yes, therapy helps!
Agramatism (neurological disorder): definition, causes and symptoms

Agramatism (neurological disorder): definition, causes and symptoms

November 13, 2022

The first three years of human life are key to the development and acquisition of speech and language skills. Skills that, in principle, will accompany the person during the rest of their existence.

But there are cases in which this capacity is truncated due to injuries in certain regions of the brain; thus appearing aphasic disorders that lead to deficits like the Agrammatism, which will be discussed throughout this article .

What is the agramatismo?

Agrammatism is considered an alteration of the language of aphasia . Its most notable feature is that the person has a linguistic deficit which is shown by faults referred to morphological structures. That is, it has a great difficulty in joining words in a sentence forming syntactically appropriate sequences.


This failure usually appears in patients diagnosed with Broca aphasia. The fact that it manifests as a difficulty to create syntactic constructions causes it to be considered as another symptom within this type of aphasia.

In any case, after the development of the cognitive neuropsychology of the mid-twentieth century, it became clear that the agrammatism was something much more complex and that could be observed in patients who do not respond to the other requirements for the classic diagnosis of aphasia. Drill. In addition to that the individual differences between the patients were more than remarkable.

At that same moment, an immense debate opened up about whether agramatism could be considered a validated aphasic category. This controversy is still maintained today, there is disagreement between those who advocate the agramatism as aphasic syndrome and what they oppose its validity as such.


But what are aphasias?

According to the general definition of aphasia, it refers to a language disorder caused by brain injuries in one of the areas of language, and that makes the person unable to communicate through speech, writing and even mimicry.

The causes of aphasia can be:

  • Stroke
  • Cranioencephalic trauma
  • Brain infection
  • Neoplasia
  • Degenerative process

On the other hand, if we focus on the definition of Broca's aphasia, it is characterized by the practical impossibility of achieving a fluent verbal production and by the use of short and grammatical phrases produced with enormous effort and prosodically.

symptom

There are a series of symptoms that are shown more or less consistently in the understanding and production of agrammatic patients.


1. Symptoms associated with linguistic production

These are the most frequent symptoms associated with speech.

1.1. Problems in grammatical morphemes

This symptom is reflected in the selective omission of both free and linked grammatical morphemes . However, this symptom as such is more typical of English-speaking patients, who add push-ups to words. But in languages ​​such as Spanish or Italian it is not possible, since the push-ups are added to the roots.

For example, in the English language you can omit -ed in the word walk, but a person with a Spanish language can not omit -ie in a meal, since it will no longer be a word but a meaningless sound.

Faced with this fact, the omission of free grammatical morphemes and the substitution or omission of grammatical morphemes linked according to the language was considered as proper to the agramatism.

1.2. Mean sentence emission length

One of the symptoms that is observed in the agramatismo, but that does not always appear, is the length of reduced oral emission. In which patients express themselves through expressions and phrases much shorter than usual.

1.3. Dissociation noun-verb

Another symptom that people with agramatism present is the difficulty in accessing verbal forms. That is, patients omit or nominalize the main verbs of the sentences.

This deficit occurs both in structured tasks and in tasks of spontaneous oral production.

1.4. Difficulties in the construction of sentences

These patients use subject-verb-object structures; presenting an enormous difficulty in sentences of greater syntactic complexity. This symptom is the consequence of a lexical deficit that affects the correct selection of verbs.

1.5. Problems in word ordering

It is considered one of the most characteristic features of Agrammatism. Agrammatics patients have difficulties in correctly ordering verbal expressions according to an understandable order, especially in the production of passive phrases or with structures different from the usual ones.

2. Symptoms associated with linguistic comprehension

Until the seventies, the agrammatism was considered an exclusive deficit of the production of language, regardless of whether the linguistic understanding was altered.

But research around auditory comprehension of agrammatics has revealed that these patients show difficulties in some specific syntactic components , which prevents them from understanding some sentence structures. It is specified that the alteration is selective since the patients present a great deterioration in the understanding of certain sentences, but the rest of the syntax remains intact.

Evaluation and diagnosis

Despite the complexity of this deficit, there are no specific tests to evaluate it; the most used tests being the evaluation of aphasia.

At present, the subtests of the Boston and Barcelona tests concerning verbal expression are used : narration of an event and description of an image. The evaluation includes the transcription of the patient's speech with the consequent evaluation of the lexical poverty, the quality of the syntagmas, the incorrect use of morphemes and lexemes, or the incorporation of functional words.

1. Boston Test of Diagnosis of Aphasia (Goodlas and Kaplan, 1972)

It is the most widely used test given its ease of administration. It contains a specific test for vocabulary assessment, and an abbreviated format for quick screening of the patient.

2. Test Barcelona (Peña-Casanova, 1990)

This test assesses all cognitive mechanisms related to language. It is characterized by being an extensive and complicated test but it consists of an abbreviated format.

Treatment: HELPSS method

The beginnings of this method were based on certain studies of the agrammatics, in which techniques of completeness of histories were used in patients with Broca aphasia and agrammatics.

Likewise, this method integrated different levels of difficulty to story completion activities . In this way, the HELPSS methodology includes a succession of stages arranged hierarchically in two levels of difficulty: A and B; working, also, with eleven types of sentences:

  • Transitive imperative
  • Intransitive imperative
  • Declarative transitive
  • Interrogative pronominal
  • Declarative transitive
  • Declarative intransitive
  • Comparative
  • Passive
  • Direct and indirect object
  • Yes / no questions
  • Subordinate sentences
  • Future

Each type of sentence is worked on with both levels of difficulty, presenting twenty stories with different examples of the types of previous sentences, which are exemplified with images but not with written sentences.

During level A, the professional must tell a story that ends with the image of it. Then the patient is asked a question to obtain an answer from the latter by means of an example. When the person reaches 90% of correct answers in a type of sentence, it is passed to level B of the same.

During Level B, the example sentence is omitted; the patient must elaborate the phrase in a genuine way.


Aphasia Disease Presentation (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Agramatisme (trouble neurologique): définition, causes et symptômes

Agramatisme (trouble neurologique): définition, causes et symptômes

Juin 22, 2022

Les trois premières années de la vie humaine sont essentielles au développement et à l'acquisition de compétences en parole et en langage. Des compétences qui, en principe, accompagneront la personne pendant le reste de son existence.

Mais il existe des cas dans lesquels cette capacité est tronquée en raison de blessures dans certaines régions du cerveau; apparaissant ainsi des troubles aphasiques qui conduisent à des déficits comme l'agrammatisme, qui sera discuté tout au long de cet article .

Qu'est-ce que l'agramatismo?

L'agrammatisme est considéré comme une altération du langage de l'aphasie . Sa caractéristique la plus notable est que la personne présente un déficit linguistique qui se manifeste par des fautes appelées structures morphologiques. Autrement dit, il est très difficile de joindre des mots dans une phrase pour former des séquences syntaxiquement appropriées.


Cet échec apparaît généralement chez les patients diagnostiqués avec l'aphasie de Broca. Le fait qu'il se manifeste par une difficulté à créer des constructions syntaxiques fait de lui un autre symptôme de ce type d'aphasie.

Quoi qu'il en soit, après le développement de la neuropsychologie cognitive du milieu du XXe siècle, il est devenu évident que l'agrammatisme était une chose beaucoup plus complexe et pouvait être observé chez des patients qui ne répondent pas aux autres exigences du diagnostic classique de l'aphasie. Forage De plus, les différences individuelles entre les patients étaient plus que remarquables.

Au même moment, un immense débat s’est ouvert sur la question de savoir si l’agramatisme pouvait être considéré comme une catégorie aphasique validée. Cette controverse est toujours d'actualité, il existe un désaccord entre ceux qui préconisent l'agramatisme en tant que syndrome aphasique et ce qu'ils s'opposent à sa validité en tant que telle.


Mais que sont les aphasies?

Selon la définition générale de l'aphasie, il s'agit d'un trouble du langage causé par des lésions cérébrales dans l'un des domaines du langage et qui rend la personne incapable de communiquer par la parole, l'écriture et même le mimétisme.

Les causes de l'aphasie peuvent être:

  • Accident cérébrovasculaire
  • Traumatisme crânien
  • Infection cérébrale
  • Néoplasie
  • Processus dégénératif

D'autre part, si nous nous concentrons sur la définition de l'aphasie de Broca, elle est caractérisée par l'impossibilité pratique de parvenir à une production verbale fluide et par l'utilisation de phrases courtes et grammaticales produites avec un effort énorme et prosodique.

Les symptômes

Il existe une série de symptômes qui se manifestent plus ou moins systématiquement dans la compréhension et la production de patients agrammatiques.


1. Symptômes associés à la production linguistique

Ce sont les symptômes les plus fréquents associés à la parole.

1.1. Problèmes de morphèmes grammaticaux

Ce symptôme se traduit par l’omission sélective de morphèmes grammaticaux libres et liés . Cependant, ce symptôme en tant que tel est plus typique des patients anglophones, qui ajoutent des tractions aux mots. Mais dans des langues telles que l'espagnol ou l'italien, cela n'est pas possible, car les pompes s'ajoutent aux racines.

Par exemple, dans la langue anglaise, vous pouvez omettre le mot walk, mais une personne de langue espagnole ne peut pas omettre un repas, car ce ne sera plus un mot mais un son dépourvu de sens.

Face à ce fait, l'omission de morphèmes grammaticaux libres et la substitution ou l'omission de morphèmes grammaticaux liés selon la langue ont été considérés comme propres à l'agramatisme.

1.2. Longueur moyenne de la phrase

Un des symptômes que l'on observe dans l'agramatismo, mais qui n'apparaît pas toujours, est la longueur de l'émission orale réduite. Dans lesquels les patients s'expriment à travers des expressions et des phrases beaucoup plus courtes que d'habitude.

1.3. Dissociation nom-verbe

Un autre symptôme présenté par les personnes agramatistes est la difficulté d'accéder aux formes verbales. C'est-à-dire que les patients omettent ou nomment les principaux verbes des phrases.

Ce déficit survient à la fois dans les tâches structurées et dans les tâches de production orale spontanée.

1.4. Difficultés dans la construction des phrases

Ces patients utilisent des structures sujet-verbe-objet; présentant une difficulté énorme en phrases de plus grande complexité syntaxique. Ce symptôme est la conséquence d'un déficit lexical qui affecte la sélection correcte des verbes.

1.5 Problèmes de classement des mots

Il est considéré comme l'un des traits les plus caractéristiques de l'agrammatisme. Les patients agrammatiques ont des difficultés à ordonner correctement les expressions verbales selon un ordre compréhensible, notamment lors de la production de phrases passives ou de structures différentes de celles habituelles.

2. Symptômes associés à la compréhension linguistique

Jusqu'aux années soixante-dix, l'agrammatisme était considéré comme un déficit exclusif de la production de la langue, que la compréhension linguistique soit altérée ou non.

Mais les recherches sur la compréhension auditive de l’agrammatique ont révélé que ces patients présentent des difficultés avec certains composants syntaxiques spécifiques , ce qui les empêche de comprendre certaines structures de phrases. Il est précisé que l'altération est sélective car les patients présentent une forte détérioration de la compréhension de certaines phrases, mais le reste de la syntaxe reste intact.

Évaluation et diagnostic

Malgré la complexité de ce déficit, il n’existe pas de tests spécifiques pour l’évaluer; les tests les plus utilisés étant l'évaluation de l'aphasie.

Actuellement, les sous-tests des tests de Boston et de Barcelone concernant l'expression verbale sont utilisés : narration d'un événement et description d'une image. L'évaluation inclut la transcription du discours du patient avec l'évaluation conséquente de la pauvreté lexicale, de la qualité des syntagmes, de l'utilisation incorrecte des morphèmes et des lexèmes ou de l'incorporation de mots fonctionnels.

1. Test de Boston de diagnostic de l'aphasie (Goodlas et Kaplan, 1972)

C'est le test le plus largement utilisé compte tenu de sa facilité d'administration. Il contient un test spécifique pour l'évaluation du vocabulaire et un format abrégé pour un dépistage rapide du patient.

2. Test de Barcelone (Peña-Casanova, 1990)

Ce test évalue tous les mécanismes cognitifs liés au langage. Il se caractérise par être un test complet et complexe, mais il consiste en un format abrégé.

Traitement: méthode HELPSS

Les débuts de cette méthode ont été basés sur certaines études de l'agrammatics, dans lesquelles des techniques de complétude des histoires ont été utilisées chez des patients souffrant d'aphasie de Broca et d'agrammatics.

De même cette méthode intégrait différents niveaux de difficulté aux activités de finalisation . De cette manière, la méthodologie HELPSS comprend une succession d’étapes organisées hiérarchiquement en deux niveaux de difficulté: A et B; fonctionne également avec onze types de phrases:

  • Impératif transitif
  • Impératif intransitif
  • Transitif déclaratif
  • Pronominal interrogatif
  • Transitif déclaratif
  • Intransitif déclaratif
  • Comparatif
  • Passive
  • Objet direct et indirect
  • Questions oui / non
  • Phrases subordonnées
  • Avenir

Chaque type de phrase est travaillé avec les deux niveaux de difficulté, présentant vingt histoires avec différents exemples des types de phrases précédentes, illustrés par des images mais non par des phrases écrites.

Au niveau A, le professionnel doit raconter une histoire qui se termine par l’image de celle-ci. Ensuite, on pose une question au patient pour obtenir une réponse de ce dernier au moyen d'un exemple. Lorsque la personne atteint 90% de réponses correctes dans un type de phrase, cela passe au niveau B du même.

Au cours du niveau B, l'exemple de phrase est omis; le patient doit élaborer la phrase de manière authentique.


France to dismantle half of all illegal itinerant camps (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes