yes, therapy helps!
Adonis complex: causes, symptoms and treatment

Adonis complex: causes, symptoms and treatment

January 25, 2022

The concern for physical appearance, to a greater or lesser extent, is common in our days, because we live immersed in the culture of the image. Now, when this worry becomes too important a part of our life and leads us to perform self-destructive behaviors, so we are talking about the Adonis complex , a serious problem that must be addressed.

In this article we will talk about the Adonis complex and will delve into its causes, symptoms and treatment.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

What is the Adonis complex?

The Adonis complex is what is popularly known as vigorexia , muscle dysmorphia or inverted anorexia. People with this disorder suffer continuously for their physical appearance and especially for their obsession and fixation to acquire a muscular body, which would represent the maximum expression of male body image. This obsession and concern leads the individual to pathological extremes.


The term "Adonis complex" is not usually used in the medical setting, but is rather the name that vigorexia receives popularly. This curious name is drawn from Greek mythology, that represented Adonis as half a man and half a god. Adonis was considered the supreme being of male beauty and, according to mythology, so beautiful was his body that he won the love of Aphrodite, queen of all gods.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Tanorexia: when being dark becomes an obsession"

Causes

As some researches claim, in Spain there are approximately 700,000 cases of the Adonis complex or vigorexia. Mostly it is men in the age range of 15 to 35 who usually suffer from this disorder; however, cases of women with this condition have also been reported.


Although the exact cause of this disorder is difficult to determine, scientific studies conclude that a series of factors can cause the appearance of the Adonis complex. They are the following:

1. Low self-esteem

Low self-esteem it is both a cause and a consequence of this disorder, and is that individuals with Adonis complex are often assessed negatively and have a lack of self-confidence. They become obsessed with physical appearance thinking that in this way they will feel better. They are not good with themselves and seek external approval that does not favor their mental well-being at all.

  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

2. Culture of the image

The culture of the image and the values ​​and beliefs that this society promotes have an effect on how people interpret the environment and value ourselves. We are continually surrounded by media that make us feel bad if we do not fulfill the unreal expectations that we can get to have fruit of the canon of beauty of the West. Education is the best way to counteract these toxic values ​​or beliefs.


3. Bullying

Some individuals can develop this condition after having a negative image of themselves that is a consequence of how they have been harassed in the early stages of their lives . For example, because of the teasing of classmates at school.

4. Perfectionism

The perfectionist personality is closely linked to the desire to have a perfect body. This type of behavior leads to obsession , because perfectionists are very hard on themselves and do not accept themselves as they are.

  • Related article: "Perfectionist personality: the disadvantages of perfectionism"

Symptoms and signs

Individuals who suffer from the Adonis complex are obsessed with their physical appearance and can spend several hours a day thinking about their body in a negative way and looking at themselves in the mirror again and again. The vigoréxicos are people who take care of their diet to the extreme, because they want to have a body without fat but at the same time bulky and muscular . They are never happy with the way they look because they never look good.

Not looking good causes them discomfort and they try to counteract the anxiety and low self-esteem they feel with some harmful behaviors. For example, they consume anabolics, eat unhealthy and they practice sport obsessively , leaving aside the benefits for health and focusing purely and exclusively on the body image, even sacrificing their well-being.

Treatment

Psychological therapy can be really effective for the treatment of this disorder, but the first step in overcoming the Adonis complex is for the patient to accept that he has a problem and is willing to seek help. If you are aware that you are suffering from vigorexia, you may first go to the family doctor to explain the problem.Although this professional can make a first diagnosis, it is necessary to contact a psychologist specialized in this type of disorders.

Psychological therapy is useful because it re-educates the patient to learn positive and realistic patterns of thought and behavior. Although there are other treatments such as Cognitive Therapy Based on Mindfulness (TCBM) or Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), which belong to third-generation therapies and help the patient to accept himself and adopt an attitude not judgmental about his body, Classical Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) is usually the treatment par excellence . It has enough scientific evidence to affirm that it is an effective treatment.

CBT can be group or individual, and has the purpose of recognizing and establishing connections between the thoughts, feelings and behavior of the patient, so that he can acquire practical skills to overcome their problems. In this case, the objective will be to focus on the beliefs that the patient has regarding his own body and his physical appearance, which will allow him to modify the harmful behaviors.

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy uses different techniques: cognitive restructuring, exposure techniques, social skills training, among others.

  • You can learn more about these techniques in this article: "The 10 most used cognitive-behavioral techniques"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Adonis complexe: causes, symptômes et traitement

Adonis complexe: causes, symptômes et traitement

Octobre 19, 2020

Le souci de l'apparence physique, dans une mesure plus ou moins grande, est courant de nos jours, car nous vivons immergés dans la culture de l'image. Maintenant, quand cette inquiétude devient une partie trop importante de notre vie et nous amène à adopter des comportements autodestructeurs, nous parlons donc du complexe Adonis , un problème grave qui doit être abordé.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler du complexe Adonis et en examiner les causes, les symptômes et le traitement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que le complexe Adonis?

Le complexe Adonis est ce qui est communément appelé vigorexia , dysmorphie musculaire ou anorexie inversée. Les personnes atteintes de ce trouble souffrent continuellement de leur apparence physique et en particulier de leur obsession et de leur fixation pour acquérir un corps musculaire, ce qui représenterait l’expression maximale de l’image corporelle masculine. Cette obsession et cette préoccupation mènent l'individu à des extrêmes pathologiques.


Le terme "complexe Adonis" n'est pas habituellement utilisé dans le contexte médical, mais est plutôt le nom que vigorexia reçoit couramment. Ce nom curieux est tiré de la mythologie grecque, cela représentait Adonis comme moitié homme et moitié dieu. Adonis était considéré comme le suprême être de la beauté masculine et, selon la mythologie, son corps était si beau qu'il avait gagné l'amour d'Aphrodite, reine de tous les dieux.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Tanorexia: quand l'obscurité devient une obsession"

Les causes

Selon certaines recherches, en Espagne, il existe environ 700 000 cas du complexe Adonis ou vigorexia. Surtout ce sont les hommes âgés de 15 à 35 ans qui souffrent habituellement de ce trouble; Cependant, des cas de femmes atteintes de cette maladie ont également été rapportés.


Bien que la cause exacte de ce trouble soit difficile à déterminer, des études scientifiques concluent qu’une série de facteurs peuvent provoquer l’apparition du complexe Adonis. Ils sont les suivants:

1. Faible estime de soi

Faible estime de soi c'est à la fois une cause et une conséquence de ce trouble, et c’est que les individus avec le complexe Adonis sont souvent évalués négativement et manquent de confiance en eux-mêmes. Ils deviennent obsédés par l'apparence physique en pensant qu'ils se sentiront mieux ainsi. Ils ne sont pas bons avec eux-mêmes et cherchent une approbation externe qui ne favorise pas du tout leur bien-être mental.

  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

2. Culture de l'image

La culture de l'image et les valeurs et croyances promues par cette société ont une incidence sur la façon dont les gens interprètent l'environnement et se valorisent. Nous sommes continuellement entourés de médias qui nous font sentir mal si nous ne répondons pas aux attentes irréelles que nous pouvons obtenir d'avoir le fruit du canon de la beauté de l'Occident. L'éducation est le meilleur moyen de lutter contre ces valeurs ou croyances toxiques.


3. L'intimidation

Certaines personnes peuvent développer cette maladie après avoir eu une image négative d’elles-mêmes, conséquence du comment ils ont été harcelés au début de leur vie . Par exemple, à cause des taquineries de camarades de classe à l'école.

4. perfectionnisme

La personnalité perfectionniste est étroitement liée au désir d’avoir un corps parfait. Ce type de comportement conduit à l'obsession , parce que les perfectionnistes sont très durs avec eux-mêmes et ne s’acceptent pas tels qu’ils sont.

  • Article connexe: "Personnalité perfectionniste: les inconvénients du perfectionnisme"

Symptômes et signes

Les personnes souffrant du complexe Adonis sont obsédées par leur apparence physique et peuvent passer plusieurs heures par jour à réfléchir négativement à leur corps et à se regarder dans le miroir, encore et encore. Les vigoréxicos sont des gens qui s’occupent de leur régime à la limite, parce que ils veulent avoir un corps sans graisse mais en même temps volumineux et musclé . Ils ne sont jamais contents de leur apparence, car ils ne sont jamais beaux.

Ne pas avoir l'air bien leur cause de la gêne et ils essaient de contrer l'anxiété et le manque d'estime de soi qu'ils ressentent avec certains comportements nuisibles. Par exemple, ils consomment des anabolisants, mangent malsain et ils font du sport de manière obsessionnelle en laissant de côté les bénéfices pour la santé et en se concentrant purement et exclusivement sur l'image du corps, voire en sacrifiant leur bien-être.

Traitement

La thérapie psychologique peut être vraiment efficace pour le traitement de ce trouble, mais la première étape pour surmonter le complexe Adonis consiste pour le patient à accepter le fait qu’il a un problème et est disposé à demander de l’aide. Si vous savez que vous souffrez de vigorexia, vous pouvez d'abord consulter votre médecin de famille pour expliquer le problème.Bien que ce professionnel puisse poser un premier diagnostic, il est nécessaire de faire appel à un psychologue spécialisé dans ce type de troubles.

La thérapie psychologique est utile car elle rééduque le patient à apprendre des schémas de pensée et de comportement positifs et réalistes. Bien qu'il existe d'autres traitements tels que la thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience (TCBM) ou la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT), qui appartiennent aux thérapies de troisième génération et aident le patient à s'accepter et à adopter une attitude pas de jugement sur son corps, La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale classique (TCC) est généralement le traitement par excellence . Il possède suffisamment de preuves scientifiques pour affirmer qu'il s'agit d'un traitement efficace.

La TCC peut être un groupe ou un individu et elle a pour but de reconnaître et d'établir des liens entre les pensées, les sentiments et le comportement du patient, de manière à ce qu'il puisse acquérir des compétences pratiques pour surmonter leurs problèmes. Dans ce cas, l’objectif sera de mettre l’accent sur les croyances du patient concernant son propre corps et son apparence physique, ce qui lui permettra de modifier les comportements néfastes.

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale utilise différentes techniques: restructuration cognitive, techniques d'exposition, formation aux aptitudes sociales, entre autres.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ces techniques dans cet article: "Les 10 techniques cognitivo-comportementales les plus utilisées"

Homeopathy Explained – Gentle Healing or Reckless Fraud? (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes