yes, therapy helps!
A new software predicts the appearance of psychosis by analyzing the language

A new software predicts the appearance of psychosis by analyzing the language

June 19, 2022

It's possible diagnose a serious mental disorder several years after the first symptoms appear ? If so, what implications would it have both in the clinic and for the person at risk of developing them?

In a recently developed study, it was used a speech analysis software to try to predict the risk of psychosis . Throughout this article we will talk about this new computer program that is still in the process of research and development.

  • Related article: "What is psychosis? Causes, symptoms and treatment"

What is psychosis?

In the field of psychology and psychiatry, psychosis refers to a state of mental disturbance or a serious mental disorder in which the person experiences a loss of contact with reality and a diminution of normative social functioning.


This disorder refers to a series of serious disorders, in which the person may manifest hallucinations of all kinds, as well as delusions , alterations in personality and disorganized thinking and language.

In addition, it is possible that this symptomatology is accompanied by unusual or unusual behaviors in the person, as well as problems when establishing and maintaining any type of interaction with other people, obstructing and complicating the day-to-day life of the patient. person.

It is necessary to emphasize that psychosis is not a single mental disorder; but it encompasses all classification of psychiatric conditions known as psychotic disorders. These mental alterations include:


  • Schizophrenia .
  • Delirious disorder
  • Schizophreniform disorder.
  • Schizoaffective disorder.
  • Shared psychotic disorder
  • Substance-induced psychotic disorder .
  • Psychotic disorder due to a medical illness.

What is this software?

As mentioned above, disorganized thinking is one of the main symptoms of psychosis. This, which is externalized through a disorganized speech of the patient can be evaluated through oral clinical interviews with the patient.

This disorganized thinking distinguishes because the patient's speech becomes tangential and a loss of associations of ideas expressed. Therefore the patient can manifest a confused and incoherent speech, in addition to continually jumping from one idea to another.


Following these events, a study conducted in collaboration with the Psychiatric Institute of New York, the Columbia University Medical Center and the Research Center of IBM T.J. Watson, evaluated and compared the transcripts of a series of interviews with young people at risk of developing a psychosis .

During the study, the interviews of 34 participants from New York and 59 participants from the city of Los Angeles, for which the onset of psychosis was estimated during the two years, were evaluated using computer-based speech analysis software. following years.

After the analysis of the interviews, it was discovered that the software managed to differentiate correctly between young people in whom there was a real risk of developing a psychosis and those who did not, in most cases.

According to experts in the analysis of the pathological behavior of people, 1% of the population aged between 14 and 27 years is at serious risk of developing a psychosis. These people tend to manifest a symptomatology such as Uncommon thoughts, tangential discourse, alterations of perception and reactions of suspicion before other people.

Approximately 20% of this risk population will experience a psychotic episode; so early detection accompanied by a psychological intervention could help reduce the impact of this episode or even prevent it.

Speech as a key in detection

Within psychology and psychiatry, both language and behavior provide a lot of key information in the diagnosis of any type of mental disorder.

In the case of psychoses, the patient's oral language is a great source of information about what happens in the person's mind. Providing important clues about what the person experiences, feels and perceives.

In the study referenced above, patients were asked to narrate their subjective experiences . These conversations were then transcribed and analyzed using speech assessment software.

According to the researchers, this software analyzed the patterns of expression, semantics and syntax used by the participant.As well as the length of the sentences and the correct use of the words used to link the expressions.

It is necessary to specify that a clinical psychiatrist or mental health professional is able to recognize these signs or symptoms manually, through a face-to-face interview with the patient. However, the development of this software implies an increase in precision when taking into account more variables and in a more rigorous way.

What were the results of the study?

Once the interviews and the analysis of these were carried out, the participants were followed up over two and a half years.

The examiners who developed the study found a number of key qualities or features in conversations that predicted future mental problems in 83% of cases .

Specifically, those features of oral language that helped predict the beginning of psychosis were alterations in the flow of meaning between sentences. Highlighting mostly shorter sentences than usual and with much less elaboration.

After these results, researchers place their hope that thanks to this software you can make early and reliable detections of those more subtle symptoms that may even appear many years before the psychotic disorder develops.

Implications of this software in clinical practice

Within the field of clinical diagnosis within psychology and psychiatry, the possibility of using a computer program that helps and facilitates the early detection of serious mental disorders is very good news.

In this way, diagnostic and prognostic work on serious mental illnesses can be accelerated, and design proposals for treatment and early intervention that decrease the impact of the symptoms. In addition, other advantages that researchers assign to this software is that this analysis is done quickly, innocuously and with very low economic costs.

However, the researchers themselves warn that only one prototype is treated and research time is still required to turn it into a completely reliable diagnostic tool.


Matthew Walker: "Why We Sleep: The New Science of Sleep and Dreams" | Talks at Google (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un nouveau logiciel prédit l'apparition d'une psychose en analysant le langage

Un nouveau logiciel prédit l'apparition d'une psychose en analysant le langage

Août 14, 2022

C'est possible diagnostiquer un trouble mental grave plusieurs années après l'apparition des premiers symptômes ? Si oui, quelles en seraient les conséquences à la fois pour la clinique et pour la personne à risque de les développer?

Dans une étude récemment développée, il a été utilisé un logiciel d'analyse de la parole pour tenter de prédire le risque de psychose . Tout au long de cet article, nous parlerons de ce nouveau programme informatique en cours de recherche et développement.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychose? Causes, symptômes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce que la psychose?

Dans le domaine de la psychologie et de la psychiatrie, la psychose désigne un état de trouble mental ou un trouble mental grave dans lequel la personne vit une perte de contact avec la réalité et une diminution du fonctionnement social normatif.


Ce trouble fait référence à une série de troubles graves dans lesquels la personne peut manifester hallucinations de toutes sortes, ainsi que des délires , altérations de la personnalité et pensée et langage désorganisés.

En outre, il est possible que cette symptomatologie s'accompagne de comportements inhabituels chez la personne, ainsi que de problèmes lors de l'établissement et du maintien de tout type d'interaction avec d'autres personnes, entravant et compliquant la vie quotidienne du patient. personne

Il faut souligner que la psychose n'est pas un trouble mental isolé; mais elle englobe toute la classification des conditions psychiatriques connues sous le nom de troubles psychotiques. Ces altérations mentales incluent:


  • La schizophrénie .
  • Trouble délirant
  • Trouble schizophréniforme.
  • Trouble schizoaffectif.
  • Trouble psychotique partagé
  • Trouble psychotique induit par une substance .
  • Trouble psychotique dû à une maladie.

Quel est ce logiciel?

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, la pensée désorganisée est l'un des principaux symptômes de la psychose. Ceci, qui est externalisé par un discours désorganisé du patient, peut être évalué par des entretiens cliniques oraux avec le patient.

Cette pensée désorganisée distingue parce que la parole du patient devient tangentielle et une perte d'associations d'idées exprimées. Par conséquent, le patient peut manifester un discours confus et incohérent, en plus de passer continuellement d’une idée à l’autre.


À la suite de ces événements, une étude a été menée en collaboration avec l’Institut psychiatrique de New York, le Centre médical de l’Université de Columbia et le Centre de recherche d’IBM T.J. Watson, évalué et comparé les transcriptions d'une série d'entretiens avec des jeunes à risque de développer une psychose .

Au cours de l'étude, les entretiens de 34 participants de New York et de 59 participants de la ville de Los Angeles, pour lesquels le début de la psychose a été estimé au cours des deux années, ont été évalués à l'aide d'un logiciel d'analyse de la parole basé sur ordinateur. années suivantes.

Après l'analyse des entretiens, il a été découvert que le logiciel permettait de différencier correctement les jeunes chez qui il existait un risque réel de développer une psychose de ceux qui ne le faisaient pas, dans la plupart des cas.

Selon les experts en analyse du comportement pathologique des personnes, 1% de la population âgée de 14 à 27 ans est à risque de développer une psychose. Ces personnes ont tendance à manifester une symptomatologie telle que Pensées peu communes, discours tangentiel, altérations de la perception et les réactions de suspicion devant d'autres personnes.

Environ 20% de cette population à risque connaîtra un épisode psychotique; une détection précoce accompagnée d’une intervention psychologique pourrait donc aider à réduire l’impact de cet épisode, voire à le prévenir.

La parole comme clé de détection

En psychologie et en psychiatrie, langage et comportement fournir beaucoup d'informations clés dans le diagnostic de tout type de trouble mental.

Dans le cas des psychoses, le langage oral du patient est une excellente source d’information sur ce qui se passe dans l’esprit de la personne. Fournir des indices importants sur ce que la personne ressent, ressent et perçoit.

Dans l'étude référencée ci-dessus, les patients ont été invités à raconter leurs expériences subjectives . Ces conversations ont ensuite été transcrites et analysées à l'aide d'un logiciel d'évaluation de la parole.

Selon les chercheurs, ce logiciel analysé les modèles d'expression, la sémantique et la syntaxe utilisé par le participant.Ainsi que la longueur des phrases et l'utilisation correcte des mots utilisés pour lier les expressions.

Il est nécessaire de préciser qu'un psychiatre clinicien ou un professionnel de la santé mentale est capable de reconnaître ces signes ou symptômes manuellement, lors d'un entretien en face-à-face avec le patient. Cependant, le développement de ce logiciel implique une augmentation de la précision lors de la prise en compte de plus de variables et de manière plus rigoureuse.

Quels ont été les résultats de l'étude?

Une fois que les entretiens et leur analyse ont été réalisés, les participants ont été suivis pendant deux ans et demi.

Les examinateurs qui ont développé l’étude ont trouvé dans les conversations un certain nombre de qualités ou caractéristiques essentielles prédit les futurs problèmes mentaux dans 83% des cas .

Plus précisément, les caractéristiques du langage oral permettant de prédire le début de la psychose étaient des altérations du flux de signification entre les phrases. Soulignant principalement des phrases plus courtes que d'habitude et avec beaucoup moins de précision.

Après ces résultats, les chercheurs espèrent que grâce à ce logiciel vous pouvez effectuer des détections précoces et fiables de ces symptômes plus subtils cela peut même apparaître de nombreuses années avant le développement du trouble psychotique.

Implications de ce logiciel en pratique clinique

Dans le domaine du diagnostic clinique en psychologie et en psychiatrie, la possibilité d’utiliser un programme informatique qui aide et facilite le dépistage précoce des troubles mentaux graves est une très bonne nouvelle.

De cette manière, le travail diagnostique et pronostique sur les maladies mentales graves peut être accéléré et propositions de conception pour le traitement et l'intervention précoce qui diminuent l’impact des symptômes. En outre, les chercheurs attribuent à ce logiciel que cette analyse est effectuée rapidement, de manière innocente et à un coût économique très faible.

Cependant, les chercheurs eux-mêmes avertissent qu'un seul prototype est traité et que le temps de recherche est encore requis pour en faire un outil de diagnostic totalement fiable.


Voici Une Nouvelle Théorie Sur la Formation de la Terre (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes