yes, therapy helps!
Absence crisis: causes, symptoms and treatment

Absence crisis: causes, symptoms and treatment

December 4, 2020

Epilepsy is a neurological disease characterized by the presence of seizures. The crises that are most present in our minds when we speak of epilepsy are those with violent contractions of the muscles and loss of consciousness.

But they are not the only type of crisis that someone can suffer. Absence crises, or petit mal, they are much more discreet and physically harmless, but they must also be treated .

What is a crisis of absence?

Nor are all crisis of absence equal. Due to how fleeting they are, they often do not identify themselves and the parents of the children who suffer from them take time to realize that their child suffers epilepsy.


Let's see in what ways the crisis of absence and what can be done with the people who suffer them.

symptom

Absence crises are present almost exclusively in children. They are characterized by a brief period, usually about 15 seconds, where the individual who suffers them seems completely distracted and with a lost look. As if he were absorbed in his world. The typical signs and symptoms are:

  • Lips clicks
  • Fast flashing
  • Motor activity suddenly stops
  • Chewing movements
  • Small movements in both hands

These crises begin abruptly , in which the patient stops what he was doing or saying, he suffers the crisis maintaining the same position, and when the crisis is resolved he continues with the activity he was doing. There is no kind of memory of the episode, and you will often be surprised if someone else tells you that you just went blank for a few seconds.


Because children with absence crises may seem like they are simply distracted, many parents get confused and believe that the only thing that happens is that they were mentally absorbed in something. The first ones to realize this are usually the teachers, although these can also get confused and talk with the parents about how from time to time the child seems to disconnect from the class. If these phenomena occur frequently, it is likely to be a crisis of absence and not of distraction.

Not all absence crises are the same. Although most begin and end abruptly and quickly, there is an atypical form of crisis where the symptoms are identical, but they start more slowly and have a longer duration. In addition, during the crisis the person can lose muscle tone or fall, and after the crisis will feel very confused.

Causes

In most cases, absence crises are not manifestations of any underlying disease . The crises simply happen because the child is predisposed to suffer electrical alterations in the brain that cause the episodes. The electrical impulses that neurons use to communicate with each other become abnormal. In absence crises, these electrical signals from the brain are repeated in a repetitive pattern that lasts three seconds.


This predisposition to suffer a crisis of absence is probably genetic and is transmitted from generation to generation. Some children have seizures when hyperventilating while others suffer from strobe lights. The exact cause that triggers the attacks is often unknown, but that does not prevent the crises are treatable.

Treatment

Once the child passes through the neurologist, it is likely that he will confirm the diagnosis through the provocation of a crisis and its measurement through an electroencephalogram. Further, Imaging tests such as an MRI will be necessary to rule out other diagnoses that can cause similar symptoms and ensure that they are pure absence crises.

Once the diagnosis is made, children with absence crises receive pharmacological treatment. Typically antiepileptic medication is used, starting at low doses until the necessary dose is reached to prevent the onset of more seizures. Some common antiepileptics are ethosuximide, valproic acid, and lamotrigine. Any of the three active principles will be effective and safe, although the preference for one or the other will depend on the characteristics of the specific case.

There are some activities that should be avoided in people with absence crises, as they cause a temporary loss of consciousness. For example, driving a bicycle or swimming could end up in an accident or in drowning. Until the crises are under control, these children (and in some cases adults) should refrain from doing these activities. There are also bracelets that warn others to be suffering an attack, accelerating the process in case of emergency.

Forecast

The prognosis of absence crises is usually positive . Taking into account that over 65% of children get rid of epilepsy as they grow up, we can be optimistic if we put this data together with the successful pharmacological treatment. The only risks that exist with this disease are those that run with the falls that could occur when suffering a crisis, and we know that the crises that produce this are very infrequent. It is normal for a child to suffer more than ten crises a day and never fall to the ground or hurt himself.

The brain also suffers no damage after the absence crisis, so that the only interferences can occur in the learning context, where these periods of loss of consciousness hinder the acquisition of knowledge. Finally, the medication is perfectly removable in a manner prescribed by a doctor when there have been no crises for two years in a row.


Children with seizures benefit from early diagnosis and treatment | Vital Signs (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Absence de crise: causes, symptômes et traitement

Absence de crise: causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 16, 2022

L'épilepsie est une maladie neurologique caractérisée par la présence de convulsions. Les crises les plus présentes dans notre esprit lorsque nous parlons d'épilepsie sont celles avec des contractions violentes des muscles et une perte de conscience.

Mais ils ne sont pas le seul type de crise que quelqu'un puisse subir. Crises d'absence, ou petit mal, ils sont beaucoup plus discrets et physiquement inoffensifs, mais ils doivent également être traités .

Qu'est-ce qu'une crise d'absence?

Toutes les crises d'absence ne sont pas égales non plus. En raison de leur fugacité, ils ne s'identifient souvent pas et les parents des enfants qui en souffrent prennent le temps de se rendre compte que leur enfant souffre d'épilepsie.


Voyons de quelle manière la crise d'absence et ce qui peut être fait avec les personnes qui les subissent.

Les symptômes

Les crises d'absence sont présentes presque exclusivement chez les enfants. Ils se caractérisent par une brève période, généralement environ 15 secondes, où la personne qui les subit semble complètement distraite et avec un regard perdu. Comme s'il était absorbé par son monde. Les signes et symptômes typiques sont:

  • Clics sur les lèvres
  • Clignotant rapide
  • L'activité motrice s'arrête soudainement
  • Mouvements de mastication
  • Petits mouvements dans les deux mains

Ces crises commencent brusquement , dans lequel le patient arrête ce qu'il faisait ou dit, il subit la crise en conservant la même position et, une fois la crise résolue, il poursuit son activité. Il n'y a aucune sorte de souvenir de l'épisode, et vous serez souvent surpris si quelqu'un d'autre vous dit que vous êtes devenu blanc pendant quelques secondes.


Parce que les enfants en crise d'absence peuvent sembler être simplement distraits, beaucoup de parents s'embrouillent et croient que la seule chose qui se passe est qu'ils ont été absorbés mentalement dans quelque chose. Les premiers à s'en rendre compte sont généralement les enseignants, bien que ceux-ci puissent également être déconcertés et parler aux parents de la façon dont l'enfant semble parfois déconnecté de la classe. Si ces phénomènes se produisent fréquemment, il s'agira probablement d'une crise d'absence et non de distraction.

Toutes les crises d'absence ne sont pas les mêmes. Bien que la plupart commencent et se terminent abruptement et rapidement, il existe une forme de crise atypique dans laquelle les symptômes sont identiques, mais ils commencent plus lentement et durent plus longtemps. En outre, pendant la crise, la personne peut perdre du tonus musculaire ou tomber, et après la crise, elle se sentira très confuse.

Les causes

Dans la plupart des cas, les crises d'absence ne sont pas la manifestation d'une maladie sous-jacente . Les crises se produisent simplement parce que l'enfant est prédisposé à subir des modifications électriques dans le cerveau qui sont à l'origine des épisodes. Les impulsions électriques que les neurones utilisent pour communiquer entre eux deviennent anormales. En cas de crise d'absence, ces signaux électriques du cerveau se répètent selon un schéma répétitif d'une durée de trois secondes.


Cette prédisposition à subir une crise d’absence est probablement génétique et se transmet de génération en génération. Certains enfants font des crises lorsqu'ils hyperventilent, tandis que d'autres souffrent de lumières stroboscopiques. La cause exacte qui déclenche les attaques est souvent inconnue, mais cela n'empêche pas que les crises puissent être traitées.

Traitement

Une fois que l'enfant aura passé par le neurologue, il est probable qu'il confirmera le diagnostic par la provocation d'une crise et sa mesure au moyen d'un électroencéphalogramme. En outre, Des tests d'imagerie tels qu'un IRM seront nécessaires pour exclure d'autres diagnostics qui peuvent causer des symptômes similaires et faire en sorte qu’il s’agisse de crises d’absence pure.

Une fois le diagnostic posé, les enfants en crise d'absence reçoivent un traitement pharmacologique. Un médicament antiépileptique est généralement utilisé, en commençant par de faibles doses jusqu'à ce que la dose nécessaire soit atteinte pour prévenir l'apparition de nouvelles crises. Certains antiépileptiques courants sont l'éthosuximide, l'acide valproïque et la lamotrigine. L'un des trois principes actifs sera efficace et sûr, bien que la préférence pour l'un ou l'autre dépendra des caractéristiques du cas spécifique.

Certaines activités doivent être évitées chez les personnes en crise d'absence, car elles entraînent une perte de conscience temporaire. Par exemple, conduire un vélo ou nager peut se solder par un accident ou une noyade. Jusqu'à ce que les crises soient maîtrisées, ces enfants (et dans certains cas les adultes) devraient s'abstenir de faire ces activités. Il existe également des bracelets qui avertissent les autres de subir une attaque, ce qui accélère le processus en cas d'urgence.

Prévisions

Le pronostic des crises d'absence est généralement positif . Étant donné que plus de 65% des enfants se débarrassent de l'épilepsie à mesure qu'ils grandissent, nous pouvons être optimistes si nous combinons ces données à un traitement pharmacologique réussi. Les seuls risques associés à cette maladie sont ceux provoqués par les chutes qui pourraient survenir en cas de crise, et nous savons que les crises qui en résultent sont très rares. Il est normal qu'un enfant subisse plus de dix crises par jour et ne tombe jamais sur le sol et ne se blesse pas.

De plus, le cerveau ne subit aucun dommage après la crise des absences, de sorte que les seules interférences peuvent se produire dans le contexte de l'apprentissage, où ces périodes de perte de conscience entravent l'acquisition des connaissances. Enfin, le médicament est parfaitement amovible, de la manière prescrite par un médecin, en l’absence de crise depuis deux ans.

Articles Connexes