yes, therapy helps!
Anxiety during pregnancy: causes, symptoms and how to manage it

Anxiety during pregnancy: causes, symptoms and how to manage it

October 5, 2022

A state of anxiety is a warning reaction that the body experiences in the face of a threat. However, these alert states can also occur in the face of vital changes of great importance, such as bringing a baby into the world.

Anxiety during pregnancy is a fairly common phenomenon, especially in first-time mothers . This article will describe its symptoms, effects and causes, as well as a series of tips to avoid or manage it in the best possible way.

Anxiety and its effects on pregnancy

Although most women experience pregnancy as a fascinating experience on a general level, both the physical changes and the vital changes that will occur can lead to anxiety states in the pregnant woman .


It is common that throughout the pregnancy process, begin to appear doubts, fears and certain needs that, in many cases, give way to recurring thoughts and concerns. Which, if not handled correctly, can end in anxiety pictures.

In this way, just as states of anxiety have a series of consequences on the body of the person who suffers, it is logical to think that it can also cause unwanted effects on the baby. Some studies have revealed that the anxiety suffered during pregnancy can cause the following effects in the child:

  • Premature delivery
  • Low birth weight
  • Reduced attention span in the child
  • Long-term emotional and behavioral problems

Therefore, although it is natural to experience certain levels of anxiety during pregnancy, it is of vital importance to know when it comes to normal concerns and when we are facing a more serious anxiety picture.


When it comes to the second case, it is recommended to visit a doctor or a specialized professional, in order to combat the symptoms, reduce stress levels and enjoy a healthy and affable pregnancy.

symptom

As mentioned above, it is very important to know how to recognize the symptoms of anxiety during pregnancy. Below is a list of symptoms related to this type of anxiety . Likewise, it is recommended that, in the doubt of whether or not some of these symptoms are suffered, the future mother should consult a professional.

Characteristic symptoms of anxiety during pregnancy:

  • Excessive worry
  • Problems controlling the recurrent thoughts
  • Rumination of thoughts
  • Tremors or small seizures
  • Muscle pain
  • Paresthesia (feeling of muscles or limbs asleep)
  • Oral dryness
  • Cold, wet hands
  • Excessive sweating
  • Tachycardia
  • Feeling of choking or tightness in the chest
  • Vertigos
  • Vision in tunnel
  • Strange perception of the environment, unreality
  • Nausea outside the usual
  • Stomach ache
  • Diarrhea
  • Swallowing problems

Also, sometimes the well-known "nest syndrome" can originate. This syndrome is an unconscious defense mechanism in which the future mother carries out a series of behaviors that help calm anxiety.


These behaviors appear especially at the end of pregnancy and consists of an obsessive need to prepare everything related to the child . Fix the baby's room, obsessively clean any space in the house, etc .; thus generating a level of physical activity not recommended for the stage of pregnancy in which the mother is.

Causes

Throughout the pregnancy, the woman feels a series of personal needs and affection that differ from those felt by other people. If to this the great amount of corporal, organic and vital changes that the gestation supposes to him is added, it is in a certain way understandable that feelings of anxiety begin to arise.

Some of the main causes or thoughts that can generate an anxious picture in pregnant women are:

  • In new mothers are common feelings of fear of inexperience, as well as fear of not being able to adequately correspond to the role of mother.
  • Fear of dying or suffering serious consequences after childbirth.
  • Excessive concern about the health status of the baby.
  • Decrease in self-esteem caused by physical changes and feelings of vulnerability.
  • Stress caused by external demands that accompany pregnancy.

As it is repeated on numerous occasions throughout the article, It is natural to experience moments or situations of nervousness during pregnancy . However, if the symptoms persist over time and interfere with the daily life of the woman, it will be necessary for her to request the help of a professional.

Tips to manage anxiety during pregnancy

As is logical, the ideal to manage anxiety is to carry out a series of behaviors and activities that directly prevent their appearance. To get it, It is essential to be able to recognize the moments or situations in which the woman experiences the appearance of recurrent, negative or obsessive thoughts , in order to control them and focus their attention on others more comforting or another activity.

Some behaviors or tasks that can be carried out once the symptoms of anxiety appear are:

1. Breathing exercises

Performing breathing exercises, in which deep and calm inhalations and exhalations are carried out, will help the pregnant woman to slow down the palpitations and calm the symptoms of anxiety.

Through abdominal breathing, the woman will avoid hyperventilation, as well as dizziness and paresthesias.

2. Rides or light physical activity

Going for a walk while performing deep breaths, performing exercises or gymnastics for pregnant women or even yoga are extremely effective in reducing anxious symptoms.

In addition, these activities help to keep the mind occupied and divert attention from worries and recurrent negative thoughts.

3. Have the help of others

Requesting support from other people, such as a couple, family members or friends with whom a woman feels confident enough to express her feelings and concerns, is essential to provide a healthy outlet for anxiety.

4. For negative thoughts

To manage to stop the alluvium of negative thoughts proper of the states of anxiety by means of mental exercises or through activities of mindfulness, will help the woman to calm the sensations of overwhelm and anxiety.

5. Sleep and eat properly

If this advice is already useful in people who do not go through a gestation process, it is reasonable to think that with more reason it helps the pregnant woman. Carrying a complete and healthy diet, as well as resting all the recommended sleep hours, will help reduce emotional stress.

6. Have moments for the same

Finding relaxing moments for yourself and being able to get away from worries is essential to increase both your own health and your baby's. Finding the time for a good relaxing bath, to read or listen to music without any interference are small pleasures that will help make pregnancy much more bearable.


Coping with Anxiety and Depression During Pregnancy (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anxiété pendant la grossesse: causes, symptômes et comment la gérer

Anxiété pendant la grossesse: causes, symptômes et comment la gérer

Septembre 21, 2021

Un état d'anxiété est une réaction d'alerte que le corps ressent face à une menace. Cependant, ces états d'alerte peuvent également se produire face à des changements vitaux d'une grande importance, tels que la mise au monde d'un bébé.

L’anxiété pendant la grossesse est un phénomène assez courant, surtout chez les mères qui sont mères pour la première fois . Cet article décrit ses symptômes, ses effets et ses causes, ainsi que toute une série de conseils pour l’éviter ou le gérer au mieux.

Anxiété et ses effets sur la grossesse

Bien que la plupart des femmes vivent la grossesse comme une expérience fascinante au niveau général, les changements physiques et les changements vitaux qui vont se produire peuvent conduire à des états d'anxiété chez la femme enceinte .


Il est courant que, tout au long du processus de grossesse, des doutes, des peurs et certains besoins commencent à apparaître, cédant ainsi la place à des pensées et à des préoccupations récurrentes. Qui, s'ils ne sont pas traités correctement, peuvent aboutir à des images d'anxiété.

De cette manière, tout comme les états d’anxiété ont une série de conséquences sur le corps de la personne qui en souffre, il est logique de penser que cela peut également avoir des effets indésirables sur le bébé. Certaines études ont révélé que l’anxiété ressentie pendant la grossesse pouvait avoir les effets suivants sur l’enfant:

  • Livraison prématurée
  • Faible poids à la naissance
  • Capacité d'attention réduite chez l'enfant
  • Problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux à long terme

Par conséquent, bien qu'il soit naturel de ressentir certains niveaux d'anxiété pendant la grossesse, il est d'une importance vitale de savoir quand il s'agit de problèmes normaux et quand nous sommes confrontés à une situation d'anxiété plus grave.


En ce qui concerne le deuxième cas, il est recommandé de consulter un médecin ou un professionnel spécialisé afin de combattre les symptômes, de réduire le niveau de stress et de profiter d'une grossesse saine et confortable.

Les symptômes

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, il est très important de savoir reconnaître les symptômes d'anxiété pendant la grossesse. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de symptômes liés à ce type d'anxiété. . De même, il est recommandé que la future mère consulte un professionnel en cas de doute sur certains de ces symptômes.

Symptômes caractéristiques d'anxiété pendant la grossesse:

  • Inquiétude excessive
  • Problèmes contrôlant les pensées récurrentes
  • Rumination des pensées
  • Tremblements ou petites crises
  • Douleur musculaire
  • Paresthésie (sensation de muscles ou de membres endormis)
  • Sécheresse orale
  • Mains froides et humides
  • Transpiration excessive
  • Tachycardie
  • Sensation d'étouffement ou d'oppression dans la poitrine
  • Vertigos
  • Vision en tunnel
  • Etrange perception de l'environnement, irréalité
  • Nausée en dehors de l'habituel
  • Mal au ventre
  • La diarrhée
  • Problèmes d'ingestion

De plus, le "syndrome du nid" bien connu peut parfois avoir son origine. Ce syndrome est un mécanisme de défense inconscient dans lequel la future mère adopte une série de comportements qui aident à calmer l'anxiété.


Ces comportements apparaissent surtout en fin de grossesse et correspondent à un besoin obsessionnel de préparer tout ce qui concerne l'enfant . Réparer la chambre du bébé, nettoyer de manière obsessionnelle tout espace dans la maison, etc. générant ainsi un niveau d'activité physique non recommandé pour le stade de la grossesse dans lequel se trouve la mère.

Les causes

Tout au long de la grossesse, la femme ressent une série de besoins personnels et d'affection qui diffèrent de ceux ressentis par d'autres personnes. Si à cela s’ajoute la grande quantité de changements corporels, organiques et vitaux que lui suppose la gestation, il est compréhensible que des sentiments d’anxiété commencent à apparaître.

Les principales causes ou pensées pouvant générer une image anxieuse chez les femmes enceintes sont les suivantes:

  • Chez les nouvelles mères, il existe une peur commune de l’inexpérience et une peur de ne pas être en mesure de correspondre au rôle de mère.
  • Peur de mourir ou de subir des conséquences graves après l'accouchement.
  • Préoccupation excessive à propos de l'état de santé du bébé.
  • Diminution de l'estime de soi causée par des changements physiques et des sentiments de vulnérabilité.
  • Stress causé par les demandes externes qui accompagnent la grossesse.

Comme cela est répété à de nombreuses reprises tout au long de l'article, Il est naturel de vivre des moments ou des situations de nervosité pendant la grossesse . Toutefois, si les symptômes persistent dans le temps et interfèrent avec la vie quotidienne de la femme, il sera nécessaire pour elle de faire appel à un professionnel.

Conseils pour gérer l'anxiété pendant la grossesse

Comme il est logique, l’idéal pour gérer l’anxiété consiste à adopter une série de comportements et d’activités qui empêchent directement leur apparition. Pour y parvenir, Il est essentiel de pouvoir reconnaître les moments ou les situations au cours desquels la femme ressent des pensées récurrentes, négatives ou obsessionnelles. , afin de les contrôler et de concentrer leur attention sur ceux qui sont plus réconfortants ou sur une autre activité.

Certains comportements ou tâches pouvant être réalisés une fois que les symptômes d'anxiété sont apparus sont les suivants:

1. Exercices de respiration

Effectuer des exercices de respiration dans lesquels des inhalations profondes et calmes sont effectuées aidera la femme enceinte à ralentir les palpitations et à calmer les symptômes d'anxiété.

Par la respiration abdominale, la femme évitera l’hyperventilation, les vertiges et les paresthésies.

2. Manèges ou activité physique légère

Faire une promenade tout en effectuant des respirations profondes, des exercices ou de la gymnastique pour les femmes enceintes ou même du yoga sont extrêmement efficaces pour réduire les symptômes anxieux.

En outre, ces activités aident à garder l’esprit occupé et à détourner l’attention des inquiétudes et des pensées négatives récurrentes.

3. Avoir l'aide des autres

Demander le soutien d'autres personnes, comme un couple, des membres de la famille ou des amis avec lesquels une femme se sent suffisamment en confiance pour exprimer ses sentiments et ses préoccupations, est essentiel pour offrir un exutoire sain à l'anxiété.

4. Pour les pensées négatives

Parvenir à arrêter les alluvions de pensées négatives propres aux états d'anxiété au moyen d'exercices mentaux ou d'activités de pleine conscience aidera la femme à calmer les sensations de saturation et d'anxiété.

5. dormir et manger correctement

Si ce conseil est déjà utile chez les personnes qui ne passent pas par un processus de gestation, il est raisonnable de penser qu'avec plus de raison cela aide la femme enceinte. Une alimentation saine et complète, ainsi que le repos pendant toutes les heures de sommeil recommandées, contribueront à réduire le stress émotionnel.

6. Avoir des moments pour le même

Pour améliorer votre santé et celle de votre bébé, il est essentiel de trouver des moments de détente pour vous-même et d’éviter les soucis. Trouver du temps pour un bon bain relaxant, lire ou écouter de la musique sans aucune ingérence sont de petits plaisirs qui contribueront à rendre la grossesse beaucoup plus supportable.


Crise d'Angoisse Symptomes Que Faire ? Crise d'angoisse symptomes. (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes