yes, therapy helps!
Amnesic or anomic aphasia: symptoms, causes and treatment

Amnesic or anomic aphasia: symptoms, causes and treatment

April 3, 2024

Human language is the result of the interaction of a series of brain activities aimed at collecting, integrating and elaborating messages that the medium sends to the person. When this interaction is altered due to brain damage, language disorders such as aphasias arise.

The problem with aphasia is that the speech emission, understanding and denomination are severely affected. In the last case, the naming of objects, aphasia is referred to as amnesic or anomic aphasia , which causes the person to encounter extreme difficulties when it comes to naming objects.

  • Related article: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

What is amnesic aphasia?

Although problems in the ability to name objects or people are common in many aphasic disorders, the main characteristic that differentiates amnesic or anomic aphasia from the rest is that in this the anomie must appear relatively isolated .


To clarify this concept a little more, anomie consists in the difficulty of remembering the name of objects, people, elements ... being the person practically incapable of calling things by their name.

In anomic aphasia the person is perfectly capable of understanding what is asked of him, and is even able to correctly point out that object for which he can not find the word. However, trying to name it is impossible .

When this alteration is very pronounced, the person's speech becomes a discourse based on circumlocutions, that is, he needs to use more words and expressions than usual to express a single concept, or he uses words from the same semantic field.


Other particularities to categorize an aphasia as amnesic are:

  • Use of generalizations
  • Preserved repetition
  • Writing and reading comprehension relatively preserved
  • Speak fluently and verbal comprehension intact

Causes of amnesic aphasia

Since the recovery of names in memory is a complicated process that works in association with other intellectual and cognitive gears, it is difficult to locate the cause of aphasia at a specific point in the human brain.

However, in aphasias very pronounced amnesias the lesions in different concrete areas of the brain have as a consequence this type of anomic problems. These sectors are located in the angular region, specifically in the multimodal association cortex of the parieto-temporoccipital area; or in the posterior region of the third temporal gyrus of the predominant hemisphere .


Other scenarios in which amnesic aphasia can be observed are those caused by:

  • Brain tumors
  • Apoplexy
  • Dementia

Symptomatology

Usually, the initial symptoms begin to manifest themselves in the early stage of aphasia, during which the person begins to experience problems to designate any object, person, animal, feeling , etc., reaching to develop a total incompetence.

Some of the consequences associated with these symptoms are fainting, headaches and seizures; and problems in the workplace, domestic and academic.

This symptomatology is not usually reestablished in a natural way, only in the case that aphasia is caused by transient ischemic attack (TIA). Thus it is necessary that the person goes to a rehabilitation so that the symptoms are not installed permanently.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Differences between anomic aphasia and semantic aphasia

Although the classification of aphasias is usually represented as independent, in clinical practice this type of aphasia usually occurs along with semantic aphasia.

Unlike the anomic, semantic aphasia takes the form of a deficit for the understanding of logical-grammatical structures . In this aphasia the person is unable to understand the full meaning of a sentence and the relationship exists between the parts that form it.

At the level of oral or conversational language the skills remain relatively preserved , being very common the tendency to forget words, hence the relationship between these types of aphasias.

  • You may be interested: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Tests and diagnosis

There are a series of evaluation and diagnosis batteries indicated to evaluate the language in all its aspects. Being especially useful at the time of making a first screening.

One of the best known tests is the Boston Test , among whose objectives are:

  • Evaluation of the capabilities of the person in each of the areas of language with the intention of developing a specific action plan.
  • Specification and diagnosis of a clinical picture , thus specifying the place of the injury.
  • Evaluation of the degree of deficit of the patient.

In addition, there is a series of specific tests that only examine some specific aspect of the language, and that can be useful for developing a plan of action tailored to the needs of the person.

Some of these tests are:

  • Totem test for the evaluation of oral comprehension
  • Pizzamilio test for the evaluation of syntactic comprehension
  • Boston vocabulary test that specifically studies the denomination
  • Audrey Holland test to gauge communication skills in daily life
  • CADL test for the specific assessment of communication skills beyond the specific alterations of speech.

Intervention and treatment

After the diagnosis, it is essential to develop an intervention or rehabilitation program that allows the patient to function in their daily life as easily as possible.

Since anomic aphasia is usually accompanied by symptoms typical of other aphasias, rehabilitation exercises must be accompanied or supplemented with other interventions. In this way the patient manages to improve his access to the lexicon, improve the designation of objects, increase your fluency in speech and, consequently, increase your resources for interaction with other people in your daily life

Therefore, there are a series of objectives to be met during the treatment of amnesic aphasia:

  • Provide skills for language improvement
  • Relearn everyday language
  • Provide psychological support to the patient

Instruct the patient's relatives to communicate with him effectively


Three Tips for Memory Loss (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aphasie amnésique ou anomique: symptômes, causes et traitement

Aphasie amnésique ou anomique: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 28, 2022

Le langage humain est le résultat de l’interaction d’une série de activités cérébrales visant à recueillir, intégrer et élaborer des messages que le médium envoie à la personne. Lorsque cette interaction est modifiée en raison de lésions cérébrales, des troubles du langage tels que des aphasies apparaissent.

Le problème avec l'aphasie est que l'émission, la compréhension et la dénomination de la parole sont gravement affectées. Dans le dernier cas, la dénomination des objets, l'aphasie est appelée aphasie amnésique ou anomique , ce qui amène la personne à faire face à des difficultés extrêmes pour nommer des objets.

  • Article connexe: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

Qu'est-ce que l'aphasie amnésique?

Bien que de nombreux troubles aphasiques posent souvent des problèmes de capacité à nommer des objets ou des personnes, la principale caractéristique qui différencie l'aphasie amnésique ou anomique du reste l'anomie doit paraître relativement isolée .


Pour clarifier un peu plus ce concept, l'anomie consiste en la difficulté de se souvenir du nom des objets, des personnes, des éléments ... étant la personne pratiquement incapable d'appeler les choses par leur nom.

Dans l'aphasie anomique, la personne est parfaitement capable de comprendre ce qu'on lui demande, et est même capable de signaler correctement l'objet pour lequel elle ne trouve pas le mot. Cependant, essayer de le nommer est impossible .

Lorsque cette altération est très prononcée, le discours de la personne devient un discours basé sur des circonlocutions, c'est-à-dire qu'il doit utiliser plus de mots et d'expressions que d'habitude pour exprimer un concept unique ou utiliser des mots du même champ sémantique.


Les autres particularités permettant de qualifier une aphasie d'amnésique sont les suivantes:

  • Utilisation de généralisations
  • Répétition préservée
  • Compréhension écrite et écrite relativement préservée
  • Parler couramment et compréhension orale intacte

Causes de l'aphasie amnésique

Comme la récupération de noms en mémoire est un processus complexe qui fonctionne en association avec d’autres engrenages intellectuels et cognitifs, il est difficile de localiser la cause de l’aphasie à un point spécifique du cerveau humain.

Cependant, dans les aphasies les amnésies très prononcées, les lésions dans différentes zones concrètes du cerveau ont pour conséquence ce type de problèmes anomiques. Ces secteurs sont situés dans la région angulaire, en particulier dans le cortex d'association multimodale de la région pariétotemporocipitale; ou dans la région postérieure du troisième gyrus temporal de l'hémisphère prédominant .


D'autres scénarios dans lesquels l'aphasie amnésique peut être observée sont ceux causés par:

  • Tumeurs cérébrales
  • AVC
  • Démence

Symptomatologie

Habituellement, les premiers symptômes commencent à se manifester au début de l'aphasie, au cours de laquelle la personne commence à éprouver problèmes pour désigner un objet, une personne, un animal, un sentiment , etc., atteignant pour développer une incompétence totale.

Certaines des conséquences associées à ces symptômes sont des évanouissements, des maux de tête et des convulsions; et des problèmes sur le lieu de travail, domestiques et universitaires.

Cette symptomatologie n'est généralement pas rétablie de manière naturelle, mais seulement dans le cas où l'aphasie est provoquée par une attaque ischémique transitoire (AIT). Donc il faut que la personne aille en rééducation afin que les symptômes ne sont pas installés en permanence.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Différences entre l'aphasie anomique et l'aphasie sémantique

Bien que la classification des aphasies soit généralement présentée comme indépendante, en pratique clinique, ce type d’aphasie se produit généralement en même temps que l’aphasie sémantique.

Contrairement à l'anomique, l'aphasie sémantique prend la forme d'un déficit pour le compréhension des structures logico-grammaticales . Dans cette aphasie, la personne est incapable de comprendre le sens complet d'une phrase et la relation existe entre les parties qui la composent.

Au niveau du langage oral ou conversationnel les compétences restent relativement préservées , étant très fréquente la tendance à oublier les mots, d’où la relation entre ces types d’aphasies.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Tests et diagnostic

Une série de batteries d'évaluation et de diagnostic est indiquée pour évaluer la langue sous tous ses aspects. Être particulièrement utile au moment de faire une première projection.

L’un des tests les plus connus est le Boston Test , dont les objectifs sont:

  • Évaluation des capacités de la personne dans chacun des domaines de la langue dans le but de développer un plan d'action spécifique.
  • Spécification et diagnostic d'un tableau clinique , précisant ainsi le lieu de la blessure.
  • Évaluation du degré de déficit du patient.

En outre, il existe une série de tests spécifiques qui n’examinent que certains aspects du langage et qui peuvent être utiles pour élaborer un plan d’action adapté aux besoins de la personne.

Certains de ces tests sont:

  • Test de totem pour l'évaluation de la compréhension orale
  • Test Pizzamilio pour l'évaluation de la compréhension syntaxique
  • Test de vocabulaire de Boston qui étudie spécifiquement la dénomination
  • Audrey Holland teste les compétences en communication dans la vie quotidienne
  • Test CADL pour l'évaluation spécifique des compétences en communication au-delà des altérations spécifiques de la parole.

Intervention et traitement

Après le diagnostic, il est essentiel de développer un programme d’intervention ou de réadaptation permettant au patient de fonctionner aussi facilement que possible dans la vie quotidienne.

Étant donné que l'aphasie anomique est généralement accompagnée de symptômes typiques d'autres aphasies, les exercices de rééducation doivent être accompagnés ou complétés par d'autres interventions. De cette façon, le patient parvient à améliorer son accès au lexique, améliorer la désignation des objets, augmenter votre maîtrise de la parole et, par conséquent, augmenter vos ressources pour interagir avec d'autres personnes dans votre vie quotidienne

Par conséquent, une série d'objectifs doivent être atteints lors du traitement de l'aphasie amnésique:

  • Fournir des compétences pour améliorer la langue
  • Réapprendre le langage de tous les jours
  • Fournir un soutien psychologique au patient

Demandez aux membres de la famille du patient de communiquer efficacement avec lui


Aphasie globale (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes