yes, therapy helps!
Alprazolam: uses and side effects of this anxiolytic

Alprazolam: uses and side effects of this anxiolytic

September 24, 2022

Probably many of the people who read this article will know or have heard about the drug to which they refer. And it is alprazolam, one of its best-known trade names being Trankimazin , is one of the most common psychotropic drugs in the treatment of anxiety, one of the mental problems that occurs in the population more frequently.

Throughout this article we will see among other aspects what type of substance is, its mechanism of action and some of its main uses.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

The alprazolam: type of substance and main characteristics

The alprazolam is a drug with psychoactive or psychopharmaceutical properties that is classified as anxiolytics , substances used to treat anxiety and its manifestations. Among the anxiolytics, it is part of the benzodiazepines, being one of the most popular types of psychotropic drugs consumed by the population (being much safer, effective and with fewer side effects than their predecessors barbiturates).


In the specific case of alprazolam, we are facing an intermediate-acting benzodiazepine , which implies that it needs a shorter time to begin to have an effect on the organism compared to a long-acting one but at the same time that its effects stay shorter than these, and vice versa in the case that we compare it with one short action

Its duration is approximately between 12 and 24 hours. This duration of the effect is advantageous, since it generates a lower likelihood of dependence and addiction to the substance and less doses are necessary to cause a prolonged anxiolytic effect, in addition to making the medication does not take too long to take effect.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of anxiolytics: the drugs that fight anxiety"

Mechanism of action of this benzodiazepine

Like the other benzodiazepines, the main mechanism of action of alprazolam is based on its interaction with gamma-aminobutyric acid or GABA , one of the main inhibitory neurotransmitters of the central nervous system.

Alprazolam acts as an agonist of this neurotransmitter in the GABA A receptors, favoring its action in such a way that action potentials on the part of the neurons are difficult to realize. In other words, they make the neuronal activation of certain areas of the brain less. This action is carried out predominantly on the limbic system (very activated in anxiety) and the cerebral cortex.

  • Related article: "GABA (neurotransmitter): what it is and what role it plays in the brain"

Disorders and problems for which it is used

Alprazolam is an effective psychotropic drug that has been found multiple indications, especially in the field of anxiety. Some of the best known and usual are the following.


1. Anxiety disorders

The main indication for alprazolam is its use in anxious-type disorders. Among them we often find panic disorder (with or without agoraphobia) and generalized anxiety disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

2. Adaptive disorders

Adaptive disorders, those in which there is some type of symptomatology derived and explicable from the experience of a specific event or psychosocial stress, are also often treated with alprazolam and other benzodiazepines.

3. Depression

Although it is not a priority use, sometimes alprazolam has been used in depressive disorders, especially in those who have high anxiety or who have mixed anxious-depressive symptoms. However, this application must be evaluated and applied with great caution in patients with suicidal thoughts and severe depression , because it can get to potentiate the symptomatology.

  • You may be interested: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

4. Social phobia

One of the indications of alprazolam is found in patients who suffer from social phobia, helping to reduce the level of anxiety at the prospect of being exposed to other people.

5. Chemotherapy

Alprazolam has also manifested itself of utility in the treatment of discomfort and anxiety generated by chemotherapy in patients who must undergo it because of some type of tumor.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

Side effects of alprazolam and risks

The use of alprazolam can be very useful in the treatment of diverse symptoms, especially in relation to anxiety.However, it is a psychotropic drug that can generate different adverse effects, so its use must always be indicated and supervised by the doctor.

Among them, the presence of drowsiness and sedation, occasionally together with headache and dizziness . Concentration and attention are diminished. Nausea and vomiting, fatigue, blurred vision, hypotension, urinary incontinence, tremors, or sexual disorders may also occur. Far less common is the presence of adverse reactions such as increases in intraocular pressure, confusion, hallucinations, irritability, agitation or aggression.

Another adverse effect to take into account is that the consumption of alprazolam and other benzodiazepines can generate specific memory problems, both retrograde and antegrade. It can generate difficulties when remembering previous information , or hinder the learning of new information. It can also be found that sometimes suicidal ideations may appear. In rare cases paradoxical reactions also appear, that is, reactions contrary to those expected after the administration of the treatment (restlessness, anxiety, agitation, etc.).

In addition to these symptoms, it must be taken into account that benzodiazepines are substances with addictive potential, with the risk of acquiring dependence on them. In the case of alprazolam this risk exists, although it is less than that of short-acting benzodiazepines. It is also essential to bear in mind that the consumption of psychotropic drugs should not stop suddenly , since there is a possibility of withdrawal syndrome or even rebound anxiety.

In the same way, there is a risk of overdose, which can generate stops or cardiorespiratory insufficiencies. These overdoses, sometimes, can be treated with flumazenil.

Contraindications

The use of alprazolam is not recommended for all types of patients, but there are circumstances that can make this psychopharmaceutical contraindicated. One of them is given in patients with narrow-angle glaucoma , as well as in those subjects who suffer airway alterations or suffer from respiratory insufficiency, as it can be dangerous for them. It is also contraindicated in myasthenia.

In the same way it should not be consumed during pregnancy and lactation. Likewise neither those patients who have renal or hepatic insufficiency should consume this medicine , or the doses must be very scheduled taking into account this insufficiency.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Stevens, J.C. & Pollack, M.H. (2005). Benzodiazepines in clinical practice: consideration of their long-term use and alternative agents. J Clin Psychiatry; 66 (Suppl 2): ​​21-7.

Alprazolam (Xanax): What You Need To Know (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Alprazolam: utilisations et effets secondaires de cet anxiolytique

Alprazolam: utilisations et effets secondaires de cet anxiolytique

Novembre 5, 2022

Bon nombre de ceux qui liront cet article sauront ou ont entendu parler du médicament auquel ils se réfèrent. Et c'est alprazolam, l'un de ses noms commerciaux les plus connus est Trankimazin , est l’un des médicaments psychotropes les plus couramment utilisés dans le traitement de l’anxiété, l’un des problèmes mentaux rencontrés le plus fréquemment dans la population.

Tout au long de cet article, nous verrons, entre autres aspects, le type de substance, son mécanisme d’action et certaines de ses principales utilisations.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

L'alprazolam: type de substance et caractéristiques principales

L'alprazolam est une drogue aux propriétés psychoactives ou psychopharmaceutiques qui est classée comme anxiolytique , substances utilisées pour traiter l'anxiété et ses manifestations. Parmi les anxiolytiques, il fait partie des benzodiazépines, étant l'un des types de médicaments psychotropes les plus populaires consommés par la population (beaucoup plus sûr, efficace et avec moins d'effets secondaires que les barbituriques précédents).


Dans le cas spécifique de l'alprazolam, nous sommes confrontés une benzodiazépine à action intermédiaire , ce qui implique qu'il a besoin d'un temps plus court pour commencer à avoir un effet sur l'organisme par rapport à un organisme à action prolongée, mais en même temps que ses effets restent plus courts que ceux-ci, et inversement dans le cas où nous le comparons à un action courte

Sa durée est d'environ 12 à 24 heures. Cette durée de l’effet est avantageuse, car elle génère une probabilité plus faible de dépendance et de dépendance à la substance et moins de doses sont nécessaires pour provoquer un effet anxiolytique prolongé, en plus de rendre le médicament ne prend pas trop longtemps pour prendre effet.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types d'anxiolytiques: les médicaments qui combattent l'anxiété"

Mécanisme d'action de cette benzodiazépine

Comme les autres benzodiazépines, le mécanisme d’action principal de l’alprazolam repose sur son interaction avec l'acide gamma-aminobutyrique ou le GABA , l'un des principaux neurotransmetteurs inhibiteurs du système nerveux central.

L'alprazolam agit comme un agoniste de ce neurotransmetteur dans les récepteurs GABA A, favorisant ainsi son action de telle sorte que les potentiels d'action des neurones sont difficiles à réaliser. En d'autres termes, ils réduisent l'activation neuronale de certaines zones du cerveau. Cette action est réalisée principalement sur le système limbique (très activé dans l’anxiété) et le cortex cérébral.

  • Article connexe: "GABA (neurotransmetteur): de quoi s'agit-il et quel rôle joue-t-il dans le cerveau"

Troubles et problèmes pour lesquels il est utilisé

L’alprazolam est un médicament psychotrope efficace qui a fait l’objet de multiples indications, notamment dans le domaine de l’anxiété. Certains des plus connus et habituels sont les suivants.


1. Troubles anxieux

L'indication principale de l'alprazolam est son utilisation dans les troubles anxieux. Parmi eux, on retrouve souvent le trouble panique (avec ou sans agoraphobie) et le trouble anxieux généralisé.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

2. Troubles d'adaptation

Les troubles adaptatifs, ceux dans lesquels il existe un certain type de symptomatologie dérivée et pouvant être expliquée par l'expérience d'un événement spécifique ou d'un stress psychosocial, sont également souvent traités avec l'alprazolam et d'autres benzodiazépines.

3. dépression

Bien que ce ne soit pas une utilisation prioritaire, l'alprazolam a parfois été utilisé dans les troubles dépressifs, en particulier chez les personnes très anxieuses ou présentant à la fois des symptômes anxieux et dépressifs. Cependant, cette application doit être évaluée et appliquée avec beaucoup de prudence chez les patients ayant des idées suicidaires et une dépression sévère , car il peut arriver à potentialiser la symptomatologie.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

4. Phobie sociale

L’une des indications de l’alprazolam se trouve chez les patients souffrant de phobie sociale, ce qui contribue à réduire le niveau d’anxiété associé à la possibilité d’être exposé à d’autres personnes.

5. Chimiothérapie

Alprazolam s'est également manifesté d'utilité dans le traitement de l'inconfort et de l'anxiété générés par la chimiothérapie chez les patients qui doivent le subir en raison d'un type de tumeur.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

Effets secondaires de l'alprazolam et des risques

L'utilisation de l'alprazolam peut être très utile dans le traitement de divers symptômes, en particulier en ce qui concerne l'anxiété.Cependant, il s’agit d’un médicament psychotrope pouvant générer différents effets indésirables; son utilisation doit donc toujours être indiquée et surveillée par le médecin.

Parmi eux, la présence de somnolence et sédation, parfois accompagnées de maux de tête et de vertiges . La concentration et l'attention sont diminuées. Des nausées et des vomissements, de la fatigue, une vision floue, une hypotension, une incontinence urinaire, des tremblements ou des troubles sexuels peuvent également survenir. La présence de réactions indésirables telles que l’augmentation de la pression intraoculaire, la confusion, les hallucinations, l’irritabilité, l’agitation ou l’agression est bien moins courante.

Un autre effet indésirable à prendre en compte est que la consommation d’alprazolam et d’autres benzodiazépines peut générer des problèmes de mémoire spécifiques, rétrogrades et antérogrades. Cela peut générer des difficultés lors de la mémorisation d'informations précédentes , ou entraver l'apprentissage de nouvelles informations. On peut également constater que des idées suicidaires peuvent parfois apparaître. Dans de rares cas, des réactions paradoxales apparaissent également, à savoir des réactions contraires à celles attendues après l'administration du traitement (agitation, anxiété, agitation, etc.).

Outre ces symptômes, il faut tenir compte du fait que les benzodiazépines sont des substances pouvant entraîner une dépendance, avec le risque de devenir dépendantes d’elles. Dans le cas de l'alprazolam, ce risque existe, même s'il est inférieur à celui des benzodiazépines à courte durée d'action. Il est également essentiel de garder à l'esprit que la consommation de psychotropes ne doit pas s'arrêter brusquement , car il existe une possibilité de syndrome de sevrage ou même d’anxiété de rebond.

De la même manière, il existe un risque de surdosage pouvant entraîner des arrêts ou des insuffisances cardiorespiratoires. Ces surdoses peuvent parfois être traitées au flumazénil.

Contre-indications

L'utilisation de l'alprazolam n'est pas recommandée pour tous les types de patients, mais certaines circonstances peuvent rendre ce psychopharmaceutique contre-indiqué. L'un d'eux est donné en patients atteints de glaucome à angle fermé , ainsi que chez les sujets qui présentent une altération des voies respiratoires ou une insuffisance respiratoire, car cela peut être dangereux pour eux. Il est également contre-indiqué dans la myasthénie.

De la même manière, il ne devrait pas être consommé pendant la grossesse et l'allaitement. De même ni les patients présentant une insuffisance rénale ou hépatique ne doivent consommer ce médicament , ou les doses doivent être très planifiées compte tenu de cette insuffisance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Stevens, J.C. & Pollack, M.H. (2005). Les benzodiazépines en pratique clinique: prise en compte de leur utilisation à long terme et des agents de substitution. J Clin Psychiatry; 66 (Suppl 2): ​​21-7.

Dépression et Antidépresseurs (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes