yes, therapy helps!
Adrenaline, the hormone that activates us

Adrenaline, the hormone that activates us

June 24, 2021

The adrenalin , also known as epinephrine , is one of those polyvalent substances that our body uses to regulate different bodily processes.

It is a hormone, since it travels through the blood to reach different areas of the body and fulfill its task in the most remote corners of this, but it is also a neurotransmitter , which means that it acts as an intermediary in the communication between the neurons that is established in the synaptic spaces.

You can read below The main characteristics of adrenaline and the functions it fulfills in our brain and beyond this.


Where is the adrenaline?

Adrenaline is produced by our body, specifically in the Kidney glands that are on top of the kidneys. However, it can also be synthesized in laboratories to create drugs administered in cases of medical emergency. The latter, by itself, serves to give us an idea of ​​the importance of the existence of a substance such as adrenaline for our organism, which intervenes in several of the most basic survival processes.

Adrenaline: the substance of activation

It is true that adrenaline fulfills many functions, but that does not mean that we can not recognize a more or less clear pattern in the different effects it has on us. This pattern can be summarized in the following: the adrenaline is the hormone and the neurotransmitter of the situations in which we have to be alert and activated . Said in other words, the adrenaline predisposes us to react quickly and prepares us to get the most out of our muscles when it is necessary to move with a certain speed, either because of the danger we run or to find ourselves in situations where we are It offers the opportunity to earn something if we are agile enough.


Adrenaline prepares us for situations in which we need to be specially activated both physically and psychologically. That's why you can say that adrenaline triggers survival mechanisms that are launched in emergency situations, such as those in which danger is perceived or must be reacted quickly.

Different activation mechanisms

Adrenaline does not act globally activating our organism, since there is no single "spring" that puts us in that state of alert. Instead, it goes to different parts of the body to produce different effects that, in their interaction with each other and with the rest of vital functions, have as a consequence activation .

The most important warning processes that adrenaline triggers when segregated in relatively high amounts are these:


1. Dilate the pupils

It causes the pupils to dilate, so that more light comes in and we are more conscious of what happens around us.

2. Dilates the blood vessels

Thanks to the adrenaline, the blood vessels more related to the vital organs are widened, while those that are thinner and close to the outer layer of the skin are compressed (giving us a somewhat pale appearance), since they are not so important and in situations of danger they could break down. The result is an increase in blood pressure .

3. Mobilize glycogen

The release of adrenaline is related to the decomposition of glycogen, which is the energy that remains reserved in the muscles and other parts of the body for those moments more physically demanding. The consequence of this is that the concentration of blood glucose ready to be burned (for example in case of imminent danger) increases .

4. Increase the heart rate

Get the heart rate faster so that we can face big efforts more easily . By pumping more blood, our muscles are better supplied with oxygen, so they can make greater efforts.

5. Slow the movement of the intestines

Slow down the bowel movement, since consumes an energy that is not so necessary in moments of alert . A way to ensure that energy is concentrated in the muscles.

6. Increase the rate at which we breathe

Adrenaline increases the pace with which we inspire and expire, to oxygenate the blood better and perform more physically .

Physiological and psychological effects

As with all hormones and neurotransmitters, it can not be said that adrenaline has effects only on the "rational" dimension of our psyche, just as it does not have them exclusively in our most emotional part.

The functions it fulfills are both physiological (such as regulation of blood pressure or respiratory rate and dilatation of the pupils) as psychological (stay alert and be more sensitive to any stimulus), since both domains overlap.

Adrenaline excesses are also paid

A excess of adrenaline It does not come free for our organism. Upward imbalances in the levels of this substance can generate hypertension, headache, increased temperature and symptoms associated with anxiety disorders or chronic stress, such as nausea, tremors or sleeping problems. Further, the adrenaline spikes can make the vision more blurred , since they increase the pressure in the eyes.

This is something that we should take into account when assessing the quality of our lifestyle. Being active all day can be more or less productive depending on the person and the context, but it sure is not healthy. The body needs to rest and that is why we must pay attention to the signals that our body sends us in the form of fatigue and sleep.

Bibliographic references:

  • Martin, J.H. (1997). Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas. Madrid: Prentice Hall.
  • Netter, F.H. (1999). Nervous System: Anatomy and Physiology. Madrid: Masson.
  • Soler, M. (Ed.). (2003). Evolution. The basis of Biology. Granada: South Edition Project.

How Strong Can An Adrenaline Rush Make You? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'adrénaline, l'hormone qui nous active

L'adrénaline, l'hormone qui nous active

Juillet 9, 2020

Le adrénaline , également connu sous le nom de épinéphrine , est l’une de ces substances polyvalentes que notre corps utilise pour réguler différents processus corporels.

C’est une hormone, car elle circule dans le sang pour atteindre différentes régions du corps et remplir sa tâche dans les coins les plus reculés de celle-ci. c'est aussi un neurotransmetteur , ce qui signifie qu'il agit comme un intermédiaire dans la communication établie entre les neurones dans les espaces synaptiques.

Vous pouvez lire ci-dessous Les principales caractéristiques de l'adrénaline et les fonctions qu'elle remplit dans notre cerveau et au-delà.


Où est l'adrénaline?

L'adrénaline est produite par notre corps, en particulier dans glandes surrénales qui sont au-dessus des reins. Cependant, il peut également être synthétisé dans des laboratoires pour créer des médicaments administrés en cas d'urgence médicale. Ce dernier, en soi, sert à nous donner une idée de l'importance de l'existence d'une substance telle que l'adrénaline pour notre organisme, qui intervient dans plusieurs des processus de survie les plus fondamentaux.

Adrénaline: la substance d'activation

Il est vrai que l’adrénaline remplit de nombreuses fonctions, mais cela ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas reconnaître une tendance plus ou moins nette parmi les différents effets qu’elle a sur nous. Ce modèle peut être résumé comme suit: l'adrénaline est l'hormone et le neurotransmetteur des situations dans lesquelles nous devons être alertes et activés . En d'autres termes, l'adrénaline nous prédispose à réagir rapidement et nous prépare à tirer le meilleur parti de nos muscles lorsqu'il est nécessaire de bouger avec une certaine vitesse, soit à cause du danger que nous courons, soit à nous retrouver dans des situations où nous sommes Il offre la possibilité de gagner quelque chose si nous sommes assez agiles.


L'adrénaline nous prépare aux situations dans lesquelles nous devons être spécialement activés physiquement et psychologiquement. C'est pourquoi vous pouvez dire que l'adrénaline déclenche des mécanismes de survie qui sont lancés dans des situations d'urgence, telles que celles dans lesquelles un danger est perçu ou doit être réagi rapidement.

Différents mécanismes d'activation

L'adrénaline n'agit pas globalement sur notre organisme car il n'y a pas un seul "ressort" qui nous met dans cet état d'alerte. Au lieu de cela, différentes parties du corps produisent des effets différents qui, dans leur interaction les uns avec les autres et avec le reste des fonctions vitales, ont pour conséquence activation .

Les processus d'avertissement les plus importants que déclenche l'adrénaline lorsqu'il est séparé en quantités relativement élevées sont les suivants:


1. Dilate les élèves

Il provoque la dilatation des pupilles, de sorte que plus de lumière entre et nous sommes plus conscients de ce qui se passe autour de nous.

2. Dilate les vaisseaux sanguins

Grâce à l'adrénaline, les vaisseaux sanguins plus liés aux organes vitaux sont élargis, tandis que ceux qui sont plus minces et proches de la couche externe de la peau sont compressés (nous donnant un aspect un peu pâle), car ils ne sont pas si importants et dans des situations de danger, ils pourraient tomber en panne. Le résultat est une augmentation de la pression artérielle .

3. Mobiliser le glycogène

La libération d'adrénaline est liée à la décomposition du glycogène, qui est l'énergie qui reste réservée aux muscles et aux autres parties du corps pour les moments plus exigeants physiquement. La conséquence de ceci est que la concentration de glucose sanguin prêt à être brûlé (par exemple en cas de danger imminent) augmente .

4. Augmenter le rythme cardiaque

Obtenez le rythme cardiaque plus rapidement afin que nous puissions faire face à de gros efforts plus facilement . En pompant plus de sang, nos muscles sont mieux alimentés en oxygène, ce qui leur permet de faire de plus grands efforts.

5. Ralentissez le mouvement des intestins

Ralentissez les selles, depuis consomme une énergie moins nécessaire dans les moments d'alerte . Un moyen de s'assurer que l'énergie est concentrée dans les muscles.

6. Augmenter la vitesse à laquelle nous respirons

L'adrénaline augmente le rythme avec lequel nous inspirons et expirons, mieux oxygéner le sang et performer physiquement .

Effets physiologiques et psychologiques

Comme avec toutes les hormones et les neurotransmetteurs, on ne peut pas dire que l'adrénaline n'a d'effets que sur la dimension "rationnelle" de notre psyché, tout comme elle ne les a pas exclusivement dans notre partie la plus émotionnelle.

Les fonctions qu’il remplit sont à la fois physiologique (comme la régulation de la pression artérielle ou de la fréquence respiratoire et la dilatation des pupilles) psychologique (restez vigilant et soyez plus sensible à tout stimulus), car les deux domaines se chevauchent.

Les excès d'adrénaline sont également payés

Un excès d'adrénaline Cela ne vient pas gratuitement pour notre organisme. Les déséquilibres ascendants dans les niveaux de cette substance peuvent générer de l'hypertension, des maux de tête, une augmentation de la température et des symptômes associés aux troubles anxieux ou au stress chronique, tels que nausées, tremblements ou troubles du sommeil. En outre, les pics d'adrénaline peuvent rendre la vision plus floue , car ils augmentent la pression dans les yeux.

C’est quelque chose que nous devrions prendre en compte lorsque nous évaluons la qualité de notre mode de vie. Être actif toute la journée peut être plus ou moins productif en fonction de la personne et du contexte, mais ce n'est certainement pas sain. Le corps a besoin de se reposer et c'est pourquoi nous devons faire attention aux signaux que notre corps nous envoie sous forme de fatigue et de sommeil.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martin, J.H. (1997). Neuroanatomie Texte et atlas. Madrid: Prentice Hall.
  • Netter, F.H. (1999). Système nerveux: anatomie et physiologie. Madrid: Masson.
  • Soler, M. (éd.). (2003). Évolution La base de la biologie. Grenade: Projet Édition Sud.

Adrénaline : l’hormone de l’activité, du stress et des maux de tête - Santé 365 (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes