yes, therapy helps!
Anamnesis: definition and 8 basic clinical aspects

Anamnesis: definition and 8 basic clinical aspects

August 3, 2022

Exercising as a psychologist requires the presence of a consistent body of knowledge , both with respect to the normal functioning of the human mind and of non-typical or even pathological processes.

It also requires knowing and knowing how and in which cases to apply the different techniques and procedures available. However, the presence of knowledge is not the only essential to exercise as a good professional, requiring observation skills, empathy and initiative, among other characteristics. All this is necessary in order to offer a good service to the client or patient, being the improvement of this and the problems and demands that may present the main objective of the professional. Knowing why you have decided to go to consultation, the story behind the problem you may have and what you expect from the interaction with the psychologist is fundamental.


To this end the psychologist must be able to gather all the data he may need to start working on the case , that is, to make the anamnesis.

Defining anamnesis

Anamnesis is the process by which the professional obtains information from the patient's patient through a dialogue in which the professional has to obtain the basic information of the patient's disorder or problem, their life habits and the presence of a family history. to be able to establish a diagnosis of the problem to be treated or to work.

It is the first stage of the diagnostic process, essential for the psychologist to be able to understand the life situation of the individual, their problem and how it affects or is affected by events and personal history.


The subsequent development of the anamnesis allows the professional to detect symptoms and signs , observing not only what is said but what is avoided to mention, the reticence or facility to express oneself and elaborate certain themes. It is not about observing only what is said, but also how it expresses itself and the non-verbal communication it makes.

In general, the anamnesis is done to the subject to be treated or the final user, but it is also advisable to ask it to relatives, relatives or even teachers, as in the case of different childhood pathologies.

The anamnesis is not confined solely to the field of clinical psychology, but it is also used to diagnose problems in other branches of psychology (it can be extrapolated to the level of educational psychology, for example) and in other disciplines such as medicine. However, the use of this term is usually applied especially in the clinical setting.


Main elements to take into account in a medical history

The dialogue established during the anamnesis has to gather diverse information , being fundamental that they appear reflected in her certain fundamental aspects, concretely the following ones.

1. Identification

This is the basic information of the person, such as name, sex, age or address . It is also essential to establish a communication mechanism, such as a contact number.

2. Reason for consultation

Although it may be obvious, the reason why the subject comes to consultation , which produces a problem or the demand you want to make is one of the main information to obtain in the anamnesis.

3. History of the current problem

The reason for consultation is a primordial knowledge , but to fully understand the situation the psychologist or professional who performs the anamnesis needs to know how and when it has appeared in the patient's life, in what situation or situations it appears, what causes the subject that caused it, what symptoms it suffers and which they seem more relevant to you.

4. Affectation in the habitual life

The problems presented by the subjects have an effect on their daily lives , generally producing a decrease in their quality of life in areas such as social, work or family relationships. Knowing this information can help to direct the type of strategies to be used, directing the therapeutic objectives both to the resolution of the problem itself and to the effects of these on daily life.

5. Psychosocial history

The life history of the individual who comes to consultation is usually closely linked to the appearance of certain phenomena and problematic. The type of education received, the process of socialization of the subject, the events that have marked or shaped his personality and the elements that the individual himself associates with the start or maintenance of a problem can be very useful.

6. Personal history

Sometimes people who come to consultation do so because of problems arising from phenomena , previous events or diseases or whose effects have produced a change in one's life.In this sense, it is useful to know the existence of previous problems.

7. Family background and family situation

Know the presence or absence of a family history of a problem or how the family is structured can allow to refine the diagnosis and focus on some intervention strategies or others. It may be relevant in order to observe risk factors, effects or causes of certain problems.

8. Expectations regarding the results of the intervention

This section is relevant in the sense of making explicit what the patient expects to happen , the presence of motivation to follow a treatment and that considers that it may or may not achieve with professional help. Regardless of knowing their expectations regarding the operation of the therapy and its results, it also allows to see the user's vision regarding their own future and the existence of cognitive biases that undervalue or overestimate what the treatment can achieve (they can have expectations unrealistic or provoke a self-fulfilling prophecy), being able to work on the therapy itself these issues.

Considerations

The realization of the anamnesis is, as we have mentioned, of great importance for the exercise of the profession. But nevertheless, this can not be done without taking into account a series of considerations .

Assessment of the extent and completeness of the anamnesis

It may be tempting to consider the idea of ​​obtaining the maximum possible information from the patient from the beginning in order to establish a firm strategy to follow from it. However, although it is evident that the acquisition of information regarding the case is essential.

A too exhaustive anamnesis can be extremely aversive for the patient , this may feel uncomfortable and reduce the issuance of information and even abandon the search for help. We must not forget that this is a first step in the diagnostic process, requiring the establishment of a good therapeutic relationship in order to maximize the acquisition of information. The data collected in the anamnesis should be sufficient to get an idea of ​​the patient's situation, their problem and their vital state, but this collection should not be done as an interrogation.

In certain cases it may also be necessary to abbreviate or even postpone its implementation, as in the case of patients with suicidal ideation.

Modifiability of the information received

It must also be considered that the information obtained during the anamnesis does not have to be unmodifiable . The patient may not know exactly what is happening to him, need more time to reflect on how it affects his life or even need to feel more comfortable with the therapist to trust him with certain information.

Respecting ethical limits

The collection of data and information by the professional is a fundamental and essential point of the therapeutic process. But nevertheless, the anamnesis or collection of information can not be done indiscriminately .

It must be taken into account that the patient must have the right to preserve privacy, trying to circumscribe the phenomenon causing discomfort or the reason for consultation or, failing that, to aspects of the patient's life that are considered to affect the patient and the patient. compliance with therapy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Borreli, C.F. & Boschi, F.J.M. (1994). Clinical interview In: Martín ZA, Cano JF, eds. Primary care: concepts, organization and clinical practice. 3 ed. Barcelona: Doyma: 158-69.
  • Rodríguez, G.P.L .; Rodríguez, P.L.R. and Puente, M.J.A. (1998). Practical method to prepare the clinical history. Rev Electrón Innov Tecnol, Las Tunas; 4 (2). 6
  • Rodríguez, P.L. and Rodríguez, L.R. (1999). Technical principles to perform the anamnesis in the adult patient. Rev. Cubana. Med. Gen. Integr .; 15 (4); 409-14

Gait Cycle & Gait Analysis (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anamnèse: définition et 8 aspects cliniques de base

Anamnèse: définition et 8 aspects cliniques de base

Décembre 9, 2021

Exercer en tant que psychologue nécessite la présence d'un corpus de connaissances cohérent , à la fois vis-à-vis du fonctionnement normal de l’esprit humain et de processus non typiques, voire pathologiques.

Cela nécessite également de savoir et de savoir comment et dans quels cas appliquer les différentes techniques et procédures disponibles. Cependant, la présence de connaissances n'est pas le seul élément essentiel à exercer en tant que bon professionnel, ce qui nécessite, entre autres, des compétences d'observation, de l'empathie et de l'initiative. Tout cela est nécessaire pour pouvoir offrir un bon service au client ou au patient, c'est-à-dire son amélioration, ainsi que les problèmes et les demandes qui peuvent représenter le principal objectif du professionnel. Savoir pourquoi vous avez décidé d'aller en consultation, l'histoire du problème que vous pourriez avoir et ce que vous attendez de l'interaction avec le psychologue est fondamentale.


À cette fin le psychologue doit pouvoir rassembler toutes les données dont il pourrait avoir besoin pour commencer à travailler sur le cas c'est-à-dire faire l'anamnèse.

Définir l'anamnèse

L'anamnèse est le processus par lequel le professionnel obtient des informations du patient grâce à un dialogue dans lequel il doit obtenir les informations de base sur le trouble ou le problème du patient, leurs habitudes de vie et la présence d'antécédents familiaux. pouvoir établir un diagnostic du problème à traiter ou à travailler.

Il s'agit de la première étape du processus de diagnostic, indispensable pour que le psychologue puisse comprendre la situation de la personne, son problème et la manière dont il affecte ou est affecté par les événements et l'histoire personnelle.


Le développement ultérieur de l’anamnèse permet au professionnel de détecter les symptômes et les signes , en observant non seulement ce qui est dit, mais aussi ce qu’on évite de mentionner, la réticence ou la facilité à s’exprimer et à élaborer certains thèmes. Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'observer ce qui est dit, mais aussi comment cela s'exprime et la communication non verbale qu'il crée.

En général, l'anamnèse est faite au sujet à traiter ou à l'utilisateur final, mais il est également conseillé de le demander à des proches, des parents ou même des enseignants, comme dans le cas de différentes pathologies de l'enfance.

L'anamnèse ne se limite pas au domaine de la psychologie clinique, elle sert également à diagnostiquer des problèmes dans d'autres branches de la psychologie (on peut l'extrapoler au niveau de la psychologie de l'éducation, par exemple) et dans d'autres disciplines telles que la médecine. Cependant, l’utilisation de ce terme s’applique généralement en clinique.


Principaux éléments à prendre en compte dans une histoire médicale

Le dialogue établi lors de l’anamnèse doit permettre de recueillir diverses informations , étant fondamentaux, ils apparaissent reflétés dans certains aspects fondamentaux, concrètement les suivants.

1. identification

Ce sont les informations de base de la personne, telles que le nom, le sexe, l'âge ou l'adresse . Il est également essentiel d'établir un mécanisme de communication, tel qu'un numéro de contact.

2. Raison de la consultation

Bien que cela puisse être évident, la raison pour laquelle le sujet vient à la consultation , qui produit un problème ou la demande que vous voulez faire est l’une des informations principales à obtenir dans l’anamnèse.

3. Histoire du problème actuel

La raison de la consultation est une connaissance primordiale , mais pour bien comprendre la situation, le psychologue ou le professionnel qui effectue l’anamnèse a besoin de savoir comment et quand elle est apparue dans la vie du patient, dans quelle situation ou quelles situations elle apparaît, quelle est la cause du sujet qui l’a provoquée, quels symptômes il ressent ils semblent plus pertinents pour vous.

4. Affectation à la vie habituelle

Les problèmes présentés par les sujets ont un effet sur leur vie quotidienne , entraînant généralement une dégradation de leur qualité de vie dans des domaines tels que les relations sociales, professionnelles ou familiales. Connaître cette information peut aider à orienter le type de stratégies à utiliser, en orientant les objectifs thérapeutiques à la fois vers la résolution du problème lui-même et vers ses effets sur la vie quotidienne.

5. Antécédents psychosociaux

L’histoire de la vie de l’individu qui vient en consultation est généralement étroitement liée à l’apparition de certains phénomènes et problématique. Le type d’éducation reçue, le processus de socialisation du sujet, les événements qui ont marqué ou façonné sa personnalité et les éléments que l’individu associe lui-même au début ou au maintien d’un problème peuvent être très utiles.

6. Histoire personnelle

Parfois, les personnes qui consultent le font à cause de problèmes résultant de phénomènes , des événements antérieurs ou des maladies ou dont les effets ont produit un changement dans la vie.En ce sens, il est utile de connaître l’existence de problèmes antérieurs.

7. Antécédents familiaux et situation familiale

Connaître la présence ou l'absence d'antécédents familiaux d'un problème ou la structure de la famille peut permettre d'affiner le diagnostic et de se concentrer sur certaines stratégies d'intervention ou autres. Cela peut être utile pour observer les facteurs de risque, les effets ou les causes de certains problèmes.

8. Attentes concernant les résultats de l'intervention

Cette section est pertinente dans le sens de rendre explicite ce que le patient attend de se produire , la présence de la motivation pour suivre un traitement et qui considère que cela peut ou non être réalisé avec l'aide d'un professionnel. Indépendamment de connaître leurs attentes concernant le fonctionnement de la thérapie et ses résultats, il permet également de voir la vision de l’utilisateur concernant son propre avenir et l’existence de biais cognitifs qui sous-estiment ou surestiment les objectifs du traitement (ils peuvent avoir des attentes). irréaliste ou provoquer une prophétie auto-réalisatrice), être capable de travailler sur la thérapie elle-même sur ces questions.

Considérations

La réalisation de l'anamnèse est, comme nous l'avons mentionné, d'une grande importance pour l'exercice de la profession. Cependant, cela ne peut être fait sans prendre en compte une série de considérations .

Evaluation de l'étendue et de la complétude de l'anamnèse

Il peut être tentant d’envisager d’obtenir dès le départ le maximum d’informations possible du patient afin d’établir une stratégie solide. Cependant, bien qu'il soit évident que l'acquisition d'informations concernant l'affaire est essentielle.

Une anamnèse trop exhaustive peut être extrêmement aversive pour le patient , cela peut être inconfortable et réduire la diffusion d’informations et même abandonner la recherche d’aide. Il ne faut pas oublier qu'il s'agit d'une première étape dans le processus de diagnostic, nécessitant la mise en place d'une bonne relation thérapeutique afin de maximiser l'acquisition d'informations. Les données recueillies lors de l'anamnèse devraient être suffisantes pour avoir une idée de la situation du patient, de son problème et de son état vital, mais cette collecte ne devrait pas être faite comme un interrogatoire.

Dans certains cas, il peut également être nécessaire d’abréger, voire de différer sa mise en œuvre, comme dans le cas de patients présentant une idéation suicidaire.

Modifiabilité des informations reçues

Il faut aussi considérer que les informations obtenues lors de l'anamnèse ne doivent pas nécessairement être non modifiables . Le patient peut ne pas savoir exactement ce qui lui arrive, avoir besoin de plus de temps pour réfléchir à la manière dont cela affecte sa vie ou même se sentir plus à l'aise avec le thérapeute pour lui faire confiance avec certaines informations.

Respecter les limites éthiques

La collecte de données et d'informations par le professionnel est un point fondamental et essentiel du processus thérapeutique. Cependant, l'anamnèse ou la collecte d'informations ne peuvent se faire sans discernement .

Il faut tenir compte du fait que le patient doit avoir le droit de préserver la vie privée, en essayant de circonscrire le phénomène qui cause l'inconfort ou le motif de la consultation ou, à défaut, les aspects de la vie du patient qui sont considérés comme affectant le patient. l'observance du traitement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Borreli, C.F. & Boschi, F.J.M. (1994). Entretien clinique Dans: Martín ZA, Cano JF, eds. Soins primaires: concepts, organisation et pratique clinique. 3 éd. Barcelone: ​​Doyma: 158-69.
  • Rodríguez, G.P.L .; Rodríguez, P.L.R. et Puente, M.J.A. (1998). Méthode pratique pour préparer l'histoire clinique. Rev Electrón Innov Tecnol, Las Tunas; 4 (2). 6
  • Rodríguez, P.L. et Rodríguez, L.R. (1999). Principes techniques pour effectuer l'anamnèse chez le patient adulte. Rév. Cubana. Med.Gen Integr. 15 4); 409-14

Eléments de psychopathologie avec Coline d'Aubret (Extrait) (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes