yes, therapy helps!
A child psychologist tells us how to help the formation of self-esteem in the little ones

A child psychologist tells us how to help the formation of self-esteem in the little ones

January 22, 2021

Psychological and behavioral problems do not only occur in adulthood, but also should also be taken into account at early ages, during childhood

If they are allowed to pass and are not treated properly, the consequences can be negative and the symptoms can get worse over time.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

Interview with a child psychologist

Luckily, it is possible go to professionals of Psychology specialized in children's therapy , which help the youngest to develop and build healthy self-esteem, improve communication, social skills, stimulate development and improve their emotional and relational intelligence.


Psychotherapy with children presents some differences regarding adult therapy (For example, it involves the family in the therapeutic process and uses the game as a key element), and that is why we wanted to talk Mireia Garibaldi Giménez, psychologist and psycho-pedagogue of the Mensalus Institute, one of the most prestigious clinics in Spain, for us helps to understand what this form of therapy consists of.

If you want to know more about the Mensalus Institute, you can read this article: "Discover the Mensalus Psychology Center with this photo report".

The characteristics of child psychology

Jonathan García-Allen: What do you think are the main differences between childhood therapy and adult therapy?


Mireia Garibaldi: All psychotherapy, whether with children and adolescents or with adults, consists basically of 4 elements: the therapist, the patient, the therapeutic relationship and the therapeutic process. These are the 4 elements in which the two types of therapies differ.

Beginning with the first element, the child therapist must have a different training to the adult therapist, with specific knowledge for that type of population and the ways to intervene in it. A good example is the need to know the stages and milestones of evolutionary development (cognitive, social, emotional, etc.) in different phases and ages.

Regarding the second element, the patient, it is evident that we intervene in a very specific type of population but at the same time very heterogeneous, since it is not the same to treat a 5-year-old as a 10-or 15-year-old child. that following the previous point, knowing well the evolutionary characteristics of each one is essential to exercise. As regards the therapeutic relationship, it varies in its main elements: framing, asymmetry, and alliance.


For example, in child therapy, the alliance with the patient is not unique, that is, it is not only established with the child, but usually a multiple alliance must be carried out, since it must also be done with parents, teachers, etc.

Finally, the differences regarding the process are closely related to the specificity in the evaluation and intervention techniques, which are different from those used for adults, such as, for example, the use of drawing.

Therapy based on play is usually associated with infant therapy. But, what does it consist of? They are the same?

The therapy based on the game is a type of intervention in child therapy in which different processes are used for children are playful with a dual purpose: on the one hand, to evaluate and obtain information on the problem situation and, on the other, to intervene on it.

Given that the cognitive, social and emotional characteristics of children are very different from those of adults, who will probably come to consult and express their problems more or less accurately, children need alternative ways of communication and oral and direct language. in order to work.

For example, if a teenager can express in a direct consultation that they are concerned about the discussions in their home and expose it to the therapist, a child will need an indirect way, such as the symbolic game to do it, that is, through dolls that They will represent their significant people close to them (parents, siblings, etc.). They can express and reproduce what happens in their environment or how they feel indirectly through them. The same will happen to work different objectives of the intervention.

We can intervene using symbolic games or other types of games for specific purposes, such as construction games to work the spatial notion and fine motor skills in cases of learning difficulties such as dyslexia. However, it is important to point out that in the therapies children are not only used in the game, but this is a very important but not unique resource and child therapy and play are not synonymous.

Who else harms a fit of anger or a disproportionate response from a parent, the parent or their child?

Both will be very negatively affected by this type of response, but in a very different way. Leaving aside the parents who are not aware of the harmfulness of this type of reactions, in consultation it is very common to find parents who do know that their ways of managing some situations with their children are not the most appropriate and that in Sometimes their reactions are disproportionate, but they have no alternative ways and tools to do otherwise when they are overwhelmed.

It is very common to see feelings of helplessness and even guilt when talking about this type of episodes, so it is important, in a process, to help them learn new ways of managing situations in which they can feel deprived. One thing is certain, and that is that both adults and children react in inappropriate ways when we do not have enough resources to manage situations and day-to-day problems, so we both need help for this.

And obviously, for children, anger and / or disproportionate responses on a regular basis by their parents lead to the creation of an insecure type of attachment, which will affect their social and emotional development, their self-esteem, the way they to behave, etc. may have difficulties in their future relationships and adolescents and adults. It is essential to remember that many behaviors are learned by imitating the referents, which in childhood are the parents.

What are the most common disorders or problems that you usually treat in therapeutic sessions?

In my practice I tend to attend many children who come because of difficulties in academic performance or behavior problems. Sometimes, these are not problems in themselves, but expressions of an underlying problem. That is, it is true that there are specific learning disorders and behavioral disorders as such, which in themselves are what generate dysfunction in the child's life and environment, but in other cases, a drop in school performance or a Inappropriate behavior are only symptoms of something that goes beyond, such as a case of bullying, problems in family relationships, etc.

When parents expose me a problem, I always give the example of fever: someone can go to the doctor with fever as a symptom, but it will not be the same as a fever from a severe urinary infection to a fever from a cold. The symptom is the same, but the basis and treatment will be very different. Therefore, it is important to adequately explore those "symptoms" that children express, since the same behavior can have different origins.

Thus, apart from problems in school performance and behavioral problems in all its aspects (difficulties in impulse control, tantrums, disobedience towards authority figures, etc.), very common cases in consultation are: difficulties in social relationships, fears and phobias, interventions in separation processes, divorce and / or family reunification or autism spectrum disorders.

What is the role of parents when they go with their child to a child psychologist?

The role of parents is essential in any intervention process that takes place with a child. This point is important to expose it from the first moment that a therapy is initiated, in the setting or setting, so that the parents can adjust the expectations of the process.

Sometimes parents believe that taking their child to a child psychologist will only work with the child, which is totally wrong. As mentioned above, a multiple alliance must be carried out both with the child and with their parents and other persons and / or institutions in which the child is involved (school, open center, mental health centers for children and youth) , etc.) so that the intervention has the greatest possible success.

Parents should be oriented so that they can work with their child outside the consultation sessions, either by offering management guidelines or by teaching them specific exercises and / or techniques to apply in the child's natural context. Without this intervention, supervised at all times by the therapist, it will be difficult for the changes that can be observed in consultation to be generalized outside of it (although it is evident that each process is unique and will depend on each case).

How important is the family in developing the self-esteem of the children?

The role of the family is basic in all facets of child development (emotional, social, etc.) and among them, in self-esteem. This is the assessment that a person makes of herself, according to thoughts, evaluations, beliefs, feelings and emotions about her way of being, acting, her physique, etc.

Therefore, this evaluation will be closely related to the assessment that significant people make of their environment and, the main significant persons for children are their parents.During childhood, they are their referents, their main attachment figures, so they exert a very important influence in the creation of a tight and healthy self-esteem. Possessing low expectations about what a child is capable of doing or making negative comments constantly about it, will cause the child to perceive a low evaluation of himself by his parents, which in the end will affect that self-assessment, devaluating

It makes sense to think that if, for example, a father or mother constantly repeats to his son that he is a lazy man who knows nothing, the child can reach the following conclusion: "If my parents, who represent that they are the ones who The more they know me and they want, they think that way about me ... that's how I am. " Therefore, it is essential to enhance the development of skills, reinforce the successes and give confidence to the children in relation to their abilities, so that they themselves can develop that trust and respect towards themselves, signs of a good self-esteem.

Punishment is a controversial issue. Can punishment be used in the education of a child? What is the best way to apply it?

The punishment is a behavior modification technique based on the behavioral principles of operant conditioning, which aims to reduce or eliminate the appearance of unwanted behavior.

Mainly, there are two types of punishments: positive punishment, which consists in applying an aversive stimulus in a contingent manner to a certain behavior (for example, copying 100 times a sentence for bad behavior), and negative punishment, which consists of withdrawing a positive stimulus after the performance of a certain behavior (for example, leaving a child without his playtime).


Although it is true that punishment is sometimes effective to eliminate behaviors quickly, I do not consider it the most appropriate method to do so, apart from the fact that it is not applicable in all cases, I always consider it a last option (ahead we find positive reinforcement). This is because in many cases the behaviors are diminished or eliminated in the short term by the fear of the threat of punishment itself and not because there is a real reflection on the inappropriate behavior that advances and learns the child, so the changes do not they tend to stay long term.

In addition, this fear can negatively affect the relationship between the person who applies it and the child, creating a threatening relationship based on fear, which can sometimes lead to defensive behaviors or even bigger explosions of anger, which will worsen the situation. All this, added to the fact that if the child does not understand exactly the reason for the punishment and the error of his behavior, his self-esteem will be negatively affected. Obviously, physical punishment is totally unjustified in any of the cases, which will only lead to generate in child and in the relationship with the adult.


What are the benefits of positive reinforcement and what are the consequences for a child's character and emotional well-being?

Positive reinforcement consists of applying a rewarding stimulus after the performance of an appropriate behavior so that it appears or increases. It is the main way to educate the children in the creation of a healthy self-esteem, with a secure attachment and based on trust and respect. It is important to differentiate between reward and positive reinforcement, because when we talk about positive reinforcement we do not always talk about a material reward, which can be a positive verbalization by the father ("I am very proud of what you have done") or an act in which he is given attention (play together).

For children, especially the youngest ones, there is no positive reinforcement greater than the attention of their parents. So it is important that, when children do things well (for example, they are sitting playing autonomously for a while in an appropriate way) we reward them with a shared game time. It is usual that, at this time, parents take advantage to carry out other things, so that in the end, children learn that in order to have the attention of their parents they must perform less appropriate behaviors.


It is also important to emphasize that we must reinforce the things that children do independently between them, that is, if a child carries out two inappropriate behaviors and one correct, we must continue reinforcing that appropriate behavior so that it continues to appear, even though there is done other things incorrectly. For example, if a child picks up his glass but leaves his plate, it is more effective to congratulate him for having picked up the glass, than to scold him for having left the plate, but he will feel that what he has done well has not been recognized, so he will stop do what.

Therefore, the reinforcement is so important, not only in the behaviors that children do, but in the formation of their character and their self-esteem, providing emotional well-being.

According to the Spanish Association of Pediatrics and Primary Care, 15% of children have problems of disobedience. What can a father do in this situation?

Faced with a problem of continued disobedience, it is important to go to the specialist, in this case the child psychologist, to assess the situation and determine if this is a normative behavior for the child's age and development (for example, there is a child stage between 1 and 2 years in which it is usual for children to maintain a constant denial), if it is part of the personality or way of acting of the child (for example, if it is a child with a basic innate temperament) or if there is presence of a specific disorder or problem (such as a defiant negative disorder, for example).

Once the situation has been evaluated, it is important to intervene with professional guidelines, whatever the case may be, since according to whether this disobedience has one origin or another, the orientation will vary (as in the example of fever).

The parenting process is very complex, but ... could you give our readers (those who are parents) some basic tips to educate their children?

Based on my professional knowledge, but also my experience with children and families, there are some basic guidelines for all parents that will promote a quality education and upbringing:

  • Educate within certain limits and basic, stable, coherent and consensual rules that offer a context of security and protection to the child so that he learns to distinguish what is good from what is wrong.
  • Be based on models of assertive communication in which one can express desires, points of view and opinions, as well as feelings and emotions, respecting oneself and others. Express and listen
  • Lead by example. We can not ask a child not to shout and tell him screaming.
  • Use a democratic educational style, neither excessively lax nor excessively authoritarian.

Promote the autonomy, personal capacity and worth of the child. Give you opportunities to learn, including making mistakes in this learning. If we do everything to him, he will never know how to do it alone and the message that we will send him implicitly will be "I do it to you because I do not trust that you can only do it", so we will reduce his self-esteem.



The Attachment Theory- How Your Childhood Affects Your Relationships. (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un psychologue pour enfants nous dit comment aider à la formation de l'estime de soi chez les plus petits

Un psychologue pour enfants nous dit comment aider à la formation de l'estime de soi chez les plus petits

Juillet 27, 2022

Les problèmes psychologiques et comportementaux ne surviennent pas seulement à l'âge adulte, mais aussi doivent également être pris en compte dès le plus jeune âge, pendant l'enfance

S'ils sont autorisés à passer et s'ils ne sont pas traités correctement, les conséquences peuvent être négatives et les symptômes peuvent s'aggraver avec le temps.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

Entretien avec un psychologue pour enfants

Heureusement, c'est possible s'adresser à des professionnels de la psychologie spécialisés en thérapie infantile , qui aident les plus jeunes à développer et à développer une estime de soi saine, à améliorer la communication, les aptitudes sociales, à stimuler le développement et à améliorer leur intelligence émotionnelle et relationnelle.


La psychothérapie avec des enfants présente certaines différences par rapport à la thérapie pour adultes (Par exemple, cela implique la famille dans le processus thérapeutique et utilise le jeu comme élément clé), et c'est pourquoi nous avons voulu parler à Mireia Garibaldi Giménez, psychologue et psychopédagogue de l'Institut Mensalus, l'une des cliniques les plus prestigieuses d'Espagne, pour nous. aide à comprendre en quoi consiste cette forme de thérapie.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’Institut Mensalus, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Découvrez le Centre de psychologie Mensalus avec ce reportage photo".

Les caractéristiques de la psychologie de l'enfant

Jonathan García-Allen: Quelles sont selon vous les principales différences entre la thérapie pour enfants et la thérapie pour adultes?


Mireia Garibaldi: Toute psychothérapie, que ce soit avec des enfants et des adolescents ou avec des adultes, comprend essentiellement 4 éléments: le thérapeute, le patient, la relation thérapeutique et le processus thérapeutique. Ce sont les 4 éléments dans lesquels les deux types de thérapies diffèrent.

À partir du premier élément, le thérapeute pour enfants doit avoir une formation différente de celle du thérapeute pour adultes, avec des connaissances spécifiques pour ce type de population et les moyens d’y intervenir. Un bon exemple est le besoin de connaître les étapes et les jalons du développement évolutif (cognitif, social, émotionnel, etc.) au cours de différentes phases et à différents âges.

En ce qui concerne le deuxième élément, le patient, il est évident que nous intervenons dans un type de population très spécifique mais en même temps très hétérogène, car traiter un enfant de 5 ans comme un enfant de 10 ou 15 ans n'est pas la même chose. que suite au point précédent, il est essentiel de bien connaître les caractéristiques évolutives de chacun. En ce qui concerne la relation thérapeutique, elle varie dans ses principaux éléments: cadrage, asymétrie et alliance.


Par exemple, en thérapie infantile, l’alliance avec le patient n’est pas unique, c’est-à-dire qu’elle n’est pas seulement établie avec l’enfant, mais qu’elle nécessite généralement une alliance multiple, car elle doit également être conclue avec les parents, les enseignants, etc.

Enfin, les différences concernant le processus sont étroitement liées à la spécificité des techniques d’évaluation et d’intervention, qui diffèrent de celles utilisées pour les adultes, comme par exemple l’utilisation du dessin.

Une thérapie basée sur le jeu est généralement associée à une thérapie pour le nourrisson. Mais en quoi consiste-t-il? Sont-ils les mêmes?

La thérapie basée sur le jeu est un type d’intervention en thérapie infantile dans laquelle différents processus sont utilisés pour les enfants. Ils ont un double objectif ludique: évaluer et obtenir des informations sur la situation problématique et, d’autre part, pour intervenir sur elle.

Étant donné que les caractéristiques cognitives, sociales et émotionnelles des enfants sont très différentes de celles des adultes, qui viendront probablement consulter et exprimer leurs problèmes avec plus ou moins de précision, les enfants ont besoin de moyens de communication alternatifs et d'un langage oral et direct. être capable de travailler.

Par exemple, si un adolescent peut exprimer lors d'une consultation directe qu'il est préoccupé par les discussions à son domicile et en faire part au thérapeute, un enfant aura besoin d'un moyen indirect, tel que le jeu symbolique, pour le faire, c'est-à-dire à l'aide de poupées Ils représenteront leurs proches (parents, frères et soeurs, etc.) et pourront exprimer et reproduire ce qui se passe dans leur environnement ou ce qu'ils ressentent indirectement à travers eux. La même chose se produira pour travailler différents objectifs de l'intervention.

Nous pouvons intervenir en utilisant des jeux symboliques ou d'autres types de jeux à des fins spécifiques, telles que les jeux de construction, afin de travailler la notion d'espace et la motricité fine en cas de difficultés d'apprentissage telles que la dyslexie. Il est toutefois important de souligner que dans les thérapies les enfants ne sont pas seulement utilisés dans le jeu, mais il s'agit d'une ressource très importante mais pas unique, et thérapie pour enfants et jeux ne sont pas synonymes.

Qui d'autre nuit à un accès de colère ou à une réaction disproportionnée d'un parent, du parent ou de leur enfant?

Tous deux seront très négativement affectés par ce type de réponse, mais d'une manière très différente. Laissant de côté les parents qui ne sont pas conscients de la nocivité de ce type de réactions, il est très courant de trouver en consultation des parents sachant que leurs façons de gérer certaines situations avec leurs enfants ne sont pas les plus appropriées et Parfois, leurs réactions sont disproportionnées, mais ils n’ont pas d’autre moyen ni d’autres outils pour agir autrement quand ils sont débordés.

Il est très courant de voir des sentiments d'impuissance et même de culpabilité lorsqu'on parle de ce type d'épisodes. Il est donc important, dans un processus, de les aider à apprendre de nouvelles façons de gérer des situations dans lesquelles ils peuvent se sentir privés. Une chose est sûre, c’est que les adultes et les enfants réagissent de manière inappropriée lorsque nous ne disposons pas de suffisamment de ressources pour gérer les situations et les problèmes quotidiens. Nous avons donc besoin d’aide à cet égard.

Et bien entendu, chez les enfants, la colère et / ou les réactions disproportionnées de leurs parents entraînent la création d'un type d'attachement peu sûr, ce qui affectera leur développement social et affectif, leur estime de soi, leur manière de vivre. se comporter, etc. peuvent avoir des difficultés dans leurs relations futures et les adolescents et les adultes. Il est essentiel de se rappeler que de nombreux comportements s’apprennent en imitant les référents, qui dans l’enfance sont les parents.

Quels sont les troubles ou problèmes les plus courants que vous traitez habituellement lors de séances thérapeutiques?

Dans ma pratique, j'ai tendance à fréquenter de nombreux enfants en raison de difficultés de rendement scolaire ou de problèmes de comportement. Parfois, ce ne sont pas des problèmes en eux-mêmes, mais l'expression d'un problème sous-jacent. En d’autres termes, il est vrai qu’il existe des troubles spécifiques de l’apprentissage et des troubles du comportement en tant que tels, lesquels sont en eux-mêmes à l’origine de dysfonctionnements de la vie et de l’environnement de l’enfant. Un comportement inapproprié n'est que le symptôme de quelque chose qui va au-delà, comme un cas d'intimidation, des problèmes de relations familiales, etc.

Quand les parents m'exposent, je donne toujours l'exemple de la fièvre: quelqu'un peut aller chez le médecin avec un symptôme de fièvre, mais ce ne sera pas la même chose qu'une fièvre d'une grave infection urinaire à une fièvre d'un rhume. Le symptôme est le même, mais la base et le traitement seront très différents. Il est donc important d’explorer de manière adéquate ces "symptômes" exprimés par les enfants, car un même comportement peut avoir des origines différentes.

Ainsi, mis à part les problèmes de performances scolaires et les problèmes de comportement sous tous leurs aspects (difficultés de contrôle des impulsions, crises de colère, désobéissance envers les figures d'autorité, etc.), les cas très courants de consultation sont: difficultés dans les relations sociales, craintes et phobies, interventions dans les processus de séparation, divorce et / ou regroupement familial ou troubles du spectre autistique.

Quel est le rôle des parents lorsqu'ils vont avec leur enfant chez un psychologue pour enfants?

Le rôle des parents est essentiel dans tout processus d’intervention avec un enfant. Il est important que ce point soit exposé dès le premier moment où une thérapie est initiée, dans un cadre ou dans un cadre, afin que les parents puissent ajuster les attentes du processus.

Parfois, les parents croient qu'emmener leur enfant chez un psychologue pour enfant ne fonctionnera qu'avec lui, ce qui est totalement faux. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, une alliance multiple doit être conclue avec l'enfant et avec ses parents et avec d'autres personnes et / ou institutions dans lesquelles l'enfant est impliqué (école, centre ouvert, centres de santé mentale pour enfants et adolescents). , etc.) pour que l’intervention obtienne le plus grand succès possible.

Les parents doivent être orientés de manière à pouvoir travailler avec leur enfant en dehors des séances de consultation, soit en leur proposant des directives de gestion, soit en leur enseignant des exercices et / ou des techniques spécifiques à appliquer dans le contexte naturel de l'enfant. Sans cette intervention, supervisée à tout moment par le thérapeute, il sera difficile de généraliser les changements observés lors de la consultation en dehors de celle-ci (bien qu'il soit évident que chaque processus est unique et dépend de chaque cas).

Quelle est l'importance de la famille dans le développement de l'estime de soi des enfants?

Le rôle de la famille est fondamental dans tous les aspects du développement de l’enfant (affectif, social, etc.) et, parmi eux, dans l’estime de soi. C’est l’évaluation qu’une personne fait d’elle-même, en fonction de ses pensées, de ses évaluations, de ses croyances, de ses sentiments et de ses émotions concernant sa façon d’être, son jeu d'acteur, son physique, etc.

Par conséquent, cette évaluation sera étroitement liée à celle que les personnes significatives font de leur environnement et que les principales personnes significatives pour les enfants sont leurs parents.Pendant leur enfance, ils sont leurs référents, leurs principales figures d'attachement. Ils exercent donc une influence très importante dans la création d'une estime de soi étroite et saine. Le fait de ne pas trop attendre de ce que l'enfant est capable de faire ou de faire constamment des commentaires négatifs à son sujet fera en sorte que l'enfant percevra une faible évaluation de lui-même par ses parents, ce qui finira par affecter son auto-évaluation. dévalorisant

Il est logique de penser que si, par exemple, un père ou une mère répète sans cesse à son fils qu’il est un paresseux qui ne sait rien, l’enfant peut tirer la conclusion suivante: "Si mes parents, qui représentent Plus ils me connaissent et veulent, plus ils pensent de moi ... c'est ce que je suis. " Il est donc essentiel d'améliorer le développement des compétences, de renforcer les succès et de donner confiance aux enfants en ce qui concerne leurs capacités, afin qu'ils puissent eux-mêmes développer cette confiance et ce respect envers eux-mêmes, signes d'une bonne estime de soi.

La punition est une question controversée. La punition peut-elle être utilisée dans l'éducation d'un enfant? Quelle est la meilleure façon de l'appliquer?

La punition est une technique de modification du comportement basée sur les principes comportementaux du conditionnement opérant, qui vise à réduire ou à éliminer l’apparence d’un comportement indésirable.

Il existe principalement deux types de punition: la punition positive, qui consiste à appliquer un stimulus aversif de manière contingente à un comportement donné (par exemple, en recopiant cent fois la peine pour conduite répréhensible), et la punition négative consistant à se retirer. un stimulus positif après la réalisation d'un certain comportement (par exemple, laisser un enfant sans ses récréations).


Bien qu’il soit vrai que la punition soit parfois efficace pour éliminer rapidement les comportements, je ne pense pas que ce soit la méthode la plus appropriée. Hormis le fait qu’elle n’est pas applicable dans tous les cas, j’estime toujours que c’est une dernière option (à renforcement positif). En effet, dans de nombreux cas, les comportements sont diminués ou éliminés à court terme par la peur de la menace de punition elle-même et non par une réelle réflexion sur le comportement inapproprié qui avance et apprend l'enfant, de sorte que les changements ne se produisent pas. ils ont tendance à rester à long terme.

En outre, cette peur peut affecter négativement la relation entre la personne qui l'applique et l'enfant, en créant une relation menaçante basée sur la peur, qui peut parfois conduire à des comportements défensifs ou même à des explosions de colère plus importantes, ce qui aggravera la situation. Tout cela, ajouté au fait que si l'enfant ne comprend pas exactement le motif de la punition et l'erreur de son comportement, son estime de soi en souffrira. La punition physique est totalement injustifiée dans l'un des cas, ce qui ne fera que générer chez l'enfant et dans la relation avec l'adulte.


Quels sont les avantages du renforcement positif et quelles sont les conséquences sur le caractère et le bien-être émotionnel d'un enfant?

Le renforcement positif consiste à appliquer un stimulus gratifiant après la réalisation d'un comportement approprié pour qu'il apparaisse ou augmente. C'est le principal moyen d'éduquer les enfants à la création d'une bonne estime de soi, avec un attachement sécurisé, basé sur la confiance et le respect. Il est important de faire la distinction entre récompense et renforcement positif, car lorsque nous parlons de renforcement positif, nous ne parlons pas toujours de récompense matérielle, qui peut être une verbalisation positive du père ("je suis très fier de ce que vous avez fait") ou un acte dans lequel: il reçoit l'attention (joue ensemble).

Pour les enfants, en particulier les plus jeunes, il n'y a pas de renforcement positif supérieur à l'attention de leurs parents. Il est donc important que, lorsque les enfants font bien les choses (par exemple, ils restent assis de manière autonome pendant un certain temps), nous les récompensons avec un temps de jeu partagé. Il est habituel que, à ce moment-là, les parents profitent d’autres choses, de sorte que les enfants finissent par apprendre que pour attirer l’attention de leurs parents, ils doivent adopter des comportements moins appropriés.


Il est également important de souligner que nous devons renforcer ce que les enfants font indépendamment entre eux: si un enfant adopte deux comportements inappropriés et un comportement correct, nous devons continuer à renforcer ce comportement approprié pour qu'il continue à apparaître, même s'il existe fait d'autres choses incorrectement. Par exemple, si un enfant prend son verre mais laisse son assiette, il est plus efficace de le féliciter de l'avoir pris que de le gronder de l'avoir quitté, mais il sentira que ce qu'il a bien fait n'a pas été reconnu. fais le

Par conséquent, le renforcement est tellement important, non seulement dans les comportements des enfants, mais aussi dans la formation de leur caractère et leur estime de soi, source de bien-être émotionnel.

Selon l'Association espagnole de pédiatrie et de soins primaires, 15% des enfants ont des problèmes de désobéissance. Que peut faire un père dans cette situation?

Face à un problème de désobéissance persistante, il est important de consulter un spécialiste, en l’occurrence le psychologue pour enfants, afin d’évaluer la situation et de déterminer s’il s’agit d’un comportement normatif pour l’âge et le développement de l’enfant 1 et 2 ans au cours desquels il est courant que les enfants maintiennent un déni constant), si cela fait partie de la personnalité ou de la façon d’agir de l’enfant (par exemple, s’il s’agit d’un enfant avec un tempérament inné fondamental) ou s'il existe: la présence d'un trouble ou d'un problème spécifique (comme un trouble négatif provocant, par exemple).

Une fois la situation évaluée, il est important d’intervenir avec des directives professionnelles, quel que soit le cas, car selon que cette désobéissance a une origine ou une autre, l’orientation variera (comme dans le cas de la fièvre).

Le processus parental est très complexe, mais ... pourriez-vous donner à nos lecteurs (qui sont des parents) quelques conseils de base pour éduquer leurs enfants?

Sur la base de mes connaissances professionnelles, mais également de mon expérience avec les enfants et les familles, il existe des directives de base pour tous les parents qui vont promouvoir une éducation et une éducation de qualité:

  • Éduquer dans certaines limites et selon des règles de base, stables, cohérentes et consensuelles qui offrent un contexte de sécurité et de protection à l'enfant afin qu'il puisse apprendre à distinguer ce qui est bien de ce qui est mal.
  • S'appuyer sur des modèles de communication assertive dans lesquels on peut exprimer des désirs, des points de vue et des opinions, ainsi que des sentiments et des émotions, dans le respect de soi et des autres. Exprimez et écoutez
  • Prêcher par l'exemple. Nous ne pouvons pas demander à un enfant de ne pas crier et de lui dire de crier.
  • Utilisez un style éducatif démocratique, ni trop laxiste ni trop autoritaire.

Promouvoir l'autonomie, la capacité personnelle et la valeur de l'enfant. Vous donner des occasions d'apprendre, y compris en faisant des erreurs dans cet apprentissage. Si nous lui faisons tout, il ne saura jamais comment le faire seul et le message que nous lui enverrons implicitement sera "Je vous le fais parce que je ne crois pas que vous ne pouvez le faire que", nous allons donc réduire son estime de soi.



Assertivité - Affirmation de soi - la voie royale vers la confiance en soi (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes