yes, therapy helps!
Anorexia nervosa: symptoms, causes and treatment

Anorexia nervosa: symptoms, causes and treatment

October 5, 2022

The imposition of canons of beauty absolutely impossible on the part of society is increasingly increasing and although there are many revolutions that we are living that aim to change them, still generate a strong impact on the mind and self-esteem of people.

One of the direct consequences of these beauty models is the appearance and increase of cases of eating disorders, among them anorexia nervosa . Throughout this article we will discuss the characteristics of this disorder, as well as its symptoms, causes and possible treatments.

  • Related article: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

What is anorexia nervosa?

Within the classification of eating disorders we find a disorder known as anorexia nervosa or simply anorexia. Although it occurs mainly in women, this disease affects more and more men, and causes those who suffer from it. the need to restrict your food intake , with the consequent loss of weight.


This decrease in body weight can reach dangerously low levels, since the limitation of food intake is caused by an exacerbated fear of losing weight together with the distorted perception of one's body.

This means that no matter how thin or heavy the person loses, it is never enough, because when looking at himself in the mirror he will continue to perceive a distorted body shape that does not conform to reality. Which leads the patient to make all kinds of sacrifices around food.

Among these sacrifices are all types of behavior aimed at losing weight, or not to win, people with anorexia nervosa limit the amount of food eaten in excess. In the same way, they can resort to purgative behaviors , the use of laxatives and diuretics and exercise in excess to burn calories.


The reality is that in anorexia is not relevant to the way in which the patient tries to lose weight, if not the exaggerated fear experienced to increase it.

  • You may be interested: "The 12 types of obsessions (symptoms and characteristics)"

What is the difference between bulimia?

Although the aforementioned purging behaviors can be associated with another eating disorder known as bulimia, there are a number of essential differences between the two disorders: In anorexia these purging episodes do not always occur, whereas in bulimia it is an essential requirement for diagnosis .

In bulimia the person ingests large amounts of food, usually high in calories, in a short space of time. They are called binge eating. However, in anorexia the person avoid eating at all costs and have an exhaustive control of calories .


Anorexic persons are characterized by a dangerously low body weight, while in bulimia they usually have a normative weight or even higher than what is recommended.

  • Related article: "Bulimia nervosa: the disorder of bingeing and vomiting"

What are the symptoms?

As mentioned previously, the main symptoms of anorexia are related to the refusal or restriction of dietary intake, low weight and excessive fear of gaining weight.

But nevertheless, There is a wide variety of symptoms within this eating disorder . These symptoms can be classified into two groups: physical symptoms and behavioral and emotional symptomatology

1. Physical symptoms

The physical symptomatology of anorexia nervosa includes:

  • Excessively thin appearance
  • Excessive weight loss .
  • Feeling tired.
  • Insomnia.
  • Dizziness
  • Fades .
  • Abnormal levels of different blood elements.
  • Blue color of the fingers of the hand.
  • Amenorrhea.
  • Hair loss.
  • Constipation .
  • Alteration of the heart rate.
  • Arterial hypertension.
  • Dehydration .
  • Osteoporosis.

2. Behavioral symptoms

It includes all those behaviors that the person carries out in order to lose weight. Among them are:

  • Strict restriction of food intake.
  • Exercise excessively .
  • Purgative behavior and use of laxatives, enemas or diuretics.

3. Emotional symptoms

Anorexia nervosa is characterized by an emotional symptomatology that includes the following aspects:

  • Experimentation of a intense fear of gaining weight .
  • Excessive concern for food.
  • Denial of the feeling of hunger.
  • Lying about ingested food .
  • Irritability.
  • Withdrawal or social isolation.
  • Alexithymia or inability to experience and manifest emotions.
  • Depressive mood .
  • Suicidal ideas
  • Lack of interest in sex.

How can it be detected?

Some of the symptoms of anorexia nervosa can be difficult to identify at first sight, since the person himself is aware of them and They do everything possible to hide them .

However, there are a number of warning signs or behaviors in which we can determine if we are not medical professionals and we want to determine if someone in our environment suffers from this condition.

Among these signs are:

  • Skip meals constantly.
  • Make some excuse not to eat.
  • Rigorous selection of foods, usually low in calories.
  • Weigh ourselves continuously .
  • Continuous complaints regarding its weight.
  • Avoid eating in public.
  • Change your dress codes , using more and more layers.

What are the causes?

At the moment it has not been possible to determine a specific or exact cause that causes the appearance of anorexia nervosa, so it is hypothesized that there are a series of biological and psychological factors and the environment that precipitate it.

The experience of traumatic personal or social events or with a very high emotional load can play a fundamental role when determining the appearance of this eating disorder.

In addition, recent studies point to the possibility that there are a number of genes associated with the behaviors of anorexia, such as compulsions, depression, perfectionism and emotional sensitivity. However, at the moment it has not been possible to find any gene or organic pathology directly related to anorexia.

Is there a treatment?

Anorexia nervosa It is a very serious disorder which, in the case of not being treated, can have fatal consequences for the person. To the point that statistics reveal that 10% of untreated cases of severe anorexia end with the death of the patient.

Due to the state of gravity that the situation can reach, It is essential to make an effective diagnosis and start the treatment sooner.

A key piece in the effectiveness of the treatment is found in the involvement of the patient's environment in the treatment. This intervention includes psychotherapy, in which psychological work is carried out on the emotional and cognitive aspects of the disorder, including distorted body perception.

In the same way, it should be done somatic monitoring and the physical state of the person , as well as the development of a series of nutritional guidelines that help the person in their reconciliation with food.

Finally, in some cases it is possible to resort to pharmacological treatment with antidepressants or anxiolytics, which reduce the intensity of the symptoms and facilitate psychological work.

Unfortunately, anorexia nervosa is an alteration with a high risk of relapse, so both family members and medical professionals should be attentive to the patient's development.


Eating disorder signs and symptoms (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anorexie mentale: symptômes, causes et traitement

Anorexie mentale: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 6, 2020

L'imposition de canons de beauté absolument impossibles de la part de la société est de plus en plus importante et, même si nous vivons de nombreuses révolutions dans le but de les changer, elles génèrent tout de même un impact important sur l'esprit et l'estime de soi des personnes.

L’une des conséquences directes de ces modèles de beauté est l’apparition et l’augmentation des cas de troubles de l’alimentation, parmi eux l'anorexie mentale . Tout au long de cet article, nous aborderons les caractéristiques de ce trouble, ainsi que ses symptômes, ses causes et ses traitements possibles.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que l'anorexie mentale?

Dans la classification des troubles de l'alimentation, nous trouvons un trouble appelé anorexie mentale ou simplement anorexie. Bien qu’elle touche principalement les femmes, cette maladie touche de plus en plus d’hommes et est responsable de ceux qui en souffrent. la nécessité de limiter votre consommation de nourriture , avec la perte de poids qui en résulte.


Cette diminution du poids corporel peut atteindre des niveaux dangereusement bas, car la limitation de l'apport alimentaire est provoquée par une peur exacerbée de perdre du poids ainsi qu'une perception déformée de son corps.

Cela signifie que peu importe la minceur ou la lourdeur que perd la personne, ce n'est jamais assez, car en se regardant dans le miroir, il continuera à percevoir une forme de corps déformée qui ne correspond pas à la réalité. Ce qui conduit le patient à faire toutes sortes de sacrifices autour de la nourriture.

Parmi ces sacrifices, tous les types de comportement visant à perdre du poids ou à ne pas gagner, les personnes souffrant d'anorexie mentale limitent la quantité de nourriture consommée en excès. De la même manière, ils peuvent recourir à des comportements purgatifs , l'utilisation de laxatifs et de diurétiques et l'exercice en excès pour brûler des calories.


La réalité est que l'anorexie n'est pas pertinente pour la façon dont le patient essaie de perdre du poids, sinon la peur exagérée éprouvée pour l'augmenter.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 12 types d'obsessions (symptômes et caractéristiques)"

Quelle est la différence entre la boulimie?

Bien que les comportements de purge susmentionnés puissent être associés à un autre trouble de l'alimentation appelé boulimie, il existe un certain nombre de différences essentielles entre les deux troubles: dans l'anorexie, ces épisodes de purge ne se produisent pas toujours, alors que dans la boulimie, ils sont indispensables au diagnostic .

Dans la boulimie, la personne ingère de grandes quantités de nourriture, généralement riches en calories, en peu de temps. Ils s'appellent la frénésie alimentaire. Cependant, dans l'anorexie, la personne éviter de manger à tout prix et avoir un contrôle exhaustif des calories .


Les personnes anorexiques se caractérisent par un poids corporel extrêmement faible, alors qu’elles ont généralement un poids normatif ou même supérieur à celui recommandé dans la boulimie.

  • Article connexe: "Boulimie nerveuse: trouble de la boulimie et des vomissements"

Quels sont les symptômes?

Comme mentionné précédemment, les principaux symptômes de l'anorexie sont liés au refus ou à la limitation de l'apport alimentaire, au faible poids et à la peur excessive de prendre du poids.

Cependant, Il existe une grande variété de symptômes dans ce trouble de l'alimentation . Ces symptômes peuvent être classés en deux groupes: les symptômes physiques et la symptomatologie comportementale et émotionnelle.

1. symptômes physiques

La symptomatologie physique de l'anorexie mentale comprend:

  • Apparence excessivement mince
  • Perte de poids excessive .
  • Sensation de fatigue.
  • L'insomnie
  • Vertige
  • Fades .
  • Niveaux anormaux de différents éléments sanguins.
  • Couleur bleue des doigts de la main.
  • Aménorrhée
  • Perte de cheveux
  • Constipation .
  • Modification du rythme cardiaque.
  • Hypertension artérielle.
  • Déshydratation .
  • L'ostéoporose

2. symptômes comportementaux

Cela inclut tous les comportements que la personne adopte pour perdre du poids. Parmi eux se trouvent:

  • Restriction stricte de l'apport alimentaire.
  • Exercer excessivement .
  • Comportement de purge et utilisation de laxatifs, de lavements ou de diurétiques.

3. symptômes émotionnels

L'anorexie mentale se caractérise par une symptomatologie émotionnelle qui comprend les aspects suivants:

  • Expérimentation d'un peur intense de prendre du poids .
  • Préoccupation excessive pour la nourriture.
  • Déni du sentiment de faim.
  • Allongé sur les aliments ingérés .
  • L'irritabilité
  • Retrait ou isolement social.
  • Alexithymia ou incapacité à expérimenter et à manifester des émotions.
  • Humeur dépressive .
  • Idées suicidaires
  • Manque d'intérêt pour le sexe.

Comment peut-il être détecté?

Certains symptômes de l'anorexie mentale peuvent être difficiles à identifier à première vue, car la personne elle-même en est consciente et Ils font tout leur possible pour les cacher .

Cependant, il existe un certain nombre de signes précurseurs ou de comportements dans lesquels nous pouvons déterminer si nous ne sommes pas des professionnels de la santé et si nous voulons déterminer si une personne de notre environnement souffre de cette maladie.

Parmi ces signes sont:

  • Passer les repas constamment.
  • Faites une excuse pour ne pas manger.
  • Sélection rigoureuse des aliments, généralement faibles en calories.
  • Nous peser continuellement .
  • Plaintes continues concernant son poids.
  • Évitez de manger en public.
  • Changer vos codes vestimentaires , en utilisant de plus en plus de couches.

Quelles sont les causes?

Pour le moment, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer une cause spécifique ou exacte qui provoque l'apparition de l'anorexie mentale, de sorte qu'il est supposé qu'il existe une série de facteurs biologiques et psychologiques et l'environnement qui le précipite.

L'expérience d'événements personnels ou sociaux traumatisants ou d'une charge émotionnelle très élevée peut jouer un rôle fondamental dans la détermination de l'apparence de ce trouble de l'alimentation.

De plus, des études récentes suggèrent la possibilité d’un certain nombre de gènes associés aux comportements de l’anorexie, tels que les compulsions, la dépression, le perfectionnisme et la sensibilité émotionnelle. Cependant, il n’a pas encore été possible de trouver un gène ou une pathologie organique directement liée à l’anorexie.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Anorexie mentale C'est un trouble très grave qui, s’ils ne sont pas traités, peuvent avoir des conséquences fatales pour la personne. Au point que les statistiques révèlent que 10% des cas d'anorexie sévère non traités se terminent par le décès du patient.

En raison de l’état de gravité que la situation peut atteindre, Il est essentiel de poser un diagnostic efficace et de commencer le traitement. dès que possible.

Un élément clé de l'efficacité du traitement réside dans l'implication de l'environnement du patient dans le traitement. Cette intervention comprend une psychothérapie dans laquelle un travail psychologique est effectué sur les aspects émotionnels et cognitifs du trouble, y compris une perception corporelle déformée.

De la même manière, cela devrait être fait surveillance somatique et état physique de la personne , ainsi que l’élaboration d’une série de directives nutritionnelles qui aident la personne à se réconcilier avec les aliments.

Enfin, dans certains cas, il est possible de recourir à un traitement pharmacologique avec des antidépresseurs ou des anxiolytiques, qui atténue l’intensité des symptômes et facilite le travail psychologique.

Malheureusement, l'anorexie mentale étant une altération avec un risque élevé de rechute, les membres de la famille et les professionnels de la santé doivent être attentifs au développement du patient.


Anorexie nerveuse (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes