yes, therapy helps!
Anthophobia (fear of flowers): causes, symptoms and treatment

Anthophobia (fear of flowers): causes, symptoms and treatment

July 15, 2024

Human beings can feel fear due to a great variety of objects or situations, a reaction that can be normal as long as this fear is objective and realistic. However, there are times when a person may feel great fear towards seemingly harmless things, As is the case with anthophobia, the irrational fear of flowers .

In this article we will delve into the most characteristic aspects of this disorder and review its causes, symptoms and consequences.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is anthophobia

Perhaps anthophobia is not one of the best known phobias, but it is one of the most curious. This pathology is an intense and irrational fear of flowers, which are stimuli that represent little or no real danger . This, on the other hand, is something that happens with all phobias: although I can not explain why, the person develops an irrational fear of elements that are harmless in principle. The cause of this has to do with the functioning of emotional memory, as we will see.


With the exception of those individuals who may suffer allergies, the majority of the population should not fear the reproductive devices of most plants; nevertheless, some subjects fear flowers, and this disorder can become really incapacitating for them.

Phobias belong to the group of anxiety disorders and, therefore, one of the most characteristic symptoms experienced by subjects with this condition are anxiety and anguish (besides fear). The phobic tend to avoid the feared stimulus in an attempt to reduce the discomfort. Luckily, and despite the great suffering that this phobia can cause, anthophobia has a cure.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

Causes of this phobia

People who develop a phobia have not been born with this disorder , but they have learned it. In most cases, this occurs implicitly after a traumatic experience that provokes negative and intense emotions. Phobias are learned by classical conditioning.


Classical conditioning is a type of learning that occurs through the association of a stimulus that is originally neutral with another that triggers a fear response. A person may have suffered a negative experience when running through a garden full of flowers, and the impact of this situation causes that the next time he encounters a flower he develops a great anxiety and a disproportionate fear of the seemingly harmless situation.

  • If you want to know more about classical conditioning, you can read our article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

They are also learned by observation

But experiencing a traumatic situation is not only the only cause of the appearance of anthophobia, but phobias can appear vicarious conditioning. For example, when watching a scary movie in which roses appear in bloody scenes of the film. In this way, an association is created in our mind between a stimulus that in principle did not have a very significant emotional load (flowers) and another that produces aversion, so that we perceive the first makes us feel bad because of that "emotional memory" .


Phobias do not respond to logical arguments, largely because the emotion of fear has to do with the primitive brain. In this sense, some experts claim that phobias are produced by primary associations and have a survival function, not cognitive associations.

  • Related article: "Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?"

Symptoms of fear of flowers

The symptoms of phobias appear when imagining or coming into contact with the stimulus, in this case, the flowers. Anxiety and avoidance of stimulation are some of the most characteristic symptoms; However, the phobic experience cognitive, behavioral and physical symptoms .

The most characteristic cognitive symptoms are irrational fear, anguish, catastrophic thoughts, lack of concentration or confusion. It is also frequent that intrusive ideas are presented , and in general, "mental images" that cause great discomfort and that appear in the consciousness in a disruptive way, without being able to do anything to avoid it.

Avoidance of the stimulus is the most characteristic behavioral symptom. As for the physical symptoms, we can highlight:

  • Difficulty breathing
  • Headache
  • Fast pulse
  • Hypersurbation
  • Dry mouth
  • Sickness
  • Tremors

Treatment of anthobia

The cases of anthophobia are not very frequent, but they are those of phobic disorders in general. For this reason, many investigations have been carried out in this line, which has allowed the development of very effective treatments to put an end to these irrational fears. Thus, although these pathologies cause great suffering, the prognosis for patients is good.

When looking for help, the first step that many phobics give is to go to the doctor, but the option is to receive treatment from a psychology professional. There are many methods that work to treat phobias, but the best known and the best results seems to contribute is cognitive behavioral therapy. This form of therapy is composed of different techniques, among which highlights the relaxation and breathing techniques and exposure techniques.

For the treatment of phobias systematic desensitization is usually applied , which includes the two previous techniques, and which exposes the patient gradually to the feared stimulus. Of course, you must first learn coping strategies such as relaxation and breathing techniques.

In addition to cognitive behavioral therapy, cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness or acceptance and commitment therapy have also proven to be very effective. Both types of psychotherapy belong to third-generation therapy.

  • If you want to know more about third-generation therapies, you can read our article: "What are third-generation therapies?"

The treatment of phobias today

In recent years, the development of new technologies has also allowed the treatment of phobias to be different, given that it is now easier to create situations in which the person feels close to the phobic stimulus. In addition, this can be done in the consultation itself in which psychological intervention services are offered, in a controlled manner and with a professional supervising the process.

The emergence of virtual reality allowed the patient not to expose himself to the phobic stimulus , but I can do it by simulating reality. Some psychologists use this technique with excellent results, which can also be found in mobile apps. You can read more about this topic in our article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"


15 Weird Phobias That Actually Exist (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anthophobie (peur des fleurs): causes, symptômes et traitement

Anthophobie (peur des fleurs): causes, symptômes et traitement

Juin 30, 2022

Les êtres humains peuvent ressentir la peur en raison d’une grande variété d’objets ou de situations, réaction qui peut être normale tant que cette peur est objective et réaliste. Cependant, il y a des moments où une personne peut ressentir une grande peur à l'égard de choses apparemment inoffensives, Comme dans le cas des anthophobies, la peur irrationnelle des fleurs .

Dans cet article, nous aborderons les aspects les plus caractéristiques de ce trouble et examinerons ses causes, ses symptômes et ses conséquences.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que l'anthophobie?

L’anthophobie n’est peut-être pas l’une des phobies les plus connues, mais l’une des plus curieuses. Cette pathologie est une peur intense et irrationnelle des fleurs, qui sont des stimuli qui représentent peu ou pas de danger réel . Cela se produit, en revanche, avec toutes les phobies: bien que je ne puisse pas expliquer pourquoi, la personne développe une peur irrationnelle des éléments qui sont inoffensifs en principe. La cause en est liée au fonctionnement de la mémoire émotionnelle, comme nous le verrons.


À l'exception des personnes susceptibles de souffrir d'allergies, la majorité de la population ne devrait pas craindre les dispositifs de reproduction de la plupart des plantes; néanmoins, certains sujets ont peur des fleurs et ce trouble peut devenir vraiment invalidant pour elles.

Les phobies appartiennent au groupe des troubles anxieux et, par conséquent, l’un des symptômes les plus caractéristiques des sujets atteints est anxiété et angoisse (outre la peur). Les phobiques ont tendance à éviter le stimulus redouté pour tenter de réduire l’inconfort. Heureusement, et malgré les grandes souffrances que cette phobie peut causer, l’anthophobie a un traitement curatif.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

Causes de cette phobie

Les personnes qui développent une phobie ne sont pas nés avec ce trouble , mais ils l'ont appris. Dans la plupart des cas, cela se produit implicitement après une expérience traumatique qui provoque des émotions négatives et intenses. Les phobies sont apprises par conditionnement classique.


Le conditionnement classique est un type d'apprentissage qui se produit par l'association d'un stimulus initialement neutre à un autre qui déclenche une réaction de peur. Une personne peut avoir vécu une expérience négative en traversant un jardin fleuri et l’impact de cette situation provoque que la prochaine fois qu'il rencontre une fleur, il développe une grande anxiété et une peur disproportionnée de la situation apparemment inoffensive.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur le conditionnement classique, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Ils sont également appris par l'observation

Mais l'expérience d'une situation traumatique n'est pas seulement la seule cause de l'apparition de l'anthophobie, mais les phobies peuvent apparaître comme un conditionnement par procuration. Par exemple, lorsque vous regardez un film effrayant dans lequel des roses apparaissent dans les scènes sanglantes du film. De cette manière, une association est créée dans notre esprit entre un stimulus qui en principe n’avait pas de charge émotionnelle très significative (fleurs) et un autre qui produit de l’aversion, de sorte que nous percevions le premier. nous fait sentir mal à cause de cette "mémoire émotionnelle" .


Les phobies ne répondent pas aux arguments logiques, principalement parce que l'émotion de la peur a à voir avec le cerveau primitif. En ce sens, certains experts affirment que les phobies sont produites par des associations primaires et ont une fonction de survie, et non des associations cognitives.

  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement du vicaire: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?"

Symptômes de peur des fleurs

Les symptômes des phobies apparaissent lorsque vous imaginez ou entrez en contact avec le stimulus, dans ce cas, les fleurs. L'inquiétude et l'évitement de la stimulation font partie des symptômes les plus caractéristiques. cependant, l'expérience phobique des symptômes cognitifs, comportementaux et physiques .

Les symptômes cognitifs les plus caractéristiques sont la peur irrationnelle, l’angoisse, des pensées catastrophiques, le manque de concentration ou la confusion. Il est également fréquent que des idées intrusives soient présentées et en général, des "images mentales" qui causent un grand inconfort et qui apparaissent dans la conscience de manière perturbatrice, sans pouvoir rien faire pour l'éviter.

L'évitement du stimulus est le symptôme comportemental le plus caractéristique. En ce qui concerne les symptômes physiques, on peut souligner:

  • Difficulté à respirer
  • Mal de tête
  • Impulsion rapide
  • Hypersurbation
  • Bouche sèche
  • La nausée
  • Tremblements

Traitement de anthobia

Les cas d’anthophobie ne sont pas très fréquents, mais ce sont ceux des troubles phobiques en général. Pour cette raison, de nombreuses enquêtes ont été menées dans cette ligne, ce qui a permis la mise au point de traitements très efficaces pour mettre fin à ces peurs irrationnelles. Ainsi, bien que ces pathologies causent de grandes souffrances, le pronostic pour les patients est bon.

Lorsque de nombreux phobiques demandent de l'aide, la première étape consiste à consulter un médecin, mais l'option est de recevoir un traitement d'un professionnel de la psychologie. Il existe de nombreuses méthodes efficaces pour traiter les phobies, mais la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est la meilleure et la plus efficace. Cette forme de thérapie est composée de différentes techniques, parmi lesquelles met en évidence les techniques de relaxation et de respiration et techniques d'exposition.

Pour le traitement des phobies la désensibilisation systématique est habituellement appliquée , qui inclut les deux techniques précédentes, et qui expose progressivement le patient au stimulus redouté. Bien sûr, vous devez d’abord apprendre les stratégies d’adaptation telles que la relaxation et les techniques de respiration.

Outre la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, la thérapie cognitive basée sur la thérapie de la pleine conscience ou de l'acceptation et de l'engagement s'est également révélée très efficace. Les deux types de psychothérapie appartiennent à la thérapie de troisième génération.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les thérapies de troisième génération, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Que sont les thérapies de troisième génération?"

Le traitement des phobies aujourd'hui

Ces dernières années, le développement de nouvelles technologies a également permis de traiter différemment les phobies, car il est désormais plus facile de créer des situations dans lesquelles la personne se sent proche du stimulus phobique. De plus, cela peut se faire lors de la consultation même, dans laquelle des services d’intervention psychologique sont offerts, de manière contrôlée et avec un professionnel supervisant le processus.

L'émergence de la réalité virtuelle a permis au patient de ne pas s'exposer au stimulus phobique , mais je peux le faire en simulant la réalité. Certains psychologues utilisent cette technique avec d'excellents résultats, que l'on peut également trouver dans les applications mobiles. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce sujet dans notre article: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"


5 extrem seltsame Phobien die tatsächlich existieren ???? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes