yes, therapy helps!
A lifetime in the day of a sexologist

A lifetime in the day of a sexologist

June 24, 2021

My interest in sexology comes from my childhood . Obviously, I did not have it identified with a specific name, but for me, all the processes of sexuality seemed fascinating to me. I must have been almost a nightmare for my mother, with all the questions she asked her and many times I answered anything. The first thing that came to mind.

I once took a guantazo for expressing my doubts related to sex aloud. There, my mother, rather than telling me the first thing that came to mind, simply reacted automatically. For her, The whole issue of sex and sexuality had always been a taboo .

I have never felt special interest in the forbidden, but in the unknown. My curiosity has often surpassed me and, by the time I fully realized what was happening, I had succumbed to curiosity. This, despite feeling almost always intense fear. But not enough to stop me.


I have been working in the field of sexology since 1982. During all this time, I have heard thousands of stories about the sexual life of my patients. Sometimes, when they ask me about it, I usually answer that I'm worth more for what I call than for what I tell . It is true.

  • Related article: "5 basic principles to enjoy a full and satisfactory sexuality"

The work of the sexologist

My first job as a psychologist was in a prison for minors, and I was in charge of the inmates accused of sexual crimes. I chained this one up with another job in a prison for adult men and women. I took advantage of this experience to do my undergraduate thesis, which was the result of a research study with men and women who prostituted themselves in the huge city of Mexico.


Every week I receive patients with stories that can be unlikely for the ordinary citizen. I never tire of saying that reality (in my experience) exceeds fiction. I have heard the testimony of hundreds of patients with paraphilias. It seems that there are as many types of paraphilias, or more, as there are people.

I have developed an important part of my work to help patients suffering from sex addiction. Thanks to them, I have verified that Fantasy is capable of generating an altered state of consciousness . This produces a certain comfort in the mind of the person and the latter wishes to accommodate himself and thus escape from his reality. In the case of the consumption of substances, it is the effect of these substances that produces the altered state of consciousness. It is also possible to generate an altered state of consciousness through sexual fantasy.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 main sexual and psychosexual disorders"

The need for sex education and training

The work in consultation includes the remedy of suffering for sexual reasons, as well as the optimization of pleasure. The need to educate sexually is a constant. Almost all people have received a sex education and this has been bad. Unconsciously, adults, parents, educators, etc., issue messages continuously and repeatedly, that sex is something bad, sinful, dirty, indecent , vulgar ...


The genitals often symbolize all possible sexual activity between humans and in most families it is forbidden to touch them. Many times it is also forbidden to show them and see them. In Western societies in general, they are hidden and even censored.

All this, combined with other aspects, causes confusion, pressure and problems in people who are forced to ask for professional sexological help. The most common reasons for consultation are male dysfunction (erectile dysfunction, premature ejaculation, delayed ejaculation, anaejaculation ...) and female dysfunctions (anorgasmia, vaginismus, dyspareunia ...).

Therapy due to lack of sexual desire is a constant complaint by individuals and couples. Due to problems derived from paraphilias or from addiction to sex, there may also be a need for sexological help. What to say about the victims of sexual abuse.


Being a sexologist is fascinating and there is no week in which I do not find something that surprises me: a new challenge. It is extremely comforting to be able to help patients who come with any sexological problem or relationship. It is satisfactory to verify that when a patient wants, it is possible to help him solve his problem and make him happier.

A person who is professionally dedicated to the sexological consultation He is usually a psychologist or doctor . In addition, she has specialized in sexology and sex therapy through a master's degree course or similar. It is a profession that requires continuous updating, as there is more and more information and ways to solve sexual problems.Attending conferences is important to interact with other sexologists and learn about the latest advances.


The activist facet of the profession

As a sexology professional, it is also important to carry out dissemination work, whether participating in educational campaigns or teaching classes. Another important aspect is activism in defense of sexual rights .

Personally, I have had the opportunity to work in a monitoring committee for the respect of sexual rights in the world through the WAS. This can include participating in campaigns in which thousands of messages and emails are sent to specific governments or institutions. It is about letting them know that we are watching them and pressing them to respect the sexual rights of a specific person.

Recall that, for example, in a number of countries the rights of women or those of the LGTBI collective are not being respected. Through this type of action we have managed to stop the squandering of some specific women or the release of gay men imprisoned because of their sexual orientation.


Two stories that mark

If I had to tell the stories that have impacted me the most, I would highlight one or two, but there are many more. The first one occurred in my first job, in the prison for minors . There I met a child under 16, who had strangled his father. When he told me his story, I could only empathize with him.

According to him, one day he was playing in the street with some friends, very close to his house. Then his father, who was passing by and was in a deep state of drunkenness, saw him having fun and, with blows, took him back home. When arriving there, the father began to mistreat his wife and daughters, to the extreme of trying to rape one of the minors.

Then the 16-year-old boy, remembering the many times he had mistreated them and the times when he had raped his sisters, felt very angry and rushed towards his father, strangulating him. He said he did not regret it and that he would do it again if it meant that his mother and sisters would stop suffering. If only suffering stops there! His eyes shone and widened in anger when he told me his story. I remember it like it was yesterday.

The other case that I would highlight also has elements of violence , but it has a series of ingredients that should be remembered. It was a boy of 20 years who comes to the consultation plunged in anxiety and having suffered some panic attacks. He was about to leave Spain for an Erasmus program, and he was worried about having these problems there, too. His story is moving.

He told me that he was very afraid of being sexually attracted to his dog ... After deep therapeutic work, I discovered that the boy was really gay and that, when he was little, his father tortured him in a peculiar way.

When the son did not obey, the father beat the dog, which was the adoration of the child : empathized with the dog and suffered to see how his father mistreated his beloved pet. He was about to suffer a psychotic outbreak, which fortunately could be stopped. Among the causes of his state was an extremely strict, controlling and punitive education.

Obviously, professional experience helps greatly to be formed. I feel fortunate to have spent decades studying and dedicating myself to sexology.


The Pleasure Principle: The Secret to a Better Sex Life | Laurie Betito | TEDxMontrealWomen (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une vie dans la journée d'un sexologue

Une vie dans la journée d'un sexologue

Avril 22, 2019

Mon intérêt pour la sexologie vient de mon enfance . Évidemment, je ne l'avais pas identifié avec un nom spécifique, mais pour moi, tous les processus de la sexualité me paraissaient fascinants. Je devais être presque un cauchemar pour ma mère, avec toutes les questions qu'elle lui avait posées et à plusieurs reprises, je répondais à n'importe quoi. La première chose qui m'est venue à l’esprit.

Une fois, j'ai pris un guantazo pour avoir exprimé à haute voix mes doutes liés au sexe. Là, ma mère, au lieu de me dire la première chose qui me venait à l’esprit, a simplement réagi automatiquement. Pour elle, Toute la question du sexe et de la sexualité a toujours été un tabou .

Je n'ai jamais ressenti d'intérêt particulier pour l'interdit, mais pour l'inconnu. Ma curiosité m’a souvent surpassée et, lorsque j’ai pleinement compris ce qui se passait, j’avais succombé à la curiosité. Ceci, malgré le sentiment presque toujours intense de peur. Mais pas assez pour m'arrêter.


Je travaille dans le domaine de la sexologie depuis 1982. Pendant tout ce temps, j'ai entendu des milliers d'histoires sur la vie sexuelle de mes patients. Parfois, quand ils me posent la question, je leur réponds généralement que je vaux plus pour ce que j'appelle que pour ce que je raconte. . C'est vrai.

  • Article connexe: "5 principes de base pour jouir d'une sexualité complète et satisfaisante"

Le travail du sexologue

Mon premier travail en tant que psychologue était dans une prison pour mineurs et j'étais responsable des détenus accusés de crimes sexuels. Je l'ai enchaîné avec un autre travail dans une prison pour hommes et femmes adultes. J'ai profité de cette expérience pour rédiger ma thèse de premier cycle, qui résultait d'une étude menée auprès d'hommes et de femmes qui se sont prostitués dans l'immense ville de Mexico.


Chaque semaine, je reçois des patients avec des histoires qui peuvent être improbables pour le citoyen ordinaire. Je ne me lasse pas de dire que la réalité (selon mon expérience) dépasse la fiction. J'ai entendu le témoignage de centaines de patients atteints de paraphilies. Il semble qu'il existe autant de types de paraphilies, ou plus, qu'il y a de personnes.

J'ai développé une partie importante de mon travail pour aider les patients souffrant de dépendance sexuelle. Grâce à eux, j'ai vérifié que La fantaisie est capable de générer un état de conscience altéré . Cela produit un certain confort dans l'esprit de la personne et celle-ci souhaite s'accommoder de lui et ainsi échapper à sa réalité. Dans le cas de la consommation de substances, c'est l'effet de ces substances qui produit l'état de conscience altéré. Il est également possible de générer un état de conscience altéré par le biais de fantasmes sexuels.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 9 principaux troubles sexuels et psychosexuels"

Le besoin d'éducation sexuelle et de formation

Le travail en consultation comprend le traitement de la souffrance pour des raisons sexuelles, ainsi que l'optimisation du plaisir. Le besoin d'éduquer sexuellement est une constante. Presque toutes les personnes ont reçu une éducation sexuelle et cela a été mauvais. Inconsciemment, les adultes, les parents, les éducateurs, etc., envoient des messages de manière continue et répétée, ce sexe est quelque chose de mauvais, pécheur, sale, indécent , vulgaire ...


Les organes génitaux symbolisent souvent toutes les activités sexuelles possibles entre humains et dans la plupart des familles, il est interdit de les toucher. Souvent, il est également interdit de les montrer et de les voir. Dans les sociétés occidentales en général, ils sont cachés et même censurés.

Tout cela, associé à d’autres aspects, crée de la confusion, de la pression et des problèmes chez les personnes qui sont forcées de demander une aide sexologique professionnelle. Les motifs de consultation les plus fréquents sont la dysfonction masculine (dysfonction érectile, éjaculation précoce, éjaculation retardée, anéjaculation…) et la dysfonction féminine (anorgasmie, vaginisme, dyspareunie…).

La thérapie par manque de désir sexuel est une plainte constante par des individus et des couples. En raison de problèmes liés aux paraphilies ou à la dépendance sexuelle, une aide sexologique peut également être nécessaire. Que dire des victimes d'abus sexuel?


Être sexologue, c'est fascinant et il n’ya pas de semaine où je ne trouve pas quelque chose qui me surprenne: un nouveau défi. Il est extrêmement réconfortant de pouvoir aider les patients présentant un problème ou une relation sexologique. Il est satisfaisant de vérifier que lorsqu'un patient le souhaite, il est possible de l'aider à résoudre son problème et de le rendre plus heureux.

Une personne professionnellement dédiée à la consultation sexologique Il est généralement un psychologue ou un médecin . En outre, elle s'est spécialisée en sexologie et en sexothérapie par le biais d'une maîtrise ou d'un cours similaire. C'est un métier qui nécessite une mise à jour continue, car il y a de plus en plus d'informations et de moyens de résoudre les problèmes sexuels.Assister à des conférences est important pour interagir avec d’autres sexologues et se renseigner sur les dernières avancées.


La facette activiste de la profession

En tant que professionnel de la sexologie, il est également important de mener un travail de diffusion, que ce soit en participant à des campagnes d'éducation ou en enseignant. Un autre aspect important est militantisme pour la défense des droits sexuels .

Personnellement, j'ai eu l'occasion de travailler dans un comité de surveillance pour le respect des droits sexuels dans le monde à travers le WAS. Cela peut inclure la participation à des campagnes dans lesquelles des milliers de messages et de courriels sont envoyés à des gouvernements ou à des institutions spécifiques. Il s'agit de leur faire savoir que nous les surveillons et de les inciter à respecter les droits sexuels d'une personne en particulier.

Rappelons que, par exemple, dans un certain nombre de pays, les droits des femmes ou ceux du collectif LGTBI ne sont pas respectés. Grâce à ce type d’action, nous avons réussi à empêcher le gaspillage de certaines femmes ou la libération d’hommes homosexuels emprisonnés en raison de leur orientation sexuelle.


Deux histoires qui marquent

Si je devais raconter les histoires qui m'ont le plus marqué, j'en soulignerais une ou deux, mais il y en a beaucoup d'autres. Le premier a eu lieu à mon premier emploi, dans la prison pour mineurs . J'ai rencontré un enfant de moins de 16 ans qui avait étranglé son père. Quand il m'a raconté son histoire, je n'ai pu que ressentir de l'empathie pour lui.

Selon lui, un jour, il jouait dans la rue avec des amis, tout près de chez lui. Puis son père, qui passait par là et qui était dans un état d'ivresse profond, le vit s'amuser et le ramena à la maison à la maison. En arrivant là-bas, le père a commencé à maltraiter sa femme et ses filles, au point d'essayer de violer l'un des mineurs.

Puis le garçon de 16 ans, se rappelant les nombreuses fois où il les avait maltraitées et les fois où il avait violé ses sœurs, se sentit très en colère et se précipita vers son père, l’étranglant. Il a dit qu'il ne le regrettait pas et qu'il le referait si cela signifiait que sa mère et ses sœurs cesseraient de souffrir. Si seulement la souffrance s'arrête là! Ses yeux brillèrent et s'élargirent de colère lorsqu'il me raconta son histoire. Je m'en souviens comme si c'était hier.

L’autre cas que je voudrais souligner a également des éléments de violence , mais il contient une série d’ingrédients dont il faut se souvenir. C’était un garçon de 20 ans qui se présentait à la consultation, plongé dans l’anxiété et ayant subi des attaques de panique. Il était sur le point de quitter l'Espagne pour un programme Erasmus et s'inquiétait également de ces problèmes. Son histoire est émouvante.

Il m'a dit qu'il avait très peur d'être attiré sexuellement par son chien ... Après un travail thérapeutique approfondi, j'ai découvert que le garçon était vraiment gay et que, lorsqu'il était petit, son père le torturait de façon particulière.

Lorsque le fils n'a pas obéi, le père a battu le chien, qui était l'adoration de l'enfant : compatissant avec le chien et a souffert de voir comment son père a maltraité son animal de compagnie bien-aimé. Il était sur le point de souffrir d'une épidémie psychotique qui, heureusement, pouvait être arrêtée. Parmi les causes de son état, il y avait une éducation extrêmement stricte, contrôlante et punitive.

De toute évidence, l'expérience professionnelle aide grandement à se former. Je me sens chanceux d'avoir passé des décennies à étudier et à me consacrer à la sexologie.


20 CHOSES SUR LES ÉCOLES JAPONAISES QUE VOUS NE SAVIEZ PAS | Lama Faché (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes