yes, therapy helps!
Animal abuse in minors: children's things?

Animal abuse in minors: children's things?

July 18, 2024

When a case of animal cruelty appears in the media, most people question why someone would do something like that, being much more shocking when the author is a younger . Thus, it is normal that many unknowns appear on the subject. Why do some children mistreat animals? What is going through their heads? Is it a game for them? Are they "children's" things?

In the last 40 years many researchers from different parts of the world have tried to answer these questions, partly due to the greater pro-animal awareness in our society. In fact, many of them still can not be answered unequivocally, because at the moment the investigations are insufficient to understand the dimension of the problem, a fact that could be attributed, among other aspects, to the fact that the attacks are produced specifically towards a different species to ours, what can be called Species.


What do we mean by cruelty towards animals?

But ... what exactly can be qualified as "cruelty to animals"? The most accepted definition in the scientific literature is that of one of the most renowned researchers in this area, Frank R. Ascione: "Socially unacceptable behavior that intentionally causes unnecessary suffering, pain or distress and / or death of the animal".

They do not include, therefore, and even if they cause unnecessary suffering to the animals, more socially accepted behaviors such as intensive livestock farming that ends up in slaughterhouses, legal hunting, raising animals to obtain their skin, scientific experimentation with animals, shows with animals (bullfights, circus, zoos ...). However, the definition of cruelty to animals should also include, according to several authors, acts of malpractice due to negligence when there is intentionality to cause harm.


Why do some children mistreat animals?

After interviewing several adolescent aggressors, the researchers Ascione, Thompson and Black They proposed in 1997 different answers to this question based on the underlying motivations that the youngest can have when attacking animals domestic or wild.

According to these authors, children / adolescents who mistreat animals do so basically for these reasons :

  • To satisfy your curiosity / exploration (eg, the animal is damaged or killed in the process of being examined).
  • Peer group pressure (eg, as a process of ritualistic initiation to enter a certain group of young people).
  • To raise the mood (eg, to combat boredom and / or depression).
  • Sexual gratification (known in English as "bestiality").
  • Forced Abuse (eg, the child is forced to abuse the animal by another, more powerful person, very often in cases of Domestic Violence, where the child may become the animal's aggressor to prevent a more painful / slow death of the animal. part of the powerful person).
  • Animal phobia (the minor kills or hurts the animal as a preemptive strike).
  • Post-Traumatic Game (the minor recreates scenes of high violent charge as emotional discharge).
  • Training for interpersonal violence with humans (eg, the child practices his techniques with animals before daring to harm people).
  • Vehicle for emotional abuse (eg, damaging a family member's pet to scare him).

Other explanations

Other authors add some motivations from interviews with inmates in Kansas and Connecticut, who had assaulted animals in their adolescence / youth. All the examples are real:


  • To control the animal (It is intended to eliminate behaviors of the animal that do not please, for example, kicking the testicles to a dog to stop barking).
  • To get revenge on the animal (eg, revenge on a cat that has scratched the couch by burning it alive).
  • To satisfy a prejudice against some specific species or race (very common hatred of cats).
  • To express the human aggressiveness through the animal (For example, inflicting damage to the animal to prepare the dog for fights with other animals.
  • For fun and to shock others (eg, tie two cats in the tail and burn them to see how they run in a desperate way).
  • Sadism not specified (Desire to hurt, torture and / or kill an animal without having perceived any kind of provocation and without any a priori hostile feeling against the animal, killing himself for pleasure, for enjoying the death process). These children would be the ones with the worst prognosis .

Are they "children's things"?

On a psychological level, animal abuse is telling us that there are cognitive dysfunctions (wrong ways to interpret power and control) and / or environmental in the minor . Several authors have warned about this phenomenon throughout history as an indicator of psychological imbalance (for example, Pinel in the year 1809, or Margaret Mead in 1964).

In fact, the American Psychiatric Association in 1987 included animal cruelty as one of the 15 symptoms of the well-known Child Behavior Disorder. In addition, children who commit acts of cruelty to animals are more likely to have behavioral problems more severe than those with other symptoms.

Animal abuse and other forms of conflict

It is also important to note that cruelty to animals is related to domestic violence, with child sexual abuse and with bullying or school bullying, among others.

Children exposed to domestic violence and / or who are abused (whether physically, sexually or psychologically) tend to be more violent towards animals than children who have not gone through such unfavorable situations. These children may be expressing the pain that their own process of victimization entails through the abuse of the most vulnerable victims: animals.

In other words: animal cruelty in childhood can be a warning sign as the family / school environment is being violent or abusive for the child , so it is advisable to pay special attention to the child as soon as a situation of animal abuse takes place.

Therefore, these acts should not be considered as a simple passenger game of children or play down their importance; behind these episodes of cruelty can be discovered many traumatic situations in which the child has been the victim.

How can animal abuse be prevented?

Diverse investigations have shown that educating minors transmitting positive values ​​towards all living beings of the planet is a very important element in the face of the prevention of cruel acts against animals and treatment, facilitating the development of empathy even towards humans .

These educational programs help to develop a sense of responsibility, of concern for others, in addition to collaborating in the development of self-esteem, socialization and cooperation.

The implications this has on a global scale are clear: if cruelty to animals were taken into account as a more significant way of attacking and / or demonstrating antisocial behavior, progress would be made in understanding and preventing child and adolescent violence. .

Links of interest:

"Three minors run away from the center of Abegondo and kill 40 rabbits" (La Voz de Galicia)
"A group of minors frightened the neighbors of Marinaleda after killing nearly 30 animals" (El Correo de Andalucía)
"PACMA denounces the children who kicked a kitten in Cuenca" (Huffington Post)

Bibliographic references:

  • Arluke, A., Levin, J., Luke, C. & Ascione, F. (1999). The relationship of animal abuse to violence and other forms of antisocial behavior. Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 14 (9), 963-975. doi: 10.1177 / 088626099014009004
  • Ascione, F. R. (1993). Children who are cruel to animals: A review of research and implications for developmental psychopathology. Anthrozoös, 6 (4), 226-247. doi: 10.2752 / 0892793393787002105
  • Ascione, F. R., Thompson, T. M. & Black, T. (1997). Childhood cruelty to animals: Assessing cruelty dimensions and motivations. Anthrozoös, 10 (4), 170-177. doi: 10.2752 / 0892793977787001076
  • Ascione, F. R. (2001). Animal Abuse and Youth Violence, US Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Washington: Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.
  • Baldry, A. C. (2005). Animal abuse among preadolescents directly and indirectly victimized at shcool and at home. Criminal Behavior and Mental Health, 15 (2), 97-110. doi: 10.1002 / cbm.42
  • Duncan, A., Thomas, J. C., & Miller, C. (2005). Significance of family risk factors in childhood development cruelty in adolescents boys with conduct problems. Journal of Family Violence, 20 (4), 235-239. doi: 10.1007 / s10896-005-5987-9
  • Hensley, C. & Tallichet, S. E. (2005). Animal cruelty motivations: assessing demographic and situational influences. Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 20 (11), 1429-1443. doi: 10.1177 / 0886260505278714
  • Luk, E.S., Staiger, P.K., Wong, L., & Mathai, J. (1999). Children who are cruel to animals: A revisit. Australia and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 33, 29-36. doi: 10.1046 / j.1440-1614.1999.00528.x

Clinical Psychologist on animal abuse (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Violence envers les animaux chez les mineurs: des objets pour enfants?

Violence envers les animaux chez les mineurs: des objets pour enfants?

Juillet 26, 2022

Quand un cas de cruauté envers les animaux apparaît dans les médias, la plupart des gens se demandent pourquoi quelqu'un ferait une telle chose, étant beaucoup plus choquant quand l'auteur est un mineur . Il est donc normal que de nombreuses inconnues apparaissent sur le sujet. Pourquoi certains enfants maltraitent les animaux? Qu'est-ce qui leur passe par la tête? Est-ce un jeu pour eux? Sont-ils des choses "pour enfants"?

Au cours des 40 dernières années, de nombreux chercheurs du monde entier ont tenté de répondre à ces questions, en partie à cause de la prise de conscience accrue des animaux dans notre société. En fait, beaucoup d’entre eux ne peuvent toujours pas être résolus sans équivoque, car pour le moment, les enquêtes sont insuffisantes pour comprendre la dimension du problème, ce qui pourrait être attribué, entre autres aspects, au fait que les attaques sont spécifiquement destinées à une espèce différente. à la nôtre, ce qu'on peut appeler Espèces.


Qu'entendons-nous par cruauté envers les animaux?

Mais ... qu'est-ce qui peut être qualifié de "cruauté envers les animaux"? La définition la plus acceptée dans la littérature scientifique est celle de l'un des chercheurs les plus renommés dans ce domaine, Frank R. Ascione: "Comportement socialement inacceptable causant intentionnellement des souffrances, des douleurs ou une détresse inutiles et / ou la mort de l'animal".

Ils n'incluent donc pas, et même s'ils causent des souffrances inutiles aux animaux, des comportements mieux acceptés socialement, tels que l'élevage intensif qui aboutit dans des abattoirs, la chasse légale, l'élevage d'animaux pour obtenir leur peau, des expériences scientifiques sur les animaux animaux (corrida, cirque, zoos ...). Cependant, la définition de la cruauté envers les animaux devrait également inclure, selon plusieurs auteurs, les actes de malveillance dus à la négligence lorsqu'il existe une intention de causer un préjudice.


Pourquoi certains enfants maltraitent les animaux?

Après avoir interrogé plusieurs agresseurs adolescents, les chercheurs Ascione, Thompson et Black Ils ont proposé en 1997 différentes réponses à cette question en fonction des motivations sous-jacentes que les plus jeunes peuvent avoir lorsqu'ils attaquent des animaux. domestique ou sauvage.

Selon ces auteurs, les enfants / adolescents qui maltraitent les animaux le font essentiellement pour ces raisons :

  • Pour satisfaire votre curiosité / exploration (par exemple, l'animal est endommagé ou tué lors de l'examen).
  • Pression du groupe de pairs (par exemple, en tant que processus d’initiation rituelle pour entrer dans un certain groupe de jeunes).
  • Élever l'ambiance (par exemple, pour lutter contre l'ennui et / ou la dépression).
  • Gratification sexuelle (connu en anglais sous le nom de "bestialité").
  • Abus forcé (par exemple, l’enfant est forcé d’abuser de l’animal par une autre personne plus puissante, très souvent en cas de violence domestique, où il peut devenir l’agresseur de l’animal pour éviter une mort plus douloureuse / lente de l’animal. partie de la personne puissante).
  • Phobie animale (le mineur tue ou blesse l'animal en frappe préventive).
  • Jeu post-traumatique (le mineur recrée des scènes de grande charge violente sous forme de décharge émotionnelle).
  • Formation à la violence interpersonnelle avec des humains (par exemple, l'enfant pratique ses techniques avec des animaux avant d'oser nuire à des personnes).
  • Véhicule pour abus émotionnel (par exemple, endommager l'animal d'un membre de la famille pour l'effrayer).

Autres explications

D'autres auteurs ajoutent certaines motivations tirées d'entretiens avec des détenus du Kansas et du Connecticut, qui avaient agressé des animaux dans leur adolescence. Tous les exemples sont réels:


  • Contrôler l'animal (Il est prévu d’éliminer les comportements de l’animal qui ne plaisent pas, par exemple donner aux testicules un chien pour qu’il arrête d’aboyer).
  • Pour se venger de l'animal (par exemple, vengeance sur un chat qui a rayé le canapé en le brûlant vif).
  • Pour satisfaire un préjugé contre certaines espèces ou races (haine très commune des chats).
  • Exprimer l'agressivité humaine à travers l'animal (Par exemple, infliger des dommages à l'animal afin de le préparer à des combats avec d'autres animaux.
  • Pour s'amuser et choquer les autres (par exemple, attachez deux chats dans la queue et brûlez-les pour voir comment ils courent de manière désespérée).
  • Sadisme non spécifié (Désir de blesser, de torturer et / ou de tuer un animal sans avoir perçu aucune provocation et sans ressentir a priori d'hostilité envers l'animal, se faisant tuer par plaisir, pour profiter de la procédure de mort). Ces enfants seraient ceux avec le pire pronostic .

Sont-ils "des choses pour enfants"?

Sur le plan psychologique, la maltraitance des animaux nous dit qu'il existe des dysfonctionnements cognitifs (mauvaises façons d'interpréter le pouvoir et le contrôle) et / ou environnement dans la mineure . Plusieurs auteurs ont mis en garde contre ce phénomène au cours de l'histoire en tant qu'indicateur de déséquilibre psychologique (par exemple, Pinel en 1809 ou Margaret Mead en 1964).

En fait, l’American Psychiatric Association, en 1987, a inclus la cruauté envers les animaux parmi les 15 symptômes du trouble du comportement bien connu de l’enfant. En outre, les enfants qui commettent des actes de cruauté envers les animaux risquent davantage d'avoir des problèmes de comportement plus graves que ceux qui présentent d'autres symptômes.

Violence envers les animaux et autres formes de conflit

Il est également important de noter que la cruauté envers les animaux est liée à la violence domestique, avec l'abus sexuel d'enfant et avec l'intimidation ou l'intimidation scolaire, entre autres.

Les enfants exposés à la violence domestique et / ou victimes de maltraitance (physique, sexuelle ou psychologique) ont tendance à être plus violents envers les animaux que les enfants qui ne sont pas passés par de telles situations défavorables. Ces enfants peuvent exprimer la douleur que leur propre processus de victimisation entraîne par la maltraitance des victimes les plus vulnérables: les animaux.

En d'autres termes: la cruauté envers les animaux dans l'enfance peut être un signe d'alerte car l'environnement familial / scolaire est violent ou abusif pour l'enfant , il est donc conseillé d’accorder une attention particulière à l’enfant dès qu’une situation de maltraitance envers les animaux se produit.

Par conséquent, ces actes ne doivent pas être considérés comme un simple jeu d’enfants avec des passagers ou minimiser leur importance; derrière ces épisodes de cruauté, on découvre de nombreuses situations traumatisantes dans lesquelles l'enfant a été victime.

Comment prévenir les abus envers les animaux?

Diverses enquêtes ont montré que l'éducation des mineurs qui transmettent des valeurs positives à tous les êtres vivants de la planète est un élément très important dans la prévention des actes cruels contre les animaux et des traitements, facilitant le développement de l'empathie même envers les êtres humains. .

Ces programmes éducatifs aident à développer un sens des responsabilités, à se préoccuper des autres, en plus de collaborer au développement de l’estime de soi, de la socialisation et de la coopération.

Les implications à l'échelle mondiale sont claires: si la cruauté envers les animaux était prise en compte en tant que moyen d'attaque et / ou de démonstration d'un comportement antisocial, des progrès seraient réalisés dans la compréhension et la prévention de la violence chez les enfants et les adolescents. .

Liens d'intérêt:

"Trois mineurs fuient le centre d'Abegondo et tuent 40 lapins" (La Voz de Galicia)
"Un groupe de mineurs a effrayé les voisins de Marinaleda après avoir tué près de 30 animaux" (El Correo de Andalucía)
"PACMA dénonce les enfants qui ont donné un coup de pied à un chaton à Cuenca" (Huffington Post)

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arluke, A., Levin, J., Luke, C. et Ascione, F. (1999). La relation entre la maltraitance des animaux et la violence et d'autres formes de comportement antisocial. Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 14 (9), 963-975. Doi: 10.1177 / 088626099014009004
  • Ascione, F. R. (1993). Enfants cruels envers les animaux: examen de la recherche et de ses conséquences pour la psychopathologie du développement. Anthrozoös, 6 (4), 226-247. doi: 10.2752 / 0892793393787002105
  • Ascione, F.R., Thompson, T.M. et Black, T. (1997). Cruauté envers les animaux durant l’enfance: évaluation des dimensions et des motivations de la cruauté. Anthrozoös, 10 (4), 170-177. doi: 10.2752 / 0892793977787001076
  • Ascione, F.R. (2001). Violence envers les animaux et la violence chez les jeunes, Département de la justice des États-Unis, Bureau des programmes de la justice, Washington: Bureau de la justice pour mineurs et de la prévention de la délinquance.
  • Baldry, A.C. (2005). La maltraitance des animaux chez les préadolescents directement et indirectement victimes à l’école et à la maison. Comportement criminel et santé mentale, 15 (2), 97-110. doi: 10.1002 / cbm.42
  • Duncan, A., Thomas, J. C. et C. Miller (2005). Importance des facteurs de risque familiaux dans la cruauté envers le développement de l’enfance chez les adolescents ayant des problèmes de comportement Journal of Family Violence, 20 (4), 235-239. doi: 10.1007 / s10896-005-5987-9
  • Hensley, C. & Tallichet, S. E. (2005). Motifs de cruauté envers les animaux: évaluation des influences démographiques et situationnelles. Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 20 (11), 1429-1443. doi: 10.1177 / 0886260505278714
  • Luk, E.S., Staiger, P.K., Wong, L., et Mathai, J. (1999). Les enfants cruels envers les animaux: une nouvelle visite. Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande Journal of Psychiatry, 33, 29-36. doi: 10.1046 / j.1440-1614.1999.00528.x
Articles Connexes