yes, therapy helps!
Antoine Lavoisier: biography of this chemistry researcher

Antoine Lavoisier: biography of this chemistry researcher

September 2, 2022

Antoine Lavoisier (1743-1794) was a French scientist known as the father of modern chemistry. Through his experiments this discipline was first considered an exact science. In addition, the works of Lavoisier allowed us to know some vital mechanisms on the activity of the matter and the chemical elements.

We'll see now a biography of Antoine Lavoisier and an explanation of his main scientific contributions .

  • You may be interested: "The 11 types of chemical reactions"

Antoine Lavoisier: biography of the father of modern chemistry

Antoine-Laurent de Lavoisier, better known as Antoine Lavoisier, was born in Paris on August 26, 1743. He grew up in a middle-class family under the care of his aunt, due to the early death of his mother.


From 1754 to 1761, Lavoisier studied humanities and sciences at the Mazarin College, under the tutelage of the astronomer and mathematician Abbe La Caille, one of the first who had measured the meridian's arc. Later I studied chemistry and botany, as well as law .

As a result of the latter, he was admitted to the Order of Barristers, an honorary organization that promotes instruction in law. However, Lavoisier did not dedicate himself to this exercise but rather He leaned for scientific research , with which he was admitted to the Academy of Sciences of Paris in the year of 1768, at the age of 25 years.

A year later he participated in the development of the first geological map of France and in the same context he continued carrying out multidisciplinary tasks. In 1771 he married Marie-Anne Pierrette Paulze, who was quickly trained in the scientific context of Lavoisier, and later edited and published the memoirs of her husband. Lavoisier died in the guillotine of the French Revolution on May 8, 1794.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 differences between organic chemistry and inorganic chemistry"

5 main scientific contributions

Like other scientists of his generation, Antoine Lavoisier trained as an expert in very diverse areas. For the same contributed not only to modern chemistry and science but also to the humanities and letters .

However, he is most known for having been the first scientist to perform the first quantitative experiments in chemistry, which earned this discipline his immersion in the exact sciences. Because of this, Lavoisier is recognized as a pioneer in stoichiometry (the calculation of the properties of matter in chemical reactions).

Some of his most important experiments they are about the nature of combustion, the role of oxygen in the oxidation of metal, the role of oxygen in the respiration of animals and plants, and the mechanism of alcoholic fermentation. In broad strokes we will see below some of the main contributions of Lavoisier to chemistry.


1. Law of conservation of matter

Lavoisier wanted to study all the substances involved in the reactions he studied. Through multiple experiments, he concluded that during chemical reactions, matter is not destroyed. He was thus one of the main defenders of the laws of conversation of the matter. Put another way, he managed to prove that in a chemical reaction, the amount of material does not change, in any case its status is modified .

2. The combustion

Perhaps the most recognized scientific contribution of Lavoisier is about the nature of combustion. Describe this as the result of the combination of oxygen with another substance. Thus, he developed a theory of oxygen and its role in combustion; what is finally constituted as an experimental chemical theory about respiration and calcination .

This theory represented a challenge for the knowledge of the moment, derived from the theory of phlogiston, which sustained the loss of mass after combustion.

3. Oxygen

Lavoisier said that the air, necessary for combustion, is also a source of acidity. The particle responsible for this is called oxygen, which in Greek means "sharp", meaning that the sharp taste of the acids came from that particle.

As well showed that heat in animals is caused mainly by the combustion of carbon through oxygen , and that during physical activity, oxygen consumption increases, which produces more heat. On the other hand, he also maintained that air is a mixture of gases, where elements such as nitrogen and oxygen are mainly found

4. The H2O

On the other hand, he discovered that what until then was known as "flammable air", which I call "hydrogen" (by the Greek "water-forming"), could produce water when combined with oxygen. The latter based on the previous work of another scientist named Priestley. So, it is attributed to Lavoisier have researched deeply and for the first time the composition of water and air .

5. The elements and their nomenclature

He developed the concept of "element" arguing that it is simple chemical substances, that is, substances that can not be broken down into simpler ones. From this he elaborated a series of proposals on the composition of complex compounds that arise from the reactions between elements.

For this moment there was no rational nomenclature about the elements that make up nature . Until then, theories used to focus on earth, water, air and fire. From the study of Lavoisier, along with other French chemists, the Academy of Sciences accepted the existence of 55 simple substances which he called "chemical elements". This facilitated the communication between the chemists of the time, and introduced for the first time concepts like "sulfuric acid" and "sulfates".

Outstanding works

Some of the main works of Antoine Lavoisier are About combustion in general Y Memories on combustion, both from 1777; General considerations about the nature of acids, of 1778, Reflections of phlogiston, of 1787, and Chemical Nomenclature Method of 1787.

Bibliographic references:

  • Antoine Lavoisier (2016). New World Encyclopedia. Retrieved October 19, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Antoine_Lavoisier.
  • Donovan, A. (2018). Antoine Lavoisier. Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved October 19, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Antoine-Laurent-Lavoisier.

Antoine Lavoisier Biography (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Antoine Lavoisier: biographie de ce chercheur en chimie

Antoine Lavoisier: biographie de ce chercheur en chimie

Décembre 9, 2021

Antoine Lavoisier (1743-1794) était un scientifique français connu pour être le père de la chimie moderne. À travers ses expériences, cette discipline a d'abord été considérée comme une science exacte. De plus, les travaux de Lavoisier nous ont permis de connaître des mécanismes essentiels sur l’activité de la matière et des éléments chimiques.

Ensuite nous verrons une biographie d'Antoine Lavoisier et une explication de ses principales contributions scientifiques .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 11 types de réactions chimiques"

Antoine Lavoisier: biographie du père de la chimie moderne

Antoine-Laurent de Lavoisier, plus connu sous le nom d'Antoine Lavoisier, est né à Paris le 26 août 1743. Il a grandi dans une famille de classe moyenne sous la garde de sa tante, à la suite du décès précoce de sa mère.


De 1754 à 1761, Lavoisier étudie les sciences humaines et les sciences au collège Mazarin, sous la tutelle de l'astronome et mathématicien Abbé La Caille, l'un des premiers à avoir mesuré l'arc du méridien. Plus tard, j'ai étudié la chimie et la botanique, ainsi que le droit .

À la suite de ce dernier, il a été admis à l'ordre des avocats, une organisation honoraire qui promeut l'instruction en droit. Cependant, Lavoisier ne s’est pas consacré à cet exercice mais plutôt Il s'est penché pour la recherche scientifique avec lequel il fut admis à l'Académie des Sciences de Paris en 1768, à l'âge de 25 ans.

Un an plus tard, il participe à l’élaboration de la première carte géologique de la France et, dans le même contexte, poursuit ses tâches multidisciplinaires. En 1771, il épousa Marie-Anne Pierrette Paulze, rapidement formée dans le contexte scientifique de Lavoisier, puis elle rédigea et publia les mémoires de son mari. Lavoisier mort dans la guillotine de la Révolution française le 8 mai 1794.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 différences entre la chimie organique et la chimie inorganique"

5 contributions scientifiques principales

Comme d’autres scientifiques de sa génération, Antoine Lavoisier s’est formé comme expert dans des domaines très divers. Pour le même contribué non seulement à la chimie et à la science modernes, mais aussi aux sciences humaines et aux lettres .

Cependant, il est surtout connu pour avoir été le premier scientifique à effectuer les premières expériences quantitatives en chimie, ce qui a valu à cette discipline l'immersion dans les sciences exactes. De ce fait, Lavoisier est reconnu comme un pionnier de la stœchiométrie (calcul des propriétés de la matière dans les réactions chimiques).

Certaines de ses expériences les plus importantes elles concernent la nature de la combustion, le rôle de l'oxygène dans l'oxydation du métal, le rôle de l'oxygène dans la respiration des animaux et des plantes et le mécanisme de la fermentation alcoolique. En gros, nous verrons ci-dessous quelques-unes des principales contributions de Lavoisier à la chimie.


1. Loi de conservation de la matière

Lavoisier souhaitait étudier toutes les substances impliquées dans les réactions qu'il étudiait. Après de multiples expériences, il a conclu que lors de réactions chimiques, la matière n’est pas détruite. Il était donc l'un des principaux défenseurs des lois de la conversation en la matière. En d'autres termes, il a réussi à le prouver dans une réaction chimique, la quantité de matière ne change pas, dans tous les cas son statut est modifié .

2. la combustion

L’apport scientifique de Lavoisier le plus reconnu est peut-être la nature de la combustion. Décrivez cela comme le résultat de la combinaison d'oxygène avec une autre substance. Ainsi, il développa une théorie de l'oxygène et de son rôle dans la combustion; ce qui est finalement constitué comme une théorie chimique expérimentale sur la respiration et la calcination .

Cette théorie représentait un défi pour la connaissance du moment, dérivée de la théorie du phlogiston, qui maintenait la perte de masse après la combustion.

3. l'oxygène

Lavoisier a expliqué que l'air nécessaire à la combustion est également une source d'acidité. La particule responsable de cela s'appelle l'oxygène, ce qui en grec signifie "forte", ce qui signifie que le goût prononcé des acides provient de cette particule.

Aussi a montré que la chaleur chez les animaux est causée principalement par la combustion de carbone par l'oxygène et que, pendant l’activité physique, la consommation d’oxygène augmente, ce qui produit plus de chaleur. D'autre part, il a également affirmé que l'air est un mélange de gaz, dans lequel se trouvent principalement des éléments tels que l'azote et l'oxygène.

4. Le H2O

D'autre part, il a découvert que ce que l'on appelait jusque-là "l'air inflammable", que j'appelle "l'hydrogène" (du grec "formation d'eau"), pouvait produire de l'eau lorsqu'il était combiné à l'oxygène. Ce dernier est basé sur les travaux antérieurs d'un autre scientifique nommé Priestley. Donc, c'est attribué à Lavoisier ont étudié en profondeur et pour la première fois la composition de l'eau et de l'air .

5. Les éléments et leur nomenclature

Il a développé le concept d '"élément" en faisant valoir que ce sont des substances chimiques simples, c'est-à-dire des substances qui ne peuvent pas être décomposées en substances plus simples. À partir de là, il a élaboré une série de propositions sur la composition de composés complexes résultant des réactions entre éléments.

Pour ce moment il n'y avait pas de nomenclature rationnelle sur les éléments qui composent la nature . Jusque-là, les théories se concentraient sur la terre, l'eau, l'air et le feu. De l'étude de Lavoisier, avec d'autres chimistes français, l'Académie des sciences a admis l'existence de 55 substances simples qu'il a appelées "éléments chimiques". Cela facilitait la communication entre les chimistes de l'époque et introduisait pour la première fois des concepts tels que "acide sulfurique" et "sulfates".

Œuvres en vedette

Les œuvres principales d’Antoine Lavoisier sont A propos de la combustion en général et Souvenirs de combustion, tous deux de 1777; Considérations générales sur la nature des acidesde 1778, Reflets de phlogistonde 1787 et Méthode de la nomenclature chimique de 1787.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Antoine Lavoisier (2016). Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. Extrait le 19 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Antoine_Lavoisier.
  • Donovan, A. (2018). Antoine Lavoisier Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 19 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/Antoine-Laurent-Lavoisier.

Le philanthrope-Antoine Alexis Cadet de Vaux (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes