yes, therapy helps!
Akinetic mutism: types, symptoms and causes

Akinetic mutism: types, symptoms and causes

July 31, 2022

Akinetic mutism is a syndrome that is characterized by a reduction in the frequency of movements, including verbal behaviors, associated with motivational deficits that occur as a result of brain damage.

In this article we will describe What is akinetic mutism? and what are its symptoms, causes and main types.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is akinetic mutism?

In the year 1941 Cairns, Oldfield, Pennybacker and Whitteridge described the case of Elsie Nicks, a 14-year-old girl with a cyst in the right lateral ventricle. As it grew, the malformation caused Elsie increasingly intense headaches that led doctors to apply a treatment with morphine.


The patient began to show signs of apathy along with significant impairments in her ability to speak and to control movements. The symptoms progressed to a state that Cairns and his collaborators baptized with the name "akinetic mutism".

These authors described the disorder as a state in which the person remains immobile , although it can fix the look in objects and follow movements. Statism also affects the movements necessary for speech and other vocalizations. Although sometimes actions are carried out and sounds are issued, these are usually not voluntary.

As we will see below, the Cairns team's proposal has been updated over the years and the consequent scientific progress. Nowadays the term "akinetic mutism" is often used to describe any case that shows the absence of motor and verbal behavior which give it a name, and which may also consist of less serious deficits.


  • You may be interested: "Selective mutism: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Symptoms and main signs

Cairns et al. (1941) pointed out five key signs for the diagnosis of akinetic mutism: the presence of alertness, the ability to fix the gaze on other people, the execution of eye movements as a reaction to auditory stimuli, actions in response to orders that are they repeat and the difficulties to talk and communicate in general.

However, at present we have more specific knowledge about akinetic mutism. In his review of the relevant scientific literature, Rodríguez-Bailón et al. (2012) conclude that significant reduction in the number of verbal behaviors and the ability to follow objects with the gaze they are the two basic diagnostic criteria.

The authors of this work highlight the variability of emotional disturbances in these cases. Thus, patients with obvious impairments in the expression of emotions have been identified, but also others with signs of disinhibition. This clinical diversity has to do with the specific location of the brain lesions that cause akinetic mutism.


The immobility characteristic of this alteration is manifested in all facets of motor skills, so that those who have akinetic mutism can not talk, make gestures or form facial expressions , or they suffer serious difficulties to do it. When they do, movements tend to be slow and scanty, and monosyllabic responses.

People with akinetic mutism are not paralyzed at motor level, but the alterations that cause it seem to affect the will and motivation to perform behaviors, including verbal ones. Many patients with this disorder have reported that they notice a resistance that prevents them from moving when they try to do so.

Types of akinetic mutism and its causes

The symptoms and signs of each case of akinetic mutism depend on the brain regions damaged by the causative factor of the disorder. Broadly speaking, we can distinguish two variants of akinetic mutism: the frontal and the mesencephalic mutism, which are associated with lesions in the frontal lobe of the brain and in the mesencephalon, respectively.

Frontal akinetic mutism is frequently due to alterations in the blood supply, specifically in the anterior cerebral artery. Disorders and strokes are the most frequent causes of akinetic mutism, although it can also appear as a consequence of infections, contact with toxic substances and neurodegenerative diseases.

When akinetic mutism arises as a result of frontal lesions, it often appears together with signs of disinhibition typical of the frontal syndrome. Thus, in these cases impulsive emotional responses are frequently related, especially with passivity.

The mesencephalon is a subcortical structure that contains brain nuclei as relevant as the colliculi, involved in visual and auditory perception, and the substantia nigra, fundamental in the production of dopamine and therefore in the reinforcement. This kind of akinetic mutism it is associated with hypersomnolence and motivational deficits .

Akinetic mutism can also be caused by respiratory arrest (which can lead to cerebral hypoxia), head trauma, tumors, meningitis, hydrocephalus, damage to the thalamus, destruction of the cingulate gyrus, and Creuztfeldt-Jakob disease, a neurodegenerative disorder caused by prion infections.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cairns, H .; Oldfield, R. C .; Pennybacker, J. B. & Whitteridge, D. (1941). Akinetic mutism with an epidermoid cyst of the 3rd ventricle. Brain, 64 (4): 273-90.
  • Rodríguez-Bailón, M .; Triviño-Mosquera, M .; Ruiz-Pérez, R. & Arnedo-Montoro, M. (2012). Akinetic mutism: review, proposal of neuropsychological protocol and application to a case. Annals of Psychology, 28 (3): 834-41.

Catatonic Schizophrenia (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mutisme akinétique: types, symptômes et causes

Mutisme akinétique: types, symptômes et causes

Juin 13, 2021

Le mutisme akinétique est un syndrome caractérisé par une réduction de la fréquence des mouvements, y compris des comportements verbaux, associée à des déficits de motivation résultant de lésions cérébrales.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce qu'un mutisme akinétique? et quels sont ses symptômes, ses causes et ses principaux types.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce qu'un mutisme akinétique?

En 1941 Cairns, Oldfield, Pennybacker et Whitteridge ont décrit le cas d’Elsie Nicks, une fille de 14 ans avec un kyste dans le ventricule latéral droit. La malformation causant à Elsie des maux de tête de plus en plus intenses a conduit les médecins à appliquer un traitement à la morphine.


La patiente a commencé à montrer des signes d'apathie ainsi que des altérations importantes de sa capacité à parler et à contrôler ses mouvements. Les symptômes ont progressé dans un état que Cairns et ses collaborateurs ont baptisé du nom de "mutisme akinétique".

Ces auteurs ont décrit le trouble comme un état dans lequel la personne reste immobile , bien que cela puisse corriger le regard dans les objets et suivre les mouvements. L'étatisme affecte également les mouvements nécessaires à la parole et aux autres vocalisations. Bien que des actions soient parfois effectuées et des sons émis, ils ne sont généralement pas volontaires.

Comme nous le verrons ci-dessous, la proposition de l'équipe de Cairns a été mise à jour au fil des ans et des progrès scientifiques réalisés. De nos jours, le terme "mutisme akinétique" est souvent utilisé pour décrire tout cas qui montre l'absence de comportement moteur et verbal qui lui donnent un nom et qui peut aussi consister en des déficits moins graves.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Mutisme sélectif: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Symptômes et principaux signes

Cairns et al. (1941) signalent cinq signes clés pour le diagnostic de mutisme akinétique: présence de vigilance, capacité de fixer le regard sur autrui, exécution de mouvements oculaires en réaction à des stimuli auditifs, actions en réponse à des ordres ils répètent et les difficultés de parler et de communiquer en général.

Cependant, nous disposons actuellement de connaissances plus spécifiques sur le mutisme akinétique. Dans sa revue de la littérature scientifique pertinente, Rodríguez-Bailón et al. (2012) concluent que réduction significative du nombre de comportements verbaux et la capacité de suivre des objets avec le regard ce sont les deux critères de diagnostic de base.

Les auteurs de ce travail mettent en évidence la variabilité des perturbations émotionnelles dans ces cas. Ainsi, des patients présentant des déficiences évidentes dans l'expression de leurs émotions ont été identifiés, mais également d'autres présentant des signes de désinhibition. Cette diversité clinique est liée à la localisation spécifique des lésions cérébrales responsables du mutisme akinétique.


L'immobilité caractéristique de cette altération se manifeste dans toutes les facettes de la motricité, de sorte que ceux qui ont un mutisme akinétique ne peut pas parler, faire des gestes ou former des expressions faciales , ou ils ont de sérieuses difficultés à le faire. Quand ils le font, les mouvements ont tendance à être lents et maigres, et les réponses monosyllabiques.

Les personnes présentant un mutisme akinétique ne sont pas paralysées au niveau moteur, mais les altérations qui le provoquent semblent affecter la volonté et la motivation à adopter des comportements, y compris verbaux. De nombreux patients atteints de cette maladie ont signalé avoir remarqué une résistance qui les empêchait de bouger lorsqu'ils essayaient de le faire.

Types de mutisme akinétique et ses causes

Les symptômes et les signes de chaque cas de mutisme akinétique dépendent des régions cérébrales endommagées par le facteur causatif de la maladie. De manière générale, on peut distinguer deux variantes du mutisme akinétique: le mutisme frontal et le mutisme mésencéphalique, qui sont associés à des lésions dans le lobe frontal du cerveau et dans le mésencéphale, respectivement.

Le mutisme akinétique frontal est souvent dû à des modifications de l'apport sanguin, en particulier de l'artère cérébrale antérieure. Troubles et accidents vasculaires cérébraux sont les causes les plus fréquentes mutisme akinétique, bien qu’il puisse aussi apparaître à la suite d’infections, de contacts avec des substances toxiques et de maladies neurodégénératives.

Lorsque le mutisme akinétique survient à la suite de lésions frontales, il apparaît souvent avec signes de désinhibition typique du syndrome frontal. Ainsi, dans ces cas, les réponses émotionnelles impulsives sont souvent liées, en particulier à la passivité.

Le mésencéphale est une structure sous-corticale qui contient des noyaux cérébraux aussi pertinents que les collicules, impliqués dans la perception visuelle et auditive, et la substantia nigra, fondamentale dans la production de dopamine et donc dans le renforcement. Ce genre de mutisme akinétique est associé à l'hypersomnolence et à des déficits de motivation .

Le mutisme akinétique peut également être causé par un arrêt respiratoire (pouvant entraîner une hypoxie cérébrale), un traumatisme crânien, une tumeur, une méningite, une hydrocéphalie, une lésion du thalamus, la destruction du gyrus cingulaire et la maladie de Creuztfeldt-Jakob, un trouble neurodégénératif causé infections à prions.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cairns, H .; Oldfield, R. C; Pennybacker, J.B. & Whitteridge, D. (1941). Mutisme akinétique avec kyste épidermoïde du 3ème ventricule. Cerveau, 64 (4): 273-90.
  • Rodríguez-Bailón, M; Triviño-Mosquera, M.; Ruiz-Pérez, R. et Arnedo-Montoro, M. (2012). Mutisme akinétique: bilan, proposition de protocole neuropsychologique et application à un cas. Annals of Psychology, 28 (3): 834-41.

Coprolalia neuropraxia - Mutisme Akinetique (2012) (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes