yes, therapy helps!
Aaron Beck's Cognitive Therapy

Aaron Beck's Cognitive Therapy

June 20, 2022

The cognitive psychology It is a branch of psychology that deals with the processes through which the individual obtains knowledge of the world and becomes aware of its environment, as well as its results.

Cognitive models pay special attention to cognitions, understanding them in a broad sense to ideas, personal constructs, beliefs, images, attributions of meaning or meaning, expectations ... and that's why it studies the basic processes such as memory, attention, the formation of concepts, the processing of information, the resolution of conflicts , etc.

Cognitive psychology and cognitive therapy in context

Modern cognitive psychology has been formed under the influence of related disciplines, such as the treatment of information, artificial intelligence and the science of language. But this branch of psychology is not only an experimental approach, but has been put into practice in different areas: learning, social psychology or psychotherapy. The latter is called cognitive therapy .


It is important to establish a difference between cognitive psychology Y cognitive psychotherapy, because although both are related, the most outstanding authors of cognitive psychology made their main developments far from psychotherapeutic centers. Instead, cognitive psychotherapy designed specific methods (treatments) from some cognitive psychology developments (cognitive science), as clinical researchers soon saw the utility of these principles to be applied to different people with different problems to improve their quality of life, solve human problems and treat mental disorders.

The pioneers in cognitive therapy: Aaron Beck and Albert Ellis

The pioneers in using the bases of cognitive science systematically for the treatment of psychological disorders were psychologists Albert Ellis Y Aaron Beck . The first called his model of therapeutic application "Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy" (TREC) and the second called his method of therapy "Cognitive Therapy ”.


It is important to emphasize that there are different models of cognitive therapy, and these are two of the most known due to their great practical use. Cognitive therapy is not "technical", but applied science, reason why usually they consist of a more or less defined method to achieve some objectives according to their theoretical approach of departure.

Aaron Beck's model focuses, basically, on automatic thoughts and cognitive distortions, and Albert Ellis Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy focuses mainly on irrational beliefs. Between both there are similarities, but also differences, for example: Beck's Cognitive Therapy is based on collaborative empiricism; instead, Ellis uses Socratic dialogue or debate as the main therapeutic tool .

Aaron Beck's Cognitive Therapy

The main idea of ​​Cognitive Therapy is that people suffer from the interpretation they make of events and not by these in themselves . Therefore, Aaron Beck, interested in the treatment of depression, developed a model for the treatment of this pathology that later extended to other disorders.


Beck's model, and also Ellis's, they are an important part of the strategies that are used within the cognitive-behavioral therapy Well, through the cognitive restructuring, an individual is able to modify the way of interpretation and subjective evaluation of the facts and situations that he / she lives, and in this way he / she is encouraged to alter the disordered thinking schemes and see himself and the world of more realistic and adaptive way.

This type of cognitive (or cognitive-behavioral) therapies are called "relational therapies or cognitive restructuring", but there are also other types of cognitive therapies such as: training therapies for coping and managing situations or therapies. Problem resolution.

The cognitive organization according to Beck's model

The model proposed by Beck states that in a situation, individuals do not respond automatically, but before emitting an emotional or behavioral response they perceive, classify, interpret, evaluate and assign meaning to the stimulus according to their previous assumptions or cognitive schemes (also called nuclear beliefs).

Cognitive schemes

In Beck's theory, lThe cognitive processes are the mechanisms of codification, storage and retrieval of existing information in cognitive structures (schemes).Therefore, cognitive processes are included: perception, attention, memory and interpretation. In the processing of information errors can occur in any of its phases that result in an alteration or distortion in the assessment and interpretation of the facts, what the author calls "cognitive distortions".

The cognitive structures of information organization in memory are the schemes, which represent the set of previous experiences and act as molds that direct attention, influence the interpretation of events and facilitate recall.

For Beck, "schemes are stable cognitive patterns that are the basis of the regularity of interpretations of reality. People use their schemes to locate, code, differentiate and attribute meanings to the world's data. " In other words, the schemes are subjective mental constructions, more or less stable, that act as filters when perceiving the world by the individual .

The schemes come largely from previous learning experiences (in general, early) and can remain dormant until activated by a significant event that interacts with them. This is one of the most important concepts contributed by cognitive psychology, and although it was originally introduced by Frederick Bartlett to refer to processes related to memory in the social context, and was also used, among others, by Jean Piaget in the educational field, Beck (together with Ellis) introduced him in the psychotherapeutic field.

The beliefs

The beliefs they are the contents of the schemes, and they are the direct result of the relationship between reality and these. They are everything that you believe in, they are like internal maps that allow us to make sense of the world, are built and generalized through experience .

Beck distinguishes two types of beliefs:

  • Central or nuclear beliefs : They are presented as absolute, lasting and global propositions about oneself, others or the world. For example, "I am incompetent." They represent the deepest cognitive level, are difficult to change, give a sense of identity and are idiosyncratic.
  • Peripheral beliefs : They are influenced by nuclear, therefore, are located between them and cognitive products or automatic thoughts. Consist of attitudes, rules and assumptions (or assumptions). Therefore, they influence the way of seeing the situation, and that vision influences how an individual feels, acts or thinks.

Cognitive products

The cognitive products they refer to the thoughts and images that result from the interaction of the information provided by the situation, the schemas and beliefs and the cognitive processes . The contents of cognitive products tend to be more easily accessible to consciousness than schemas and cognitive processes.

The explanatory model of Beck's depression

For Beck, psychological disorders derive from cognitive distortions (errors in cognitive processes), which are wrong ways of thinking that appear in the form of automatic thoughts (cognitive products) in certain situations, and that cause negative emotional states and inappropriate behaviors. So, These cognitive distortions are caused by irrational beliefs or personal assumptions learned in the past , that unconsciously condition the perception and interpretation of the past, present and future.

People suffering from depression become vulnerable to certain situations, and it is important to understand that in this theory it is not suggested that cognitions are the cause of depression or other emotional disorder, what is really postulated is the primacy of symptoms: the activation of negative schemas and the consequent cognitive distortions would be the first link in the chain of depressive symptoms.

The cognitive triad in people with depression

When a person faces a certain situation, the scheme is the basis for transforming the data into cognitions. Since the schemes that are activated in a certain situation will determine how the person responds, in people who suffer from a depressive disorder will activate inappropriate schemes.

So, The first depressive symptom is the activation of cognitive schemes related to the vision of oneself, the world and the future . People with negative schemas or a tendency to make errors of processing will be more prone to suffer from depressive disorders.

The cognitive triad it refers to three characteristic schemes that induce the depressed individual to perceive himself, the world and the future from a negative point of view. Of these three cognitive patterns derive the rest of depressive symptoms that suffers.

The characteristic scheme suffered by depressed people, which Beck calls the depressive triad, consists of a negative view of:

  • Itself : People who suffer from depression are often considered deficient and useless.They attribute the mistakes they make to a physical, mental or moral defect of their own, and think that others will reject them.
  • Of the world : They feel like they are socially defeated and do not live up to the demands, nor do they have the capacity to overcome obstacles.
  • From the future : The person suffering from depression thinks that this situation can not be modified, so it will always remain that way.

Cognitive distortions

The negative schemas activated in depressive individuals they are led to commit a series of errors in the processing of information that facilitate biases and allow the depressed to maintain the validity of their beliefs. Beck listed a series of cognitive distortions, are the following:

  • Selective abstraction : it is about paying attention to only one aspect or detail of the situation. The positive aspects are often ignored, giving more importance to the negative aspects.
  • Dichotomous thinking : events are valued in an extreme way: good / bad, white / black, all / nothing, etc.
  • Arbitrary inference : it consists in drawing conclusions from a situation that is not supported by the facts, even when the evidence is contrary to the conclusion.
  • Overgeneralization : consists in extracting without sufficient base a general conclusion of a particular event.
  • Magnification and Minimization : tendency to exaggerate the negatives of a situation, an event or an own quality and to minimize the positive.
  • Personalization : refers to the habit of relating the facts of the environment with oneself, showing susceptibility.
  • Catastrophic vision : anticipate events and, among the different options, think that the worst will always happen.
  • You should It consists in maintaining rigid and demanding rules about how things should happen.
  • Global labels : consists of putting global labels on ourselves or on others without taking into account other nuances.
  • Culpability : it consists of attributing to oneself or to others all responsibility for events, ignoring other factors that contribute to them.

Automatic thoughts

Therefore, when activating these characteristic schemes of depressive persons, the cognitive products will be maladaptive and negative .

The automatic thoughts they are the internal dialogues, thoughts or images that appear in a given situation, and patients usually consider them true statements not distorted. These show a series of characteristics and are the following:

  • They are specific messages or propositions referring to a specific situation
  • They will always be believed, regardless of whether they are irrational or not
  • They are learned
  • They enter spontaneously into consciousness, dramatizing and exaggerating the negative of the situation
  • They are not easy to detect or control, because they appear in the flow of internal dialogue

What is Cognitive Therapy? (Beckian Therapy) (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La thérapie cognitive d'Aaron Beck

La thérapie cognitive d'Aaron Beck

Août 17, 2019

Le psychologie cognitive C'est une branche de la psychologie qui traite des processus par lesquels l'individu acquiert une connaissance du monde et prend conscience de son environnement, ainsi que de ses résultats.

Les modèles cognitifs accordent une attention particulière aux cognitions, en les comprenant au sens large aux idées, aux constructions personnelles, aux croyances, aux images, aux attributions de sens ou de sens, aux attentes ... et c'est pourquoi il étudie les processus de base tels que la mémoire, l'attention, la formation de concepts, le traitement de l'information, la résolution de conflits etc.

Psychologie cognitive et thérapie cognitive en contexte

La psychologie cognitive moderne s'est formée sous l'influence de disciplines connexes, telles que le traitement de l'information, l'intelligence artificielle et la science du langage. Mais cette branche de la psychologie n’est pas seulement une approche expérimentale, elle a été mise en pratique dans différents domaines: apprentissage, psychologie sociale ou psychothérapie. Ce dernier s'appelle thérapie cognitive .


Il est important d’établir une différence entre psychologie cognitive et psychothérapie cognitive, parce que, bien que les deux soient liés, les auteurs les plus remarquables de la psychologie cognitive ont développé leurs principaux développements loin des centres psychothérapeutiques. Au lieu de cela, la psychothérapie cognitive a conçu des méthodes spécifiques (traitements) à partir de certains développements de la psychologie cognitive (sciences cognitives), car les chercheurs cliniques ont rapidement compris l'utilité de ces principes à appliquer à différentes personnes présentant différents problèmes afin d'améliorer leur qualité. de la vie, résoudre les problèmes humains et traiter les troubles mentaux.

Les pionniers de la thérapie cognitive: Aaron Beck et Albert Ellis

Les pionniers dans l'utilisation systématique des bases des sciences cognitives pour le traitement des troubles psychologiques étaient des psychologues Albert Ellis et Aaron Beck . Le premier a appelé son modèle d'application thérapeutique "Thérapie comportementale émotive rationnelle" (TREC) et le second a appelé sa méthode de thérapie "Thérapie cognitive ”.


Il est important de souligner qu'il existe différents modèles de thérapie cognitive, et qu'ils sont deux des plus connus en raison de leur grande utilisation pratique. La thérapie cognitive n’est pas "technique", mais science appliquée, raison pour laquelle ils consistent généralement en une méthode plus ou moins définie pour atteindre certains objectifs en fonction de leur approche théorique du départ.

Le modèle d'Aaron Beck se concentre essentiellement sur les pensées automatiques et les distorsions cognitives, tandis que la thérapie comportementale émotive rationnelle d'Albert Ellis se concentre principalement sur des croyances irrationnelles. Entre les deux il y a des similitudes, mais aussi des différences, par exemple: La thérapie cognitive de Beck est basée sur un empirisme collaboratif; Ellis utilise plutôt le dialogue ou le débat socratique comme principal outil thérapeutique .

La thérapie cognitive d'Aaron Beck

L’idée principale de la thérapie cognitive est que les gens souffrent de l'interprétation qu'ils font des événements et non de ceux-ci en eux-mêmes . Par conséquent, Aaron Beck, intéressé par le traitement de la dépression, a développé un modèle pour le traitement de cette pathologie qui s’est ensuite étendu à d’autres troubles.


Le modèle de Beck, et aussi celui d'Ellis, ils constituent une partie importante des stratégies utilisées dans le cadre de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale Eh bien, à travers le restructuration cognitive, un individu est capable de modifier le mode d’interprétation et l’évaluation subjective des faits et situations qu’il vit, et est ainsi encouragé à modifier ses schémas de pensée désordonnés et à se voir ainsi que le monde de manière plus réaliste et adaptative.

Ce type de thérapies cognitives (ou cognitivo-comportementales) est appelé "thérapies relationnelles ou restructuration cognitive", mais il existe également d'autres types de thérapies cognitives telles que: les thérapies de formation pour faire face et gérer les situations ou thérapies. résolution des problèmes.

L'organisation cognitive selon le modèle de Beck

Le modèle proposé par Beck stipule que dans une situation donnée, les individus ne répondent pas automatiquement, mais avant d'émettre une réponse émotionnelle ou comportementale, ils perçoivent, classent, interprètent, évaluent et attribuent un sens au stimulus. selon leur hypothèses précédentes o schémas cognitifs (aussi appelé croyances nucléaires).

Schémas cognitifs

Dans la théorie de Beck, lLes processus cognitifs sont les mécanismes de codification, de stockage et de récupération des informations existantes dans les structures cognitives. (schémas).Par conséquent, les processus cognitifs sont inclus: perception, attention, mémoire et interprétation. Lors du traitement de l'information, des erreurs peuvent survenir dans l'une quelconque de ses phases, entraînant une modification ou une distorsion de l'évaluation et de l'interprétation des faits, ce que l'auteur appelle des "distorsions cognitives".

Les structures cognitives de l’organisation de l’information en mémoire sont les schémas, qui représentent l’ensemble des expériences précédentes et agissent comme des moules qui dirigent l’attention, influencent l’interprétation des événements et facilitent le rappel.

Pour Beck, "les schémas sont des schémas cognitifs stables qui sont à la base de la régularité des interprétations de la réalité. Les gens utilisent leurs systèmes pour localiser, coder, différencier et attribuer des significations aux données du monde. " En d'autres termes, les schémas sont des constructions mentales subjectives, plus ou moins stables, qui agissent comme des filtres lors de la perception du monde par l'individu .

Les schémas proviennent en grande partie d’expériences d’apprentissage antérieures (en général, précoces) et peuvent rester en sommeil jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient activés par un événement important qui interagit avec eux. C’est l’un des concepts les plus importants de la psychologie cognitive. Bien qu’il ait été introduit à l’origine par Frederick Bartlett, il faisait référence aux processus liés à la mémoire dans le contexte social. Il a également été utilisé, entre autres, par Jean Piaget dans domaine éducatif, Beck (avec Ellis) l’a introduit dans le domaine psychothérapeutique.

Les croyances

Le croyances ils sont le contenu des schémas et ils sont le résultat direct de la relation entre la réalité et celles-ci. Ils sont tout ce que vous croyez, ils sont comme des cartes internes qui nous permettent de comprendre le monde, sont construites et généralisées à travers l'expérience .

Beck distingue deux types de croyances:

  • Croyances centrales ou nucléaires : Elles sont présentées comme des propositions absolues, durables et globales sur soi, les autres ou le monde. Par exemple, "je suis incompétent". Ils représentent le niveau cognitif le plus profond, sont difficiles à changer, donnent un sens d'identité et sont idiosyncratiques.
  • Croyances périphériques : Ils sont influencés par le nucléaire et sont donc situés entre eux et des produits cognitifs ou des pensées automatiques. Constitué d'attitudes, de règles et d'hypothèses (ou d'hypothèses). Par conséquent, ils influencent la manière de voir la situation et cette vision influence la manière dont une personne se sent, agit ou pense.

Produits cognitifs

Le produits cognitifs ils se réfèrent à les pensées et les images résultant de l'interaction des informations fournies par la situation, les schémas, les croyances et les processus cognitifs . Les contenus des produits cognitifs ont tendance à être plus facilement accessibles à la conscience que les schémas et les processus cognitifs.

Le modèle explicatif de la dépression de Beck

Pour Beck, les troubles psychologiques résultent de distorsions cognitives (erreurs dans les processus cognitifs), fausses façons de penser qui se présentent sous la forme de pensées automatiques (produits cognitifs) dans certaines situations et qui provoquent des états émotionnels négatifs et des comportements inappropriés. Pourtant, Ces distorsions cognitives sont causées par des croyances irrationnelles ou des suppositions personnelles apprises dans le passé. , qui conditionnent inconsciemment la perception et l’interprétation du passé, du présent et du futur.

Les personnes souffrant de dépression deviennent vulnérables à certaines situations et il est important de comprendre que dans cette théorie, il n'est pas suggéré que les cognitions soient la cause de la dépression ou d'un autre trouble émotionnel, ce qui est réellement postulé est la primauté des symptômes: l'activation de schémas négatifs et les distorsions cognitives qui en découleraient constitueraient le premier maillon de la chaîne des symptômes dépressifs.

La triade cognitive chez les personnes souffrant de dépression

Quand une personne est confrontée à une certaine situation, le schéma est la base pour transformer les données en cognitions. Etant donné que les schémas activés dans une certaine situation détermineront le comportement de la personne, les personnes souffrant d'un trouble dépressif activeront des schémas inappropriés.

Pourtant, Le premier symptôme dépressif est l'activation de schémas cognitifs liés à la vision de soi, du monde et de l'avenir . Les personnes ayant des schémas négatifs ou ayant tendance à faire des erreurs de traitement seront plus susceptibles de souffrir de troubles dépressifs.

Le triade cognitive il fait référence à trois schémas caractéristiques qui amènent l'individu déprimé à se percevoir lui-même, ainsi que le monde et l'avenir, d'un point de vue négatif. De ces trois schémas cognitifs découlent le reste des symptômes dépressifs qui en souffrent.

Le schéma caractéristique subi par les personnes dépressives, que Beck appelle la triade dépressive, consiste en une vision négative de:

  • Lui-même : Les personnes souffrant de dépression sont souvent considérées comme déficientes et inutiles.Ils attribuent leurs erreurs à un défaut physique, mental ou moral, et pensent que les autres les rejetteront.
  • Du monde : Ils se sentent socialement vaincus, ne répondent pas aux exigences et ne sont pas en mesure de surmonter les obstacles.
  • Du futur : La personne souffrant de dépression pense que cette situation ne peut pas être modifiée, elle le restera toujours.

Distorsions cognitives

Le schémas négatifs activé chez les personnes dépressives ils sont amenés à commettre une série d’erreurs dans le traitement de l’information facilitant préjugés et permettent aux déprimés de maintenir la validité de leurs croyances. Beck énuméré une série de distorsions cognitives, sont les suivantes:

  • Abstraction sélective : il s’agit de prêter attention à un seul aspect ou détail de la situation. Les aspects positifs sont souvent ignorés, ce qui donne plus d'importance aux aspects négatifs.
  • Pensée dichotomique : les événements sont évalués de manière extrême: bon / mauvais, blanc / noir, tout / rien, etc.
  • Inférence arbitraire : elle consiste à tirer des conclusions d’une situation qui n’est pas corroborée par les faits, même lorsque les preuves sont contraires à la conclusion.
  • Surgénéralisation : consiste à extraire sans bases suffisantes la conclusion générale d’un événement particulier.
  • Grossissement et minimisation : tendance à exagérer les aspects négatifs d’une situation, d’un événement ou d’une qualité propre et à minimiser les aspects positifs.
  • Personnalisation : fait référence à l'habitude de relier les faits de l'environnement avec soi-même, en montrant une susceptibilité.
  • Vision catastrophique : anticipez les événements et, parmi les différentes options, pensez que le pire se produira toujours.
  • Vous devriez Il consiste à maintenir des règles rigides et exigeantes sur la manière dont les choses doivent se passer.
  • Étiquettes globales : consiste à apposer des étiquettes globales sur nous-mêmes ou sur d’autres sans prendre en compte d’autres nuances.
  • La culpabilité : il consiste à attribuer à soi-même ou aux autres l'entière responsabilité des événements, en ignorant les autres facteurs qui y contribuent.

Pensées automatiques

Par conséquent, lors de l'activation de ces schémas caractéristiques des personnes dépressives, les produits cognitifs seront inadaptés et négatifs .

Le pensées automatiques ce sont les dialogues internes, les pensées ou les images qui apparaissent dans une situation donnée, et les patients les considèrent généralement comme des déclarations vraies et non déformées. Celles-ci présentent une série de caractéristiques et sont les suivantes:

  • Ce sont des messages ou des propositions spécifiques faisant référence à une situation spécifique
  • Ils seront toujours crus, qu'ils soient irrationnels ou non
  • Ils sont appris
  • Ils entrent spontanément dans la conscience, dramatisant et exagérant le négatif de la situation
  • Ils ne sont pas faciles à détecter ou à contrôler, car ils apparaissent dans le flux du dialogue interne

TERAPIA COGNITIVA ✅ de Aaron Beck (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes