yes, therapy helps!
Action potential: what is it and what are its phases?

Action potential: what is it and what are its phases?

June 12, 2024

What we think, what we feel, what we do ... all of this depends to a great extent on our Nervous System, thanks to which we can manage each of the processes that occur in our body and receive, process and work with the information that is and the medium they provide us.

The operation of this system is based on the transmission of bioelectric pulses through the different neural networks that we have. This transmission involves a series of processes of great importance, being one of the main the one known as action potential .

  • Related article: "Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures"

Action potential: basic definition and characteristics

It is understood as action potential the wave or electrical discharge that arises from the set to the set of changes suffered by the neuronal membrane due to the electrical variations and the relationship between the external and internal environment of the neuron.


It is a unique electric wave that it will be transmitted through the cell membrane until it reaches the end of the axon , causing the emission of neurotransmitters or ions to the membrane of the postsynaptic neuron, generating in it another action potential that eventually will end up bringing some kind of order or information to some area of ​​the organism. Its onset occurs in the axonic cone, close to the soma, where a large number of sodium channels can be observed.

The action potential has the peculiarity of following the so-called law of all or nothing. That is, either it occurs or does not occur, there being no intermediate possibilities. Despite this, whether or not the potential can be influenced by the existence of excitatory or inhibitory potentials that facilitate or hinder it.


All the action potentials are going to have the same load, and their quantity can only vary: that a message is more or less intense (for example the perception of pain before a puncture or a stab will be different) will not generate changes in the intensity of the signal, but will only cause action potentials to be realized more frequently.

In addition to this and in relation to the above, it is also worth mentioning the fact that it is not possible to add action potentials, since they have a brief refractory period in which that part of the neuron can not initiate another potential.

Finally, it highlights the fact that the action potential occurs at a specific point of the neuron and has to occur along each of the points of this that follow, not being able to return the electrical signal back.

  • You may be interested: "What are axons of neurons?"

Phases of action potential

The action potential occurs throughout a series of phases, which go from the initial rest situation to the sending of the electrical signal and finally the return to the initial state.


1. Potential for rest

This first step assumes a basal state in which alterations that lead to the action potential have not yet occurred. It is a moment in which the membrane is at -70mV, its base electric charge . During this time, some small depolarizations and electrical variations can reach the membrane, but they are not enough to trigger the action potential.

2. Depolarization

This second phase (or first of the potential itself), the stimulation generates that occurs in the membrane of the neuron an electrical change of sufficient excitatory intensity (which should at least generate a change to -65mV and in some neurons up to - 40mV) to generate that the sodium channels of the axon cone open, in such a way that the sodium ions (positively charged) enter in a massive way.

In turn, sodium / potassium pumps (which normally keep the stable cell interior expelling by exchanging three sodium ions for two of potassium in such a way that more positive ions are expelled from those that enter) stop working. This will generate a change in the load of the membrane, in such a way that it reaches 30mV. This change is what is known as depolarization.

After that, the potassium channels begin to open up of the membrane, which also being a positive ion and entering these massively will be repelled and will start to leave the cell. This will cause depolarization to slow down, as positive ions are lost. That is why at most the electric charge will be 40 mV. The sodium channels become closed, and will be inactivated for a short period of time (which prevents summative depolarizations). A wave has been generated that can not go back.

  • Related article: "What is neuronal depolarization and how does it work?"

3. Repolarization

Once the sodium channels have been closed, it stops being able to enter the neuron , at the same time that the fact that the potassium channels remain open generates that this continues to be expelled. That is why the potential and the membrane become increasingly negative.

4. Hyperpolarization

As more and more potassium comes out, the electrical charge of the membrane it becomes more and more negative to the point of hyperpolarizing : they reach a level of negative charge that even exceeds that of rest. At this time the potassium channels are closed, and the sodium channels are reactivated (without opening). This causes the electric charge to stop falling and technically there could be a new potential, but nevertheless the fact that it suffers a hyperpolarization means that the amount of charge that would be necessary for an action potential is much higher than usual. The sodium / potassium pump is also reactivated.

5. Rest potential

The reactivation of the sodium / potassium pump generates little by little positive charge entering the cell, something that will finally generate a return to its basal state, the resting potential (-70mV).

6. The action potential and the release of neurotransmitters

This complex bioelectrical process will be produced from the axonic cone to the end of the axon, in such a way that the electrical signal will progress to the terminal buttons. These buttons have calcium channels that open when the potential reaches them, something that causes the vesicles containing neurotransmitters to emit their contents and they expel him into the synaptic space. Thus, it is the action potential that generates the release of neurotransmitters, being the main source of transmission of nervous information in our body.

Bibliographic references

  • Gómez, M .; Espejo-Saavedra, J.M .; Taravillo, B. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Manual of Preparation PIR, 12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Guyton, C.A. & Hall, J.E. (2012) Treaty of Medical Physiology. 12th edition. McGraw Hill.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.

013 A Review of the Action Potential (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Potentiel d'action: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses phases?

Potentiel d'action: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses phases?

Septembre 5, 2022

Ce que nous pensons, ce que nous ressentons, ce que nous faisons ... Tout cela dépend en grande partie de notre système nerveux, grâce auquel nous pouvons gérer chacun des processus qui se produisent dans notre corps et recevoir, traiter et utiliser les informations qui sont et le support qu'ils nous fournissent.

Le fonctionnement de ce système repose sur la transmission d'impulsions bioélectriques à travers les différents réseaux de neurones que nous avons. Cette transmission implique une série de processus d’une grande importance, constituant l’un des principaux celui connu comme potentiel d'action .

  • Article connexe: "Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques"

Potentiel d'action: définition de base et caractéristiques

C'est compris comme potentiel d'action l'onde ou la décharge électrique qui se produit de l'ensemble des modifications subies par la membrane neuronale en raison des variations électriques et de la relation entre l'environnement externe et interne du neurone.


C'est une onde électrique unique qui il sera transmis à travers la membrane cellulaire jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne la fin de l'axone , provoquant l'émission de neurotransmetteurs ou d'ions sur la membrane du neurone postsynaptique, générant un potentiel d'action supplémentaire qui finira par amener une sorte d'ordre ou d'information à une zone de l'organisme. Son apparition se produit dans le cône axonique, près du soma, où l'on peut observer un grand nombre de canaux sodiques.

Le potentiel d'action a la particularité de suivre la prétendue loi du tout ou rien. C'est-à-dire que cela se produise ou non, il n'y a aucune possibilité intermédiaire. Malgré cela, que le potentiel peut être influencé par l'existence de potentiels excitateurs ou inhibiteurs qui facilitent ou entravent.


Tous les potentiels d'action vont avoir la même charge, et leur quantité ne peut que varier: un message est plus ou moins intense (par exemple, la perception de la douleur avant une ponction ou un coup de poignard sera différente) ne générera pas de changement de l’intensité du signal, mais ne fera que provoquer des potentiels d’action plus fréquemment.

En plus de cela et par rapport à ce qui précède, il convient également de mentionner le fait qu’il n’est pas possible d’ajouter des potentiels d’action, car ils ont une brève période réfractaire dans lequel cette partie du neurone ne peut pas initier un autre potentiel.

Enfin, il met en évidence le fait que le potentiel d'action se produit à un point spécifique du neurone et doit apparaître le long de chacun des points qui suivent, sans pouvoir restituer le signal électrique.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Quels sont les axones des neurones?"

Phases de potentiel d'action

Le potentiel d’action se présente tout au long d’une série de phases qui vont de la situation de repos initiale à l'envoi du signal électrique et enfin le retour à l'état initial.


1. Potentiel de repos

Cette première étape suppose un état basal dans lequel les modifications menant au potentiel d'action ne se sont pas encore produites. C'est un moment dans lequel la membrane est à -70mV, sa charge électrique de base . Pendant ce temps, certaines petites dépolarisations et variations électriques peuvent atteindre la membrane, mais elles ne suffisent pas pour déclencher le potentiel d'action.

2. Dépolarisation

Dans cette seconde phase (ou la première du potentiel lui-même), la stimulation génère dans la membrane du neurone un changement électrique d'intensité excitatrice suffisante (qui devrait au moins générer un changement jusqu'à -65 mV et dans certains neurones jusqu'à - 40 mV) pour générer l’ouverture des canaux sodiques du cône axonal, de telle sorte que les ions sodium (chargés positivement) pénètrent de manière massive.

À leur tour, les pompes à sodium / potassium (qui empêchent normalement l’intérieur de la cellule stable d’expulser en échangeant trois ions sodium contre deux de potassium de manière à ce que davantage d’ions positifs soient expulsés de celles qui y entrent) cessent de fonctionner. Cela générera une modification de la charge de la membrane, de telle sorte qu'elle atteigne 30 mV. Ce changement est ce qu'on appelle la dépolarisation.

Après cela, les canaux potassiques commencent à s'ouvrir de la membrane, qui est aussi un ion positif et qui entre massivement, sera repoussé et commencera à quitter la cellule. Cela entraînera un ralentissement de la dépolarisation, car les ions positifs sont perdus. C’est pourquoi la charge électrique sera au maximum de 40 mV. Les canaux sodiques se ferment et seront inactivés pendant une courte période (ce qui empêche les dépolarisations sommatives). Une vague a été générée qui ne peut pas revenir en arrière.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la dépolarisation neuronale et comment ça marche?"

3. Repolarisation

Une fois que les canaux sodiques ont été fermés, il ne peut plus entrer dans le neurone , en même temps que le fait que les canaux potassiques restent ouverts génère son expulsion. C'est pourquoi le potentiel et la membrane deviennent de plus en plus négatifs.

4. Hyperpolarisation

À mesure que de plus en plus de potassium sort, la charge électrique de la membrane il devient de plus en plus négatif au point d’hyperpolariser : ils atteignent un niveau de charge négative qui dépasse même celui du repos. A ce stade, les canaux potassiques sont fermés et les canaux sodiques sont réactivés (sans ouverture). La charge électrique cesse alors de tomber et, techniquement, il pourrait y avoir un nouveau potentiel. Néanmoins, le fait qu’elle subisse une hyperpolarisation signifie que la quantité de charge nécessaire pour un potentiel d’action est bien supérieure à la normale. La pompe à sodium / potassium est également réactivée.

5. potentiel de repos

La réactivation de la pompe à sodium / potassium génère peu à peu une charge positive entrant dans la cellule, ce qui finira par générer un retour à son état basal, le potentiel de repos (-70mV).

6. Le potentiel d'action et la libération de neurotransmetteurs

Ce processus bioélectrique complexe sera produit du cône axonique à la fin de l'axone, de telle sorte que le signal électrique progresse vers les boutons terminaux. Ces boutons possèdent des canaux calciques qui s’ouvrent lorsque le potentiel les atteint, ce qui oblige les vésicules contenant des neurotransmetteurs à émettre leur contenu et ils l'expulsent dans l'espace synaptique. C'est donc le potentiel d'action qui génère la libération de neurotransmetteurs, constituant la principale source de transmission d'informations nerveuses dans notre corps.

Références bibliographiques

  • Gómez, M .; Espejo-Saavedra, J. M.; Taravillo, B. (2012). Psychobiologie CEDE Manuel de préparation PIR, 12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Guyton, C.A. & Hall, J.E. (2012) Traité de physiologie médicale. 12ème édition. McGraw Hill.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid

L'importance de faire un bilan de carrière (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes