yes, therapy helps!
Anencephaly: causes, symptoms and prevention

Anencephaly: causes, symptoms and prevention

January 25, 2022

Neural tube defects are alterations that occur during the first weeks of fetal development and that cause malformations of varying severity. While some of them are incompatible with life, others can cause only mild paralysis.

The case of anencephaly is particularly severe; The brain is not completely formed, so babies with this disorder do not live for a long time. Let's see what they are the symptoms and causes of anencephaly and how can this defect be prevented.

  • Related article: "Macrocephaly: causes, symptoms and treatment"

What is anencephaly?

Anencephaly is also known as "aprosencephaly with an open skull". It is a disorder of the development of the neural tube that causes serious alterations in the growth of the fetus.


In anencephaly the brain and the skull do not develop as would be expected , but they do it incompletely. This causes babies with anencephaly to be born without extensive regions of the brain, without some bones of the head and without portions of the scalp, so that the brain is partially exposed.

This alteration occurs in approximately 1 in every thousand pregnancies; However, since most of the time the life of the fetus ends in a spontaneous abortion, the number of babies with anencephaly that come to be born is 1 in 10 thousand newborns. It is more common in girls than boys.

The defects caused by anencephaly are extremely severe and they prevent the baby from living . Most of the affected children die a few hours or days after being born, although there have been cases of children with anencephaly who have lived almost 4 years.


Anencephaly can be total or partial . It is considered to be partial when the roof of the skull, the optic vesicles and the posterior part of the brain are developed to some degree, whereas if these regions are absent we speak of total anencephaly.

Symptoms and signs

In babies affected with anencephaly the telencephalon is usually absent, which contains the cortex and therefore the cerebral hemispheres; the same happens with the skull, the meninges and the skin. Instead, a thin layer of membrane is usually found.

As a result, anencephaly means that the baby can not carry out basic or superior functions, how to feel pain, hear, see, move, feel emotions or think , even though in some cases they can emit reflex responses. This means that children with this alteration never become aware of their environment.


In addition to these signs and symptoms, abnormalities of the face and heart defects are common. The alterations are more marked the greater the absent part of the brain and the skull.

The diagnosis of anencephaly can be made during pregnancy through different procedures. Ultrasound can reveal the presence of polyhydramnios (excess amniotic fluid), while amniocentesis can detect elevated levels of alpha-fetoprotein.

Causes of this alteration

Anencephaly occurs as a result of a defect in the evolution of the neural tube which normally occurs in the fourth week of embryonic development. The neural tube is the structure that gives rise to the central nervous system, that is, the brain and spinal cord. In this particular case, the tube does not close at its rostral or upper end.

There are other alterations that are due to an abnormal development of the neural tube; together they are known as "neural tube defects", and in addition to anencephaly include spina bifida , in which the vertebral column closes incompletely, and the Chiari malformations, which cause the brain tissue to spread to the medullary canal.

The fact that the neural tube does not close properly causes the amniotic fluid that protects the fetus to come in contact with the nervous system, damaging the neural tissue and preventing the normal development of the brain and cerebellum, and therefore causing deficits or even the absence of the functions associated with these.

Genetic and environmental risk factors

Normally the appearance of this defect does not depend on the inheritance but on a combination of genetic and environmental factors . However, some cases have been detected in which anencephaly has occurred repeatedly in the same family, and having a baby with anencephaly increases the risk of it also occurring in subsequent pregnancies.

The concrete hereditary mechanism by which this happens is not known, although it is believed that there is a relationship between anencephaly and the MTHFR gene, involved in the processing of the vitamin B9, also known as folic acid or folate . The alterations in this gene seem to increase the risk of anencephaly, although not in a very significant way.

The CART1 homeoprotein, which allows the development of cartilage cells, has also been associated with the appearance

The environmental risk factors that affect the mother are probably more relevant than the genetic ones. Among this type of factors, scientific research highlights the following:

  • Deficit of vitamin B9.
  • Obesity.
  • Diabetes mellitus, especially if it is type I and is not controlled.
  • Exposure to high temperatures (eg fever, saunas).
  • Consume of anticonvulsant medications such as lamotrigine .

It also seems that anencephaly is more common in babies born to Asian, African and Hispanic mothers, although it is not known why this increase in risk is due.

Treatment and prevention

Anencephaly it can not be cured . Babies born with this problem are usually given water and food and are comfortable, but it is considered that the use of medication, surgery or assisted breathing is irrelevant; since the child will never acquire consciousness, they are usually allowed to die naturally, without artificially resurrecting them.

Research has shown that the Folic acid intake (vitamin B9) greatly reduces the risk of neural tube defects, including anencephaly and spina bifida. This vitamin is found in foods, such as green leafy vegetables, as well as in dietary supplements; in this second case, 0.4 mg daily seems to be enough.

However, the intake of vitamin B9 must be done before pregnancy, since these alterations normally occur during the first phase of fetal development, before the woman detects that she is pregnant. Thus, specialists recommend increasing the consumption of this vitamin when you start trying to have a baby.


Anencephalus , Anencephaly : Causes, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Complications (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anencéphalie: causes, symptômes et prévention

Anencéphalie: causes, symptômes et prévention

Avril 14, 2021

Les anomalies du tube neural sont des altérations qui se produisent pendant les premières semaines du développement du fœtus et qui provoquent des malformations de gravité variable. Si certains sont incompatibles avec la vie, d’autres ne peuvent causer que de légères paralysies.

Le cas d'anencéphalie est particulièrement grave; Le cerveau n'est pas complètement formé, de sorte que les bébés atteints de ce trouble ne vivent pas longtemps. Voyons ce qu'ils sont les symptômes et les causes de l'anencéphalie et comment peut-on prévenir ce défaut?

  • Article connexe: "Macrocéphalie: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce que l'anencéphalie?

L'anencéphalie est également appelée "aprosencéphalie avec un crâne ouvert". C'est un trouble du développement du tube neural qui provoque de sérieuses altérations dans la croissance du fœtus.


Dans l'anencéphalie le cerveau et le crâne ne se développent pas comme on pourrait s'y attendre , mais ils le font incomplètement. Les bébés atteints d'anencéphalie naissent ainsi sans régions étendues du cerveau, sans quelques os de la tête et sans parties du cuir chevelu, de sorte que le cerveau est partiellement exposé.

Cette altération se produit dans environ 1 grossesse sur 1 000; Cependant, comme la plupart du temps, la vie du fœtus se termine par un avortement spontané, le nombre de bébés atteints d'anencéphalie qui naissent est de 1 nouveau-né sur 10 000. Il est plus fréquent chez les filles que les garçons.

Les défauts causés par l'anencéphalie sont extrêmement graves et ils empêchent le bébé de vivre . La plupart des enfants touchés meurent quelques heures ou quelques jours après leur naissance, bien qu'il y ait eu des cas d'enfants atteints d'anencéphalie ayant vécu près de 4 ans.


L'anencéphalie peut être totale ou partielle . On considère qu'il est partiel lorsque le toit du crâne, les vésicules optiques et la partie postérieure du cerveau se développent à un certain degré, alors que si ces régions sont absentes, on parle d'anencéphalie totale.

Symptômes et signes

Chez les bébés atteints d'anencéphalie, le télencéphale est généralement absent, il contient le cortex et donc les hémisphères cérébraux. il en va de même pour le crâne, les méninges et la peau. Au lieu de cela, une fine couche de membrane est généralement trouvée.

En conséquence, l'anencéphalie signifie que le bébé ne peut pas effectuer de fonctions de base ou supérieures, comment ressentir de la douleur, entendre, voir, bouger, ressentir des émotions ou penser , même si dans certains cas, ils peuvent émettre des réponses réflexes. Cela signifie que les enfants atteints de cette modification ne prennent jamais conscience de leur environnement.


Outre ces signes et symptômes, des anomalies du visage et des anomalies cardiaques sont courantes. Les altérations sont d'autant plus marquées que la partie absente du cerveau et du crâne est grande.

Le diagnostic d'anencéphalie peut être fait pendant la grossesse à travers différentes procédures. L'échographie peut révéler la présence de polyhydramnios (excès de liquide amniotique), tandis que l'amniocentèse peut détecter des taux élevés d'alpha-fœtoprotéine.

Causes de cette altération

L'anencéphalie survient à la suite d'une défaut dans l'évolution du tube neural qui se produit normalement au cours de la quatrième semaine du développement embryonnaire. Le tube neural est la structure qui donne naissance au système nerveux central, à savoir le cerveau et la moelle épinière. Dans ce cas particulier, le tube ne se ferme pas à son extrémité rostrale ou supérieure.

Il existe d'autres altérations dues à un développement anormal du tube neural; ensemble, ils sont connus comme "défauts du tube neural", et en plus de l'anencéphalie inclure le spina bifida , dans laquelle la colonne vertébrale se ferme de manière incomplète et les malformations de Chiari, qui entraînent la propagation du tissu cérébral au canal médullaire.

Le fait que le tube neural ne se ferme pas correctement provoque le contact du liquide amniotique qui protège le fœtus avec le système nerveux, endommageant le tissu neural et empêchant le développement normal du cerveau et du cervelet, entraînant l'absence des fonctions associées à celles-ci.

Facteurs de risque génétiques et environnementaux

Normalement, l’apparition de ce défaut ne dépend pas de l’héritage, mais d’une combinaison de facteurs génétiques et environnementaux . Cependant, on a détecté quelques cas d'anencéphalie répétés dans la même famille et le fait d'avoir un bébé souffrant d'anencéphalie augmente le risque que cela se produise lors de grossesses ultérieures.

Le mécanisme héréditaire concret par lequel cela se produit n’est pas connu, bien que l’on pense qu’il existe une relation entre l’anencéphalie et le gène MTHFR, impliqué dans le traitement de la vitamine B9, également appelée acide folique ou folate . Les altérations de ce gène semblent augmenter le risque d'anencéphalie, bien que de manière non significative.

L'homéoprotéine CART1, qui permet le développement de cellules cartilagineuses, a également été associée à l'apparition

Les facteurs de risque environnementaux qui affectent la mère sont probablement plus pertinents que ceux génétiques. Parmi ce type de facteurs, la recherche scientifique met en évidence les éléments suivants:

  • Déficit en vitamine B9.
  • L'obésité
  • Diabète sucré, surtout s’il est de type I et n’est pas contrôlé.
  • Exposition à des températures élevées (p. Ex. Fièvre, saunas).
  • Consommation de les médicaments anticonvulsifs tels que la lamotrigine .

Il semble également que l'anencéphalie soit plus fréquente chez les bébés nés de mères asiatiques, africaines et hispaniques, bien que l'on ne sache pas pourquoi cette augmentation du risque est due.

Traitement et prévention

Anencéphalie il ne peut pas être guéri . Les bébés nés avec ce problème reçoivent généralement de l'eau et de la nourriture et sont à l'aise, mais on considère que l'utilisation de médicaments, la chirurgie ou l'aide à la respiration ne sont pas pertinentes; comme l'enfant n'acquerra jamais de conscience, on lui permet généralement de mourir naturellement, sans les ressusciter artificiellement.

La recherche a montré que le Apport en acide folique (vitamine B9) réduit considérablement le risque d'anomalies du tube neural, y compris l'anencéphalie et le spina bifida. Cette vitamine se trouve dans les aliments, tels que les légumes à feuilles vertes, ainsi que dans les compléments alimentaires; dans ce deuxième cas, 0,4 mg par jour semble être suffisant.

Cependant, l'apport en vitamine B9 doit être pris avant la grossesse, car ces modifications se produisent normalement au cours de la première phase du développement fœtal, avant que la femme ne détecte qu'elle est enceinte. Ainsi, les spécialistes recommandent d'augmenter la consommation de cette vitamine lorsque vous commencez à avoir un bébé.


Anencephalus , Anencephaly : Causes, Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment, Complications (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes