yes, therapy helps!
Ajolote: the Mexican animal that regenerates its brain

Ajolote: the Mexican animal that regenerates its brain

July 18, 2024

In the immensity of biodiversity that exists on the planet we can find unique qualities, such as mammals of the order of monotremats. These animals stand out for retaining reptilian qualities, such as reproduction by eggs, or the fact of having cloaca, a single hole for the exit of the digestive, urinary and reproductive tract. But another example even more shocking is the axolote or Mexican axolotl .

It is an amphibian that has an impressive characteristic: the ability to regenerate parts of your body It is highly effective. They recover easily from an amputated limb and even repair severely damaged vital organs, including the brain, without problems. In matters of months, these wounds disappear totally, without scarring.


The axolotl, eternally young amphibian

The axolotl, or Ambystoma mexicanum, is an amphibian of the order of the caudados (in other words, of the family of the salamanders and newts), which has the peculiarity that retains its larval trait until reaching adulthood, a characteristic known as neoteny. This means that it keeps the dorsal fin that runs throughout its body and presents external gills , which form a crown on his head. By maintaining these qualities, you need to live permanently in the water, unlike other congeners.

That its larval qualities do not disappear does not mean that it can not mature. If an axolotl is subjected to high levels of stress (such as sudden temperature changes), can perform the metamorphosis , becoming a kind of terrestrial salamander, although they are very strange cases.


The regeneration of body parts, a surprising attribute

But what has caught the attention of the scientific community is the axolotl's high ability to regenerate. Possibly it is the largest existing on the planet. In fact, whole portions of the brain can regenerate without leaving sequels. Knowing the cellular mechanisms that are used for the complete repair of damaged tissues, is a mystery that could have applications in current medicine .

Captive animal

The location of this amphibian is very limited, since only currently lives in the Xochimilco lake, in Mexico City . Formerly it extended throughout the region, but the pollution of the water has managed to reduce the number of this species that is very sensitive to environmental changes. It is currently included in the list of animals in danger of extinction and its observation in its natural habitat is very rare.


For this reason, the axolotl is raised in captivity to preserve its existence . The truth is that it has adapted well to this kind of life, without presenting problems to reproduce. Another reason that makes it a good model for laboratory use.

Model organization

Because of its capacity for regeneration, the axolotl is subject to study to discover the cellular mechanisms that are used when developing a lost tissue again, including the repair of vital organs . In addition, they are animals whose bodies accept transplants easily, something unusual.

But it is also a model of embryonic development. This is due to another feature they offer, and that is that their embryo is transparent. Added to its ease of breeding in captivity, the eggs that deposit allow to observe, through a microscope, the development of a new organism in all its splendor.

Their adaptation to the life of captivity has also had an effect on their genetics. The natural skin colors of the axolotl are black and brown , but in aging they have been obtained in different colors, such as yellow and even albinos, in other words, without pigmentation. Possibly, if you have seen any picture of this amphibian, it will have been the last type.

Regenerate tissues in humans

Based on his research, part of the scientific community believes that focusing the studies on discovering how they regenerate their body can be extrapolated to human beings in the future. The knowledge of these cellular mechanisms could help to realize the possibility of recovering a lost limb or combating neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's or Parkinson's.

It is not surprising that governments like the United States invest millions in investigating the axolotl, in the hope that it will allow the regeneration of tissues in humans. In your specific case, for the recovery of serious injuries of your soldiers.

So far, the most that has been achieved in terms of regeneration in humans is the recovery of the tip of a finger. There is a long way to get a complete limb repaired, including bone and muscle.

In danger of extinction

In spite of everything said, the axolotl in an animal that is in danger of extinction for living in a very specific area of ​​Central America and for the levels of contamination found in it.Being an aquatic organism, it is very sensitive to the poisoning of these places. To this must be added to its capture and breeding to market it as a domestic pet, and in some cases, to be an ingredient of recipes.


This Incredible Creature Can Regenerate Its Brain, Heart, And Limbs (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ajolote: l'animal mexicain qui régénère son cerveau

Ajolote: l'animal mexicain qui régénère son cerveau

Juillet 16, 2024

Dans l'immensité de la biodiversité qui existe sur la planète, nous pouvons trouver des qualités uniques, telles que les mammifères de l'ordre des monotremats. Ces animaux se distinguent par la préservation des qualités reptiliennes, telles que la reproduction par les œufs, ou par le fait de posséder un cloaque, un seul trou pour la sortie des voies digestive, urinaire et reproductrice. Mais un autre exemple encore plus choquant est l'axolote ou l'axolotl mexicain .

C'est un amphibien qui a une caractéristique impressionnante: la capacité de régénérer des parties de votre corps C'est très efficace. Ils récupèrent facilement d'un membre amputé et réparent même sans problème des organes vitaux gravement endommagés, y compris le cerveau. En quelques mois, ces blessures disparaissent totalement, sans laisser de cicatrices.


L'axolotl, éternellement jeune amphibien

L'axolotl, ou Ambystoma mexicanum, est un amphibien de l’ordre des caudados (en d’autres termes, de la famille des salamandres et des tritons), qui a la particularité de conserver son trait larvaire jusqu’à l’âge adulte, caractéristique appelée néoténie. Cela signifie qu'il garde la nageoire dorsale qui parcourt son corps et présente des branchies externes , qui forment une couronne sur sa tête. En maintenant ces qualités, vous devez vivre en permanence dans l'eau, contrairement aux autres congénères.

Que ses qualités larvaires ne disparaissent pas ne signifie pas qu'il ne peut pas mûrir. Si un axolotl est soumis à de fortes contraintes (telles que des changements brusques de température), peut effectuer la métamorphose , devenant une sorte de salamandre terrestre, bien que ce soient des cas très étranges.


La régénération des parties du corps, un attribut surprenant

Mais ce qui a attiré l'attention de la communauté scientifique, c'est la grande capacité de régénération de l'axolotl. Peut-être est-ce le plus grand existant sur la planète. En fait, des parties entières du cerveau peuvent se régénérer sans laisser de séquelles. Connaître les mécanismes cellulaires utilisés pour la réparation complète des tissus endommagés est un mystère pourrait avoir des applications dans la médecine actuelle .

Animal captif

La localisation de cet amphibien est très limitée, car vit actuellement dans le lac Xochimilco, à Mexico . Auparavant, il s'étendait à toute la région, mais la pollution de l'eau a permis de réduire le nombre de cette espèce très sensible aux changements environnementaux. Il est actuellement inclus dans la liste des animaux en voie de disparition et son observation dans son habitat naturel est très rare.


Pour cette raison, l'axolotl est élevé en captivité pour préserver son existence . La vérité est qu’elle s’est bien adaptée à ce genre de vie, sans présenter de problèmes à reproduire. Une autre raison qui en fait un bon modèle pour une utilisation en laboratoire.

Organisation modèle

En raison de sa capacité de régénération, l’axolotl est soumis à des études visant à découvrir les mécanismes cellulaires utilisés lors du développement d’un tissu perdu, y compris la réparation des organes vitaux . De plus, ce sont des animaux dont le corps accepte facilement les greffes, ce qui est inhabituel.

Mais c'est aussi un modèle de développement embryonnaire. Cela est dû à une autre caractéristique qu'ils offrent, c'est que leur embryon est transparent. Ajoutés à sa facilité d'élevage en captivité, les œufs qui se déposent permettent d'observer au microscope le développement d'un nouvel organisme dans toute sa splendeur.

Leur adaptation à la vie de captivité a également eu un effet sur leur génétique. Les couleurs de peau naturelles de l'axolotl sont le noir et le marron , mais en vieillissant, ils ont été obtenus en différentes couleurs, telles que le jaune et même les albinos, en d’autres termes, sans pigmentation. Si vous avez déjà vu une photo de cet amphibien, c'est peut-être le dernier type.

Régénère les tissus chez l'homme

Sur la base de ses recherches, une partie de la communauté scientifique pense que centrer les études sur la découverte de la façon dont elles régénèrent leur corps peut être extrapolé à l’être humain à l’avenir. La connaissance de ces mécanismes cellulaires pourrait aider à réaliser la possibilité de récupérer un membre perdu ou de lutter contre des maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer ou la maladie de Parkinson.

Il n’est pas surprenant que des gouvernements comme les États-Unis investissent des millions de dollars dans la recherche sur l’axolotl, dans l’espoir que cela permettra la régénération des tissus chez l’homme. Dans votre cas particulier, pour la récupération des blessures graves de vos soldats.

Jusqu'ici, le meilleur résultat en termes de régénération chez l'homme est la récupération du bout du doigt. Il y a un long chemin à faire pour réparer un membre complet, y compris les os et les muscles.

En danger d'extinction

En dépit de tout ce qui a été dit, l’axolotl chez un animal en voie de disparition pour avoir vécu dans une région très spécifique de l’Amérique centrale et pour les niveaux de contamination qu’il a trouvés.En tant qu’organisme aquatique, il est très sensible à l’empoisonnement de ces lieux. À cela, il faut ajouter sa capture et son élevage pour le commercialiser comme animal domestique et, dans certains cas, pour être un ingrédient de recettes.


AXOLOTL (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes