yes, therapy helps!
An investigation concludes that intelligence is essentially social

An investigation concludes that intelligence is essentially social

September 4, 2022

Research on brain injuries and the abilities of American war veterans of the Vietnam War who had suffered contusions or gunshot wounds to the skull has thrown new and revealing facts about the nature of human intelligence .

The intelligence and the social

A study from the University of Illinois has found that certain brain areas that participate in human social activity are also fundamental to general and emotional intelligence.

This discovery strengthens the idea that the intelligence emerges from the social and emotional context of the person .


"We try to understand the nature of intelligence and to what extent our intellectual capacity is based on the cognitive skills we use to relate socially," he says. Aron Barbey , professor of neurosciences and one of the scientists who led the research.

Intellect and social context

Academic literature in social psychology explains that human intellectual abilities emerge from the everyday social context, according to Barbey.

"We need a prior stage in our development of interpersonal relationships: those who love us care and are interested in us, if this does not happen, we would be much more vulnerable, we would be defenseless." Subject-society interdependence continues in the adulthood and remains transcendental throughout life.


"Close people, friends and family, alert us when we may be making a mistake and sometimes they help us if we commit them," he says. "The ability to establish and maintain interpersonal relationships, essential to relate to the immediate context is not a specific cognitive ability that stems from the intellectual function, but the relationship is reversed. Intelligence can arise from the basic role of social relationships in human life, and consequently they are closely linked to emotional capacity and social skills. "

How the investigation was done

The study analyzed a total of 144 American war veterans with cranial injuries caused by shrapnel or bullets. Each lesion had its characteristics and affected different brain tissues, but due to the nature of the lesions that were analyzed, the adjacent tissues were unharmed.


The injured areas were mapped by the use of tomography, to then regroup the data to offer a comparative brain map.

The scientists used different tests and carefully designed tests to assess the intellectual, emotional and social skills of the veterans. Then they looked for patterns that linked injuries in certain brain areas with deficits in the ability of subjects to develop in the intellectual, emotional or social.

Questions about social problems were based on the resolution of conflicts with people close to them.

As previously reported in previous research on intelligence and emotional intelligence, scientists found that the areas of the frontal cortex (the frontal part of the brain), the parietal cortex (upper part of the skull), and the temporal lobes (the lateral part of the brain) , behind the ears) participate in the resolution of everyday social conflicts.

The brain regions that assisted social behavior in the parietal and temporal lobes are located in the left cerebral hemisphere. On the other hand, the left frontal lobe and the right one also participated in social functioning.

Overlap

Neural connections that are considered fundamental for interpersonal skills were not identical to those that favor general and emotional intelligence, but the degree of overlap was significant.

"The results suggest that there is an integrated information processing architecture, that social skills are based on mechanisms dedicated to general and emotional intelligence," says Barbey.

"These conclusions are consistent with the idea that intelligence is largely based on emotional and social skills , and we should understand intelligence as a product of cognitive integration, instead of discriminating between cognition and emotions and the process of social transformation. These are conclusions that fit with the social nature of the human being: our life takes place while we try to understand others and solve certain social conflicts. Our research suggests that the architecture of intelligence in the brain can have a large social component. "

In another 2013 study, Barbey arrived at similar results. On that occasion he stressed that general intelligence had a strong link with emotional intelligence, analyzing both with IQ tests and damaged brain areas.

Also, in 2012, Barbey mapped for the first time the distribution of tasks related to intelligence in the brain.

Bibliographic references:

  • A. K. Barbey, R. Colom, E. J. Paul, A. Chau, J. Solomon, J. H. Grafman: Lesion mapping of social problem solving. Brain (2014). DOI: 10.1093 / brain / awu207.
  • Original study: //brain.oxfordjournals.org/content/early/2014 ...

The Spider's Web: Britain's Second Empire (Documentary) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une enquête conclut que l'intelligence est essentiellement sociale

Une enquête conclut que l'intelligence est essentiellement sociale

Décembre 9, 2021

Des recherches sur les lésions cérébrales et les capacités d'anciens combattants américains de la guerre du Vietnam qui avaient subi des contusions ou des blessures par balle au crâne ont été lancées faits nouveaux et révélateurs sur la nature de l'intelligence humaine .

L'intelligence et le social

Une étude de l'Université de l'Illinois a montré que certaines zones du cerveau participant à l'activité sociale de l'homme sont également fondamentales pour l'intelligence générale et émotionnelle.

Cette découverte renforce l’idée que l'intelligence émerge du contexte social et émotionnel de la personne .


"Nous essayons de comprendre la nature de l'intelligence et dans quelle mesure notre capacité intellectuelle repose sur les compétences cognitives que nous utilisons pour établir des relations sociales", a-t-il déclaré. Aron Barbey , professeur de neurosciences et l’un des scientifiques qui ont dirigé les recherches.

Intellect et contexte social

La littérature académique en psychologie sociale explique que les capacités intellectuelles humaines émergent du contexte social quotidien, selon Barbey.

"Nous avons besoin d'une phase préalable dans le développement de nos relations interpersonnelles: ceux qui nous aiment se soucient de nous et s'intéressent à nous. Si cela ne se produit pas, nous serions beaucoup plus vulnérables, nous serions sans défense." l'âge adulte et reste transcendant tout au long de la vie.


"Les proches, les amis et la famille nous avertissent lorsque nous commettons une erreur et parfois ils nous aident si nous les commettons", dit-il. "La capacité à établir et à entretenir des relations interpersonnelles, indispensables pour comprendre le contexte immédiat, n’est pas une capacité cognitive spécifique découlant de la fonction intellectuelle, mais la relation est inversée. L'intelligence peut découler du rôle fondamental des relations sociales dans la vie humaine et, par conséquent, elles sont étroitement liées à la capacité émotionnelle et aux compétences sociales. "

Comment l'enquête a été faite

L’étude a analysé un total de 144 anciens combattants américains avec des blessures crâniennes causées par des éclats d'obus ou des balles. Chaque lésion avait ses caractéristiques et affectait différents tissus cérébraux, mais en raison de la nature des lésions analysées, les tissus adjacents étaient indemnes.


Les zones lésées ont été cartographiées à l'aide de la tomographie, pour ensuite regrouper les données afin de proposer une carte cérébrale comparative.

Les scientifiques ont utilisé différents tests et des tests soigneusement conçus pour évaluer les compétences intellectuelles, émotionnelles et sociales des anciens combattants. Ensuite, ils ont recherché des schémas établissant un lien entre les blessures dans certaines zones du cerveau et les déficits dans la capacité des sujets à se développer sur les plans intellectuel, émotionnel ou social.

Les questions relatives aux problèmes sociaux reposaient sur la résolution des conflits avec leurs proches.

Comme indiqué précédemment dans des recherches antérieures sur l'intelligence et l'intelligence émotionnelle, les scientifiques ont découvert que les zones du cortex frontal (partie avant du cerveau), du cortex pariétal (partie supérieure du crâne) et des lobes temporaux (partie latérale du cerveau) , derrière les oreilles) participent à la résolution des conflits sociaux quotidiens.

Les régions du cerveau qui ont favorisé le comportement social dans les lobes pariétal et temporal sont situées dans l'hémisphère cérébral gauche. En revanche, le lobe frontal gauche et le lobe droit participent également au fonctionnement social.

Chevauchement

Les connexions neuronales considérées comme fondamentales pour les compétences interpersonnelles n'étaient pas identiques à celles qui favorisent l'intelligence générale et émotionnelle, mais le degré de chevauchement était significatif.

"Les résultats suggèrent qu'il existe une architecture de traitement de l'information intégrée, que les compétences sociales reposent sur des mécanismes dédiés à l'intelligence générale et émotionnelle", a déclaré Barbey.

"Ces conclusions vont dans le sens de l'idée que l'intelligence est largement basée sur les compétences émotionnelles et sociales et nous devrions comprendre l’intelligence comme un produit de l’intégration cognitive, au lieu de faire la distinction entre la cognition et les émotions et le processus de transformation sociale. Ce sont des conclusions qui correspondent à la nature sociale de l'être humain: notre vie se déroule pendant que nous essayons de comprendre les autres et de résoudre certains conflits sociaux. Nos recherches suggèrent que l'architecture de l'intelligence dans le cerveau peut avoir une composante sociale importante. "

Dans une autre étude de 2013, Barbey est arrivée à des résultats similaires. A cette occasion, il a souligné que l'intelligence générale était étroitement liée à l'intelligence émotionnelle, analysant à la fois avec des tests de QI et des zones du cerveau endommagées.

En 2012, Barbey a également cartographié pour la première fois la répartition des tâches liées à l'intelligence dans le cerveau.

Références bibliographiques:

  • A. K. Barbey, R. Colom, E. J. Paul, A. Chau, J. Solomon, J. H. Grafman: Cartographie des lésions de la résolution de problèmes sociaux. Cerveau (2014). DOI: 10.1093 / brain / awu207.
  • Étude originale: //brain.oxfordjournals.org/content/early/2014 ...

VP#3 | LES MEDIAS CONTRE LA DEMOCRATIE (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes