yes, therapy helps!
Antagonists and Inhibitors of Serotonin Reuptake (AIRSs)

Antagonists and Inhibitors of Serotonin Reuptake (AIRSs)

October 5, 2022

Among all mental problems, depression is one of the most common disorders in the world together with anxiety disorders. The treatment of this type of problem has been something that has generated extensive research from multiple scientific disciplines, one of them being psychopharmacology.

From this discipline they have been generating and synthesizing different therapeutic alternatives, existing at the present time a great amount of substances that contribute to mitigate both the depression and other problems. One of the types of drugs synthesized is extremely interesting because it works in a way apparently contrary to other drugs. Is about Antagonists and Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin or AIRSs .


  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

Antagonists and Inhibitors of Serotonin Reuptake: what are they?

Antagonists and Inhibitors of Serotonin Reuptake or AIRSs (Serotonin Antagonist and Reuptake Inhibitor or SARIs in English) are a type of atypical antidepressant and relatively new characterized by having an unusual mechanism of action and apparently contrary to the way other antidepressants work.

On the one hand, they inhibit the reuptake of serotonin with which their levels at the brain level increase, but on the other they exert opposite effects to it in certain receptors of the same, which in principle reduces the presence and action of this neurotransmitter.


The main and best known representative of this type of drugs is trazodone , a drug with therapeutic success in both depression and other anxious features. Other substances such as nefazodone also have characteristics and mechanisms of action of this type of drugs, although since it also acts to a large extent in other neurotransmitters, they do not fall into this classification.

However, despite its atypical functioning, this group of drugs have been shown to be useful for the treatment of depressive symptoms as well as for other conditions and mental problems.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Mechanism of action

As mentioned above, antagonists and inhibitors of serotonin reuptake have a mechanism of action of differentiated action in relation to other similar drugs.


The AIRSs they have a dual action mechanism , generating mainly two types of change in brain chemistry.

On the one hand, they are characterized by generating a blockade in the reuptake of serotonin in presynaptic neurons , which makes this neurotransmitter more present in the synaptic space and can be used by postsynaptic neurons.

On the other, the action of this type of drug has an antagonistic effect on 5HT2A and 5HT2C receptors , preventing serotonin from acting on them. Of course, in 5HT1A receptors the effect is agonist, facilitating effects similar to those of serotonin.

It is this latter mechanism of action that makes AIRs' way of acting somewhat different and peculiar when compared to other types of antidepressants that are better known, with anxiolytic and hypnotic properties.

Therapeutic indications of AIRSs

Antagonists and inhibitors of serotonin reuptake are substances classified as antidepressants, thereby Its main indication is the treatment of her major depression .

Also these drugs have anxiolytic action, which are also effective for the treatment of various conditions linked to anxiety. Thus, they have been used (specifically as regards trazodone) in problems such as generalized anxiety, erectile dysfunction of psychogenic origin, bulimia nervosa, OCD, or withdrawal syndromes.

They are also used in sleep problems, such as insomnia, because they have hypnotic and sedative effect . This effect has also been used in some cases of bipolar disorder or in psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia.

  • You may be interested: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Side effects

Like all psychotropic drugs, AIRSs can have different side effects. Nausea and vomiting are frequent (especially in the first weeks), sedation and fatigue, fatigue, hypotension, edema or blurred vision.

There may also be a risk that suicidal ideation, which is common to many antidepressants, will appear more easily in the first weeks.Priapism and arrhythmias can also appear and have consequences in people with previous cardiovascular problems.

It must be taken into account that the main representative of these drugs is excreted with breast milk, which is contraindicated in pregnant women and infants. Also in people with heart problems and previous heart attacks and liver or kidney problems. Special caution should be used in cases of bipolarity or psychotic disorder, since it may favor a shift to manic symptoms or the appearance of positive symptoms such as hallucinations and agitation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Alcántara-López, M.G .; Gutiérrez-García, A.G .; Hernández-Lozano, M. & Contreras, C.M. (2009). Trazodone, an atypical antidepressant with anxiolytic and sedative properties. Arch. Neurocien (Mex), 14 (4): 249-257.
  • Pérez, R. (2017). Pharmacological treatment of depression: news and future directions. Rev. Fac. Med. (Méx.), 60 (5). Mexico City.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (AIRS)

Antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (AIRS)

Juin 9, 2022

Parmi tous les problèmes mentaux, la dépression est l’un des troubles les plus courants au monde, avec les troubles anxieux. Le traitement de ce type de problème a suscité de nombreuses recherches dans plusieurs disciplines scientifiques, dont la psychopharmacologie.

À partir de cette discipline, ils ont généré et synthétisé différentes alternatives thérapeutiques, contenant actuellement une grande quantité de substances contribuant à atténuer à la fois la dépression et d’autres problèmes. L'un des types de médicaments synthétisés est extrêmement intéressant car il fonctionne d'une manière apparemment contraire à d'autres médicaments. Il s'agit de Antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine ou des AIRS .


  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine: que sont-ils?

Les antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine ou AIRS (antagoniste de la sérotonine et inhibiteur de la recapture ou SARI en anglais) sont un type d'antidépresseur atypique et relativement nouveau caractérisé par un mécanisme d’action inhabituel et apparemment contraire à la façon dont les autres antidépresseurs fonctionnent.

D'une part, ils inhibent la recapture de la sérotonine avec laquelle leurs niveaux augmentent au niveau du cerveau, mais d'autre part, ils exercent des effets opposés sur certains récepteurs du même, ce qui en principe réduit la présence et l'action de ce neurotransmetteur.


Le représentant principal et le plus connu de ce type de médicaments est la trazodone. , médicament à succès thérapeutique contre la dépression et d’autres caractéristiques anxieuses. D'autres substances telles que la néfazodone ont également des caractéristiques et des mécanismes d'action de ce type de médicaments, bien que, comme il agit également dans une large mesure chez d'autres neurotransmetteurs, ils ne relèvent pas de cette classification.

Cependant, malgré son fonctionnement atypique, ce groupe de médicaments ont été montré pour être utile pour le traitement des symptômes dépressifs ainsi que pour d'autres conditions et problèmes mentaux.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Mécanisme d'action

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, les antagonistes et les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine ont un mécanisme d'action à action différenciée par rapport à d'autres médicaments similaires.


Les AIRS ils ont un mécanisme à double action , générant principalement deux types de changement dans la chimie du cerveau.

D'une part, ils se caractérisent par la génération un blocage dans la recapture de la sérotonine dans les neurones présynaptiques , ce qui rend ce neurotransmetteur plus présent dans l’espace synaptique et peut être utilisé par les neurones postsynaptiques.

D'autre part, l'action de ce type de médicament a un effet antagoniste sur les récepteurs 5HT2A et 5HT2C , empêchant la sérotonine d'agir sur eux. Bien entendu, dans les récepteurs 5HT1A, l’effet est agoniste, facilitant des effets similaires à ceux de la sérotonine.

C’est ce dernier mécanisme d’action qui fait que la façon dont les AIR agissent est quelque peu différente et particulière par rapport à d’autres types d’antidépresseurs plus connus, dotés de propriétés anxiolytiques et hypnotiques.

Indications thérapeutiques des AIRS

Les antagonistes et les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine sont des substances classées comme antidépresseurs. Son indication principale est le traitement de sa dépression majeure .

De plus, ces médicaments ont une action anxiolytique, qui est également efficace pour le traitement de diverses affections liées à l’anxiété. Ainsi, ils ont été utilisés (notamment en ce qui concerne la trazodone) dans des problèmes tels que l’anxiété généralisée, la dysfonction érectile d’origine psychogène, la boulimie nerveuse, le TOC ou les syndromes de sevrage.

Ils sont également utilisés dans les problèmes de sommeil, tels que l'insomnie, car ils ont un effet hypnotique et sédatif . Cet effet a également été utilisé dans certains cas de trouble bipolaire ou dans des troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Effets secondaires

Comme tous les médicaments psychotropes, les SIRA peuvent avoir différents effets secondaires. Les nausées et les vomissements sont fréquents (surtout dans les premières semaines), la sédation et la fatigue, la fatigue, l'hypotension, l'œdème ou une vision floue.

Il se peut également que les idées suicidaires, communes à de nombreux antidépresseurs, apparaissent plus facilement au cours des premières semaines.Le priapisme et les arythmies peuvent également apparaître et avoir des conséquences chez les personnes ayant des problèmes cardiovasculaires antérieurs.

Il faut tenir compte du fait que le principal représentant de ces médicaments est excrété dans le lait maternel, ce qui est contre-indiqué chez les femmes enceintes et les nourrissons. Également chez les personnes souffrant de problèmes cardiaques et de crises cardiaques antérieures et de problèmes de foie ou de reins. Des précautions particulières doivent être prises en cas de bipolarité ou de trouble psychotique, car cela peut favoriser le passage à des symptômes maniaques ou à l'apparition de symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations et de l'agitation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alcántara-López, M.G .; Gutiérrez-García, A.G.; Hernández-Lozano, M. & Contreras, C.M. (2009). Trazodone, un antidépresseur atypique aux propriétés anxiolytiques et sédatives. Arch. Neurocien (Mex), 14 (4): 249-257.
  • Pérez, R. (2017). Traitement pharmacologique de la dépression: nouvelles et orientations futures. Rev. Fac. Med. (Méx.), 60 (5). Mexico.

La Sérotonine et la Dépression, Animation. (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes