yes, therapy helps!
Albert Bandura, awarded with the National Medal of Science

Albert Bandura, awarded with the National Medal of Science

September 7, 2022

Albert Bandur to , the Ukrainian-Canadian psychologist and pedagogue who developed the Theory of Social Learning, has been awarded the National Medal of Science of the United States. Bandura is professor emeritus at Stanford University, a position he has held since 1953.

The award is given annually and is delivered directly by the President of the United States. The National Medal of Science recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to science, technology and engineering. In addition to Bandura, this year's edition has eight winners, including microbiologists, physicians and physicists. The winners will receive their medals from the hand of Barack Obama in January at a ceremony in the White House


The contributions of Albert Bandura to psychology

Albert Bandura has stood out as a theorist and experimenter of social learning theory . His works have been pioneers in the investigation of learning based on imitation or vicarious learning. It has also been important to understand the process of intrinsic motivation and the regulation of one's own behavior, since in their theories they have paid attention to concepts such as expectations or self-efficacy beliefs.

In addition, he has also been interested in the development of personality and has promoted the call sociocognitive approach this. Bandura introduced the concept of "reciprocal determinism", in which he explains that not only the environment influences the person, but the person is also able to influence the environment.


On the other hand, Bandura has also been trained in Clinical Psychology and has contributed significantly to psychological therapy, since he is responsible for the structuring of cognitive-behavioral techniques based on the observation of a model, for example to cure phobias. Bandura stepped forward to leave behind radical behaviorism.

You can read the following articles if you want to deepen your theory:

  • "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"
  • "The Self-efficacy of Albert Bandura: do you believe in yourself?"
  • "Albert Bandura's Theory of Personality"

Studies on aggression: the Bobo doll experiment

Bandura was also interested in the study of aggression, and tested his hypothesis that aggressive behavior can be learned by observing others. One of his most famous and best-known experiments in psychology is that of Bobo doll .


Bandura used a doll named Bobo to show that learning depends on more than just rewards and punishments. After teaching a video to a group of children in which an adult appeared hitting a doll and shouting "stupid", they were left in a room where there was a Bobo doll. The reaction of the children was to whip the doll to the cry of "stupid". On the contrary, a group of children who did not see the video were also left in the room, but these did not show aggressive behavior.

In this link you can see the famous Albert Bandura experiment.

Bandura explained that he was surprised by the influence that his investigations have had, since they have been useful to address issues such as the prevention of aggression on the part of children. In fact, many investigations that have been carried out later about the social models that are generated in the home, television or groups of friends were driven by their experiments.

Bandura feels very lucky to receive this award

Considered one of the most influential and important psychologists in history, his line of innovative research has allowed us to enrich our understanding of learning and education. But in addition, other areas of application such as sports or coaching have also been nourished by concepts such as self-efficacy. The theory of self-efficacy has had a wide impact, pues has allowed to know more about motivation, and has even been important in the field of well-being and health .

Despite his great professional career, Bandura has been surprised. After knowing that he will receive the National Medal of Science, he declared in a press release: "After realizing that the call was not a joke organized by my colleagues, I feel fortunate to receive this award." And he added: "The medal of science also recognizes the contributions of psychology to human improvement."


The National Medals of Science and of Technology & Innovation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Albert Bandura, récompensé par la médaille nationale de la science

Albert Bandura, récompensé par la médaille nationale de la science

Août 10, 2022

Albert Bandur un , psychologue et pédagogue ukraino-canadien qui a mis au point la théorie de l’apprentissage social, a reçu le prix Médaille Nationale de la Science des États-Unis. Bandura est professeur émérite à l'Université de Stanford, poste qu'il occupe depuis 1953.

Le prix est décerné chaque année et est remis directement par le président des États-Unis. La Médaille nationale de la science reconnaît les personnes qui ont apporté des contributions exceptionnelles aux sciences, à la technologie et au génie. Outre Bandura, l'édition de cette année compte huit lauréats, parmi lesquels des microbiologistes, des médecins et des physiciens. Les lauréats recevront leurs médailles de la main de Barack Obama en janvier lors d'une cérémonie à la Maison Blanche.


Les contributions d'Albert Bandura à la psychologie

Albert Bandura s'est démarqué en tant que théoricien et expérimentateur de la théorie de l'apprentissage social . Ses travaux ont été des pionniers dans la recherche sur l'apprentissage basé sur l'imitation ou l'apprentissage par procuration. Il était également important de comprendre le processus de motivation intrinsèque et la régulation de son propre comportement, car dans leurs théories, ils ont prêté attention à des concepts tels que les attentes ou les croyances relatives à l'efficacité personnelle.

En outre, il s’intéresse également au développement de la personnalité et promeut l’appel approche sociocognitive de cette. Bandura a introduit le concept de "déterminisme réciproque", dans lequel il explique que non seulement l'environnement influence la personne, mais que la personne est également capable d'influencer l'environnement.


D'autre part, Bandura a également suivi une formation en psychologie clinique et a largement contribué à la thérapie psychologique, puisqu'il est responsable de la structuration des techniques cognitivo-comportementales basées sur l'observation d'un modèle, par exemple pour soigner les phobies. Bandura s'est avancée pour laisser derrière elle le behaviorisme radical.

Vous pouvez lire les articles suivants si vous voulez approfondir votre théorie:

  • "Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"
  • "L'efficacité personnelle d'Albert Bandura: croyez-vous en vous-même?"
  • "Théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura"

Études sur l'agression: l'expérience de la poupée Bobo

Bandura était également intéressé par l'étude de l'agression et a testé son hypothèse selon laquelle un comportement agressif peut être appris en observant les autres. Une de ses expériences les plus célèbres et les plus connues en psychologie est celle de Poupée Bobo .


Bandura a utilisé une poupée nommée Bobo pour montrer que l'apprentissage ne dépend pas seulement de récompenses et de punitions. Après avoir enseigné une vidéo à un groupe d'enfants dans laquelle un adulte est apparu en train de frapper une poupée en criant "stupide", ils ont été laissés dans une pièce où se trouvait une poupée Bobo. La réaction des enfants fut de fouetter la poupée au cri de "stupide". Au contraire, un groupe d’enfants qui n’ont pas vu la vidéo ont également été laissés dans la pièce, mais ils n’ont pas montré de comportement agressif.

Dans ce lien, vous pouvez voir la célèbre expérience Albert Bandura.

Bandura a expliqué qu'il était surpris par l'influence de ses enquêtes, car elles ont été utiles pour traiter de problèmes tels que la prévention de l'agression chez les enfants. En fait, de nombreuses enquêtes menées plus tard sur les modèles sociaux générés à la maison, à la télévision ou chez des groupes d'amis ont été motivées par leurs expériences.

Bandura se sent très chanceux de recevoir ce prix

Considéré comme l’un des psychologues les plus influents et les plus importants de l’histoire, ses recherches novatrices nous ont permis d’enrichir notre compréhension de l’apprentissage et de l’éducation. Mais en outre, d'autres domaines d'application tels que le sport ou le coaching ont également été nourris par des concepts tels que l'efficacité personnelle. La théorie de l'efficacité personnelle a eu un large impact, pues a permis d’en savoir plus sur la motivation et a même joué un rôle important dans le domaine du bien-être et de la santé .

Malgré sa grande carrière professionnelle, Bandura a été surpris. Après avoir su qu'il recevrait la Médaille nationale de la science, il a déclaré dans un communiqué de presse: "Après avoir réalisé que l'appel n'était pas une blague organisée par mes collègues, je me sens chanceux de recevoir ce prix". Il a ajouté: "La médaille de la science reconnaît également les contributions de la psychologie à l'amélioration de l'homme."


Le cerveau en 2 minutes : l'auto efficacité perçue (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes