yes, therapy helps!
Anna Karenina syndrome: uncontrolled love

Anna Karenina syndrome: uncontrolled love

July 23, 2024

We all know someone who has occasionally fallen in love with an obsessive way and without control. In fact, for many people, love is not conceived if it is not that way. That interpersonal fusion taken to the limit, this feeling that you can not live without the other, magnify him, idealize him, does not usually lead to a good outcome if you do not put a stop to it in time.

In fact, this uncontrolled and limitless love alienates the one who suffers it, who stops feeling a complete and independent person and comes to believe that there is no life if it is not with the other, as happened to Anna Karenina. In this article we will talk about a concept that we could call Anna Karenina syndrome .


  • Related article: "The 7 differences between love and emotional dependence"

What is the Anna Karenina syndrome?

Anna Karenina is a fictional character who stars in the literary work of the same name, written by Lev Tolstoy in 1877. This classic of universal literature reflects the tragic circumstances in which too intense and passionate love can lead .

The protagonist, who in the novel is married, falls madly in love with another man, a soldier named Vronsky, and ends up leaving everything for him. And everything is everything, her husband, her social position, her son, and finally her life.

Anna Karenina Syndrome is related to an obsessive affective pattern characterized by an absolute dependence of the beloved figure. This affects considerably the other areas of life of the person, which lose importance and are overshadowed by THE OTHER in capital letters, which ends up covering everything.


Who suffers from this syndrome, like the protagonist, is capable of anything just to be next to who he loves.

We have many examples in the cinema of this kind of passionless lack of control , as is the case of the little mermaid from Disney, who loses her mermaid status, abandons her family, her environment, even gives her voice as long as she is next to the idealized loved one.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Is it therefore harmful to love intensely?

Against what Hollywood sells us and the successes of the top 40, loving obsessively is undoubtedly the worst way to love. Although At first, this emotional flood may seem attractive , it can end up becoming one of the worst diseases that the human being can experience.

This way of loving is linked to anguish: anguish at the thought that the loved one can stop loving us, anguish at not having him always at our side, anguish at the fear of being deceived. Therefore, the "without you I am nothing" and the "I can not live without you" are examples not to follow at the time of assuming a role in the relationship .


  • Related article: "10 daily habits that improve your emotional balance"

What are the consequences of this affective phenomenon?

There are many consequences of loving so intensely, from losing the vital direction, plummeting self-esteem, loss of one's integrity and emotional balance .... Until another type of more dire consequences, like those that Anna has in the book.

Do not love me so much, love me better

It is recommended, therefore, not to focus on the amount of love that is given or received, but on the quality of it. There are a number of aspects in which we can work to avoid falling into this syndrome:

  • Be architects of our own happiness . Do not look for it outside but inside. Join the other as life partners, not as crutches, bandages, nurses or psychologists.
  • "Do not put all the eggs in the same basket". Maintain friendships, hobbies, family relationships, and an enriching life beyond the relationship of a couple.
  • Own and foreign freedom . Maintain the limits of individuality and the freedom of both members.
  • Do not love blindly , but in a conscious way. Have your eyes wide open to the behavior of the other, and take action if what we observe we do not like.

LITERATURE: Leo Tolstoy (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome Anna Karenina: amour incontrôlé

Syndrome Anna Karenina: amour incontrôlé

Novembre 20, 2022

Nous connaissons tous quelqu'un qui est parfois tombé amoureux d'une manière obsessionnelle et sans contrôle. En fait, pour beaucoup de gens, l’amour n’est pas conçu si ce n’est pas ainsi. Cette fusion interpersonnelle poussée à l'extrême, ce sentiment que vous ne pouvez pas vivre sans l'autre, le magnifier, l'idéaliser, ne conduit généralement pas à de bons résultats si vous n'y mettez pas fin à temps.

En fait, cet amour incontrôlé et sans limites aliène celui qui le subit, qui cesse de se sentir complètement et indépendant et en vient à croire qu’il n’ya pas de vie si ce n’est avec l’autre, comme cela a été le cas pour Anna Karenina. Dans cet article, nous allons parler de un concept que l'on pourrait appeler le syndrome d'Anna Karenina .


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 différences entre l'amour et la dépendance émotionnelle"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome Anna Karenina?

Anna Karenina est un personnage fictif qui a joué dans l'œuvre littéraire du même nom, écrite par Lev Tolstoï en 1877. Ce classique de la littérature universelle reflète les circonstances tragiques dans lesquelles un amour trop intense et passionné peut conduire .

Le protagoniste, qui dans le roman est marié, tombe éperdument amoureux d'un autre homme, un soldat du nom de Vronsky, et finit par tout lui laisser. Et tout est tout, son mari, sa position sociale, son fils et enfin sa vie.

Anna Karenina Syndrome est liée à un modèle affectif obsessionnel caractérisé par une dépendance absolue de la figure bien-aimée. Cela affecte considérablement les autres domaines de la vie de la personne, qui perdent de l'importance et sont éclipsés par L'AUTRE en lettres majuscules, qui finissent par tout couvrir.


Qui souffre de ce syndrome, comme le protagoniste, est capable de tout pour être juste à côté de qui il aime.

Nous avons de nombreux exemples au cinéma de ce genre de manque de contrôle sans passion , comme c'est le cas de la petite sirène de Disney, qui perd son statut de sirène, abandonne sa famille, son environnement, donne même sa voix tant qu'elle côtoie l'être aimé idéalisé.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Est-ce donc nuisible d'aimer intensément?

Face à ce que Hollywood nous vend et aux succès du top 40, aimer de manière obsessionnelle est sans aucun doute le pire moyen d’aimer. Malgré que Au début, cette inondation émotionnelle peut sembler attrayante , il peut finir par devenir l’une des pires maladies que l’être humain peut éprouver.

Cette façon d'aimer est liée à l'angoisse: angoisse à la pensée que l'être aimé peut cesser de nous aimer, angoisse de ne pas l'avoir toujours à nos côtés, angoisse de peur d'être trompé. Par conséquent, le "sans toi je ne suis rien" et le "je ne peux pas vivre sans toi" sont des exemples à ne pas suivre au moment de jouer un rôle dans la relation .


  • Article connexe: "10 habitudes quotidiennes qui améliorent votre équilibre émotionnel"

Quelles sont les conséquences de ce phénomène affectif?

Il y a de nombreuses conséquences à aimer si intensément, à perdre la direction vitale, à faire tomber l'estime de soi, perte de son intégrité et de son équilibre émotionnel .... Jusqu'à un autre type de conséquences plus terribles, comme celles d'Anna dans le livre.

Ne m'aime pas tellement, aime moi mieux

Il est donc recommandé de ne pas se focaliser sur la quantité d’amour donnée ou reçue, mais sur sa qualité. Nous pouvons travailler pour éviter de tomber dans ce syndrome sous plusieurs aspects:

  • Être des architectes de notre propre bonheur . Ne le cherchez pas à l'extérieur mais à l'intérieur. Rejoignez l’autre comme partenaire de vie, pas comme béquille, bandage, infirmière ou psychologue.
  • "Ne mettez pas tous les œufs dans le même panier". Entretenez des amitiés, des passe-temps, des relations familiales et une vie enrichissante au-delà des relations de couple.
  • Liberté propre et étrangère . Maintenir les limites de l'individualité et de la liberté des deux membres.
  • Ne pas aimer aveuglément , mais de manière consciente. Ayez les yeux grands ouverts sur le comportement de l'autre et agissez si nous n'aimons pas ce que nous observons.

LITERATURE: Leo Tolstoy (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes