yes, therapy helps!
Anxiety disorders in childhood: symptoms and treatments

Anxiety disorders in childhood: symptoms and treatments

January 30, 2024

Know the anxiety disorders that occur in childhood It is very important, given the delicate stage of life that minors spend.

In this article we will see what are the disorders of this type and how they can be treated.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

Types of anxiety disorders in children

Children and adolescents, like adults, may have symptoms of anxiety and, despite the similarities, the consequences may be more damaging as they run the risk that they affect their socio-emotional development and even chronify becoming a more severe pathology.


That is why it is important to detect early any signs of anxiety during childhood. Some situations such as the change of school, the passage to the institute, the birth of a brother, the separation of the parents, the loss of a family member or the transfer to another city, can cause the appearance of anxiety. On the other hand, generalized anxiety disorder has a higher incidence, but separation anxiety disorder is very common and specific in children.

Anxiety disorders that appear during childhood They can be classified in the following categories.

  • Related article: "The 6 differences between stress and anxiety"

1. Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)

Generalized anxiety disorder is defined clinically, both in children and adults, as an exacerbated concern and difficult to control in many situations, present most of the days for at least six months.


According to the Manual of Psychiatry DSM IV, anxiety is associated with three or more of the following symptoms: restlessness or impatience, ease of fatigue, difficulty concentrating or staying with the mind blank, irritability, muscle tension and sleep disturbances.

Anxiety affects parents and the child , harming their school performance and social relationships, and concerns can encompass many situations: school or sports performance, social approval, personal competence, etc.

Children and adolescents who suffer from this disorder tend to be conformist, perfectionist and unsure of themselves, and anxiety It can be accompanied by headache and muscle , nausea, diarrhea, irritable bowel syndrome and other symptoms of physical discomfort.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

2. Separation anxiety disorder (ASD)

During childhood, it is common to feel anxiety when separating from attachment figures. Normally this fear appears after six months and intensifies after two years, responding to an adaptive need as it constitutes a mechanism for protection against hazards of the environment. However, if the anxiety is disproportionate based on the developmental development of the child and / or affects its functioning, we may face a separation anxiety disorder.


It is the most frequent anxiety disorder in children under 12 years of age and of earlier appearance, suffering from it around 4% of boys and girls and 1.6% of adolescents . The presence of this pathology decreases with age, but the concerns of those who suffer from it also change. Thus, adolescents with separation anxiety disorder manifest more catastrophic concerns, for example, accidents, kidnappings or the death of the attachment figure.

For the clinical diagnosis of SAD it is necessary that the child or adolescent suffer three or more of the following symptoms: excessive anxiety due to separation or anticipation, excessive worry about the loss or well-being of the attachment figures, opposition to leaving house, opposition to being alone, opposition to sleeping away from attachment figures , nightmares about separation and complaints of physical discomfort (headache or stomach pain, nausea or vomiting, etc.) to occur or anticipate the separation.

What processes intervene in the appearance and maintenance of the TAS?

Learning deficits, that is, the lack of separations, prevent the child from getting used to being without parents . To eliminate the fear of separation, it is necessary to gradually increase the frequency and duration of experiences in which the child is far away from the attachment figures. Therefore, if the child is not exposed to these situations in a natural environment, it is possible that the fear persists.

Traumatic or unexpected separation experiences Such as parental divorce, schooling, hospitalization of an attachment figure or the death of a close person, can also lead to anxiety and even trigger the disorder.

Finally, positive reinforcement is one of the factors that most influences the appearance and maintenance of the disorder. If the father figures reward the excessive addiction and dependence behaviors , the child will associate them with the reward received, be it the attention or the simple presence of the parents.

Treatment of anxiety disorders in childhood

Since an anxiety disorder can incapacitate the functioning of those who suffer from it in the short and long term, it is necessary to intervene as soon as possible and not let yourself be guided by the thought that it is a phase or that you will be alone.

In the case of childhood anxiety, according to the Society of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology of the APA (Association of American Psychiatry), The best established treatment is cognitive-behavioral therapy , which should be the first therapeutic choice. Its effectiveness has been demonstrated in individual treatments with the child and with the parents and in group treatments in the family and school environment. Specifically, the three most used procedures are exposure, cognitive techniques and relaxation.

On the one hand, gradual exposure, live or in imagination , is the main component of cognitive-behavioral therapy.

Training in self-instruction is also a fundamental part of therapy, and consists of modifying the child's internal verbalizations to replace them with others that allow them to cope with anxiety.

Regarding relaxation, the most used method is progressive relaxation, according to which the reduction of body tension It will relieve the subjective feelings of anxiety. It is also a coping strategy that will help young people maintain anxiety at sustainable levels.

Intervention programs for parents and children

In addition, several programs focused on parents and children have been developed in the last decades. prevent and treat childhood-specific anxiety disorders .

The guide "Coping Cat" or The Brave Cat is especially useful for teach parents to educate without overprotecting and to promote the autonomy of the child. It consists of a program divided into two phases in which on the one hand we work with parents and on the other hand individual sessions are held with the child tackling tasks such as psychoeducation, relaxation, exposure, cognitive restructuring, problem solving and self-control

We can also find us the FRIENDS program, divided into four versions according to the child's age , and the FORTIUS program that, based on the Olympic slogan "Citius, Altius, Fortius" (faster, higher, stronger), teaches children from 8 to 12 years old to face difficult situations and control negative emotions.

These programs based on cognitive-behavioral therapy are adapted to the peculiarities of children and adolescents and to the characteristics of behavioral disorders at these ages, something that greatly benefits children.


Anxiety Disorders : Signs & Symptoms of Child Anxiety (January 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Troubles anxieux chez l'enfant: symptômes et traitements

Troubles anxieux chez l'enfant: symptômes et traitements

Décembre 7, 2021

Connaître les troubles anxieux de l'enfance Il est très important, étant donné le stade délicat de la vie que les mineurs passent.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quels sont les troubles de ce type et comment ils peuvent être traités.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

Types de troubles anxieux chez les enfants

Les enfants et les adolescents, comme les adultes, peuvent présenter des symptômes d'anxiété et, malgré les similitudes, les conséquences peuvent être plus dommageables pendant la course. le risque qu'ils affectent leur développement socio-émotionnel et même chronifier devenir une pathologie plus grave.


C'est pourquoi il est important de détecter rapidement tout signe d'anxiété pendant l'enfance. Certaines situations telles que le changement d'école, le passage à l'institut, la naissance d'un frère, la séparation des parents, la perte d'un membre de la famille ou le transfert dans une autre ville peuvent être à l'origine de l'anxiété. Par ailleurs, les troubles anxieux généralisés ont une incidence plus élevée, mais les troubles anxieux liés à la séparation sont très fréquents et spécifiques chez les enfants.

Troubles anxieux qui apparaissent pendant l'enfance Ils peuvent être classés dans les catégories suivantes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 différences entre stress et anxiété"

1. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé (TAG)

Le trouble d’anxiété généralisé est défini cliniquement, chez l’enfant comme chez l’adulte, comme une préoccupation exacerbée et difficile à contrôler dans de nombreuses situations, présentez la plupart des jours pendant au moins six mois.


Selon le Manuel de psychiatrie DSM IV, l'anxiété est associée à au moins trois des symptômes suivants: agitation ou impatience, facilité de fatigue, difficulté à se concentrer ou rester avec l'esprit en blanc, irritabilité, tension musculaire et troubles du sommeil.

L'anxiété affecte les parents et l'enfant , nuire à leur performance scolaire et à leurs relations sociales, ainsi que leurs préoccupations peuvent englober de nombreuses situations: performance scolaire ou sportive, approbation sociale, compétence personnelle, etc.

Les enfants et les adolescents qui souffrent de ce trouble ont tendance à être conformistes, perfectionnistes, incertains d’eux-mêmes et anxieux. Il peut être accompagné de maux de tête et de muscles , nausée, diarrhée, syndrome du côlon irritable et autres symptômes d'inconfort physique.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

2. Trouble d'anxiété de séparation (TSA)

Pendant l'enfance, il est courant de ressentir de l'anxiété lorsqu'on se sépare des figures de l'attachement. Normalement, cette peur apparaît après six mois et s’intensifie après deux ans, répondant à un besoin adaptatif car elle constitue un mécanisme de protection contre les dangers de l'environnement. Cependant, si l'anxiété est disproportionnée en fonction du développement de l'enfant et / ou affecte son fonctionnement, nous pourrions être confrontés à un trouble d'anxiété de séparation.


C'est le trouble d'anxiété le plus fréquent chez les enfants de moins de 12 ans et d'apparence précoce, qui en souffrent environ 4% des garçons et des filles et 1,6% des adolescents . La présence de cette pathologie diminue avec l’âge, mais les préoccupations de ceux qui en souffrent changent également. Ainsi, les adolescents atteints de trouble d'anxiété de séparation manifestent des préoccupations plus catastrophiques, telles que des accidents, des enlèvements ou le décès de la personne liée à l'attachement.

Pour le diagnostic clinique du TAS, il est nécessaire que l’enfant ou l’adolescent présente au moins trois des symptômes suivants: anxiété excessive due à une séparation ou une anticipation, inquiétude excessive à propos de la perte ou du bien-être des figures d’attachement, opposition au départ maison, opposition à être seul, opposition à dormir loin des figures d'attachement , cauchemars à propos de la séparation et plaintes d'inconfort physique (maux de tête ou douleurs à l'estomac, nausées ou vomissements, etc.) pouvant survenir ou anticiper la séparation.

Quels processus interviennent dans l'apparition et la maintenance du TAS?

Les déficits d'apprentissage, c'est-à-dire le manque de séparations, empêcher l'enfant de s'habituer à être sans parents . Pour éliminer la peur de la séparation, il est nécessaire d'augmenter progressivement la fréquence et la durée des expériences dans lesquelles l'enfant est loin des figures d'attachement. Par conséquent, si l'enfant n'est pas exposé à ces situations dans un environnement naturel, il est possible que la peur persiste.

Expériences de séparation traumatiques ou inattendues Tels que le divorce des parents, la scolarité, l'hospitalisation d'une personne attachée ou le décès d'une personne proche, peuvent également entraîner de l'anxiété et même déclencher le désordre.

Enfin, le renforcement positif est l'un des facteurs qui influencent le plus l'apparition et le maintien de la maladie. Si les chiffres du père récompensent le comportements excessifs de dépendance et de dépendance , l’enfant les associera à la récompense reçue, qu’il s’agisse de l’attention ou de la simple présence des parents.

Traitement des troubles anxieux chez l'enfant

Étant donné qu’un trouble anxieux peut empêcher le fonctionnement de ceux qui en souffrent à court et à long terme, il est nécessaire d’intervenir le plus rapidement possible et de ne pas se laisser guider par la pensée qu’il s’agit d’une phase ou que vous serez seul.

En cas d’anxiété chez les enfants, selon la Société de psychologie clinique de l’enfant et de l’adolescent de l’APA (Association of American Psychiatry), Le traitement le mieux établi est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale , qui devrait être le premier choix thérapeutique. Son efficacité a été démontrée dans les traitements individuels avec l'enfant et avec les parents et dans les traitements de groupe dans l'environnement familial et scolaire. Les trois procédures les plus utilisées sont l'exposition, les techniques cognitives et la relaxation.

D'une part, exposition progressive, en direct ou en imagination , est la principale composante de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

La formation à l'auto-instruction est également un élément fondamental de la thérapie et consiste à modifier les verbalisations internes de l'enfant pour les remplacer par d'autres qui lui permettent de faire face à l'anxiété.

En ce qui concerne la relaxation, la méthode la plus utilisée est la relaxation progressive, selon laquelle la réduction de la tension corporelle Cela soulagera les sentiments subjectifs d'anxiété. C'est également une stratégie d'adaptation qui aidera les jeunes à maintenir l'anxiété à un niveau durable.

Programmes d'intervention pour parents et enfants

En outre, plusieurs programmes axés sur les parents et les enfants ont été développés au cours des dernières décennies. prévenir et traiter les troubles anxieux spécifiques à l'enfance .

Le guide "Coping Cat" ou The Brave Cat est particulièrement utile pour apprendre aux parents à éduquer sans surprotéger et promouvoir l'autonomie de l'enfant. Il s’agit d’un programme divisé en deux phases, d’une part, nous travaillons avec les parents et, d’autre part, des séances individuelles sont organisées avec l’enfant pour aborder des tâches telles que la psychoéducation, la relaxation, l’exposition, la restructuration cognitive, la résolution de maîtrise de soi

Nous pouvons aussi nous trouver le programme FRIENDS, divisé en quatre versions selon l'âge de l'enfant et le programme FORTIUS qui, basé sur le slogan olympique "Citius, Altius, Fortius" (plus rapide, plus haut, plus fort), enseigne aux enfants de 8 à 12 ans à faire face aux situations difficiles et à contrôler leurs émotions négatives.

Ces programmes basés sur la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale sont adaptés aux particularités des enfants et des adolescents et aux caractéristiques des troubles du comportement à ces âges, ce qui bénéficie grandement aux enfants.


L' ANXIÉTÉ / LE TROUBLE ANXIEUX : symptômes , causes , prévention , traitement / Noura Marashi (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes