yes, therapy helps!
Advantages and disadvantages of studying from home

Advantages and disadvantages of studying from home

March 24, 2024

Distance education or online training is a good option for many students who decide to study from home . If only a few decades ago there were hardly any options to carry out this type of training, nowadays, many university centers and training institutions have a large offer of master's, postgraduate and online courses. In fact, many universities allow the subjects of the Bachelor's degree in a single evaluation format, which makes it possible for the home to become a great classroom for study.

The comfort of our house, the lack of time or the impossibility of combining work with studies is no longer a barrier thanks to online or distance training.


Difference between online and distance training

Both online and distance learning are two equally good options for those who decide to study from home. These terms, which are similar, are sometimes confused and used interchangeably.

Although both types of training refer to distance education,Online training is one that is done using ICT (for example, the virtual campus) . On the other hand, distance learning is characterized by not using the new information and communication technologies, but students are trained in a self-taught way but without using an online learning platform. For example, after receiving books, they can prepare an exam from home. Both training modalities are usually used together and are combined.


Advantages of studying from home

The advantages of studying from home are many. In the following lines we explain them to you.

1. It is not necessary to move

Especially in those cases in which the school is far from the place where we live, online and distance learning can be a good alternative. Decanting for these options invites you to study from home and save time, as well as save on transportation. Without a doubt, it is ideal for the days when the weather does not accompany or you do not feel like leaving home .

2. Great offer of studies

At present, many educational institutions offer a large number of training actions, as they are aware that many students can not attend their classroom. Those people who want to study from home, can do masters, postgraduate and specialization courses. The range of training is very broad.


3. Time flexibility

One of the great advantages of studying from home is time flexibility, because students can decide what their study schedule is based on their needs. In many cases, the simple connection to the internet is enough to communicate with the tutor, download the necessary material and even perform evaluations and have access to the virtual campus 24 hours a day.

4. It is usually cheaper

Since online training offers more places for students, tuition is also cheaper than face-to-face training. If you're looking for your pocket to notice, this type of training is a good alternative. Also, studying from home is cheaper because you do not have to pay for transportation.

5. Comfort

The comfort is much greater when you study from home. You can study at your own pace and without anyone bothering you. Now, you have to look for a quiet place and you must have the willpower to self-motivate yourself and fulfill the tasks that the courses require.

Disadvantages of studying from home

Studying from home also has its drawbacks . But what are they? Then we expose them.

1. Problems to practice

Hands-on learning is really useful for students, who can test their skills and also refine their knowledge. Studying from home can cause less experiential learning, so you may not benefit from this type of teaching .

  • If you want to know more about this type of learning, you can read our article: "The 13 types of learning: what are they?"

2. Limited social interaction

While it is true that many courses allow interaction with other students in forums, studying from home limits social interaction and can cause the study to become impersonal . On the other hand, thanks to face-to-face training, it is possible to make new friends and work in groups.

  • A type of group learning is collaborative learning, which has its benefits. You can learn more in our article: "Collaborative learning: what is it and what are its benefits?"

3. It is necessary to be very self-disciplined

For many people, studying from home is a great option, however, for others, it is not so much. Not all individuals have a great capacity for self-discipline and self-motivation , so they may have serious difficulties when deciding on this training modality.

4. Difficulties in evaluations

As in the case of practices, another great handicap to study from home is to perform the evaluations or exams. In fact, many institutions require examinations from the center itself at least once during the course. In this way, institutions ensure that students' grades have met a minimum of guarantees. This, above all, is necessary in formal education.

5. Technological requirements

Although studying at home has many advantages, this type of training requires technological elements to make the classes productive. A good internet connection, for example. In addition, it is recommended that the study space be free of distractions and be as ergonomic as possible.

Are you looking for online training?

Now that you know what advantages it presents to study from home, you may look for some online course related to Psychology. Therefore, we invite you to read the following articles. Maybe you find a course that interests you.

20 online courses on Clinical Psychology (free)

  • The 25 best free online courses in Psychology (2017)
  • The 10 best Psychology courses (face-to-face and online)

The Advantages and Disadvantages of Online Learning (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Avantages et inconvénients d'étudier à la maison

Avantages et inconvénients d'étudier à la maison

Juin 26, 2022

L'éducation à distance ou la formation en ligne est une bonne option pour de nombreux étudiants qui décident d'étudier à domicile . Si ce type de formation n’existait guère il ya quelques décennies à peine, de nombreux centres universitaires et instituts de formation proposent une vaste offre de cours de maîtrise, de troisième cycle et en ligne. En fait, de nombreuses universités autorisent les matières du baccalauréat dans un seul format d'évaluation, ce qui permet au foyer de devenir une excellente salle de classe pour les études.

Le confort de notre maison, le manque de temps ou l'impossibilité de combiner travail et études ne sont plus un obstacle grâce à la formation en ligne ou à distance.


Différence entre la formation en ligne et à distance

L'apprentissage en ligne et à distance sont deux options tout aussi intéressantes pour ceux qui décident d'étudier à domicile. Ces termes, qui sont similaires, sont parfois confondus et utilisés de manière interchangeable.

Bien que les deux types de formation se réfèrent à la formation à distance,La formation en ligne est une formation utilisant les TIC (par exemple, le campus virtuel) . Par ailleurs, l’enseignement à distance est caractérisé par le fait qu’il n’utilise pas les nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication, mais que les étudiants sont formés de manière autodidacte, mais sans utiliser de plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne. Par exemple, après avoir reçu des livres, ils peuvent préparer un examen chez eux. Les deux modalités de formation sont généralement utilisées ensemble et sont combinées.


Avantages d'étudier à la maison

Les avantages d'étudier à la maison sont nombreux. Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous les expliquons.

1. Il n'est pas nécessaire de se déplacer

En particulier dans les cas où l’école est loin du lieu où nous vivons, l’apprentissage en ligne et à distance peut constituer une bonne alternative. Décanter pour ces options vous invite à étudier chez vous, à gagner du temps et à économiser sur le transport. Sans aucun doute, il est idéal pour les jours où le temps ne l’accompagne pas ou où vous n’avez pas envie de quitter votre domicile. .

2. Grande offre d'études

À l'heure actuelle, de nombreux établissements d'enseignement proposent un grand nombre d'actions de formation, sachant que de nombreux étudiants ne peuvent pas fréquenter leur classe. Ceux qui veulent étudier de chez eux peuvent suivre des cours de maîtrise, de troisième cycle et de spécialisation. La gamme de formation est très large.


3. Flexibilité du temps

L'un des grands avantages d'étudier à la maison est la flexibilité du temps, car les étudiants peuvent décider en fonction de leurs besoins de leur emploi du temps. Dans de nombreux cas, la simple connexion à Internet suffit pour communiquer avec le tuteur, télécharger le matériel nécessaire et même effectuer des évaluations et avoir accès au campus virtuel 24h / 24.

4. C'est généralement moins cher

Étant donné que la formation en ligne offre davantage de places aux étudiants, les frais de scolarité sont également moins coûteux que les formations en face à face. Si vous cherchez votre poche à remarquer, ce type de formation est une bonne alternative. En outre, étudier à la maison est moins cher parce que vous n’avez pas à payer pour le transport.

5. confort

Le confort est beaucoup plus grand lorsque vous étudiez à la maison. Vous pouvez étudier à votre rythme et sans que personne ne vous dérange. Maintenant, vous devez chercher un endroit calme et avoir la volonté de vous motiver et d’accomplir les tâches requises par les cours.

Inconvénients d'étudier à la maison

Etudier à la maison a aussi ses inconvénients . Mais que sont-ils? Ensuite, nous les exposons.

1. Problèmes de pratique

L'apprentissage pratique est vraiment utile pour les étudiants, qui peuvent tester leurs compétences et affiner leurs connaissances. Etudier à la maison peut entraîner un apprentissage moins expérimental, de sorte que vous ne pouvez pas bénéficier de ce type d'enseignement .

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce type d'apprentissage, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Les 13 types d'apprentissage: que sont-ils?"

2. Interaction sociale limitée

Il est vrai que de nombreux cours permettent l’interaction avec d’autres étudiants dans des forums, étudier à la maison limite les interactions sociales et peut rendre l’étude devenue impersonnelle . D'autre part, grâce à une formation en face à face, il est possible de se faire de nouveaux amis et de travailler en groupe.

  • Un type d'apprentissage en groupe est l'apprentissage collaboratif, qui a ses avantages. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus dans notre article: "L'apprentissage collaboratif: de quoi s'agit-il et quels sont ses avantages?"

3. Il faut être très discipliné

Pour beaucoup de gens, étudier à la maison est une excellente option, mais pas pour d’autres. Tous les individus n'ont pas une grande capacité d'autodiscipline et de motivation personnelle , alors ils peuvent avoir de sérieuses difficultés pour décider de cette modalité de formation.

4. Difficultés d'évaluation

Comme dans le cas des pratiques, un autre grand handicap pour étudier à domicile est d'effectuer des évaluations ou des examens. En fait, de nombreux établissements exigent des examens du centre lui-même au moins une fois pendant le cours. De cette manière, les établissements veillent à ce que les notes des étudiants respectent un minimum de garanties. Cela est avant tout nécessaire dans l’éducation formelle.

5. Besoins technologiques

Bien qu'étudier à la maison présente de nombreux avantages, ce type de formation nécessite des éléments technologiques pour rendre les cours productifs. Une bonne connexion internet, par exemple. De plus, il est recommandé que l’espace de travail soit exempt de distractions et le plus ergonomique possible.

Vous recherchez une formation en ligne?

Maintenant que vous connaissez les avantages qu’il présente à étudier à la maison, vous pouvez rechercher des cours en ligne sur la psychologie. Par conséquent, nous vous invitons à lire les articles suivants. Peut-être que vous trouvez un cours qui vous intéresse.

20 cours en ligne de psychologie clinique (gratuits)

  • Les 25 meilleurs cours gratuits en ligne en psychologie (2017)
  • Les 10 meilleurs cours de psychologie (en présentiel et en ligne)

Vie en Russie, on en parle ? AVANTAGES ET INCONVÉNIENTS (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes