yes, therapy helps!
Acinetopsia (blindness to movement): types, symptoms, causes and treatment

Acinetopsia (blindness to movement): types, symptoms, causes and treatment

June 19, 2024

When we observe the environment, our eyes perform a large number of movements to capture each and every one of the details and movements that compose it. Next, our brain composes a harmonious image of everything that surrounds us, including objects and people in movement.

Our vision works like a video camera that produces thousands of frames of what surrounds it, while our brain projects the "film" in our mind. However, what happens when this function is altered? In these cases appears acinetopsia , a disorder in which the person has difficulty perceiving the movement.

  • Related article: "[The 15 most frequent neurological disorders] (/ clinic / neurological-frequent-disorders"

What is acinetopsia?

Acinetopsia, also known under the terms akinetopsia or blindness to movement , consists of a disorder of a neurological nature that affects the sense of sight. Specifically, acinetopsia causes, in those who suffer from it, an inability to perceive movement through sight.


This condition, described for the first time around 1991 by the British-born neurologist Semir Zeki, makes the affected person can not perceive the movement . The patient can not see the movement of his own body, like that of other people or objects.

However, acinetopsia is not an "all or nothing" condition. This condition can have varying degrees of severity. From the mildest, in which the person perceives the movement as his was a sequence of images or a film in which the frames go in slow motion; even the most serious, in which the patient experiences a total inability to perceive the movement.

In this disorder, the person can only perceive other subjects, objects or herself in one place and suddenly in another. Or at best, he perceives a kind of diffused wake behind the moving object.


Even though the rest of sensory functions and abilities remain intact, people with acinetopsia also have their visual motor skills disturbed . Since not perceiving their own movements well, tasks such as walking and moving, or reaching objects can be really complicated.

Types of acinetopsia and symptoms

As mentioned above, acinetopsia can present in different degrees of affection. These grades constitute the different types of this disorder, which vary both in the severity of the symptoms and in the level of blindness that it causes in the person.

There are two different types of acinetopsia . They are the following.

1. Fine or discrete Acinetopsia

This first type of acinetopsia, known as fine or discrete, is the one that presents a milder symptomatology and, therefore, less disabling for the person. Although equally, people who suffer from it report experiencing enormous discomfort.


In light acinetopsia, the person perceives movement as if you were visualizing a reel in which the frames are moving at a much slower speed . Another example would be a multiple exposure photograph, in which the person can perceive the wake of the movement of both objects and people, including the patient himself.

At the moment, it is not known what abnormality in the functioning of the organism causes this disorder. However, experts point to the idea that abnormal functioning in the mechanisms that allow us to maintain visual stability in eye movements can cause this type of acinetopsia.

2. Macroscopic acinetopsia

Also known as thick acinetopsia, this kind of blindness to movement is extremely unusual and of very low incidence among the population.

In contrast to fine acinetopsia, in the macroscopic the person is completely unable to perceive the movement in its entirety. This means that the person can only see a static world in which for a moment the object or person is in one place and at the moment in a different one.

The few people who suffer it, tend to suffer numerous problems to perform their daily tasks normally . Daily activities such as having a conversation are highly complicated since the patient is unable to perceive changes in the movement of facial expressions. Likewise, daily routines, such as crossing the street, become very dangerous; since it is not possible to perceive the movement of automobiles.

In order to compensate for these difficulties, people with acinetopsia train their hearing. In this way, through the sense of listening they can, for example, calculate the distance of objects that are in motion.

What are the causes?

The origin of acinetopsia is an abnormal functioning or interruption of activity in the area of ​​the crust that is found in the central area of ​​the temporal lobe . Structural alterations in this area of ​​the brain can transform the processes of understanding sensory information. In the case of this strange disorder, it is the processes that treat visual information that are involved.

There are several reasons why this brain region may be affected. From brain injuries, to the consumption of certain antidepressants or hallucinogens, or some diseases such as Alzheimer's disease.

1. Brain injuries

One of the causes of this disorder can be an injury caused in the posterior area of ​​the visual cortex , although it is really complicated, since an injury of this type is likely to generate many more sensory deficits.

  • Related article: "Visual cortex of the brain: structure, parts and ways"

2. Antidepressant medication

The administration of very high doses of some antidepressants can cause visual problems such as acinetopsia. However, it tends to disappear when the treatment is eliminated or the dose is readjusted.

3. Hallucinogenic substances

A habitual or recurrent consumption of certain hallucinogenic substances can cause sensory alterations of all kinds , including the less serious version of the acinetopsia, the fine acinetopsia.

4. Migraine Aura

The aura is a visual phenomenon that accompanies the headaches of migraines. This tends to appear moments before the access of pain and is manifested by visual symptoms such as spots in space, flashes or fine acinetopsia.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of migraine (characteristics and causes)"

5. Alzheimer's disease

Although they do not appear very frequently, acinetopsia, present in different degrees, may accompany alterations in the memory of Alzheimer's patients.

Is there a treatment?

At the moment, there are no pre-established guidelines for the treatment of acinetopsia. In cases in which this is caused by the administration of psychotropic drugs, the interruption of their consumption should eliminate the symptoms of this disorder.

However, Brain surgery, although risky, is an option to try to eliminate acinetopsia in those cases in which there is a brain injury.


Divergent Minds - Mind Field S2 (Ep 7) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Acétiopsie (cécité des mouvements): types, symptômes, causes et traitement

Acétiopsie (cécité des mouvements): types, symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 27, 2022

Lorsque nous observons l'environnement, nos yeux effectuent un grand nombre de mouvements pour capturer chacun des détails et des mouvements qui le composent. Ensuite, notre cerveau compose une image harmonieuse de tout ce qui nous entoure, y compris des objets et des personnes en mouvement.

Notre vision fonctionne comme une caméra vidéo qui produit des milliers d'images de ce qui l'entoure, tandis que notre cerveau projette le "film" dans notre esprit. Cependant, que se passe-t-il lorsque cette fonction est modifiée? Acinetopsia apparaît dans ces cas , un trouble dans lequel la personne a du mal à percevoir le mouvement.

  • Article connexe: "[Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents] (/ clinique / troubles neurologiques fréquents"

Quelle est acinetopsia?

Acinétopsie, également connu sous les termes akinetopsia ou cécité au mouvement , consiste en un trouble de nature neurologique qui affecte le sens de la vue. Plus précisément, l’acinétopsie cause, chez ceux qui en souffrent, une incapacité à percevoir le mouvement par la vue.


Cette condition, décrite pour la première fois vers 1991 par le neurologue britannique Semir Zeki, rend la personne touchée ne peut pas percevoir le mouvement . Le patient ne peut pas voir le mouvement de son propre corps, comme celui des autres personnes ou des objets.

Cependant, acinetopsia n'est pas une condition "tout ou rien". Cette condition peut avoir divers degrés de gravité. Du plus doux, dans lequel la personne perçoit le mouvement comme il s’agissait d’une séquence d’images ou d’un film dans lequel les images passent au ralenti; même le plus grave, dans lequel le patient éprouve une incapacité totale à percevoir le mouvement.

Dans ce désordre, la personne ne peut percevoir d'autres sujets, objets ou elle-même qu'à un endroit et soudainement à un autre. Ou au mieux, il perçoit une sorte de sillage diffus derrière l'objet en mouvement.


Même si le reste des fonctions et capacités sensorielles restent intactes, les personnes souffrant d'acinétopsie ont également des troubles de la motricité visuelle . Comme ils ne perçoivent pas bien leurs propres mouvements, des tâches telles que marcher et se déplacer, ou atteindre des objets peuvent être très compliqués.

Types d'acinétopsie et symptômes

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, acinetopsia peut présenter à différents degrés d'affection. Ces degrés constituent les différents types de ce trouble, qui varient à la fois par la sévérité des symptômes et par le degré de cécité qu'il provoque chez la personne.

Il existe deux types différents d'acinetopsia . Ils sont les suivants.

1. Acinetopsie fine ou discrète

Ce premier type d’acinétopsie, dite fine ou discrète, est celui qui présente une symptomatologie moins sévère et donc moins handicapant pour la personne. Bien que les personnes atteintes en souffrent également, elles déclarent éprouver un inconfort énorme.


En acinetopsie légère, la personne perçoit le mouvement comme si vous visualisiez une bobine dans laquelle les cadres se déplacent à une vitesse beaucoup plus lente . Un autre exemple serait une photographie à expositions multiples, dans laquelle la personne peut percevoir le sillage du mouvement des objets et des personnes, y compris le patient lui-même.

Pour le moment, on ignore quelle anomalie dans le fonctionnement de l'organisme est à l'origine de ce trouble. Toutefois, les experts soulignent l’idée que ce type d’acinopsie peut être provoqué par un fonctionnement anormal des mécanismes nous permettant de maintenir la stabilité visuelle des mouvements oculaires.

Acinetopsie macroscopique

Aussi connu comme acinetopsia épaisse, ce genre de cécité au mouvement est extrêmement inhabituel et de très faible incidence dans la population.

Contrairement à la fine acinétopsie, la personne macroscopique est totalement incapable de percevoir le mouvement dans son intégralité. Cela signifie que la personne ne peut voir qu'un monde statique dans lequel, pour un moment, l'objet ou la personne se trouve à un endroit et à un moment différents.

Les quelques personnes qui en souffrent, ont tendance à souffrir de nombreux problèmes pour effectuer leurs tâches quotidiennes normalement . Les activités quotidiennes telles que tenir une conversation sont extrêmement compliquées, car le patient est incapable de percevoir les changements dans le mouvement des expressions faciales. De même, les routines quotidiennes, telles que traverser la rue, deviennent très dangereuses; puisqu'il n'est pas possible de percevoir le mouvement des automobiles.

Afin de compenser ces difficultés, les personnes acinetopsia développent leur audition. Ainsi, grâce au sens de l'écoute, ils peuvent, par exemple, calculer la distance d'objets en mouvement.

Quelles sont les causes?

L’acétiopsie a pour origine un fonctionnement anormal ou une interruption de l’activité dans la zone de la croûte trouvée dans la zone centrale du lobe temporal . Les altérations structurelles dans cette zone du cerveau peuvent transformer les processus de compréhension des informations sensorielles. Dans le cas de ce désordre étrange, ce sont les processus qui traitent les informations visuelles qui sont impliqués.

Cette région du cerveau peut être affectée pour plusieurs raisons. Des lésions cérébrales à la consommation de certains antidépresseurs ou hallucinogènes, ou de certaines maladies telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer.

1. Lésions cérébrales

L'une des causes de ce trouble peut être une blessure causée dans la région postérieure du cortex visuel , bien que ce soit vraiment compliqué, puisqu’une blessure de ce type est susceptible de générer beaucoup plus de déficits sensoriels.

  • Article connexe: "Cortex visuel du cerveau: structure, parties et voies"

2. Médicaments antidépresseurs

L’administration de très fortes doses de certains antidépresseurs peut causer des problèmes de vision tels que l’acinopsie. Cependant, il a tendance à disparaître lorsque le traitement est éliminé ou que la dose est réajustée.

3. substances hallucinogènes

Une consommation habituelle ou récurrente de certaines substances hallucinogènes peut causer des altérations sensorielles de toutes sortes , y compris la version moins grave de l’acinopsie, la fine acinétopsie.

4. Aura de la migraine

L'aura est un phénomène visuel qui accompagne les maux de tête des migraines. Cela tend à apparaître quelques instants avant l’accès à la douleur et se manifeste par des symptômes visuels tels que des taches dans l’espace, des éclairs ou une fine acinétopsie.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 7 types de migraine (caractéristiques et causes)"

5. maladie d'Alzheimer

Bien qu’elles n’apparaissent pas très souvent, l’acinopsie, présente à des degrés divers, peut accompagner des altérations de la mémoire des patients atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe pas de lignes directrices préétablies pour le traitement de l'acinétopsie. Dans les cas où cela est causé par l'administration de médicaments psychotropes, l'interruption de leur consommation devrait éliminer les symptômes de ce trouble.

Cependant, La chirurgie cérébrale, bien que risquée, est une option essayer d'éliminer l'acinétopsie dans les cas où il y a une lésion cérébrale.

Articles Connexes