yes, therapy helps!
Apathy: symptoms and causes of this feeling

Apathy: symptoms and causes of this feeling

February 21, 2024

Most of us have ever been demotivated, not wanting to do anything despite having to do it . Although we do and do what we have to do, we do it with a very low level of motivation, without illusion or interest, almost as if we were robots.

This kind of everyday experiences are examples of one of the most unpleasant feelings: apathy . In this article we will see what exactly are your psychological bases and the causes why they may arise.

Concept of apathy

Apathy is a condition or state of lack of motivation or of interest for the different aspects of life, usually associated with a state of discomfort or despair. There is an indifference on both cognitive and affective levels to most stimuli, and the desire to act is conspicuous by their absence.


On the other hand, the main characteristics of this symptom are affective flattening or blunting, lack of perseverance and the reduction of self-generated thoughts and behaviors.

Thus, not only the initiative is lost to a greater or lesser degree, but the linking of events with emotions happens at a much lower level. This can cause that the person decreases his performance and level of effort in order to perform different types of behavior, which in turn gives feedback to the demotivation of the subject. When apathy is given to a maximum degree in which it does not allow us to act normally, making it difficult to make decisions or making it impossible to start or continue carrying out tasks, it can be called abulia.


Apathy can be found primarily as a syndrome without there necessarily being an associated disorder . However, as a general rule it is considered a symptom indicative of other mental and physical disorders.

Possible causes of apathy

Apathy can have a lot of different causes, both biological and environmental .

Biological causes

At the cerebral level, the existence of a correlation between the presence of apathy and alterations in the connection between frontal lobe and basal ganglia has been shown, which explains the difficulty in connecting emotion and thought, as well as the reduction in the behavioral initiative . Another remarkable association with apathy occurs in the presence of lesions in the dorsolateral prefrontal and associative areas . These lesions can explain the appearance of apathy in various physical and mental disorders, such as dementias.


Another possible cause can be found in the consumption of substances with psychoactive effects, which by modifying the transmission of neurotransmitters can alter the normal functioning of the brain. For example, the excessive consumption of cannabis can cause the one known as amotivational syndrome , characterized by the presence of apathy, decreased memory, and reduced impulse and self-directed activity. Something similar happens with typical antipsychotics, which by reducing the dopaminergic activity of the entire brain cause not enough dopamine to circulate through the mesocortical path which can cause the increase or generation of negative symptoms such as praise and apathy.

Environmental causes

At an environmental level, apathy has been found in people subjected to constant stress or to exposure to aversive stimulation . The absence of a sufficient positive reinforcement may also end up generating a deterioration in the ability to be interested in the medium. The existence of defenseless attitudes and depressive thinking schemes, with a negative view of the self, the world and the future, also contributes to eroding the mood and motivation of the person, causing apathy and even apathy.

Another element linked to apathy is the tendency to generate hard-to-reach goals that exceed one's ability to carry them out and that often lead to frustration .

Some associated disorders

As we have seen, apathy it is a frequent symptom of different disorders both organic and psychological. Next we will see some.

1. Depression

One of the disorders in which abulia is most frequently seen is depression, in which there are different cognitive biases that make the subject see the world, their own future and themselves in a hostile and negative way. The despair and discomfort generated can lead to feelings of apathy, being in fact one of the common symptoms that can help to make the diagnosis.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

2. Dementia

In this type of disorders apathy has a clearly organic etiology, being generated by the degeneration of brain structures or ways previously mentioned.

  • You may be interested: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

3. Anxiety, stress and negative or traumatic experiences

The wear and tear caused by the continued experience of a state of tension can generate the presence of apathy, be it linked to a specific aspect of reality or at a general level. Situations from which we can not escape and which generate despair and feeling of lack of control they usually generate a certain apathetic state if they are maintained over time.

4. Anemias

The absence in the body of different nutrients such as vitamins or glucose can generate cognitive and behavioral alterations , including apathy. This anemia can come from poor diet or metabolic changes.

5. Infections and serious diseases

Different infections and diseases can generate states of apathy in the subjects who suffer from them, both due to organic causes such as the degeneration of brain structures and the fact that suffering from them can be a serious psychological blow that ends up generating apathy. Examples of this are cancer or HIV infection.

Treatment

Apathy is a symptom whose treatment will depend to a great extent on the aspects or disorders that cause it . However, at a general level, different strategies can be established.

In psychological therapy

In therapy, the apathetic subject will benefit as a general rule from those strategies that help him generate plausible objectives and that are achievable, at first with some ease and with time progressively requiring more effort. Cognitive restructuring It can also be effective in the face of modifying the possible dysfunctional beliefs that may be affecting the subject's vision with respect to the world and with respect to himself, as well as therapies such as Rehm's self-control, in order to set realistic and achievable goals. . In general, increasing self-esteem and carrying out pleasant tasks is also very useful.

Changes in lifestyle

Since stress and negative experiences may be other than the causes of apathy, time management is also essential . For this reason it is necessary to contribute to realizing specific schedules that leave space for relaxation, as well as the realization of different exercises and techniques that facilitate it.

A healthy lifestyle It is very helpful when it comes to improving symptoms. The control of the feeding can allow to supply different deficits that can help to generate the apathy. In the same way, physical exercise is known to help generate endorphins so that their performance can be useful both in this aspect and when it comes to reducing the level of anxiety and frustration that may be behind some cases.

Social support and reinforcement of the initiative by others is also a great help in overcoming states of apathy, especially in the face of disorders such as depression. The use of psychoactive substances, especially of the depressant type, can have detrimental effects and help maintain and even generate apathy. In this way it must decrease and control the consumption of this type of substances .

Intervention with psychotropic drugs

At the pharmacological level, it may be useful to use different anxiolytic or antidepressant drugs , like the SSRIs. Other drugs that help improve the circulation of neurotransmitters such as noradrenaline and dopamine are also effective. All this as long as it is prescribed by a specialist.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Marin, R. S. & Wilkosz, P. A. (2005). Disorders of diminished motivation. Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation, 20 (4).
  • Levy, R. & Dubois, B. (2006). Apathy and the functional anatomy of the prefrontal cortex-basal ganglia circuits. Cereb. Cortex; 16 (7) .: 916-28.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.

How to Deal With Apathy : Psychology & Mental Health (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Apathie: symptômes et causes de ce sentiment

Apathie: symptômes et causes de ce sentiment

Juin 18, 2022

La plupart d'entre nous ont déjà été démotivés, ne voulant rien faire malgré le fait de devoir le faire . Même si nous faisons et faisons ce que nous devons faire, nous le faisons avec une motivation très faible, sans illusion ni intérêt, presque comme si nous étions des robots.

Ce genre d’expériences quotidiennes sont des exemples de l'un des sentiments les plus désagréables: l'apathie . Dans cet article, nous verrons quelles sont exactement vos bases psychologiques et les causes de leur apparition.

Notion d'apathie

L'apathie est une condition ou un état de manque de motivation ou d'intérêt pour les différents aspects de la vie, généralement associés à un état de malaise ou de désespoir. Il existe une indifférence tant au niveau cognitif qu’affectif vis-à-vis de la plupart des stimuli et le désir d’agir est remarquable par leur absence.


D'autre part, les principales caractéristiques de ce symptôme sont affaiblissement affectif ou émoussant, manque de persévérance et la réduction des pensées et des comportements auto-générés.

Ainsi, non seulement l'initiative est perdue à un degré plus ou moins grand, mais le lien entre les événements et les émotions se produit à un niveau beaucoup plus bas. Cela peut causer que la personne diminue sa performance et son niveau d'effort afin d’exercer différents types de comportement, ce qui donne à son tour une idée de la démotivation du sujet. Lorsque l'apathie s'exprime au maximum et ne nous permet pas d'agir normalement, rendant difficile la prise de décision ou empêchant de commencer ou de continuer à exécuter des tâches, on peut l'appeler abulia.


L'apathie peut être trouvée principalement comme un syndrome sans qu'il y ait nécessairement un trouble associé . Cependant, en règle générale, il est considéré comme un symptôme révélateur d'autres troubles mentaux et physiques.

Causes possibles de l'apathie

L'apathie peut avoir beaucoup de différentes causes, biologiques et environnementales .

Causes biologiques

Au niveau cérébral, l'existence d'une corrélation entre la présence d'apathie et d'altérations dans la connexion entre le lobe frontal et les noyaux gris centraux a été démontrée, ce qui explique la difficulté d'établir un lien entre émotion et pensée, ainsi que la réduction de l'initiative comportementale . Une autre association remarquable avec l'apathie se produit en présence de lésions dans les zones préfrontale et associative dorsolatérale . Ces lésions peuvent expliquer l’apparition de l’apathie dans divers troubles physiques et mentaux, tels que les démences.


Une autre cause possible peut être trouvée dans la consommation de substances ayant des effets psychoactifs qui, en modifiant la transmission des neurotransmetteurs, peuvent altérer le fonctionnement normal du cerveau. Par exemple, la consommation excessive de cannabis peut causer celui connu sous le nom syndrome amotivationnel , caractérisé par la présence d’apathie, de mémoire diminuée et d’impulsion et d’activité auto-dirigée réduites. Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec les antipsychotiques typiques, qui, en réduisant l'activité dopaminergique de tout le cerveau provoquer pas assez de dopamine à circuler par la voie mésocorticale qui peut causer l’augmentation ou la génération de symptômes négatifs tels que les louanges et l’apathie.

Causes environnementales

Au niveau de l'environnement, l'apathie a été trouvée chez les personnes soumis à un stress constant ou à une stimulation aversive . L'absence d'un renforcement positif suffisant peut également générer une détérioration de la capacité à s'intéresser au support. L'existence d'attitudes sans défense et de schémas de pensée dépressifs, avec une vision négative de soi, du monde et de l'avenir, contribue également à éroder l'humeur et la motivation de la personne, provoquant l'apathie et même l'apathie.

Un autre élément lié à l'apathie est la tendance à générer des objectifs difficiles à atteindre qui dépassent la capacité de les atteindre et qui conduit souvent à la frustration .

Quelques troubles associés

Comme nous l'avons vu, l'apathie c'est un symptôme fréquent de différents troubles à la fois organique et psychologique. Ensuite, nous en verrons.

1. dépression

L’un des troubles les plus fréquents avec abulia est la dépression, dans lequel il existe différents biais cognitifs qui font que le sujet voit le monde, son avenir et lui-même de manière négative et hostile. Le désespoir et l’inconfort générés peuvent conduire à des sentiments d’apathie, c’est en fait l’un des symptômes courants qui peuvent aider à poser le diagnostic.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

2. démence

Dans ce type de troubles, l'apathie a une étiologie clairement organique, étant générée par la dégénérescence des structures cérébrales ou des moyens mentionnés précédemment.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

3. Anxiété, stress et expériences négatives ou traumatiques

L'usure causée par l'expérience continue d'un état de tension peut générer la présence d'apathie, qu'elle soit liée à un aspect spécifique de la réalité ou à un niveau général. Des situations auxquelles on ne peut pas échapper et qui génèrent désespoir et sentiment de manque de contrôle ils génèrent généralement un certain état d'apathie s'ils sont maintenus dans le temps.

4. Anémies

L'absence dans le corps de différents nutriments tels que les vitamines ou le glucose peut générer des altérations cognitives et comportementales , y compris l'apathie. Cette anémie peut provenir d'une mauvaise alimentation ou de changements métaboliques.

5. Infections et maladies graves

Différentes infections et différentes maladies peuvent générer des états d’apathie chez les sujets qui en souffrent, toutes deux dues à des causes organiques telles que la dégénérescence des structures cérébrales et le fait qu’en souffrir peut être un choc psychologique grave qui finit par générer l’apathie. Des exemples de ceci sont le cancer ou l'infection à VIH.

Traitement

L'apathie est un symptôme dont le traitement dépendra dans une large mesure des aspects ou des troubles qui le provoquent . Cependant, à un niveau général, différentes stratégies peuvent être établies.

En thérapie psychologique

En thérapie, le sujet apathique bénéficiera en règle générale des stratégies qui l’aident à générer des objectifs plausibles et qui sont réalisables, d’abord avec une certaine aisance et avec le temps, exigeant progressivement plus d’efforts. Restructuration cognitive Il peut également être efficace pour modifier les croyances dysfonctionnelles susceptibles d'affecter la vision du sujet vis-à-vis du monde et de lui-même, ainsi que des thérapies telles que la maîtrise de soi de Rehm, afin de se fixer des objectifs réalistes et réalisables. . De manière générale, il est également très utile d’augmenter l’estime de soi et d’effectuer des tâches agréables.

Changements de mode de vie

Le stress et les expériences négatives pouvant être autres que les causes de l’apathie, la gestion du temps est également essentielle . Pour cette raison, il est nécessaire de contribuer à la réalisation d'horaires spécifiques laissant un espace pour la détente, ainsi qu'à la réalisation d'exercices et de techniques permettant de le faciliter.

Un mode de vie sain C'est très utile pour améliorer les symptômes. Le contrôle de l'alimentation peut permettre de combler différents déficits pouvant générer l'apathie. De la même manière, on sait que l'exercice physique aide à générer des endorphines, de sorte que leurs performances peuvent être utiles à la fois sous cet aspect et lorsqu'il s'agit de réduire le niveau d'anxiété et de frustration pouvant être à l'origine de certains cas.

Le soutien social et le renforcement de l'initiative par d'autres sont également d'une grande aide pour surmonter les états d'apathie, en particulier face à des troubles tels que la dépression. L'utilisation de substances psychoactives, en particulier de type dépresseur, peut avoir des effets néfastes et aider à maintenir et même à générer de l'apathie. De cette façon il doit diminuer et contrôler la consommation de ce type de substances .

Intervention avec des psychotropes

Au niveau pharmacologique, il peut être utile d'utiliser différents anxiolytiques ou antidépresseurs , comme les ISRS. D'autres médicaments qui aident à améliorer la circulation des neurotransmetteurs tels que la noradrénaline et la dopamine sont également efficaces. Tout cela tant qu'il est prescrit par un spécialiste.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Marin, R.S. et Wilkosz, P.A. (2005). Troubles de la motivation diminuée. Journal of Reuma Trauma Rehabilitation, 20 (4).
  • Levy, R. & Dubois, B. (2006). Apathie et anatomie fonctionnelle des circuits du cortex préfrontal et des ganglions de la base. Cereb. Cortex; 16 (7): 916-28.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid

Maladie d'Alzheimer: dépression, apathie, sentiment d'insécurité (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes