yes, therapy helps!
Antidepressants are not effective in children and young people, according to a study

Antidepressants are not effective in children and young people, according to a study

November 29, 2021

Medications aimed at treating mental disorders have proved very useful in clinical practice, but they also have their drawbacks. Although in many cases they allow mitigating certain symptoms that negatively affect the quality of life of those who suffer them, it is also true that in all cases they have side effects in the patients' body .

The side effects, as well as the dependence that certain psychodrugs can generate, make it worth exploring alternatives.

Drugs to treat mental problems in children: a good idea?

When the potential clients of these substances are younger people, such as children and adolescents, the possibility of using invasive methods to alter the biological dynamics that occur in their nervous system is even more dangerous, taking into account that the changes produced at such ages can be determining factors in their growth.


That is why an ambitious meta-analysis of several researches has recently been carried out in which The efficacy of antidepressants in children and young people of both sexes was evaluated . The results, published in the scientific journal The Lancet, show that these drugs are much less effective than previously thought, or at least with regard to their effects on the youngest. In fact, they could increase the risk of suicidal thoughts (and behaviors).

How was the meta-analysis performed?

The meta-analysis was carried out by a team of researchers led by Dr. Andrea Cipriani, from the University of Oxford. It includes a review and a statistical analysis based on 34 trials based on the efficacy of 14 antidepressants in young people. In total, the children and adolescents studied among all the investigations from which the meta-analysis started formed a total of 5260 individuals.


Among the factors that were taken into account in the meta-analysis is, of course, the efficacy of antidepressants, but also their adverse effects, the abandonment and tolerance to their side effects .

Results: some antidepressants do not work

The most effective antidepressant found was, as judged from the results of the meta-analysis, fluoxetine. However, the most important discovery made from this study is that the rest of antidepressants showed an efficacy that at most could be considered as very low . In fact, they did not show an effectiveness superior to that of placebo. In addition, imipramine, duloxetine and venlafaxine generated such strong adverse effects that they stopped the treatment, something that does not happen with placebo. In the case of the latter (venlafaxine), an important correlation was detected between the taking of this antidepressant and the appearance of suicidal thoughts.


It is clear that the efficacy of this type of medication does not have to be taken for granted simply by the fact that the taking of these substances seems to have an evident effect on the mental processes: these effects do not have to be those that were intended to generate . In addition, psychopharmacological treatments that are effective in adults do not have to be equally beneficial in younger people, since both their body and the biological processes that occur in their neuroendocrine system are different from those of mature humans.

It is not convenient to venture conclusions

However, it is worth noting the fact that, although the findings of a meta-analysis may be more important than those of a single investigation based on a small group of people studied, this study has limitations that make us unable to take its findings as the absolute truth .

Firstly, because being a meta-analysis so massive and based on a large amount of information, the team that carried it out could not access the microdata used in the studies on which they were based, so they had to partially trust the good work of the scientists who preceded them.

In addition, the fact of working from investigations carried out independently of each other made that, in part, the data that were crossed in the statistical analysis were not comparable at all, when referring to slightly different situations and somewhat different methods.

That is why This meta-analysis should be considered as a base from which to continue researching , and not as a strong reason to make treatments with antidepressants are interrupted immediately.


Is Prozac safe for children ? | BEST Health Channel & Answers (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les antidépresseurs ne sont pas efficaces chez les enfants et les jeunes, selon une étude

Les antidépresseurs ne sont pas efficaces chez les enfants et les jeunes, selon une étude

Mai 21, 2019

Les médicaments destinés à traiter les troubles mentaux se sont révélés très utiles en pratique clinique, mais ils présentent également des inconvénients. Bien que dans de nombreux cas, ils permettent d’atténuer certains symptômes qui affectent négativement la qualité de vie de ceux qui en souffrent, il est également vrai que dans tous les cas, ils ont des effets secondaires sur le corps du patient .

Les effets secondaires, ainsi que la dépendance que peuvent engendrer certains médicaments psychotropes, rendent d’autres solutions intéressantes.

Les médicaments pour traiter les problèmes mentaux chez les enfants: une bonne idée?

Lorsque les clients potentiels de ces substances sont des personnes plus jeunes, telles que les enfants et les adolescents, la possibilité d'utiliser des méthodes invasives pour modifier la dynamique biologique de leur système nerveux est encore plus dangereuse, étant donné que les changements produits à ces âges peuvent être des facteurs déterminants dans leur croissance.


C’est pourquoi une méta-analyse ambitieuse de plusieurs recherches a récemment été réalisée dans laquelle L’efficacité des antidépresseurs chez les enfants et les adolescents des deux sexes a été évaluée . Les résultats, publiés dans la revue scientifique The Lancet, montrent que ces médicaments sont beaucoup moins efficaces qu'on ne le pensait auparavant, ou du moins en ce qui concerne leurs effets sur les plus jeunes. En fait, ils pourraient augmenter le risque de pensées (et de comportements) suicidaires.

Comment la méta-analyse a-t-elle été effectuée?

La méta-analyse a été réalisée par une équipe de chercheurs dirigée par Mme Andrea Cipriani, de l'Université d'Oxford. Il comprend une revue et une analyse statistique basées sur 34 essais basés sur l'efficacité de 14 antidépresseurs chez les jeunes. Au total, les enfants et les adolescents étudiés parmi toutes les enquêtes à partir desquelles la méta-analyse a été réalisée représentaient un total de 5 260 personnes.


Parmi les facteurs pris en compte dans la méta-analyse, on peut citer: l'efficacité des antidépresseurs, mais aussi leurs effets indésirables, l'abandon et la tolérance à leurs effets secondaires .

Résultats: certains antidépresseurs ne fonctionnent pas

D'après les résultats de la méta-analyse, l'antidépresseur le plus efficace trouvé était la fluoxétine. Cependant, la découverte la plus importante de cette étude est que le reste des antidépresseurs a montré une efficacité pouvant tout au plus être considérée comme très faible . En fait, ils n'ont pas montré une efficacité supérieure à celle du placebo. En outre, l'imipramine, la duloxétine et la venlafaxine ont généré des effets indésirables si importants qu'ils ont interrompu le traitement, ce qui n'est pas le cas avec le placebo. Dans le dernier cas (venlafaxine), une corrélation importante a été détectée entre la prise de cet antidépresseur et l'apparition de pensées suicidaires.


Il est clair que l'efficacité de ce type de médicament ne doit pas être considérée comme acquise par le simple fait que la prise de ces substances semble avoir un effet évident sur les processus mentaux.: ces effets ne doivent pas nécessairement être ceux qui étaient censés générer . En outre, les traitements psychopharmacologiques efficaces chez l'adulte ne doivent pas nécessairement présenter les mêmes avantages chez les jeunes, car leur corps et les processus biologiques intervenant dans leur système neuroendocrinien sont différents de ceux des humains matures.

Il n’est pas commode d’avancer des conclusions

Cependant, il convient de noter le fait que, même si les résultats d'une méta-analyse peuvent être plus importants que ceux d'une seule enquête basée sur un petit groupe de personnes étudiées, cette étude a des limites qui nous empêchent de prendre ses conclusions comme la vérité absolue .

Premièrement, parce qu’il s’agissait d’une méta-analyse très volumineuse et reposant sur une grande quantité d’informations, l’équipe qui l’a réalisée n’a pas pu accéder aux microdonnées utilisées dans les études sur lesquelles elle est basée. faites confiance au bon travail des scientifiques qui les ont précédés.

De plus, le fait de travailler à partir d’enquêtes menées indépendamment les unes des autres faisait qu’en partie les données croisées dans l’analyse statistique n’étaient pas du tout comparables, s’agissant de situations légèrement différentes et de méthodes quelque peu différentes.

C'est pour ça que Cette méta-analyse doit être considérée comme une base à partir de laquelle poursuivre les recherches , et non comme une raison forte de faire des traitements avec des antidépresseurs sont immédiatement interrompus.


Le vrai danger des brûlent graisses sur internet avec dr imad misab info 2m (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes