yes, therapy helps!
Aicmofobia: irrational fear of sharp or sharp objects

Aicmofobia: irrational fear of sharp or sharp objects

April 30, 2024

It is adaptive to feel fear towards pointed or sharp objects, after all few people like to feel pain or be injured with a sharp edge. But nevertheless, Sometimes this fear becomes excessive , becoming a problem for one who must enter into contact by obligation with objects such as needles for medical reasons.

The aicmofobia consists in the fear of these objects and the injury that can cause . It is closely related to the fear of damage and blood, overlapping many times. The good news is that it is an anxiety disorder that, if followed well, responds very well to treatment.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is aicmofobia?

As with all phobias, it is important to separate adaptive fear from phobia. Perhaps one is afraid or nervous before an analytical or before they introduce an intravenous line. This is very different from irrational fear and impenetrable rejection that the patient feels with aicpofobia.


The person with aicmofobia can become dizzy at the simple visual contact with sharp objects or sharp as needles, knives, scissors, saws, and so on. Naturally, approaching or making contact with these objects is unthinkable. Most times the phobia is circumscribed to the fear of being punctured with a needle, for example, in an analytic. On other occasions the phobia is generalizing to fear situations such as receiving other invasive medical interventions, seeing or talking about surgical interventions, hospitals, medical and dental environments, medical instruments or medicines odors.

What people with mycophobia fear to happen if they come in contact with needles or sharp objects it is not limited to feeling hurt , many go further and believe that they will faint, lose control and suffer a panic attack, think that the needle can split and stay inside or that they can feel all kinds of unpleasant physical sensations.


In this type of phobias related to blood, damage or injections, patients tend to show a unique physiological pattern when they come into contact with phobic stimuli. In the aicmofobia, when the feared stimulus is perceived, there is an initial increase in blood pressure and heart rate, followed by a rapid decrease in these parameters that, eventually, leads to the patient's fainting if the patient remains in the situation. This is called a diphasic pattern and is unique to this class of phobias.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Causes of fear of sharp objects

Naturally, the cause of phobias is always very variable. Each person has a life story that explains their own fear, but it is possible to distinguish different factors that usually appear together with aicmofobia .


Occasionally, it develops after a traumatic event. For example, after having a bad experience with needles or suffering a very painful cut. The observation of other people suffering damage with sharp objects in real or fictitious situations, a crisis of unexpected panic in a situation related to needles or the simple transmission of information by another person. Many people with phobia, however, are unable to remember the concrete reason by the appearance of his disorder.

People who are more neurotic or tend to feel fear in new or unknown situations are predisposing factors to develop a phobia. Having overprotective parents, loss of parents, separation, physical abuse and sexual abuse also tend to predict other anxiety disorders.

There may also be genetic susceptibilities to suffer from myophobia . People with these disorders show a singular tendency to faint in the presence of the phobic stimulus that other people do not have.

Consequences and effects

Specific phobias, including mycophobia, are the group of anxiety disorders with a less severe impact on functioning. By definition, a phobia is subject to clinical attention if it interferes with normal functioning. In the aicmofobia, for the specific of the dreaded situations, there will only be interference if the patient must undergo periodic blood tests. That is why Most people with aiclophobia come for multiple phobias , not because of a pure phobia.

In the most severe cases, it is impossible to perform a blood draw or an intravenous treatment, threatening the patient's health. Even the mere presence of health personnel or the The smell of a medical consultation can be an aversive stimulus to avoid, so that the individual ends up never going to the doctor for fear of receiving a puncture.

Treatment of aicmofobia

The best established treatment for mycophobia is the live exposure with applied voltage . It is a combination of two techniques that is specific for phobias in which there is a diphasic response pattern.

Live exhibition

The queen of the techniques to eliminate phobias, is still the best established treatment to end the aicmofobia. It consists of the gradual approach to stimuli that produce phobic reactions . A first stimulus to overcome could be to see the image of a needle until it just generates anxiety. As stimuli are overcome, the patient will advance to more anxious situations until reaching the goal of the therapy, which could be to undergo a blood draw.

Sometimes a live exhibition may be too intense and it is better to start with an exhibition in imagination, that is, that the patient imagines the stimuli guided by the therapist and get used to them first.

Applied voltage

This technique will accompany the exhibition. It will serve the patient with aikophobia as a crutch to overcome a very important obstacle: the diphasic pattern of response. As we have said before, phobias to blood and damage are accompanied by a voltage drop that can end in fainting. To avoid this during the exhibition, the patient must tighten the muscles at the same time that he is exposed to needles or knives . This progressively breaks the association between needles and fainting.

Fortunately, aicmophobia is a disorder with a high response rate to treatment. The vast majority of patients who consult for being unable to cope with a needle end up overcoming their fears in very few sessions.


AICMOFOBIA? (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aicmofobia: peur irrationnelle des objets tranchants ou tranchants

Aicmofobia: peur irrationnelle des objets tranchants ou tranchants

Septembre 21, 2021

Il est adaptatif de craindre les objets pointus ou tranchants, après tout, peu de gens aiment ressentir de la douleur ou se blesser avec un tranchant. Cependant, Parfois, cette peur devient excessive , devenant un problème pour celui qui doit obligatoirement entrer en contact avec des objets tels que des aiguilles pour des raisons médicales.

L’aicmofobia consiste dans la crainte de ces objets et la blessure qui peut causer . Il est étroitement lié à la peur des dommages et du sang, qui se chevauchent souvent. La bonne nouvelle est qu’il s’agit d’un trouble anxieux qui, s’il est bien suivi, réagit très bien au traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que l'aicmofobia?

Comme pour toutes les phobies, il est important de séparer la peur adaptative de la phobie. Peut-être avez-vous peur ou êtes-vous nerveux avant une analyse ou avant d'introduire une ligne intraveineuse? Cette est très différent de la peur irrationnelle et du rejet impénétrable que le patient se sent avec aicpofobia.


Le simple contact visuel avec des objets tranchants ou tranchants tels que des aiguilles, des couteaux, des ciseaux, des scies, etc. peut provoquer des vertiges chez la personne atteinte de aïcmofobie. Naturellement, approcher ou entrer en contact avec ces objets est impensable. La plupart du temps, la phobie est circonscrite à la peur d'être piquée avec une aiguille, par exemple dans une analyse. En d'autres occasions la phobie se généralise craindre des situations telles que la réception d'autres interventions médicales invasives, la consultation ou la discussion d'interventions chirurgicales, des hôpitaux, des environnements médicaux et dentaires, des instruments médicaux ou des médicaments contre les odeurs.

Que craignent les personnes atteintes de mycophobie si elles entrent en contact avec des aiguilles ou des objets tranchants? il n'est pas limité à se sentir blessé , beaucoup vont plus loin et croient qu'ils vont s'évanouir, perdre le contrôle de leur capacité et subir une attaque de panique, pensent que l'aiguille peut se fendre et rester à l'intérieur ou qu'ils peuvent ressentir toutes sortes de sensations physiques désagréables.


Dans ce type de phobies liées à du sang, des dommages ou des injections, les patients ont tendance à montrer un schéma physiologique unique quand ils entrent en contact avec des stimuli phobiques. Dans l'aicmofobia, lorsque le stimulus redouté est perçu, il se produit une augmentation initiale de la pression artérielle et du rythme cardiaque, suivie d'une diminution rapide de ces paramètres qui finit par entraîner un évanouissement si le patient reste dans la situation. Ceci s'appelle un modèle diphasique et est unique à cette classe de phobies.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Causes de la peur des objets tranchants

Naturellement, la cause des phobies est toujours très variable. Chaque personne a une histoire qui explique sa propre peur, mais il est possible de distinguer différentes personnes. facteurs qui apparaissent généralement avec aicmofobia .


Parfois, il se développe après un événement traumatique. Par exemple, après une mauvaise expérience avec les aiguilles ou une coupure très douloureuse. L'observation d'autres personnes souffrant de dommages avec des objets tranchants dans des situations réelles ou imaginaires, une crise de panique inattendue dans une situation liée aux aiguilles ou la simple transmission d'informations par une autre personne. Beaucoup de personnes atteintes de phobie, cependant, sont incapables de se souvenir de la raison concrète par l'apparition de son désordre.

Les personnes plus névrosées ou ayant tendance à avoir peur dans des situations nouvelles ou inconnues sont des facteurs prédisposants au développement d'une phobie. Avoir des parents surprotecteurs, perdre leurs parents, se séparer, abus physique et abus sexuel ont aussi tendance à prédire d'autres troubles anxieux.

Il peut aussi y avoir susceptibilités génétiques à souffrir de myophobie . Les personnes atteintes de ces troubles présentent une tendance singulière à s'évanouir en présence du stimulus phobique que les autres n'ont pas.

Conséquences et effets

Les phobies spécifiques, y compris la mycophobie, constituent le groupe des troubles anxieux ayant un impact moins grave sur le fonctionnement. Par définition, une phobie est sujette à une attention clinique si elle interfère avec son fonctionnement normal. Dans l'aicmofobia, pour les situations spécifiques redoutées, il n'y aura d'interférence que si le patient doit subir des tests sanguins périodiques. C'est pourquoi La plupart des personnes atteintes d'aiclophobie souffrent de phobies multiples , pas à cause d'une phobie pure.

Dans les cas les plus graves, il est impossible d'effectuer une prise de sang ou un traitement intraveineux menaçant la santé du patient. Même la simple présence de personnel de santé ou le L'odeur d'une consultation médicale peut être un stimulus aversif éviter, de sorte que la personne finisse par ne jamais aller chez le médecin, de peur de se faire piquer.

Traitement de l'aicmofobia

Le traitement le mieux établi contre la mycophobie est le exposition en direct avec tension appliquée . C'est une combinaison de deux techniques spécifiques aux phobies dans lesquelles il existe un schéma de réponse diphasique.

Exposition live

La reine des techniques d'élimination des phobies est toujours le traitement le mieux établi pour mettre fin à l'aicmofobia. Il se compose de approche progressive des stimuli produisant des réactions phobiques . Un premier stimulus à surmonter pourrait être de voir l’image d’une aiguille jusqu’à ce qu’elle ne génère plus que de l’anxiété. À mesure que les stimuli sont surmontés, le patient passera à des situations plus anxieuses jusqu'à atteindre l'objectif de la thérapie, à savoir une prise de sang.

Parfois, une exposition en direct peut être trop intense et il est préférable de commencer par une exposition imaginaire, c'est-à-dire que le patient imagine les stimuli guidé par le thérapeute et s'y habituer en premier.

Tension appliquée

Cette technique accompagnera l'exposition. Il aidera le patient souffrant d'aikophobie à surmonter un obstacle très important: le schéma de réponse diphasique. Comme nous l’avons déjà dit, les phobies du sang et les dommages s’accompagnent d’une chute de tension pouvant conduire à un évanouissement. Pour éviter cela pendant l'exposition, le patient doit tendre les muscles en même temps qu'il est exposé aux aiguilles ou aux couteaux . Ceci rompt progressivement l'association entre les aiguilles et l'évanouissement.

Heureusement, l’aquophophobie est un trouble avec un taux de réponse élevé au traitement. La grande majorité des patients qui consultent pour incapacité à se servir d'une aiguille finissent par surmonter leurs peurs en très peu de séances.


Pediofobia (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes