yes, therapy helps!
Alcoholic neuropathy: causes, effects and treatment

Alcoholic neuropathy: causes, effects and treatment

July 14, 2024

Neuropathies, or clinical disorders of the nervous system, are a large group of heterogeneous diseases that affect the nerves responsible for making the body work . While some affect the peripheral nervous system, resulting in alterations in motility and sensitivity, others attack the autonomic nervous system.

Alcoholic neuropathy, a nervous system disorder caused by alcohol consumption , is of peripheral affectation. Let's see in what ways the nervous damage of alcoholic origin is manifested.

  • Related article: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction"

Clinic in alcoholic neuropathy

People dependent on alcohol suffer marked effects on their nervous system. Almost 10% of alcoholics who consume high doses of ethanol Chronically they end up suffering from alcoholic neuropathy in some of its forms.


These patients with alcoholic neuropathy they suffer damage to axons of neurons motor and those responsible for sensitivity. Bilateral paresthesias occur in both arms and legs, numbness, tingling sensation and paresthesias, which are accentuated more in the hands and feet. In addition, disorders of gait and posture may occur due to degeneration or atrophy of the cerebellum, as well as nystagmus, a brief and involuntary movement of the eyes.

Fortunately, the involvement of the autonomic nervous system, which maintains vital functions such as respiration, cardiac contractions, etc. it is mild in this disease . The most relevant autonomous symptom is the inability to have an erection and maintain it, that is, impotence. However, there are autonomous symptoms when alcoholic neuropathy is accompanied by a syndrome characteristic of alcohol dependents: Wernicke's disease.


  • You may be interested: "What are axons of neurons?"

Wernicke encephalopathy

Wernicke's encephalopathy, which is not exclusive but particular to alcoholics, consists of inability to move the eyes, difficulty in coordinating movements organized and a confusional state where the patient is absolutely disoriented. When someone suffers from this disease together with alcoholic neuropathy, we speak of polyneuropathies, since both syndromes coexist.

It is a medical emergency which requires the immediate administration of thiamin (vitamin B1). As this symptom is resolved, the patient begins to show an amnesiac picture. It's Korsakoff's psychosis.

Korsakoff syndrome

The second phase of this syndrome is called Korsakoff's psychosis. It is characterized by inability to remember past events in time (temporary gaps), conspiracy and antegrade amnesia.


Because this pair of syndromes almost always occur together, there is talk of a single Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, a two-phase disease where the most severe neurological symptoms of the first, when resolved, give way to the amnestic phase of the second.

  • Related article: "Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome: causes and symptoms"

Causes of alcoholic neuropathy

The majority of neurological diseases associated with alcohol consumption they have to do with a vitamin deficit . Alcoholic beverages, besides inhibiting hunger through their psychoactive characteristics, contain many calories.

The brain, upon receiving the signal that this hypercaloric intake has occurred, interprets that it should not eat more and inhibits the hunger signal. A) Yes, the alcoholic feels satiated despite not having eaten anything nutritious .

Specifically, as in the Wernicke-Korsakoff, thiamine plays a crucial role in the development and resolution of the clinical picture.

1. Thiamin deficiency

It is common to find a nutritional deficit of this vitamin in patients who have abused alcohol chronically, patients who vomit very frequently or patients undergoing bariatric surgery.

Alcoholic neuropathy caused by thiamine deficiency begins after depriving the body of this vitamin for a long time. It starts with a mild loss of sensation, subtle sensations of burning in the toes and cramping in the legs. Later on, the sensitivity of the extremities will begin to be lost.

Whether it is a pure alcoholic neuropathy or accompanied by Wernicke-Korsakoff, this deficit will be resolved with the intramuscular or intravenous administration of vitamin B1 .

2. Deficiency of piroxidine

Although more infrequent, it is possible that the neuropathy is partially caused by the absence of vitamin B6. Both its excess and its absence can cause neurological damage , but in the abuse of alcohol only its deficit is found. Like thiamin, it can be detected through an analytic.

3. Pellagra

Pellagra is the deficiency of niacin (vitamin B3) due to malnutrition or alcoholism. The neurological manifestations are variable: they affect the central nervous system and also the peripheral nerves.

Forecast

Alcoholic neuropathy is a severe neurological disease that must be treated immediately. Fortunately, its urgent handling usually leads to a partial recovery , without serious long-term consequences. Depending on the severity of the condition, the person who has suffered the disease will take more or less time to recover.

Nowadays it is possible to make an accurate diagnosis of alcoholic neuropathy through the analytical to detect vitamin deficits and the electrodiagnostic nerve conduction tests and electromyograms . In this way the treatment can be administered quickly and effectively for a complete recovery.

Treatment

Medical intervention in cases of alcoholic neuropathy always involves the withdrawal of consumption of the substance that produced it. In addition, vitamin B supplements, especially B12 and thiamine, are used to promote recovery. As a support, it is important to make sure that the diet of the patients is sufficiently nutritious .


Peripheral Neuropathy (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neuropathie alcoolique: causes, effets et traitement

Neuropathie alcoolique: causes, effets et traitement

Août 14, 2022

Les neuropathies, ou troubles cliniques du système nerveux, constituent un grand groupe de maladies hétérogènes qui affecter les nerfs chargés de faire travailler le corps . Certains affectent le système nerveux périphérique, entraînant des altérations de la motilité et de la sensibilité, d'autres s'attaquent au système nerveux autonome.

Neuropathie alcoolique, un trouble du système nerveux causé par la consommation d'alcool est une affectation périphérique. Voyons de quelle manière se manifestent les dommages nerveux d'origine alcoolique.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 signes de dépendance à l'alcool"

Clinique de neuropathie alcoolique

Les personnes dépendantes de l'alcool souffrent d'effets marqués sur leur système nerveux. Près de 10% des alcooliques qui consomment de fortes doses d'éthanol Ils finissent par souffrir de neuropathie alcoolique sous certaines de ses formes.


Ces patients atteints de neuropathie alcoolique ils souffrent de dommages aux axones des neurones moteur et les responsables de la sensibilité. Les paresthésies bilatérales se manifestent au niveau des bras et des jambes, un engourdissement, une sensation de picotement et des paresthésies, qui sont accentuées davantage dans les mains et les pieds. En outre, des troubles de la démarche et de la posture peuvent survenir en raison d'une dégénérescence ou d'une atrophie du cervelet, ainsi que du nystagmus, un bref et involontaire mouvement des yeux.

Heureusement, l'implication du système nerveux autonome, qui maintient les fonctions vitales telles que la respiration, les contractions cardiaques, etc. il est doux dans cette maladie . Le symptôme autonome le plus pertinent est l'incapacité à avoir une érection et à la maintenir, c'est-à-dire l'impuissance. Cependant, la neuropathie alcoolique s'accompagne d'un syndrome caractéristique des dépendants de l'alcool: la maladie de Wernicke.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Quels sont les axones des neurones?"

Encéphalopathie de Wernicke

L’encéphalopathie de Wernicke, qui n’est pas exclusive mais propre aux alcooliques, consiste en incapacité à bouger les yeux, difficulté à coordonner les mouvements organisé et un état de confusion où le patient est absolument désorienté. Lorsqu'une personne souffre de cette maladie en même temps que la neuropathie alcoolique, on parle de polyneuropathies, car les deux syndromes coexistent.

C'est une urgence médicale qui nécessite l'administration immédiate de thiamine (vitamine B1). Lorsque ce symptôme est résolu, le patient commence à montrer une image amnésique. C'est la psychose de Korsakoff.

Syndrome de Korsakoff

La deuxième phase de ce syndrome s'appelle la psychose de Korsakoff. Il est caractérisé par incapacité de se souvenir d'événements passés dans le temps (lacunes temporaires), le complot et l'amnésie antérograde.


Étant donné que ces deux syndromes se produisent presque toujours ensemble, on parle d'un seul syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, une maladie en deux phases dans laquelle les symptômes neurologiques les plus graves du premier, une fois résolus, cèdent la place à la phase amnésique. de la seconde.

  • Article connexe: "Syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff: causes et symptômes"

Causes de la neuropathie alcoolique

La majorité des maladies neurologiques associées à la consommation d'alcool ils ont à faire avec un déficit en vitamines . Les boissons alcoolisées, en plus d’inhiber la faim par leurs caractéristiques psychoactives, contiennent beaucoup de calories.

Le cerveau, après avoir reçu le signal que cet apport hypercalorique a eu lieu, interprète qu'il ne devrait pas manger plus et inhibe le signal de faim. Ainsi, l'alcoolique se sent rassasié alors qu'il n'a rien mangé de nutritif .

Comme dans le cas de Wernicke-Korsakoff, la thiamine joue un rôle crucial dans l’évolution et la résolution du tableau clinique.

1. Carence en thiamine

Il est courant de trouver un déficit nutritionnel de cette vitamine chez les patients ayant abusé de l'alcool de manière chronique, les patients qui vomissent très fréquemment ou les patients subissant une chirurgie bariatrique.

Neuropathie alcoolique causée par une carence en thiamine commence après avoir privé le corps de cette vitamine pendant longtemps. Cela commence par une légère perte de sensation, des sensations subtiles de brûlure aux orteils et de crampes dans les jambes. Plus tard, la sensibilité des extrémités commencera à être perdue.

Qu'il s'agisse d'une neuropathie alcoolique pure ou accompagné de Wernicke-Korsakoff, ce déficit sera résolu avec le administration intramusculaire ou intraveineuse de vitamine B1 .

2. Carence en piroxidine

Bien que plus rare, il est possible que la neuropathie soit partiellement causée par l’absence de vitamine B6. Tant son excès que son absence peuvent causer des dommages neurologiques , mais dans l'abus d'alcool, seul son déficit est constaté. Comme la thiamine, elle peut être détectée par une analyse.

3. Pellagra

La pellagre est la carence en niacine (vitamine B3) due à la malnutrition ou à l'alcoolisme. Les manifestations neurologiques sont variables: elles affectent le système nerveux central ainsi que les nerfs périphériques.

Prévisions

La neuropathie alcoolique est une maladie neurologique grave qui doit être traitée immédiatement. Par chance, sa manipulation urgente conduit généralement à une récupération partielle , sans conséquences graves à long terme. En fonction de la gravité de la maladie, la personne atteinte de la maladie mettra plus ou moins de temps à se rétablir.

De nos jours, il est possible de faire un diagnostic précis de la neuropathie alcoolique grâce à l'analyse permettant de détecter les déficits en vitamines tests électrodiagnostiques de conduction nerveuse et électromyogrammes . De cette façon, le traitement peut être administré rapidement et efficacement pour un rétablissement complet.

Traitement

L'intervention médicale en cas de neuropathie alcoolique implique toujours le retrait de la consommation de la substance qui l'a produite. De plus, des suppléments de vitamine B, notamment de B12 et de thiamine, sont utilisés pour favoriser la récupération. En tant que support, il est important de s’assurer que que le régime alimentaire des patients est suffisamment nutritif .

Articles Connexes