yes, therapy helps!
Androcentrism: what it is and how it affects women

Androcentrism: what it is and how it affects women

September 23, 2022

Androcentrism is the tendency to position the experience of man in the center of explanations about the world and about individuals in a generalized way. It is a practice that often goes unnoticed and through which the perspective of men is assumed as the universal gaze, and even the only valid or possible one.

This has been a very present trend in the development of Western societies, likewise it has been questioned in an important way by different people, with which, it is worth reviewing what androcentrism is and where it has been most present.

  • Related article: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

The philosophy of who we put in the center

Something that philosophies and contemporary sciences have taught us is that there are many ways of looking at and explaining the world. When we perceive and interpret what surrounds us, and even ourselves, we do it based on a certain knowledge framework .


We have built this framework of knowledge throughout our history and largely through the stories we have heard about ourselves and others. In other words, the knowledge we have acquired has to do with the different perspectives that have been placed, or not, at the center of the same knowledge.

Thus, for example, when we speak of anthropocentrism, we refer to the tendency and philosophical conception that positions the human being at the center of knowledge about the world , a question that began formally with the modern era, and that replaced theocentrism (the explanations that put God in the center). Or, if we speak of "Eurocentrism" we refer to the tendency to look at and build the world as if we were all Europeans (experience is generalized).


These "centrisms" (the tendency to put a single experience at the center and use it to explain and understand all other experiences), includes both daily and specialized knowledge. While they are at the base of our knowledge and practices in both areas, they easily go unnoticed.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 differences between sex and gender"

What is androcentrism?

Returning to the previous section, we can see that "androcentrism" is a concept that refers to the tendency to explain the phenomena of the world based on the generalized experience of a single subject: man. This phenomenon consists of incorporate in the scientific, historical, academic and daily accounts, the masculine experience in the center (That's why it's "andro", which means masculine gender, and "centrism": in the center).


Consequently, all other ways of knowing and living the world are incorporated into these stories only peripherally, or even not incorporated. This applies to many fields. We can analyze, for example, androcentrism in science, androcentrism in history, in medicine, in education, in sports, and many others.

It is a phenomenon that has emerged largely as a result of the fact that in our societies, men are the ones who have occupied most of the public spaces , and it is fundamentally in the public sphere where those practices and discourses have been developed that allow us to know the world in one way or another.

These practices are, for example, science, history, sports, religion, etcetera. In other words, the world has been constructed and perceived fundamentally by men, with which, it is their experiences that have become historically extensive: much of how we see the world and how we relate to it, is made from their perspective , interests, knowledge, and general readings of all that compose it (that is, from its worldview).

Where can we see it?

The above is finally related and is visible in the most everyday, in the rules that tell us how to relate, how to behave, how to feel and even in the stories that we tell about ourselves.

The latter means that, far from being a phenomenon that is located and caused specifically by the masculine gender, it is a process that we have incorporated all of us as part of the same story and the same society . And its consequence has mainly been that the experience of women and those who do not identify with the hegemonic model of "male" is hidden and invisible, and therefore difficult to incorporate under equal conditions.

For the same reason there have been several people (mainly women) who have asked, for example, Where have the women who made science been? Why do they practically only teach us the biographies of men? And the women who made history? Where are the stories of women who have lived through wars or revolutions? In fact, who have finally gone down in history? Under what models or imaginaries?

The latter has allowed it to recover more and more, and in different areas, the heterogeneity of the experiences that we share the world , and with this, we also generate different ways of relating, of perceiving and interpreting both what surrounds us and ourselves.

Bibliographic references:

  • Falcó, R. (2003). The archeology of the genre: Spaces for women, women with space. Center for studies on women: Universitat d'Alacant.

What is ANDROCENTRISM? What does ANDROCENTRISM mean? ANDROCENTRISM meaning & explanation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'androcentrisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça affecte les femmes

L'androcentrisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça affecte les femmes

Juillet 15, 2019

L'androcentrisme est la tendance à placer l'expérience de l'homme au centre d'explications sur le monde et sur les individus de manière généralisée. C'est une pratique qui passe souvent inaperçue et à travers laquelle la perspective de l'homme est assumée comme le regard universel, et même comme le seul valide ou possible.

Cela a été une tendance très présente dans le développement des sociétés occidentales, de même qu’elle a été mise en cause de manière importante par différentes personnes, avec lesquelles, il est utile de rappeler ce qu’est l’androcentrisme et où il a été le plus présent.

  • Article connexe: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme quotidien"

La philosophie de qui nous mettons au centre

Les philosophies et les sciences contemporaines nous ont appris qu’il existe de nombreuses façons de regarder et d’expliquer le monde. Quand nous percevons et interprétons ce qui nous entoure et même nous-mêmes, nous le faisons en fonction d'un certain cadre de connaissances .


Nous avons construit ce cadre de connaissances tout au long de notre histoire et principalement à travers les histoires que nous avons entendues sur nous-mêmes et sur les autres. En d'autres termes, les connaissances que nous avons acquises ont à voir avec les différentes perspectives qui ont été placées ou non au centre des mêmes connaissances.

Ainsi, par exemple, lorsque nous parlons d’anthropocentrisme, nous nous référons à la tendance et à la conception philosophique que positionne l'être humain au centre de la connaissance du monde , une question qui a commencé formellement avec l'ère moderne et qui a remplacé le théocentrisme (les explications qui placent Dieu au centre). Ou, si nous parlons d '"eurocentrisme", nous nous référons à la tendance à regarder et à construire le monde comme si nous étions tous des Européens (l'expérience est généralisée).


Ces "centrismes" (la tendance à mettre une expérience unique au centre et à s'en servir pour expliquer et comprendre toutes les autres expériences) comprennent à la fois des connaissances quotidiennes et des connaissances spécialisées. Bien qu'ils soient à la base de nos connaissances et de nos pratiques dans les deux domaines, ils passent facilement inaperçus.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 5 différences entre sexe et genre"

Qu'est-ce que l'androcentrisme?

En revenant à la section précédente, nous pouvons voir que "l'androcentrisme" est un concept qui fait référence à la tendance à expliquer les phénomènes du monde à partir de l'expérience généralisée d'un seul sujet: l'homme. Ce phénomène consiste en intégrer dans les comptes scientifiques, historiques, académiques et quotidiens l'expérience masculine au centre (C'est pourquoi c'est "andro", qui signifie genre masculin, et "centrisme": au centre).


Par conséquent, toutes les autres façons de connaître et de vivre le monde ne sont incorporées dans ces histoires que de manière périphérique, voire inexistante. Cela s'applique à de nombreux domaines. Nous pouvons analyser, par exemple, l'androcentrisme dans les sciences, l'androcentrisme dans l'histoire, la médecine, l'éducation, le sport et bien d'autres.

C’est un phénomène qui est apparu en grande partie du fait que dans nos sociétés, les hommes sont ceux qui ont occupé la plupart des espaces publics et c’est essentiellement dans la sphère publique que se sont développées ces pratiques et ces discours qui nous permettent de connaître le monde d’une manière ou d’une autre.

Ces pratiques sont, par exemple, la science, l’histoire, les sports, la religion, etc. En d'autres termes, le monde a été construit et perçu fondamentalement par les hommes, avec lesquels, ce sont leurs expériences qui ont pris une ampleur historique: une grande partie de notre vision du monde et de nos relations avec lui est élaborée à partir de leur perspective. , intérêts, connaissances et lectures générales de tout ce qui la compose (c’est-à-dire de sa vision du monde).

Où pouvons-nous le voir?

Ce qui précède est finalement lié et est visible dans le plus quotidien, dans les règles qui nous disent comment établir des relations, comment se comporter, comment ressentir et même dans les histoires que nous racontons sur nous-mêmes.

Ce dernier signifie que, loin d’être un phénomène localisé et causé spécifiquement par le genre masculin, c’est un processus dans lequel nous nous sommes tous incorporés. partie de la même histoire et de la même société . Et sa conséquence principale a été que l'expérience des femmes et de celles qui ne s'identifient pas avec le modèle hégémonique du "masculin" est cachée et invisible, et donc difficile à intégrer dans des conditions égales.

Pour la même raison, plusieurs personnes (principalement des femmes) ont demandé, par exemple, Où sont passées les femmes qui ont fait la science? Pourquoi ne nous enseignent-ils pratiquement que les biographies des hommes? Et les femmes qui ont fait l'histoire? Où sont les histoires de femmes qui ont vécu des guerres ou des révolutions? En fait, qui est finalement entré dans l'histoire? Sous quels modèles ou imaginaires?

Ce dernier a permis de récupérer de plus en plus, et dans différents domaines, l'hétérogénéité des expériences que nous partageons avec le monde et avec cela, nous générons également différentes manières de relier, de percevoir et d'interpréter à la fois ce qui nous entoure et nous-mêmes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Falcó, R. (2003). L'archéologie du genre: Des espaces pour les femmes, des femmes avec de l'espace. Centre d'études sur les femmes: Universitat d'Alacant.

Pour une éducation sexuelle pudique et révolutionnaire: orgasmes, anatomie, sexisme et racisme (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes