yes, therapy helps!
Alice in Wonderland Syndrome: Causes, Symptoms and Therapy

Alice in Wonderland Syndrome: Causes, Symptoms and Therapy

June 17, 2024

If our senses deceive us rarely, it is, among other things, because in our brain there are a lot of structures that work at the same time to have a realistic image of the world around us.

The Alice in Wonderland syndrome it is a test of what happens when these processes begin to uncoordinate.

What is the syndrome of Alice in Wonderland?

Is about a very rare neurological disorder in which visual perception is altered , seeing things of a size that does not correspond to reality.

Thus, it may happen that the person sees an object as if it were much smaller than it is, or that a giant is created among miniaturized elements, or that the opposite occurs and note how elements of the environment or of its own body are smaller than normal.


In particular, it is very common that the visual hallucinations that appear with this syndrome have to do with the way in which the parts of the body are perceived.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 rarest mental syndromes that are known"

Symptoms of this perception problem

In some cases, the Alice in Wonderland Syndrome can be expressed in micropsy, while in others it is expressed in the form of a macropsy .

Micropsy

In the micropsy, everything seems to be significantly smaller than it actually is.

Macropsy

In this case, the opposite happens to what the micropsy defines: elements of the body or the environment are visualized in a deformed way, as if they were much larger than expected.


Other symptoms

The two previous phenomena do not know how to determine very well how far from oneself is an object, animal or person, which produces disorientation, anxiety and a sense of vulnerability.

These visual hallucinations do not usually last indefinitely, and disappear after a few minutes. On the other hand, it is more frequent to appear during the night, when there is little light and when you are about to fall into a state of sleep (something that is also common in other forms of hallucinations).

In addition, in some cases the Alice in Wonderland Syndrome is accompanied by the loss of the notion of time and / or hallucinations about objects, animals, objects or people that are not really visible, which aggravates the sensation of disorientation. At times, all these visual deceptions are accompanied by tactile or auditory hallucinations.


  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Where does the name of this disorder come from?

The Alice in Wonderland Syndrome is named after the famous novel by Lewis Carroll, whose protagonist experienced this phenomenon under the influence of the magic that surrounded the region he was exploring.

These parts of the narrative were inspired by the experiences of Lewis Carroll himself, who had this syndrome . However, the symptoms of this alteration are not as stimulating as they were in his literary work, and produce a notable discomfort.

Causes

Like any neurological disorder, the Lycian Syndrome in Wonderland does not have very well-known causes, since it influences many things and, in addition, the brain of each human being is something unique and very adapted to the life of each person .

That means that it can be caused by several types of injuries or alterations in the functioning of the body, whether chronic or punctual. For example, problems with circulation of blood through the brain could produce symptoms.

On the other hand, Certain injuries and diseases, such as the Epstein-Barr virus, can produce this symptomatic picture , because to do so we just have to make the functioning of certain groups of neurons begin to change in a way not foreseen by evolution.

Who experiences it?

The Alice in Wonderland Syndrome it is much more frequent during childhood and adolescence . After 30 years of age it is much rarer and, in any case, it could appear as a result of brain injuries.

Treatment

After having made the diagnosis of this syndrome, a treatment is established that will depend on each case and the causes related to the onset of symptoms. Sometimes, a better rest and sleep will be enough for the symptoms to remit , while in others it is necessary to treat chronic diseases and neurological alterations.

In any case, any form of intervention on the Alice in Wonderland Syndrome should be proposed and supervised by a health specialist sufficiently accredited to do so and trained in mental health and neurology.

In the same way, the prognosis of this syndrome is very variable , and depends on what its causes are and how easy it is to intervene on them to solve the problem.


Alice in Wonderland Syndrome: 10 Interesting Facts (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 12, 2024

Si nos sens nous trompent rarement, c'est, entre autres choses, parce que dans notre cerveau, il y a beaucoup de structures qui travaillent en même temps pour avoir une image réaliste du monde qui nous entoure.

Le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles c'est un test de ce qui se passe lorsque ces processus commencent à manquer de coordination.

Quel est le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles?

Il s'agit de un trouble neurologique très rare dans lequel la perception visuelle est altérée , voir des choses d’une taille qui ne correspond pas à la réalité.

Ainsi, il peut arriver que la personne perçoive un objet comme si elle était beaucoup plus petite qu’elle ne le soit, ou qu’un géant soit créé parmi des éléments miniaturisés, ou que le contraire se produise et que des éléments de l’environnement ou de son propre corps soient présents. plus petit que la normale.


En particulier, il est très courant que les hallucinations visuelles qui apparaissent avec ce syndrome ont à voir avec la façon dont les parties du corps sont perçues.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 syndromes mentaux les plus rares connus"

Symptômes de ce problème de perception

Dans certains cas, le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles peut être exprimé en micropsie, alors que dans d’autres, il est exprimé sous forme de macropsie .

Micropsie

Dans la micropsie, tout semble être nettement plus petit qu’il ne l’est réellement.

Macropsie

Dans ce cas, c'est l'inverse de ce que la micropsie définit: des éléments du corps ou de l'environnement sont visualisés de manière déformée, comme s'ils étaient beaucoup plus grands que prévu.


Autres symptômes

Les deux phénomènes précédents ne savent pas très bien déterminer à quel point un objet, un animal ou une personne est éloigné de soi, ce qui produit désorientation, anxiété et sens de la vulnérabilité.

Ces hallucinations visuelles ne durent généralement pas indéfiniment et disparaissent au bout de quelques minutes. D'un autre côté, il est plus fréquent d'apparaître pendant la nuitquand il y a peu de lumière et que vous êtes sur le point de vous endormir (ce qui est également courant dans d’autres formes d’hallucinations).

En outre, dans certains cas, le syndrome d’Alice au pays des merveilles est accompagné du perte de la notion de temps et / ou des hallucinations d'objets, d'animaux, d'objets ou de personnes qui ne sont pas vraiment visibles, ce qui aggrave la sensation de désorientation. Parfois, toutes ces déceptions visuelles sont accompagnées d'hallucinations tactiles ou auditives.


  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

D'où vient le nom de ce trouble?

Le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles tire son nom du célèbre roman de Lewis Carroll, dont le protagoniste a expérimenté ce phénomène sous l'influence de la magie qui entourait la région qu'il explorait.

Ces parties du récit ont été inspirés par les expériences de Lewis Carroll lui-même, qui avait ce syndrome . Cependant, les symptômes de cette altération ne sont pas aussi stimulants que dans son travail littéraire et produisent un inconfort notable.

Les causes

Comme tout désordre neurologique, le syndrome de Lycian au pays des merveilles n'a pas de causes bien connues, car il influence beaucoup de choses et, en outre, le cerveau de chaque être humain est unique et très adapté à la vie de chaque personne .

Cela signifie qu’il peut être causé par plusieurs types de blessures ou d’altérations du fonctionnement du corps, qu’elles soient chroniques ou ponctuelles. Par exemple, des problèmes de circulation sanguine dans le cerveau peuvent produire des symptômes.

D'un autre côté, Certaines blessures et maladies, telles que le virus d'Epstein-Barr, peuvent produire cette image symptomatique Pour ce faire, nous devons simplement faire en sorte que le fonctionnement de certains groupes de neurones commence à changer d’une manière non prévue par l’évolution.

Qui en fait l'expérience?

Le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles il est beaucoup plus fréquent pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence . Après 30 ans, il est beaucoup plus rare et, dans tous les cas, il peut apparaître à la suite de lésions cérébrales.

Traitement

Après avoir posé le diagnostic de ce syndrome, un traitement est établi qui dépend de chaque cas et des causes liées à l'apparition des symptômes. Parfois, un meilleur repos et un meilleur sommeil suffiront pour que les symptômes disparaissent. tandis que dans d’autres, il est nécessaire de traiter les maladies chroniques et les altérations neurologiques.

En tout état de cause, toute forme d'intervention sur le syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles devrait être proposée et supervisée par un spécialiste de la santé suffisamment accrédité pour le faire et formé à la santé mentale et à la neurologie.

De même, le pronostic de ce syndrome est très variable et dépend de ses causes et de la facilité avec laquelle il est possible d’intervenir pour résoudre le problème.


Comment choper un ver solitaire ? - UPH#12 (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes