yes, therapy helps!
A neurologist and a musician design the perfect music to help you sleep

A neurologist and a musician design the perfect music to help you sleep

June 20, 2024

Insomnia problems are widespread by Western countries, especially because of a hectic pace of life with chaotic schedules and the omnipresence of screens placed before the eyes shortly before going to sleep. However, the discomfort of having to go to a doctor to treat this problem often leads to the search for "patches" instant solutions to get to sleep.

The use of melatonin is a very recurrent option, to re-adjust a proper sleep schedule, but it is possible that with the passage of time they will appear many more everyday solutions that prove effective. For example, the possibility of using music to sleep better is promising.


Pointing in this direction, the neuroscientist David Eagleman and the British musician Max Ritcher they have designed a series of musical pieces of instrumental type with the aim that it helps to conciliate the dream while listening.

  • Related article: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

A playlist created to sleep better

The effects of music on the human brain have been documented in a multitude of research on the subject. For example, in certain cases it can be used to cope better with pain, and also has clear effects on emotional state of people and their ability to evoke certain memories.


Therefore, it is not unreasonable to design musical pieces specially designed to have effects on the brain that facilitate the appearance of sleep. In fact, auditory information is capable of modifying the behavior of almost all brain structures, one of its first "stations" is the thalamus, a region of the brain responsible for distributing the information that reaches it through all groups of neurons. from the senses (less in the case of smell).

  • Related article: "3 curious effects of music on your behavior"

The music of Ritcher and Eagleman

In this case, these two experts have worked in a coordinated way to develop a music whose ultimate purpose is reduce heart rate and make the brain waves go into a phase of extreme relaxation, which makes it much more likely the beginning of the sleep process.


Its creation has been published in two different formats. The first one is a one-hour CD that can be used to get to sleep, and the second is the full version in digital format, which It lasts 8 hours and is aimed to sound even while you sleep , to keep us in a state of total disconnection.

You can buy this long version by clicking here, while the short version is available here. It is an original gift for someone with difficulties to fall asleep, or you can also experiment with this music if insomnia affects you. In any case, it is necessary to bear in mind that the most effective way and the most guarantees to fight against sleep problems is to go to the doctor and, from that first consultation, start with specialized intervention programs in the treatment of sleep disorders.

Other ways to treat insomnia

In addition to using this type of relaxing music, you can also take advantage of other strategies and resources to enjoy a good night's sleep and put in check insomnia.

For example, meditation techniques practiced just before going to sleep can help you, and also certain recordings of environmental ASMR. In the same way, something as simple as get away from artificial light sources Before going to sleep, it helps a lot, since your brain will get used to the schedules marked by natural light. In the same way, going out to the sun during the day also helps your biological clock is well adjusted.

On the other hand, exercising when approaching dusk is not recommended; better to practice it in the morning or at noon.

The use of the aforementioned melatonin can also help in some cases. One of its advantages is that it is a substance produced by the body, and therefore does not have an invasive effect on the organism; it simply increases the levels of a substance that we already have.

  • You can read more about the strategies to sleep better in this article: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

Super Intelligence: ???? Memory Music, Improve Memory and Concentration, Binaural Beats Focus Music (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un neurologue et un musicien conçoivent la musique idéale pour vous aider à dormir

Un neurologue et un musicien conçoivent la musique idéale pour vous aider à dormir

Juillet 31, 2022

Les problèmes d'insomnie sont généralisés pays occidentaux, en raison notamment du rythme effréné des horaires chaotiques et de l’omniprésence des écrans placés sous les yeux peu avant de s’endormir. Cependant, la gêne de devoir consulter un médecin pour traiter ce problème conduit souvent à la recherche de «correctifs», des solutions instantanées pour s'endormir.

L'utilisation de la mélatonine est une option très récurrente pour réajuster un horaire de sommeil correct, mais il est possible qu'avec le temps, de nombreuses solutions quotidiennes plus efficaces se révèlent efficaces. Par exemple, la possibilité d'utiliser la musique pour mieux dormir est prometteuse.


Pointant dans cette direction, le neuroscientifique David Eagleman et le musicien britannique Max Ritcher ils ont conçu une série de pièces musicales de type instrumental dans le but de concilier le rêve tout en écoutant.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

Une playlist créée pour mieux dormir

Les effets de la musique sur le cerveau humain ont été documentés dans une multitude de recherches sur le sujet. Par exemple, dans certains cas, il peut être utilisé pour mieux supporter la douleur, mais aussi a des effets clairs sur l'état émotionnel des gens et leur capacité à évoquer certains souvenirs.


Il n’est donc pas déraisonnable de concevoir des pièces musicales spécialement conçues pour avoir des effets sur le cerveau qui facilitent l’apparition du sommeil. En fait, les informations auditives sont capables de modifier le comportement de presque toutes les structures du cerveau. L'une de ses premières "stations" est le thalamus, une région du cerveau responsable de la diffusion de l'information qui l'atteint à travers tous les groupes de neurones. des sens (moins dans le cas de l'odorat).

  • Article connexe: "3 effets curieux de la musique sur votre comportement"

La musique de Ritcher et Eagleman

Dans ce cas, ces deux experts ont travaillé de manière coordonnée pour développer une musique dont le but ultime est réduire le rythme cardiaque et faire passer les ondes cérébrales dans une phase de relaxation extrême, ce qui rend beaucoup plus probable le début du processus de sommeil.


Sa création a été publiée dans deux formats différents. Le premier est un CD d’une heure qui peut être utilisé pour dormir, et le second est la version complète en format numérique, qui Il dure 8 heures et vise à sonner même pendant que vous dormez , pour nous maintenir dans un état de déconnexion totale.

Vous pouvez acheter cette version longue en cliquant ici, alors que la version courte est disponible ici. C'est un cadeau original pour une personne ayant des difficultés à s'endormir. Vous pouvez également expérimenter cette musique si l'insomnie vous concerne. Dans tous les cas, il faut garder à l'esprit que le moyen le plus efficace et le plus sûr de lutter contre les problèmes de sommeil est d'aller chez le médecin et, à partir de cette première consultation, de commencer par des programmes d'intervention spécialisés dans le traitement de l'insomnie. problèmes de sommeil.

Autres moyens de traiter l'insomnie

En plus d’utiliser ce type de musique relaxante, vous pouvez également profiter de autres stratégies et ressources pour passer une bonne nuit de sommeil et mettre en échec l'insomnie.

Par exemple, les techniques de méditation pratiquées juste avant d'aller dormir peuvent vous aider, ainsi que certains enregistrements d'ASMR environnementaux. De la même manière, quelque chose d'aussi simple que s'éloigner des sources de lumière artificielle Avant de dormir, cela aide beaucoup, car votre cerveau s'habituera aux horaires marqués par la lumière naturelle. De la même manière, vous exposer au soleil pendant la journée aide également à régler correctement votre horloge biologique.

Par contre, il n'est pas recommandé de faire de l'exercice à l'approche du crépuscule; Mieux vaut le pratiquer le matin ou à midi.

L'utilisation de la mélatonine susmentionnée peut également aider dans certains cas. Un de ses avantages est qu’il s’agit d’une substance produite par le corps et n’a donc pas d’effet invasif sur l’organisme; cela augmente simplement les niveaux d'une substance que nous avons déjà.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les stratégies pour mieux dormir dans cet article: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

Le magazine de la santé Pierre Lemarquis entrainement cérébral, musique et alzheimer (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes