yes, therapy helps!
Alterations of attention and its psychopathology

Alterations of attention and its psychopathology

June 11, 2024

Attention capacity it is one of the skills that most frequently becomes altered with the presence of psychopathology. Then we will see the various deviations that attention can suffer depending on some of the most common psychological disorders.

  • Related article: "The 6 levels of loss of consciousness and associated disorders"

The attention and its typologies

Although many authors have proposed different definitions of the concept of attention, one of the recent contributions (Rios, 2007) states that attention is a neurocognitive state of preparation, which precedes the perceptive capacity and action, and that formed from a network of cortical connections that are responsible for orientation, alert and executive control functions .


More specifically, the care is composed of the following elements: arousal, focal attention, sustained attention, selective attention, alternating attention (change of attention focus depending on the information that needs to be processed at each moment) and divided care (ability to attend to two types of stimulation simultaneously).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Alterations of attention and psychopathologies

In an attempt to describe the relationship between alteration of the attentional capacity and its presence in certain psychopathologies , Higueras et al. (1996) has differentiated in its classification aprosexias, hypoprosexias, pseudoprosexias, paraprosexias and hyperprosexias.


This taxonomy orders the categories understanding attention as a one-dimensional variable in which the extremes (aprosexia and hyperprosexia) correspond to a total absence and an increased capacity to focus attention and concentration, respectively. Thus, more specifically, each of them are defined as follows:

1. The Aprosexias

The total absence of attention is usually found associated with symptoms of intense agitation or in stupor , a serious alteration in the level of consciousness in which alertness is very compromised. This state can be caused by organic factors (diffuse cerebral dysfunctions, for example) or psychiatric (melancholic, catatonic and hysteria related states).

2. The Hypoprosexies

These are states of diminished attentional capacity of less intensity than aprosexia, and are divided into subgroups:


to) Distractibility : present in ADHD or the twilight state, a disorder of the narrowing of the field of consciousness.

b) Intentive emotional lability linked to anxiogenic symptoms.

c) Inhibition of attention attributed to depressive and schizophrenic states.

d) Negligence , an inability to orient after a focal-type brain accident.

and) Fatigability of attention , a state characterized by the depletion of attention (characteristic of dementia and the presence of tumors) and the apathy associated with certain personality disorders.

3. The Pseudoprosexies

They can be confused with aprosexias in a superficial way because apparently Attention capacity seems absent due to patient's pretense , although it is really preserved. It is common in states of hysteria or in the syndrome of Gánser (a type of dissociative disorder) with the aim of calling attention to relatives and relatives of the individual.

4. The Paraprosexias

is defined as an altered direction of the attentional focus , related to hypochondriacal behaviors.

5. The hyperprosexies

Its about an increased and transient attentional state present in moments of alteration of consciousness such as hyperlucidity or extreme vigilance.

Attention as a cognitive process

Derived from scientific research at the end of the last century, Reed (1988) has related some psychopathologies to the aspect of attention that in each case is more altered. Thus, the following attentional skills are distinguished.

1. Attention as concentration or sustained attention

It is defined as the maintenance of care for a long time. This ability is related to the task of fixing attention and Its most frequent alteration occurs in cases of extreme fatigue, sleep disturbance or malnutrition .

In this category can occur phenomena such as mental absence (exclusion of external information that is usually accessible, where attention is diminished for distractor stimuli or not closely related to the thought in question and there is an increase in the threshold necessary to enable attentional targeting) or the temporary gap (an absence of event registration while performing an automatic cognitive processing task, such as during the driving of a vehicle on a regular route).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Selective attention: definition and theories"

2. Attention as a selection

Consists of the ability to discriminate relevant information inhibiting other non-main stimulatory elements.That is, the ability to separate the determinant stimuli for the task in question from those secondary or irrelevant.

Given the limited nature of attentional capacity, a common phenomenon in this type of skill is the fact of "fine-tuning", which consists in following a source of information when other competing factors attract attention.

The alteration of this function is also known as "distractibility" and can appear in a wide variety of psychopathological disorders such as anxiety, manic episodes or twilight (symptoms similar to epilepsy).

3. Attention as activation or arousal

It is the state of general activation of the organism that allows to be on alert and is related to the attentional focus on when to degree or intensity. This ability is compromised in a state of high stress or anxiety , where there is a greater orientation of attention to threatening stimuli. These deviations are known as the "tunnel vision" phenomenon.

4. Care as surveillance

It is defined as the state of hypersensitivity or high receptivity to the environment, as well as a type of attention dedication in long-term tasks in which the subject must detect a low-frequency stimulus. In this type of capacity commission errors are of special relevance (detection of a stimulus when it is not present) and omission (inadequate processing of non-detection of present information).

This ability is mainly altered in schizophrenic subjects, in individuals with high scores in the trait anxiety as in the TAG, or Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Among its most frequent manifestations, general hypervigilance can be differentiated (attending to any stimulus irrelevant to the task), specific hypervigilance (selectively attending to stimuli related to threatening information), widening of attention (prior to the detection of stimulation). stressful or narrowing of attention (in the processing of a threatening stimulus, as happens in paranoid subjects).

5. Attention as expectation

The ability to anticipate is a characteristic based on previous experience that allows the subject a greater effectiveness when performing a specific task. This ability is altered, for example, in the reaction time of schizophrenic individuals.

According to the investigations of Shakow (1962), the latter have a "segmental set" that prevents them from benefiting from the preparatory time intervals in tasks that measure the reaction time. By contrast, subjects without psychopathology are characterized by having a "general set", which makes it possible to perceive the situation stimulate globally and allows the individual to respond without taking into account the irrelevant elements of the activity.

In conclusion

How can the alteration of the attentional capacity be verified? is present in a high comorbidity with psychopathology anxiogenic or schizophrenic . A cognitive enhancement of this skill can become an important component in the intervention in this type of clinical disorders.

Bibliographic references:

  • García, J. (1997). Psychology of attention. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Ríos, M., Muñoz, J. and Paúl, N. (2007). Alterations of attention after traumatic brain injury: evaluation and rehabilitation. Journal of Neurology, 44, 291-297.

Psychopaths (Crime Psychology Documentary) - Real Stories (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Altérations de l'attention et sa psychopathologie

Altérations de l'attention et sa psychopathologie

Novembre 20, 2022

Capacité d'attention c'est l'une des compétences qui se modifie le plus fréquemment avec la présence de la psychopathologie. Nous verrons ensuite les divers écarts que l’attention peut subir en fonction des troubles psychologiques les plus courants.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 niveaux de perte de conscience et les troubles associés"

L'attention et ses typologies

Bien que de nombreux auteurs aient proposé différentes définitions du concept d'attention, l'une des contributions récentes (Rios, 2007) indique que l'attention est un état de préparation neurocognitif, qui précède la capacité de perception et l'action, et formé d'un réseau de connexions corticales qui sont responsables de fonctions d'orientation, d'alerte et de contrôle exécutif .


Plus spécifiquement, les soins sont composés des éléments suivants: éveil, attention focale, attention soutenue, attention sélective, attention alternée (changement d’attention en fonction des informations à traiter à chaque instant) et soins divisés (capacité d’assistance) deux types de stimulation simultanément).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Altérations de l'attention et psychopathologies

Pour tenter de décrire la relation entre l'altération de la capacité d'attention et sa présence dans certaines psychopathologies , Higueras et al. (1996) a différencié dans sa classification les aprosexias, hypoprosexias, pseudoprosexias, paraprosexias et hyperprosexias.


Cette taxonomie ordonne les catégories comprendre l'attention comme une variable unidimensionnelle dans lequel les extrêmes (aprosexia et hyperprosexia) correspondent respectivement à une absence totale et à une capacité accrue de concentration et d’attention. Ainsi, plus spécifiquement, chacun d’eux est défini comme suit:

1. Les aprosexias

L’absence totale d’attention se retrouve généralement associé à des symptômes d'agitation intense ou de stupeur , altération grave du niveau de conscience dans laquelle la vigilance est très compromise. Cet état peut être provoqué par des facteurs organiques (dysfonctionnements cérébraux diffus, par exemple) ou psychiatriques (états mélancoliques, catatoniques et liés à l'hystérie).

2. Les hypoprosexies

Ce sont des états de capacité d'attention diminuée d'intensité inférieure à celle de l'aprosexie, et sont divisés en sous-groupes:


a) Distractibilité : présent dans le TDAH ou l’état crépusculaire, un trouble du rétrécissement du champ de la conscience.

b) Labilité émotionnelle intensive liée à des symptômes anxiogènes.

c) Inhibition de l'attention attribué aux états dépressifs et schizophréniques.

d) Négligence , une incapacité à s'orienter après un accident cérébral de type focal.

e) Fatigabilité de l'attention , état caractérisé par la diminution de l’attention (caractéristique de la démence et de la présence de tumeurs) et par l’apathie associée à certains troubles de la personnalité.

3. Les pseudoprosexies

Ils peuvent être confondus avec les aprosexias de manière superficielle, car apparemment Capacité d'attention semble absent en raison de la prétention du patient , bien qu'il soit vraiment préservé. Il est courant dans les états d'hystérie ou dans le syndrome de Gánser (un type de trouble dissociatif) dans le but d'attirer l'attention sur la famille et les proches de l'individu.

4. Les paraprosexias

Il est défini comme une modification de l'orientation de l'attention , liée aux comportements hypocondriaques.

5. Les hyperprosexies

Ils consistent en un état d'attention accru et transitoire présent dans les moments d’altération de la conscience tels que l’hyperlucidité ou la vigilance extrême.

L'attention en tant que processus cognitif

Dérivé de recherches scientifiques de la fin du siècle dernier, Reed (1988) a associé certaines psychopathologies à un aspect de l’attention qui, dans chaque cas, est plus altéré. Ainsi, les compétences attentionnelles suivantes sont distinguées.

1. Attention en tant que concentration ou attention soutenue

Il est défini comme le maintien des soins pendant une longue période. Cette capacité est liée à la tâche de fixer l'attention et Sa modification la plus fréquente se produit en cas de fatigue extrême, de troubles du sommeil ou de malnutrition. .

Dans cette catégorie peuvent se produire des phénomènes tels que l’absence mentale (exclusion d’informations externes généralement accessibles, où l’attention est diminuée pour les stimuli de distracteur ou n’est pas étroitement liée à la pensée en question et où le seuil nécessaire pour augmenter ciblage attentionnel) ou l'écart temporaire (absence d'enregistrement d'un événement lors d'une tâche de traitement cognitif automatique, comme lors de la conduite d'un véhicule sur un itinéraire normal).

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Attention sélective: définition et théories"

2. Attention en sélection

Consiste en la capacité de discriminer les informations pertinentes inhiber d'autres éléments de stimulation non principaux.C'est-à-dire la capacité de séparer les stimuli déterminants pour la tâche en question de ceux secondaires ou non pertinents.

Compte tenu de la nature limitée de la capacité d’attention, un phénomène courant dans ce type de compétence est le fait de la "mise au point", qui consiste à suivre une source d’information lorsque d’autres facteurs concurrents attirent l’attention.

L'altération de cette fonction est aussi appelée "distractibilité" et peut apparaître dans une grande variété de troubles psychopathologiques tels que l’anxiété, les épisodes maniaques ou le crépuscule (symptômes similaires à l’épilepsie).

3. Attention en tant qu'activation ou excitation

C’est l’état d’activation générale de l’organisme qui permet d’être en alerte et qui est lié à la concentration de l’attention sur le moment ou le degré ou l’intensité. Cette capacité est compromis dans un état de stress élevé ou d'anxiété , où l’attention est davantage axée sur les stimuli menaçants. Ces déviations sont connues sous le nom de phénomène de "vision tunnel".

4. Soins en tant que surveillance

Il se définit comme l’hypersensibilité ou la forte réceptivité à l’environnement, ainsi que comme un type de dévouement de l’attention dans les tâches à long terme dans lesquelles le sujet doit détecter un stimulus basse fréquence. Dans ce type de capacité les erreurs de commission sont particulièrement importantes (détection d'un stimulus lorsqu'il n'est pas présent) et omission (traitement inadéquat de la non-détection des informations présentes).

Cette capacité est principalement altérée chez les sujets schizophrènes, chez les individus ayant des scores élevés dans le trait anxiété comme dans le TAG, ou Trouble Anxieux Généralisé. Parmi ses manifestations les plus fréquentes, l'hypervigilance générale peut être différenciée (traitement de tout stimulus non lié à la tâche), hypervigilance spécifique (traitement sélectif de stimuli liés à une information menaçante), élargissement de l'attention (avant la détection de la stimulation). attention ou diminution de l'attention (dans le traitement d'un stimulus menaçant, comme chez les sujets paranoïaques).

5. Attention comme prévu

La capacité à anticiper est une caractéristique basée sur l'expérience précédente cela permet au sujet une plus grande efficacité lors de l'exécution d'une tâche spécifique. Cette capacité est modifiée, par exemple, dans le temps de réaction des schizophrènes.

Selon les enquêtes de Shakow (1962), ces derniers disposent d'un "ensemble segmentaire" qui les empêche de bénéficier des intervalles de temps préparatoires pour les tâches qui mesurent le temps de réaction. En revanche, les sujets non psychopathologiques se caractérisent par un "ensemble général" qui permet de percevoir la situation comme une stimulation globale et permet à l'individu de répondre sans prendre en compte les éléments non pertinents de l'activité.

En guise de conclusion

Comment vérifier l'altération de la capacité d'attention? est présent dans une comorbidité élevée avec la psychopathologie anxiogène ou schizophrénique . Une amélioration cognitive de cette compétence peut devenir un élément important de l’intervention dans ce type de troubles cliniques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • García, J. (1997). Psychologie de l'attention. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Ríos, M., Muñoz, J. et Paúl, N. (2007). Altérations d'attention après une lésion cérébrale traumatique: évaluation et rééducation. Journal of Neurology, 44, 291-297.
Articles Connexes