yes, therapy helps!
Anhedonia: the inability to feel pleasure

Anhedonia: the inability to feel pleasure

May 19, 2024

The concept of anhedonia is widely used in both psychology and psychiatry , because it refers to a strange phenomenon that is very relevant for the person who experiences it: the inability to feel pleasure and satisfaction.

That makes this a blow to the quality of life of patients who manifest it, because everything that can be linked to motivation, sense of well-being or interest in things is nullified.

Next we will see what anhedonia consists of.

What is anhedonia?

In general terms, anhedonia is the total absence of pleasurable and satisfying sensations regardless of context. This means that it is not manifested only in a specific area, such as sports or intimate relationships, but in all the possible experiences that the person in question is experiencing.


However, there are some cases in which anhedonia is not entirely global, and manifests itself in certain areas of life, as we will see. The musical anhedonia, for example, would be one of these variants, although this one in particular hardly knows anything beyond that it appears in people who can not enjoy listening to music.

Anhedonia can be understood as if it were a reverse anesthesia : instead of being canceled all the painful experiences, those that produce pleasure or feeling of well being are annulled. In short, experiencing anhedonia means living without pleasure, whatever we do.

Anhedonia is not a disorder

This may seem confusing since the anhedonia reveals a serious alteration that should be treated, but the truth is that it is not in itself a mental disorder . It is a symptom, not a mental disorder, although it is usually one of the forms of expression of different types of mental illness. That is, it is the expression of a pathology that produces that effect, but that can also generate other mental problems.


The disorders in which anhedonia is more frequent are, in particular, depressive disorders: in depression there is usually an emotional flattening and a feeling that patients describe as an inability to enjoy things that should stimulate them positively.

But nevertheless, anhedonia is also relatively common in cases of schizophrenia and dysthymia , as well as in people who have become so addicted to a substance (alcohol, cocaine, and other drugs) that they have become accustomed to it and have become insensitive to other forms of satisfaction.

What causes can the absence of pleasure produce?

The biological causes of anhedonia are not well understood, but there are theories about them. One of the most assumed is that this symptom is born of an alteration in the reward system of the brain , located in structures related to the limbic system.


In normal situations, certain situations cause a process in our brain that will cause us to try to repeat that experience. For this, these parts of the brain generate the sensation of pleasure, in which hormones such as dopamine play a fundamental role. In anhedonia, this system of rewards would be incapacitated to activate the mechanism to repeat behaviors, and from that would derive the absence of pleasure.

The social anhedonia

There is a phenomenon known as social anhedonia in which lack of interest and lack of pleasure appear specifically in social experiences . People with social anhedonia do not find any reason to interact with others unless this responds to very specific material needs.

Social anhedonia, moreover, is often one of the first signs of the appearance of schizophrenia in some of its forms.

In addition, from what has been observed from research in which brain scans have been used, in the brains of people with strong anhedonia there are also alterations in parts of the cerebral cortex responsible for carrying out cognitive processes related to representation of "I" and of others.

Sexual anhedonia

This form of anhedonia usually occurs in men who, when ejaculating, do not feel pleasure . In women there is also an analogous form of this symptom, but it is less frequent.

It is an alteration that not only harms the quality of life of those who experience sexual anhedonia in the first person, but also involves a couple problem that must be managed. This makes it not only a phenomenon to be treated psychologically in the patient, but often it is also necessary to intervene through couples therapy.

The treatment of anhedonia

As anhedonia is a symptom, to know how to approach it first we must know its root, that is, the disorder or neurological disorder that produces it.

This will allow detecting external factors that favor and maintain their appearance (as strongly stressful elements) and will also make it easier that, in case of opting for a treatment in which psychopharmaceuticals will be used, the appropriate ones will be used.

Bibliographic references:

Beck, A.T. and Freeman, A. (1995). Cognitive therapy of personality disorders. Barcelona: Paidós.

Jaspers, K. (1946/1993). General Psychopathology. Mexico: FCE.

Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (1991):Clinical cases. Psychiatry. Barcelona: Salvat.

Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (2002):Introduction to psychopathology and psychiatry. Barcelona: Masson.


Anhedonia ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anhédonie: l'incapacité de ressentir du plaisir

Anhédonie: l'incapacité de ressentir du plaisir

Juin 13, 2021

Le concept d'anhédonie est largement utilisé à la fois en psychologie et en psychiatrie , parce qu’il fait référence à un phénomène étrange qui est très important pour la personne qui l’a vécue: l’incapacité de ressentir du plaisir et de la satisfaction.

Cela porte un coup dur à la qualité de vie des patients qui la manifestent, car tout ce qui peut être lié à la motivation, au sentiment de bien-être ou à l’intérêt pour les choses est annulé.

Nous verrons ensuite en quoi consiste l’Anhédonie.

Qu'est-ce que l'Anhédonie?

En termes généraux, l’Anhédonie est l’absence totale de sensations agréables et satisfaisantes, quel que soit le contexte. Cela signifie que cela ne se manifeste pas uniquement dans un domaine spécifique, tel que le sport ou les relations intimes, mais dans toutes les expériences possibles vécues par la personne en question.


Cependant, il existe des cas dans lesquels l’Anhédonie n’est pas entièrement mondiale et se manifeste dans certains domaines de la vie, comme nous le verrons. L'anhédonie musicale, par exemple, serait l'une de ces variantes, bien que celle-ci en particulier ne sache guère au-delà de ce qu'elle apparaît chez les personnes qui ne peuvent pas profiter de l'écoute de la musique.

L'anhédonie peut être comprise comme s'il s'agissait d'une anesthésie inverse : au lieu d’annuler toutes les expériences douloureuses, celles qui procurent du plaisir ou un sentiment de bien-être sont annulées. En bref, vivre l’Anhédonie signifie vivre sans plaisir, quoi que nous fassions.

L'Anhédonie n'est pas un désordre

Cela peut paraître déroutant puisque l’Anhédonie révèle une modification sérieuse qui devrait être traitée, mais la vérité est que ce n'est pas en soi un trouble mental . C'est un symptôme, pas un trouble mental, bien qu'il s'agisse généralement d'une des formes d'expression de différents types de maladie mentale. C'est-à-dire que c'est l'expression d'une pathologie qui produit cet effet, mais qui peut également générer d'autres problèmes mentaux.


Les troubles dans lesquels l'anhédonie est plus fréquente sont, en particulier, les troubles dépressifs: dans la dépression, il y a généralement un aplatissement émotionnel et un sentiment que les patients décrivent comme une incapacité à apprécier des choses qui devraient les stimuler positivement.

Cependant, l'anhédonie est également relativement fréquente dans les cas de schizophrénie et de dysthymie , ainsi que chez les personnes qui sont devenues tellement dépendantes d’une substance (alcool, cocaïne et autres drogues) qu’elles s’y sont habituées et sont devenues insensibles aux autres formes de satisfaction.

Quelles causes peut produire l'absence de plaisir?

Les causes biologiques de l’Anhédonie ne sont pas bien comprises, mais il existe des théories à ce sujet. L'un des plus présumés est que ce symptôme est né d'une altération du système de récompense du cerveau , situé dans des structures liées au système limbique.


Dans des situations normales, certaines situations provoquent un processus dans notre cerveau qui nous oblige à essayer de répéter cette expérience. Pour cela, ces parties du cerveau génèrent une sensation de plaisir dans laquelle des hormones telles que la dopamine jouent un rôle fondamental. En Anhédonie, ce système de récompenses serait incapable d’activer le mécanisme permettant de répéter les comportements, ce qui en déduirait l’absence de plaisir.

L'anhédonie sociale

Il existe un phénomène connu sous le nom d'anhédonie sociale dans lequel le manque d'intérêt et le manque de plaisir apparaissent spécifiquement dans les expériences sociales . Les personnes atteintes d'anhédonie sociale ne trouvent aucune raison d'interagir avec les autres à moins que cela ne réponde à des besoins matériels très spécifiques.

En outre, l'anhédonie sociale est souvent l'un des premiers signes de l'apparition de la schizophrénie sous certaines de ses formes.

En outre, à partir de ce qui a été observé lors de recherches dans lesquelles des balayages du cerveau ont été utilisés, il existe également dans le cerveau de personnes présentant une anhédonie puissante des altérations dans des parties du cortex cérébral responsables de la réalisation de processus cognitifs liés à la représentation. de "je" et des autres.

Anhédonie sexuelle

Cette forme d'anhédonie se produit généralement chez les hommes qui, lors de l'éjaculation, ne ressentent pas de plaisir . Chez les femmes, il existe également une forme analogue de ce symptôme, mais il est moins fréquent.

C'est un changement qui non seulement nuit à la qualité de vie de ceux qui vivent l'anhédonie sexuelle à la première personne, mais aussi un problème de couple qui doit être géré. Cela en fait non seulement un phénomène à traiter psychologiquement chez le patient, mais il est souvent nécessaire d'intervenir par le biais d'une thérapie de couple.

Le traitement de l'anhédonie

L’anhédonie étant un symptôme, pour savoir comment l’aborder en premier, il faut connaître sa racine, c’est-à-dire le trouble ou le désordre neurologique qui le produit.

Cela permettra de détecter les facteurs externes qui favorisent et maintiennent leur apparence (en tant qu'éléments fortement stressants) et facilitera également le choix des traitements appropriés dans le cas d'un traitement dans lequel des produits psychopharmaceutiques seront utilisés.

Références bibliographiques:

Beck, A.T. et Freeman, A. (1995). Thérapie cognitive des troubles de la personnalité. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.

Jaspers, K. (1946/1993). Psychopathologie générale. Mexique: FCE.

Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (1991):Cas cliniques Psychiatrie. Barcelone: ​​Salvat.

Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (2002):Introduction à la psychopathologie et à la psychiatrie. Barcelone: ​​Masson.


What Is Music? (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes