yes, therapy helps!
Affective flattening: symptoms, causes and treatment

Affective flattening: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 4, 2024

Affective flattening is one of the evidences that mental disorders escape our preconceived schemes about what it means to suffer.

This is so because people who experience this mental phenomenon, despite seeing their ability to experience and express emotions reduced, do not feel discomfort for this fact itself, as would be expected from someone who is repressed, but in everything case suffers from the consequences that this generates in their social environment.

In this article we will see what they are the typical signals of affective flattening , its causes and the treatments associated with this phenomenon.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is affective flattening?

Affective flattening is a psychological phenomenon related to the lack of expression and experimentation of emotions . In fact, this condition is also called simply emotional indifference, because those who experience it act as if they do not care about the emotional background, their own or someone else's, of the situations they are living.


For example, a person with emotional flattening can remain indifferent to a traffic accident with serious injuries, or not react when seeing a family member cries. In the same way, it will not prove to be very happy or very angry , or it will be very difficult to react in that way (or in a way that timidly recalls the expression of those emotions).

In addition, as we will see, affective flattening is a typical symptom of severe mental disorders such as schizophrenia, as well as dementias and other neurological diseases.

Emotional indifference: symptoms

Keep in mind that although the affective flattening almost always goes hand in hand with other symptoms that damage the quality of life of the person, in itself it is neither sadness nor stupor, nor any other state that generates psychological pain. It is not only the absence of intense positive emotions, but also the significant reduction in the frequency and intensity with which negative emotional states occur.


Now, you have to keep in mind that there is no pure affective flattening , and most people who experience this condition firsthand can experience emotions to a greater or lesser extent, even if only in exceptionally important situations. As in any psychological trait, the expression and experience of emotions goes to quantities, not everything is "or yes or no".

The difference with anhedonia

Affective flattening is not exactly the same as anhedonia. The latter is, in a strict sense, the inability to feel pleasure.

Although in many cases affective flattening and anhedonia go hand in hand and therefore it is sometimes difficult to distinguish the effects of one from the other (when occurring in the same individual), in the affective flattening the indifference towards the emotions is global, while what in anhedonia focuses only on the appreciation of the pleasant character of experiences.


  • Related article: "Anhedonia: the inability to feel pleasure"

The difference with depression

Affective flattening should not be confused with the effect depression has on mood.

While depressive disorders generate anhedonia and general mood decay, people with affective flattening do not notice declines. Simply, they live the emotions in a very little intense way, or they do not experience them at all: neither the positive nor the negative ones. That is why it is common that emotionally they do not say they have a problem, given that it is not something that causes them discomfort .

For example, it is not the same thing that a smoker does not appreciate the taste of a cigarette so he can not feel sorry for the death of a pet.

Causes of affective flattening

The causes of affective flattening almost always have to do with other problems and symptoms that constitute a mental disorder or neurological disease. In this sense, Autistic Spectrum Disorders, schizophrenia and dementias stand out.

1. TEA

Some autistic people notice difficulties in experiencing vivid emotions and expressing them. This, added to the rest of the problems they have when communicating with others, makes their social relations difficult.

  • Related article: "Autism Spectrum Disorders: 10 Symptoms and Diagnosis"

2. Schizophrenia

In some patients with schizophrenia, affective flattening is also common. This phenomenon would be one of the symptoms associated with the severe psychological alterations that this pathology produces.

So, in schizophrenia affective flattening is part of the so-called negative symptoms , those that have to do with the lack of certain psychological processes, and not with their excess or their unwanted presence (this last is what happens, for example, with hallucinations).

3. Dementias

People with dementia may develop affective flattening as a result of the progressive impoverishment of the variety of mental experiences they suffer from brain degradation.

Treatment

Affective flattening is not treated as something isolated, but as one of the manifestations of a mental disorder or illness. That is why the efforts of the clinical intervention programs are directed to the root of this problem, something that depends on each case and the characteristics of the patients. Yes, the use of psychopharmaceuticals is usually required .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is Emotional Flatlining? (Anhedonia, No Feelings) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aplatissement affectif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Aplatissement affectif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Octobre 29, 2022

L'aplatissement affectif est l'une des preuves que les troubles mentaux échappent à nos stratagèmes préconçus sur ce que signifie souffrir.

En effet, les personnes qui vivent ce phénomène mental, malgré le fait que leur capacité à ressentir et à exprimer des émotions soient réduites, ne ressentent pas de gêne pour ce fait même, comme on pourrait s'y attendre de la part de quelqu'un de refoulé. cas souffre des conséquences que cela engendre dans leur environnement social.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'ils sont les signaux typiques de l'aplatissement affectif , ses causes et les traitements associés à ce phénomène.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que l'aplatissement affectif?

L'affaissement affectif est un phénomène psychologique lié au manque d'expression et à l'expérimentation des émotions . En fait, cette condition est également appelée simplement indifférence émotionnelle, car ceux qui la vivent agissent comme s'ils ne se souciaient pas de l'arrière-plan émotionnel, de leur propre contexte ou de celui des autres, des situations qu'ils vivaient.


Par exemple, une personne en perte d’atténuation émotionnelle peut rester indifférente face à un accident de la route blessé gravement ou ne pas réagir en voyant un membre de sa famille pleurer. De la même manière, il ne sera pas très heureux ou très en colère , ou il sera très difficile de réagir de cette manière (ou d’une manière qui rappelle timidement l’expression de ces émotions).

En outre, comme nous le verrons, l’aplatissement affectif est un symptôme typique des troubles mentaux graves tels que la schizophrénie, ainsi que des démences et d’autres maladies neurologiques.

Indifférence émotionnelle: symptômes

Gardez à l'esprit que, bien que l'aplatissement affectif soit presque toujours associé à d'autres symptômes qui nuisent à la qualité de vie de la personne, ce n'est en soi ni tristesse ni stupeur, ni aucun autre état générant une douleur psychologique. Ce n’est pas seulement l’absence d’émotions positives intenses, mais aussi la réduction significative de la fréquence et de l’intensité des états émotionnels négatifs.


Maintenant, vous devez garder à l'esprit que il n'y a pas de pur aplatissement affectif et la plupart des personnes qui vivent cette maladie de première main peuvent vivre des émotions plus ou moins profondes, même si ce n’est que dans des situations exceptionnellement importantes. Comme dans tout trait psychologique, l'expression et l'expérience des émotions vont en quantités, tout n'est pas "ou oui ou non".

La différence avec l'anhédonie

L'aplatissement affectif n'est pas exactement le même que l'anhédonie. Ce dernier est, au sens strict, l’incapacité de ressentir du plaisir.

Bien que dans de nombreux cas, l’affaiblissement affectif et l’anhédonie vont de pair et qu’il soit donc parfois difficile de distinguer les effets de l’un sur l’autre (lorsqu’ils se produisent chez le même individu), l’atténuation affective de l’indifférence à l’égard des émotions est globale, alors Quoi en anhédonie se concentre uniquement sur l'appréciation du caractère agréable d'expériences.


  • Article connexe: "Anhédonie: l'incapacité de ressentir du plaisir"

La différence avec la dépression

L'aplatissement affectif ne doit pas être confondu avec l'effet de la dépression sur l'humeur.

Alors que les troubles dépressifs génèrent de l’anhédonie et une dégradation de l’humeur en général, les personnes souffrant d’un aplatissement affectif ne remarquent pas de déclin. Simplement, ils vivent les émotions de manière très peu intense ou ne les éprouvent pas du tout: ni les positifs ni les négatifs. C’est pourquoi il est fréquent qu’ils ne disent pas émotionnellement qu’ils ont un problème, étant donné que ce n'est pas quelque chose qui leur cause une gêne .

Par exemple, ce n'est pas la même chose qu'un fumeur n'apprécie pas le goût d'une cigarette et ne peut donc pas se sentir désolé pour la mort d'un animal domestique.

Causes de l'aplatissement affectif

Les causes de l'aplatissement affectif sont presque toujours liées à d'autres problèmes et symptômes constituant un trouble mental ou une maladie neurologique. En ce sens, les troubles du spectre autistique, la schizophrénie et les démences se distinguent.

1. THÉ

Certaines personnes autistes remarquent des difficultés à vivre des émotions vives et à les exprimer. Ceci, ajouté au reste des problèmes rencontrés lors de la communication avec les autres, rend leurs relations sociales difficiles.

  • Article connexe: "Troubles du spectre autistique: 10 symptômes et diagnostic"

2. Schizophrénie

Chez certains patients atteints de schizophrénie, un aplatissement affectif est également courant. Ce phénomène serait l’un des symptômes associés aux graves altérations psychologiques produites par cette pathologie.

Donc, dans la schizophrénie, aplatissement affectif fait partie des soi-disant symptômes négatifs , ceux qui ont à voir avec l’absence de certains processus psychologiques, et non avec leur excès ou leur présence non désirée (ce dernier est ce qui se passe, par exemple, avec des hallucinations).

3. Démences

Les personnes atteintes de démence peuvent développer un aplatissement affectif en raison de l'appauvrissement progressif de la variété d'expériences mentales qu'elles souffrent de dégradation du cerveau.

Traitement

L'aplatissement affectif n'est pas traité comme une chose isolée, mais comme l'une des manifestations d'un trouble mental ou d'une maladie. C’est la raison pour laquelle les efforts des programmes d’intervention clinique vont à la racine de ce problème, ce qui dépend de chaque cas et des caractéristiques des patients. Ça oui, l'utilisation de produits psychopharmaceutiques est généralement requise .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Le Livre Noir de l'Industrie Rose (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes