yes, therapy helps!
Antidepressants and alcohol: effects and consequences of their combination

Antidepressants and alcohol: effects and consequences of their combination

January 25, 2022

The relationship between the simultaneous use of antidepressants with other psychotropic substances, such as alcohol , has been recently studied by different specialists. This is because the frequent use of alcohol is a common practice in people who have a diagnosis of depression, as well as depression is a frequent phenomenon in people who have alcoholism.

In this article we will see what are the mechanisms of action of both antidepressants and alcohol, as well as some of the effects and consequences of combining both substances.

  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

Antidepressant drugs and alcohol: mechanisms of action

The prescription of antidepressant drugs starts from considering that depression is characterized by a decrease in the levels of serotonin (neurotransmitter associated with the activation of pleasurable emotions).


Thus, antidepressants have the main objective of compensating for this decrease by means of ensure that serotonin concentrates longer in the synaptic space . This compensation can in turn favor the concentration of other substances and, depending on what they are, the adverse effects of antidepressants can increase or decrease.

The main types of antidepressants are the following:

  • Inhibitors of the enzyme MonoAmino Oxidase (MAOI), which may have an irreversible or reversible effect, and whose use is recommended only in cases where there is no response to another treatment, because of its high risk to health .
  • Tricyclic and Tetracyclic antidepressants, which prevent the reuptake of serotonin, but also of noradrenaline, as well as other substances such as acetylcholine.
  • Selective Inhibitors of Serotonin Recapture (SSRI). It is the most used antidepressant currently because its adverse effects are less than in the other psychotropic drugs.
  • Selective Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline (ISRN), such as tricyclics, prevent the recapture of both neurotransmitters , and yet have less risk of adverse effects.
  • Antagonists and Inhibitors of Serotonin Reuptake (AIRS) that also have hypnotic effects.
  • Selective Inhibitors of Catecholamines Reuptake (adrenaline, noradrenaline, dopamine).

How does alcohol work?

On the other hand, alcohol is a chemical substance that has different uses and that is present in several organisms and natural compounds. Ethyl alcohol, also known as ethanol , is the psychoactive substance found in alcoholic beverages for recreational use, such as wine, liquor or beer.


Its main effect is central nervous system depression, since it produces a neurochemical inhibition in GABAa receptors. In a high consumption, and as a depressant, ethanol has consequences as behavioral disinhibition combined with states of euphoria, drowsiness, dizziness , low reflexes, slow down movements, decreased vision, among others.

Its effects are very similar to those that produce psychotropic drugs such as benzodiazepines and barbiturates, since they act on the same neuronal receptors.

That said, we can describe some of the main effects that can cause the combination of antidepressant drugs with alcohol consumption .

Effects and consequences of their combination

As we have seen, the consumption of alcohol in depression is common, however, its interaction with antidepressants in people who have the diagnosis has been little studied, except in those who have a problematic consumption of alcoholic beverages.


In these studies it has been seen that the combination of antidepressants and alcohol generates an enhancement of the effects that alcohol produces on its own. For this reason, the mixture of alcohol with different antidepressants is contraindicated . Below we will list in more detail some of the main reasons.

1. Enhance the sedative action

The clearest and best known effect of the combination of antidepressants with alcohol is the high probability of increasing its depressant or sedative effects on the central nervous system. The latter occurs both in the case of SSRIs (for example, duloxetine, floxamine, fluoxetine or citalopram), as in the case of tricyclic and tetracyclic antidepressants (such as imipramine or mirtazapine).

The consequence of the above is an increase in the experience of symptoms of depression in the medium term, as well as a prolonged decrease in alertness, coordination, motor skills, and a significant increase in sleepiness.

Also, the combination of alcohol and SSRI antidepressants, such as venlafaxine, and related medications, has been associated with a change in alcohol tolerance , and with the exacerbation of the behavioral effects that the latter produces, such as the disinhibition of violent and sexual behavior together with a deteriorated memory.

2. Interfere in the metabolism of alcohol

Especially when it comes to MAOI antidepressants, alcohol is contraindicated, because these drugs inhibit the oxidative activity of hepatic microsomal enzymes, which interfere in the metabolization of chemical compounds such as ethanol; but also with the metabolism of caffeine, analgesics, barbiturates and other antidepressants.

At the same time, this makes psychotropic effects potentiate of the substance with which it is mixed (both ethanol and the aforementioned drugs). Because MAOIs interact with different substances that are easily found in food and beverages, it is important to take precautions with what is consumed. Improper mixing can cause increased blood pressure and severe adverse reactions.

3. Increase the risk of adverse effects of the drug

As with many other medications, mixing antidepressants with alcohol increases the likelihood of suffering the adverse effects associated with the medication. For example, important states of anxiety, sleep disorders, and damage to various organs .

4. Sleep disturbances

Because alcohol causes drowsiness, and sometimes depression has as a characteristic difficulty in falling asleep, drinking alcoholic beverages becomes a common resource. However, it is a short-term effect, because although alcohol consumption can cause a rapid sleep, It is also common to alter the circadian rhythms and provoke waking states at midnight.

Use of antidepressants in the treatment of alcoholism

As we have said, alcoholism and depression are phenomena that are often accompanied. In addition to this, Different symptoms caused by alcoholism have been treated by pharmacological prescriptions diverse

Although the use of anxiolytics is more frequent, considering that anxiety is one of the main causes of alcoholism, the use of antidepressants in phases of detoxification in alcoholism treatments has recently been studied. This phase is what is to eradicate the psychological dependence on alcohol.

For example, trazodone, which is an antagonist and inhibitor of serotonin reuptake It is used for the treatment of chronic alcoholism . Likewise, venlafaxine (sometimes combined with fluoxetine), which are selective inhibitors of serotonin reuptake, is used to treat different types of alcoholism.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hall-Flavin, D. (2018). Why is it bad to mix antidepressants and alcohol ?. Mayo Clinic Retrieved August 15, 2018. Available at //www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/depression/expert-answers/antidepressants-and-alcohol/faq-20058231.
  • Gutiérrez, J.A., Torres, V.A., Guzmán, J.E. et al (2011). Pharmacological Therapeutics Antidepressants Aten Fam 18 (1): 20-25.
  • Herxheimer, A. and Menkes, D. (2011). Drinking alcohol during antidepressant treatment- a cause for concern ?. The Pharmaceutical Journal. Retrieved August 15, 2018. Available at //www.pharmaceutical-journal.com/news-and-analysis/drinking-alcohol-during-antidepressant-treatment-a-cause-for-concern/11091677.article?firstPass=false .
  • Dualde, F. and Climente, M. (2006). Chapter 03: Antidepressants, pp. 93-147. In Manual of Psychopharmacology. Retrieved August 15, 2018. Available at //www.researchgate.net/profile/Fernando_Dualde_Beltran/publication/321997690_Antidepressivos/links/5a3d65fba6fdcce197ff7bff/Antidepresivos.pdf.
  • Rubio, G., Ponce, G., Jiménez-Arrieto, M.A., et al (2002). Treatment of depressive disorders in alcohol dependent subjects. 3rd Virtual Congress of Psychiatry, Interpsiquis, pp. 1-18.
  • Rubio, P., Giner, J. and Fernández, F.J. (nineteen ninety six). Antidepressant treatment in alcoholic patients in the phase of detoxification. Journal of the Chair of Medical Psychology and Psychiatry, 7 (1): 125-142.

Zoloft (sertraline): A Review of Important Precautions and Side Effects (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Antidépresseurs et alcool: effets et conséquences de leur association

Antidépresseurs et alcool: effets et conséquences de leur association

Mai 16, 2022

La relation entre l’utilisation simultanée d’antidépresseurs et d’autres substances psychotropes, telles que l’alcool , a récemment été étudié par différents spécialistes. En effet, la consommation fréquente d'alcool est une pratique courante chez les personnes diagnostiquées comme dépressives, de même que la dépression est un phénomène fréquent chez les personnes alcooliques.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quels sont les mécanismes d'action des antidépresseurs et de l'alcool, ainsi que certains des effets et conséquences de la combinaison des deux substances.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Antidépresseurs et alcool: mécanismes d'action

La prescription d'antidépresseurs commence par le fait de considérer que la dépression se caractérise par une diminution des niveaux de sérotonine (neurotransmetteur associé à l'activation d'émotions agréables).


Ainsi, les antidépresseurs ont pour objectif principal de compenser cette diminution par le biais de s'assurer que la sérotonine se concentre plus longtemps dans l'espace synaptique . Cette compensation peut à son tour favoriser la concentration d'autres substances et, en fonction de ce qu'elles sont, les effets indésirables des antidépresseurs peuvent augmenter ou diminuer.

Les principaux types d'antidépresseurs sont les suivants:

  • Inhibiteurs de l'enzyme MonoAmino Oxidase (MAOI), pouvant avoir un effet irréversible ou réversible, et dont l'utilisation est recommandée uniquement en l'absence de réponse à un autre traitement, en raison de son risque élevé pour la santé .
  • Les antidépresseurs tricycliques et tétracycliques, qui empêchent la recapture de la sérotonine, mais également de la noradrénaline, ainsi que d’autres substances telles que l’acétylcholine.
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS). C'est l'antidépresseur le plus utilisé actuellement car ses effets indésirables sont moindres que ceux des autres médicaments psychotropes.
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline (ISRN), tels que les tricycliques, empêcher la reprise des deux neurotransmetteurs , et pourtant ont moins de risque d'effets indésirables.
  • Antagonistes et inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (AIRS) qui ont également des effets hypnotiques.
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de catécholamines (adrénaline, noradrénaline, dopamine).

Comment fonctionne l'alcool?

En revanche, l’alcool est une substance chimique ayant différents usages et présente dans plusieurs organismes et composés naturels. Alcool éthylique, aussi appelé éthanol , est la substance psychoactive trouvée dans les boissons alcoolisées à des fins récréatives, telles que le vin, les boissons alcoolisées ou la bière.


Son effet principal est la dépression du système nerveux central, car il produit une inhibition neurochimique des récepteurs GABAa. Dans une consommation élevée et comme dépresseur, l’éthanol a des conséquences désinhibition comportementale associée à des états d'euphorie, de somnolence et de vertiges , réflexes bas, mouvements de ralentissement, vision réduite, entre autres.

Ses effets sont très similaires à ceux qui produisent des médicaments psychotropes tels que les benzodiazépines et les barbituriques, car ils agissent sur les mêmes récepteurs neuronaux.

Cela dit, nous pouvons décrire certains des principaux effets pouvant causer la combinaison d'antidépresseurs avec la consommation d'alcool .

Effets et conséquences de leur combinaison

Comme nous l’avons vu, la consommation d’alcool dans les cas de dépression est courante, mais son interaction avec les antidépresseurs chez les personnes diagnostiquées a été peu étudiée, à l’exception de celles ayant une consommation problématique de boissons alcoolisées.


Dans ces études, il a été constaté que la combinaison d’antidépresseurs et d’alcool accroît les effets produits par l’alcool. Pour cette raison, le mélange d'alcool avec différents antidépresseurs est contre-indiqué . Ci-dessous, nous énumérerons plus en détail certaines des principales raisons.

1. Améliorer l'action sédative

L'effet le plus évident et le plus connu de l'association d'antidépresseurs avec l'alcool est la probabilité élevée d'accroître ses effets dépresseurs ou sédatifs sur le système nerveux central. Ce dernier cas survient à la fois dans le cas des ISRS (par exemple, la duloxétine, la floxamine, la fluoxétine ou le citalopram), comme dans le cas des antidépresseurs tricycliques et tétracycliques (tels que l'imipramine ou la mirtazapine).

La conséquence de ce qui précède est une augmentation de l’expérience de symptômes de dépression à moyen terme, ainsi qu’une diminution prolongée de la vigilance, de la coordination, des capacités motrices et une augmentation importante de la somnolence.

En outre, l'association d'antidépresseurs anti-ISRS et d'alcool, tels que la venlafaxine, et les médicaments associés, a été associé à un changement de tolérance à l'alcool , et avec l'exacerbation des effets comportementaux que ceux-ci produisent, tels que la désinhibition des comportements violents et sexuels accompagnés d'une mémoire détériorée.

2. Interférer dans le métabolisme de l'alcool

L’alcool est contre-indiqué, en particulier en ce qui concerne les antidépresseurs IMAO, car ces médicaments inhibent l’activité oxydante des enzymes microsomales hépatiques, qui entravent la métabolisation de composés chimiques tels que l’éthanol; mais aussi avec le métabolisme de la caféine, des analgésiques, des barbituriques et d’autres antidépresseurs.

À son tour, cela rend les effets psychotropes potentialiser de la substance avec laquelle il est mélangé (à la fois l'éthanol et les médicaments susmentionnés). Étant donné que les IMAO interagissent avec différentes substances facilement présentes dans les aliments et les boissons, il est important de prendre des précautions lors de la consommation. Un mélange inapproprié peut entraîner une augmentation de la pression artérielle et des réactions indésirables graves.

3. Augmenter le risque d'effets indésirables du médicament

Comme avec beaucoup d'autres médicaments, le mélange d'antidépresseurs avec de l'alcool augmente le risque de souffrir des effets indésirables associés au médicament. Par exemple, états d'anxiété importants, troubles du sommeil et lésions de divers organes .

4. Troubles du sommeil

Étant donné que l’alcool cause la somnolence et que parfois la dépression a pour caractéristique caractéristique de s’endormir, la consommation de boissons alcoolisées devient une ressource courante. Cependant, il s’agit d’un effet à court terme, car même si la consommation d’alcool peut provoquer un sommeil rapide, Il est également courant de modifier les rythmes circadiens et provoquer des états de veille à minuit.

Utilisation d'antidépresseurs dans le traitement de l'alcoolisme

Comme nous l’avons dit, l’alcoolisme et la dépression sont des phénomènes souvent accompagnés. En plus de cela, Différents symptômes causés par l'alcoolisme ont été traités par des prescriptions pharmacologiques divers

Bien que l’utilisation d’anxiolytiques soit plus fréquente, l’anxiété étant l’une des principales causes de l’alcoolisme, l’utilisation des antidépresseurs en phase de détoxication dans le traitement de l’alcoolisme a récemment fait l’objet d’une étude. Cette phase est ce qui doit éliminer la dépendance psychologique à l'alcool.

Par exemple, la trazodone, antagoniste et inhibiteur du recaptage de la sérotonine Il est utilisé pour le traitement de l'alcoolisme chronique . De même, la venlafaxine (parfois associée à la fluoxétine), qui sont des inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine, est utilisée pour traiter différents types d’alcoolisme.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hall-Flavin, D. (2018). Pourquoi est-il mauvais de mélanger antidépresseurs et alcool? Clinique Mayo Extrait le 15 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/depression/expert-answers/antidepressants-and-alcohol/faq-20058231.
  • Gutiérrez, J.A., Torres, V.A., Guzmán, J.E. et al (2011). Thérapeutique Pharmacologique Antidépresseurs Aten Fam 18 (1): 20-25.
  • Herxheimer, A. et Menkes, D. (2011). Boire de l’alcool pendant le traitement antidépresseur: un sujet de préoccupation? Le journal pharmaceutique. Récupéré le 15 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.pharmaceutical-journal.com/news-and-analysis/drinking-alcohol-during-antidepressant-treatment-a-cause-for-concern/11091677.article?firstPass=false .
  • Dualde, F. et Climente, M. (2006). Chapitre 03: Antidépresseurs, pp. 93-147. Dans Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Récupéré le 15 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.researchgate.net/profile/Fernando_Dualde_Beltran/publication/321997690_Antidepressivos/links/5a3d65fba6fdcce197ff7bff/Antidepresivos.pdf.
  • Rubio, G., G. Ponce, Jiménez-Arrieto, M.A., et al (2002). Traitement des troubles dépressifs chez les sujets alcoolodépendants. 3ème Congrès virtuel de psychiatrie, Interpsiquis, pp. 1-18.
  • Rubio, P., Giner, J. et Fernández, F.J. (1996). Traitement antidépresseur chez les patients alcooliques en phase de désintoxication. Journal de la chaire de psychologie médicale et psychiatrie, 7 (1): 125-142.

Huit questions sur l'addiction sexuelle (Dr KARILA) - PSYCHE #11 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes