yes, therapy helps!
Absorbing relationships: what to do and how to recognize them

Absorbing relationships: what to do and how to recognize them

November 27, 2021

Relationships between couples tend to be an aspect of emotional life marked by the intensity of emotions involved It is normal that in the day to day you spend a lot of time thinking about the couple or experiences related to it, even when it is not there. However, there are limits to everything, and sometimes these emotional ties translate into habits and routines that demand too much from oneself.

In this article we will talk about the absorbing relationships , what are the characteristics that allow to detect them and what type of solution can each of the problems that it poses (although in some cases the most reasonable solution is to end the relationship, as we will see).


  • Related article: "The power struggle in couple relationships"

The absorbing relationships: how are they?

It is normal that people involved in a relationship notice from time to time certain tensions at the time of living maintaining that special emotional bond. After all, have a romantic type of relationship requires, to a greater or lesser extent, accept a commitment .

Obligations and shared responsibilities make the prospect of making sacrifices in the present to be with the other person long-term reasonable efforts, and as being in a couple requires a certain time and resources, this does not always fit with what each member, separately, you want in the here and now.


However, it is one thing to invest the reasonable in the relationship and to express to the other that we take into account their interests, and another is not to be able to have life because of the constant demands linked (at least, apparently) to that loving bond. It is at this point that absorbing relationships appear.

An absorbing relationship is, in short, a relational dynamic between two or more people in which there is a clear asymmetry and one of the members you have to sacrifice a lot to meet the demands of the other, or all the people involved have to devote all their efforts and time to the relationship, constantly, and with great effort. But this definition is somewhat ambiguous, so let's see what are the usual characteristics of these relationships.

1. You have to wait many days to have time alone

Each person has different needs when it comes to needing to be alone with more or less frequency, but the normal and healthy thing is that they do not have to wait for days to be able to do it (starting from the moment that the desire to reserve a moment for oneself).


In some cases, the members of the couple they have a distorted view of reality , according to which both form something like a super-organism composed of two people who can never be separated and who must share everything. Trying to follow that principle is exhausting and frustrating in the vast majority of cases. Incloso who are more in love usually require moments to do things of interest without the interference of others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "This is the personality of those who love solitude and do not fear being single."

2. No time to see friends

The fact of starting a relationship does not mean leaving friends aside. These bonds of friendship, which often take years of travel behind their backs, are very valuable, but some people believe that in love relationships they are expected not to attend to this kind of personal ties considered "peripheral". There are cases, even, in which it is assumed that meeting those people without going with the couple, or without mentioning it before, it is a betrayal , something that obviously discourages this kind of meetings.

This not only makes these friendships languish with the passage of time. In addition, it generates isolation, which makes entering a vicious circle: it is dedicated all the time to the couple because there is no one else with whom to meet and do things or launch interesting projects.

3. It's about changing the personality to fit in with the other

There is nothing wrong in trying to improve in some aspects, but there are cases in which the members of an absorbing relationship, or one of them, propose modify the entire structure of your own personality to be able to fit perfectly with your partner, to the point of trying to develop hobbies for which you do not feel true interest, you adopt a pose and an artificial attitude that does not correspond to your own identity, etc.

In short, it is one thing to improve aiming at an objective that has a real meaning for oneself, and another is to take as a reference what is believed that the other person expects and make efforts to become that, only for the supposed good of the relationship.

4. Passive-aggressive attitudes are adopted before the own initiative

In many absorbing relationships, it is seen with bad eyes that certain norms are broken, although technically they have no real value, they are considered important because they have to do with being together.

It is not that they are elements with a symbolic value associated with an important event (for example, going to the movies on the birthday of the relationship, as it was done on the first date), but that it is not supposed to be broken those rules because the opposite it involves individual thinking outside of the couple .

For example, going to work in the office instead of doing it on the couch at home with the lover or in love or, in a less extreme case, dedicating a Friday to go to a concert without the other person because they do not want to go.

In these cases, passive aggressive attitudes work as a punishment without theoretically doing anything wrong.

What to do?

In communication and honesty is the key. It is necessary to express one's needs that one has and that they do not have to be limited to the environment of the couple, and to do it assertively and honestly, but not unilaterally or curtly, since it is a change of habits that can be delicate and easy to misinterpret if everything that really happens is not explained.

On the other hand, if the other person is not able to respect the fact that more space is needed for oneself, this is considered a serious problem that transforms this relational dynamic into a toxic relationship, in which it is easy to produce bad deals (not necessarily physical).


The Self-Absorbed Partner, Video One (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Des relations absorbantes: que faire et comment les reconnaître

Des relations absorbantes: que faire et comment les reconnaître

Octobre 13, 2019

Les relations entre les couples ont tendance à être un aspect de la vie émotionnelle marqué par l'intensité des émotions impliqué Il est normal que, chaque jour, vous passiez beaucoup de temps à penser au couple ou aux expériences qui y sont liées, même lorsque ce n’est pas le cas. Cependant, il y a des limites à tout, et parfois ces liens émotionnels se traduisent par des habitudes et des routines trop exigeantes.

Dans cet article nous allons parler des relations d'absorption , quelles sont les caractéristiques qui permettent de les détecter et quel type de solution chacun des problèmes qu’il pose peut être résolu (même si dans certains cas la solution la plus raisonnable est de mettre fin à la relation, comme nous le verrons plus loin).


  • Article connexe: "La lutte de pouvoir dans les relations de couple"

Les relations absorbantes: comment sont-elles?

Il est normal que les personnes impliquées dans une relation constatent de temps en temps certaines tensions au moment de la vie, maintenant ce lien affectif spécial. Après tout, avoir un type de relation romantique nécessite plus ou moins l'acceptation d'un engagement .

Les obligations et les responsabilités partagées font que la possibilité de faire des sacrifices dans le présent pour être avec l'autre personne fait des efforts raisonnables à long terme, et comme il faut un certain temps et des ressources en couple, cela ne correspond pas toujours à ce que chacun Monsieur le député, séparément, vous voulez ici et maintenant.


Cependant, investir du raisonnable dans la relation et exprimer à l'autre que nous tenons compte de leurs intérêts est une chose. Une autre est de ne pas pouvoir avoir la vie en raison des exigences constantes (du moins apparemment) liées à ce lien affectif. C'est à ce stade que des relations absorbantes apparaissent.

En bref, une relation absorbante est une dynamique relationnelle entre deux personnes ou plus dans laquelle il existe une asymétrie évidente et l’un des membres. tu dois beaucoup sacrifier pour répondre aux demandes de l'autre, ou de toutes les personnes impliquées, il faut consacrer tous leurs efforts et leur temps à la relation, de manière constante et avec un effort considérable. Mais cette définition est quelque peu ambiguë, voyons donc quelles sont les caractéristiques habituelles de ces relations.

1. Il faut attendre plusieurs jours pour avoir du temps seul

Chaque personne a des besoins différents en ce qui concerne le besoin de rester seul avec plus ou moins de fréquence, mais la chose normale et saine est de ne pas attendre des jours avant de pouvoir le faire (à partir du moment où le désir de réserver moment pour soi-même).


Dans certains cas, les membres du couple ils ont une vision déformée de la réalité , selon lequel les deux forment un super-organisme composé de deux personnes qui ne peuvent jamais être séparées et qui doivent tout partager. Vouloir suivre ce principe est épuisant et frustrant dans la grande majorité des cas. Les amoureux plus amoureux ont généralement besoin de moments pour faire des choses intéressantes sans l’interférence des autres.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "C’est la personnalité de ceux qui aiment la solitude et ne craignent pas d’être célibataires."

2. Pas le temps de voir des amis

Le fait de commencer une relation ne signifie pas laisser les amis de côté. Ces liens d’amitié, qui prennent souvent des années de voyage derrière le dos, sont très précieux, mais certaines personnes croient que dans les relations amoureuses, on ne s’attend pas à ce que ces liens personnels soient considérés comme «périphériques». Il y a même des cas dans lesquels on suppose que rencontrer ces personnes sans aller avec le couple, ou sans le mentionner auparavant, c'est une trahison , ce qui décourage évidemment ce genre de réunion.

Cela ne fait pas que languir ces amitiés avec le temps. De plus, cela génère de l'isolement, ce qui crée un cercle vicieux: il est dédié au couple car il n'y a personne avec qui se rencontrer et faire des choses ou lancer des projets intéressants.

3. Il s'agit de changer la personnalité pour l'adapter à l'autre

Il n’ya rien de mal à essayer d’améliorer certains aspects, mais il existe des cas dans lesquels les membres d’une relation absorbante, ou l’un d’eux, proposent modifier la structure entière de votre propre personnalité pour pouvoir s'adapter parfaitement avec votre partenaire, au point d'essayer de développer des loisirs pour lesquels vous ne vous sentez pas véritablement intéressé, vous prenez une pose et une attitude artificielle qui ne correspond pas à votre identité, etc.

En bref, c’est une chose d’améliorer de viser un objectif qui a un sens réel pour soi, une autre est de prendre comme référence ce que l’on croit que l’autre attend et de faire des efforts pour le devenir, uniquement dans le but supposé du bien de la personne. relation

4. Les attitudes passives-agressives sont adoptées avant la propre initiative

Dans de nombreuses relations absorbantes, on voit de mauvais yeux que certaines normes sont enfreintes, même si techniquement elles n’ont aucune valeur réelle, elles sont considérées comme importantes parce qu’elles sont liées au fait d’être ensemble.

Ce ne sont pas des éléments avec une valeur symbolique associés à un événement important (par exemple, aller au cinéma le jour de l'anniversaire de la relation, comme ce fut le cas lors du premier rendez-vous), mais il n'est pas censé être rompu ces règles parce que le contraire cela implique une réflexion individuelle en dehors du couple .

Par exemple, aller au bureau au lieu de le faire chez soi, avec son amoureux ou avec un amour, ou, dans un cas moins extrême, consacrer un vendredi à un concert sans l'autre personne parce qu'il ne veut pas y aller.

Dans ces cas, les attitudes agressives passives agissent comme une punition sans théoriquement rien faire de mal.

Que faire?

Dans la communication et l'honnêteté est la clé. Il faut exprimer ses besoins que l’on a et qu’ils ne doivent pas être limités à l’environnement du couple, et le faire avec assurance et honnêteté, mais pas unilatéralement ou sèchement, c’est un changement d’habitude qui peut être délicat et facile à mal interpréter si tout ce qui se passe réellement n'est pas expliqué.

Par contre, si l’autre personne n’est pas en mesure de respecter le fait qu’il faut plus d’espace pour soi-même, cela est considéré comme un problème grave qui transforme cette dynamique relationnelle en une relation toxique, dans laquelle il est facile de produire des mauvaises choses. offres (pas nécessairement physique).


Le roman de l'eau : l'eau et son homme (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes