas vraiment le cas.


Le cancer peut apparaître par une combinaison de facteurs. Parfois, c'est inévitable, mais dans beaucoup d'autres, cela apparaît à cause des habitudes que nous adoptons. Que pouvons-nous faire pour réduire le risque de souffrir de cette maladie?

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des habitudes à éviter pour prévenir l’apparition du cancer.

1. Évitez l'exposition excessive au soleil

Nous aimons tous porter un beau bronzage, et l'été est le meilleur moment pour prendre ce soleil. Cependant, lorsque nous profitons d’une journée à la plage ou que nous nous détendons à la piscine nous devons prendre des précautions et bronzer avec responsabilité .

Si nous nous exposons longtemps aux rayons du soleil, il est nécessaire d'utiliser une crème protectrice de qualité, comme vous pouvez le trouver dans la liste "Les 10 meilleures crèmes solaires sur le marché", car ces dernières décennies, avec l'affaiblissement des la couche d'ozone, a augmenté le danger des rayons UVA et UVB. Les experts disent qu'il est nécessaire d'éviter l'exposition au soleil pendant les heures de la journée de plus de rayonnement, c'est-à-dire entre 12h00 et 16h00. Pour prévenir le cancer de la peau, nous devons utiliser ces conseils.


2. ne pas fumer

Une des habitudes les plus nocives pour la santé est le tabagisme, qui cause de nombreuses maladies, notamment le cancer. . L'OMS estime que 22% des décès par cancer ont pour origine cette mauvaise habitude. Cesser de fumer n’est pas chose facile, comme nous l’avons vu dans notre article "Les deux facettes de la dépendance au tabac (chimie et psychologie)", mais c’est un choix judicieux, qui est souvent difficile à prendre en raison de la dissonance cognitive que nous ressentons.

Le tabagisme, en plus de causer la mort par cancer, provoque également des crises cardiaques, des problèmes cardiovasculaires, de la fatigue chronique ... et de nombreuses autres conditions néfastes pour le corps.

  • Si vous voulez arrêter de fumer, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Voulez-vous arrêter de fumer?" La solution pourrait être dans l'argent "

3. Pratiquer de l'exercice physique

L’exercice physique est l’une des habitudes les plus saines que nous puissions avoir. . Notre santé cardiovasculaire s’améliore, nous brûlons les calories en excès et nous aidons également à prévenir de nombreuses maladies, y compris le cancer.


Effectuer de 3 à 5 séances hebdomadaires (30 à 60 minutes) par semaine est idéal pour noter les avantages et prévenir le cancer.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique"

4. Prendre moins d'alcool

Si le tabac est nocif pour la santé et peut provoquer le cancer, il en va de même pour l’alcool lorsque la consommation n’est pas modérée. Le foie et d'autres parties du corps peuvent remarquer les conséquences négatives de la consommation de cette substance toxique Il peut causer le cancer du foie, de la bouche, du pharynx, du larynx, de l'œsophage, du colon et du rectum.

Les experts conseillent de boire un verre de vin ou de bière par jour, mais il est important de savoir que boire de l'alcool pendant l'adolescence modifie le cerveau.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 signes de dépendance à l'alcool"

5. manger sainement

Une saine alimentation est l'un des piliers d'une vie saine , mais c’est aussi un élément clé dans la prévention du cancer. Être bien nourri maintient le bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire.

Des études sur les effets positifs de la consommation de légumes et de fruits indiquent qu'ils jouent un rôle important dans la lutte contre le cancer, car ils fournissent des nutriments qui aident à réparer les cellules endommagées. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de consommer au moins cinq portions par jour.

En outre, selon l’Institut américain de recherche sur le cancer, il faut éviter une consommation excessive de viande rouge et les aliments transformés (par exemple, les hot dogs) doivent être consommés plusieurs fois.

6. lutter contre l'obésité

L'obésité est un gros problème dans les sociétés occidentales et la personne qui la subit souffre non seulement des effets esthétiques, mais également de graves problèmes de santé, tels que les maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer. L'obésité a de nombreuses causes, dont 30% d'origine génétique et 70% d'origine environnementale.

L'alimentation et un mode de vie sédentaire contribuent au développement de ce phénomène.

  • Si vous souhaitez approfondir ce sujet, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Types d'obésité: caractéristiques et risques"

7. Effectuer des contrôles continus

Il y a des gens qui ne font jamais de bilans pour savoir quel est l'état de santé, surtout si nous avons des antécédents de cancer. r dans la famille. Bien que certains cancers soient plus difficiles à détecter, d'autres peuvent être diagnostiqués si des tests sont effectués. Par exemple, les femmes devraient commencer à subir une mammographie à partir de 40 ans. Même si elles estiment être à risque, elles devraient consulter leur médecin de famille sans crainte.

La procédure est rapide, environ 20 minutes. La Société espagnole de sénologie et de pathologie du sein (SESPM) recommande aux femmes d'effectuer la première révision après 25 ans.

8. Protégez-vous des substances cancérigènes

Si votre travail consiste notamment à être en contact avec des substances potentiellement cancérogènes, vous devez faire preuve d'une extrême prudence et ne pas vous exposer inutilement à cet environnement dangereux . De plus, les environnements dans lesquels la fumée de tabac est courante peuvent augmenter le risque de cancer de 35%. Être un fumeur passif est également dangereux.

9. Mode de vie sain

Parfois, le cancer ne peut être évité, mais mener une vie saine, pratiquer une activité physique, manger sainement, dormir 8 heures par jour… est sans aucun doute le meilleur moyen d'éviter de développer cette maladie.

  • Article connexe: "Mindfulness: de cette façon, il aide les patients atteints de cancer"
Articles Connexes