yes, therapy helps!
Alfred Adler: biography of the founder of Individual Psychology

Alfred Adler: biography of the founder of Individual Psychology

December 5, 2021

Neither psychoanalysis nor psychodynamic psychology can be explained by knowing only the work of Sigmund Freud.

In fact, psychotherapy based on the fundamental ideas of psychoanalysis has three great founders: Sigmund Freud (of course), Carl Gustav Jung and Alfred Adler . This article deals with the latter, who, in addition to being one of the first to question the ideas of the father of psychoanalysis, was the creator of the Individual Psychology .

Biography of Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler was born into a Viennese Jewish family in the year 1870, a couple of decades before psychoanalysis began to take shape through the works of Sigmund Freud and Josef Breuer .


Adler had a series of health complications that are commonly referred to as the start of the Austrian's interest in medicine. Career that, in his youth, he studied successfully at the University of Vienna.

After college he meets Freud

After graduating from medical school in 1895, he married and began to come into contact with psychoanalysis in the hands of Sigmund Freud, whom he met personally in 1899. From then on, Alfred Adler began to introduce himself in the ideas about the functioning of the psyche that the Freudian theory proposed.

Adler's enthusiasm for psychoanalysis and psychology in general led him to become the first president of the association of psychoanalysts in the city, the Psychological Society of Wednesdays (which later would receive the official name of Vienna Psychoanalytic Association), created in 1902.


There, the fundamental ideas with which psychoanalysts tried to explain the human mind were debated and developed. , and this exposure to the theoretical proposals of Freud and his disciples contributed to Alfred Adler making his theories more and more complex.

The conflict between Adler and Freud

The notoriety of Alfred Adler in the world of the emerging psychoanalytic world grew very fast, partly because of his closeness to Freud but also because of the vehemence with which he expressed his ideas. In fact, there came a point where Adler became director of the Journal of Psychoanalysis (Zentralbaltt für Psychoanalyse), a publication of which Freud was editor and that, of course, had a lot of relevance in his field.

However, shortly after this foray into the publishing world, Alfred Adler began to question fundamental pillars of Freud's theories, such as the sexual theory . This caused that in 1911 the opposition to the ideas of Freud prevented him to continue working in the magazine. In addition, that same year Alfred Adler left the Vienna Psychoanalytic Association. This was the first major break experienced by the circle of Viennese psychoanalysts, although others would follow: shortly after Carl Gustav Jung would also definitively distance himself from Freud's orthodox psychoanalysis.


But Adler did not cease to be interested in the creation of ideas about the functioning of mental processes. Simply, he created another psychological school similar in many points to which Freud defended . This new school is called Individual Psychology .

Alfred Adler and Individual Psychology

One could talk at length about the discrepancies that caused Alfred Adler and Sigmund Freud to split, but the main reasons were two.

The first is that Adler gave much less importance to sexuality compared to Freud . He did not believe that neither sex nor the way in which it is symbolized was an essential regulator of human behavior from the first years of life.

The second has to do with the role of the unconscious. Yes for Freud the unconscious it is everything that acting from the shadows keeps us tied to a series of patterns of behavior and thought according to what we have done in the past, Alfred Adler placed more emphasis on the power that each individual has when it comes to structuring the functioning of his mind according to what happens in the present.

That is to say, that on the one hand it stops considering the past acts as a burden that inevitably conditions us, and on the other it gives more importance to our way of interacting with what we feel and think in the here and now (in addition to recognizing the importance of the context in which we find ourselves at each moment).

Adler forged the foundations of this new Individual Psychology focusing on his disabled patients . Although all of them had a history of similar limitations, some were consumed by their inferiority complex when compared to other people, while in others the physical limitations they experienced acted as a motivating factor that led them, according to Adler, to self-improvement

The break between Alfred Adler and Freud, then, had a lot to do with the degree to which the former gave importance to the conscious side of thought, which makes us unique people with the capacity to build original goals.

The legacy of Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler died in 1937, but his ideas have had a great echo . He was the first major representative of psychodynamic psychology to question major dogmas of Freud's theories, and he constructed a more focused approach to the creative power of the individual aware of his powers and limitations. Of course, all his works are outside of what is now considered to be scientific psychology, but that did not prevent his influences from inspiring the world of humanities and philosophy.

The Individual Psychology that Alfred Adler founded together with other members of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Association has had a great influence both in the Humanistic Psychology appeared in the second half of the 20th century and in several proposals framed in the psychodynamic current. In a world where the philosophy of self-help and self-improvement is gaining strength, it is not uncommon for the ideas of Adler, who had a more optimistic view on how we are supposed to think and feel his teacher, to have good acceptance .


The Psychology of Alfred Adler: Superiority, Inferiority, and Courage (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Alfred Adler: biographie du fondateur de la psychologie individuelle

Alfred Adler: biographie du fondateur de la psychologie individuelle

Février 18, 2019

Ni la psychanalyse ni la psychologie psychodynamique ne peuvent être expliquées en ne connaissant que le travail de Sigmund Freud.

En fait, la psychothérapie basée sur les idées fondamentales de la psychanalyse a trois grands fondateurs: Sigmund Freud (bien sûr), Carl Gustav Jung et Alfred Adler . Cet article traite de ce dernier, qui, en plus d'être l'un des premiers à remettre en cause les idées du père de la psychanalyse, a été le créateur du Psychologie individuelle .

Biographie d'Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler est né dans une famille juive viennoise en 1870, quelques décennies avant que la psychanalyse ne commence à prendre forme à travers les œuvres de Sigmund Freud et Josef Breuer .


Adler a eu une série de complications de santé qui sont communément appelées le début de l'intérêt de l'Autrichien pour la médecine. Carrière qui, dans sa jeunesse, il a étudié avec succès à l’Université de Vienne.

Après l'université, il rencontre Freud

Diplômé de l'école de médecine en 1895, il se marie et commence à entrer en contact avec la psychanalyse entre les mains de Sigmund Freud, qu'il a personnellement rencontré en 1899. Dès lors, Alfred Adler a commencé à se présenter dans les idées sur le fonctionnement de la psyché proposées par la théorie freudienne.

L'enthousiasme d'Adler pour la psychanalyse et la psychologie en général l'ont amené à devenir le premier président de l'association des psychanalystes de la ville, le Société de psychologie des mercredis (qui recevra plus tard le nom officiel de Association psychanalytique de Vienne), créée en 1902.


Là, les idées fondamentales avec lesquelles les psychanalystes ont essayé d'expliquer l'esprit humain ont été débattues et développées. , et cette exposition aux propositions théoriques de Freud et de ses disciples ont contribué à la construction par Alfred Adler de ses théories de plus en plus complexes.

Le conflit entre Adler et Freud

La notoriété d'Alfred Adler dans le monde émergent du monde psychanalytique grandit très vite, en partie à cause de sa proximité avec Freud mais aussi à cause de la véhémence avec laquelle il exprimait ses idées. En fait, il est arrivé un moment où Adler est devenu directeur du Journal de psychanalyse (Zentralbaltt für Psychoanalyse), une publication dont Freud était l'éditeur et qui, bien sûr, avait beaucoup de pertinence dans son domaine.

Cependant, peu après cette incursion dans le monde de l'édition, Alfred Adler a commencé à remettre en question les piliers fondamentaux des théories de Freud, telles que la théorie sexuelle . Cela a provoqué qu'en 1911 l'opposition aux idées de Freud l'a empêché de continuer à travailler dans le magazine. De plus, cette même année, Alfred Adler quitta le Association psychanalytique de Vienne. C’était la première grande rupture du cercle des psychanalystes viennois, bien que d’autres suivraient: peu de temps après, Carl Gustav Jung s’éloignait aussi définitivement de la psychanalyse orthodoxe de Freud.


Mais Adler n'a pas cessé de s'intéresser à la création d'idées sur le fonctionnement des processus mentaux. Simplement il a créé une autre école psychologique semblable à de nombreux points que Freud a défendu . Cette nouvelle école s'appelle Psychologie individuelle .

Alfred Adler et la psychologie individuelle

On pourrait parler longuement des divergences qui ont amené Alfred Adler et Sigmund Freud à se séparer, mais les raisons principales en étaient deux.

Le premier est que Adler accordait beaucoup moins d'importance à la sexualité à Freud . Il ne croyait pas que ni le sexe ni la manière dont il est symbolisé ne constituaient un régulateur essentiel du comportement humain dès les premières années de la vie.

La seconde a trait au rôle de l'inconscient. Oui pour freud l'inconscient c'est tout ce qui agit dans l'ombre nous lie à une série de comportements et de pensées en fonction de ce que nous avons fait dans le passé, Alfred Adler a mis davantage l'accent sur le pouvoir de chaque individu lorsqu'il s'agit de structurer le fonctionnement de son esprit selon ce qui se passe dans le présent.

C’est-à-dire qu’un côté cesse de considérer le passé comme un fardeau qui nous conditionne inévitablement, et d’autre part cela donne plus d’importance à notre façon d’interagir avec ce que nous ressentons et pensons ici et maintenant (en plus de l'importance du contexte dans lequel nous nous trouvons à chaque instant).

Adler a jeté les bases de cette nouvelle psychologie individuelle axée sur ses patients handicapés . Bien que tous aient des antécédents de limitations similaires, certains ont été absorbés par leur complexe d’infériorité par rapport à d’autres personnes, alors que chez d’autres, les limitations physiques qu’ils ont connues ont été un facteur de motivation qui les a poussés, selon Adler, à auto-amélioration

La rupture entre Alfred Adler et Freud avait donc à voir avec l’importance avec laquelle le premier accordait de l’importance au côté conscient de la pensée, ce qui faisait de nous des personnes uniques, capables de définir des objectifs originaux.

L'héritage d'Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler est mort en 1937, mais ses idées ont eu un grand écho . Premier représentant majeur de la psychologie psychodynamique à s'être interrogé sur les dogmes majeurs des théories de Freud, il a construit une approche plus ciblée du pouvoir créateur de l'individu conscient de ses pouvoirs et de ses limites. Bien sûr, toutes ses œuvres sont en dehors de ce qui est maintenant considéré comme de la psychologie scientifique, mais cela n’a pas empêché ses influences d’inspirer le monde des sciences humaines et de la philosophie.

La psychologie individuelle fondée par Alfred Adler avec d’autres membres de la Association psychanalytique de Vienne La psychologie humaniste est apparue dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle et a fait l’objet de nombreuses propositions dans le courant psychodynamique. Dans un monde où la philosophie de l'entraide et du développement personnel gagne en force, il n'est pas rare que les idées d'Adler, qui avait une vision plus optimiste de la façon dont nous sommes supposés penser et sentir son professeur, soient bien acceptées .


L'invention de la psychanalyse (Sigmund Freud) [Part I] (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes